Looking for Answers about Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Compare all Samsung TVs › This HDTV supports images up to 1080p. To build a complete 3D home theater system, we recommend you purchase 3D glasses designed for this TV, a 3D Blu-ray player, high-speed HDMI cable and an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Facebook YouTube
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions
 | 
125 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(131 Reviews)131

Questions & Answers for Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Question

What is the difference between "Clear Motion Rate 480" vs Auto Motion Plus 120"?

I bought this TV and on the front of the box it states Auto Motion Plus 120 Hz. BEfore this purchase, i bought the same exact TV from BEst Buy, but it was 40 inches, and it said Clear Motion Rate 480 on the front of the box. What is the difference between these two?

I paid more for this 46 inch version and it seems as if this TV is not better than the 40 inch version.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Peter
 from
Texas
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is no difference that you will be able to tell. And don't you always pay more for bigger stuff?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm sorry for the confusion, but the UN46D6420 actually offers a 120hz panel with a Clear Motion Rate of 480. CMR is Samsung's more comprehensive and accurate measure for TV motion clarity.

The three keys to world-class motion clarity:

* Panel refresh rate: Samsung's screen refresh rate significantly improves motion detail and resolution by sampling the image more frequently, leading to smoother, more fluid movement.
* Image processor: Samsung's proprietary image processing technology is faster and more responsive than conventional image processors, as it interpolates intermediate frames to smooth out the image.
* Backlight technology: Samsung's backlight regulates output precisely in synchronization with the screen refresh to lessen the time it is lit, reducing ghosting and motion blur.

Please note, the CMR rating is not a refresh rate. This means that the CMR of this set is 480, but it does not mean that it supports higher than 120Hz.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the drifference between UN46D6000S and UN46D6420U?

i play a lot of ps3 and watch a lot of movies and im looking into buying one of these tv's. i would like to know what the key differences are between these two tv's besides one has 3D. and which one would be the better and smarter purchase?
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
max
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I use my 6420 for PS3 and so far the only problem I've had is " jidder " while playing Skyrim, more especially walking, the bottom of the screen became blurry, gameplay was choppy/laggy which after placing a call to Samsung and going through the settings, was fixed within 10 minutes, everything looks fantastic now. I would highly recommend this model for a fellow PS3 owner. And yes, the 3D is worth it as long as you have the media to take advantage of it. This TV even has a neat thing where it makes regular TV from 2D to 3D, it doesn't look near as good as a native 3D image but it is still pretty cool.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although I cannot tell you which TV is better, I can give you the information you would need in order to make the right decision for your situation.

The differences between the D6000 and the D6420 are:

1. QWERTY remote: The D6420 will offer compatibility with the QWERTY remote (sold separately), while the D6000 will not

2. 3D: As you have previously stated, the D6420 will offer 3D, while the D6000 will not

Additionally, both TVs will offer a feature called Game Mode. Game Mode bypasses some of the TVs processors to give you an almost direct feed from your game system. This will help in the time it takes the signal to travel from the game system to the panel, effectively reducing the time between when you press your action button to when you see the action displayed on the screen, making for more accurate responses.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this TV work with Direct TV ESPN 3D?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have since used the 3D HDMI cable from the Direct TV Box and problem was solved. Signal was picked up.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although technically it should, I would suggest contacting your service provider for more details. The Samsung 3D TVs use the HDMI 1.4 standard for 3D transmission, and thus any device that offers 3D over HDMI 1.4 will work with the Samsung 3D TVs. Your service provider should have more information on what TVs and devices will be compatible with their systems.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to have an internet connection in the house if you have the wifi ready tv with the samsung LinkStick?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. You have an Internet connection. You will need to have an active wireless network established to connect wirelessly.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
In order to access internet content through the UN46D6420's Smart Hub and Samsung Apps, you will need a home network that has access to the internet (the Linkstick will need to be used for WiFi connectivity).

-MrSamsung
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Picture Stutter on UN46D6420

I have noticed that when Im watching TV through the DirecTV box I get picture stutter pretty frequently. I have tried to replace HDMI cables and have tried hooking up another TV and seem to only get this issue on the Samsung. The TV has been calibrated and I have been noticing that through other feeds online many others are experiencing the same issue. Is this just a firmware issue or is there any settings that need to be changed to fix the issue??? I dont notice much stutter with 3D or Blue Ray but it is still there. Thoughts???
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Paul
 from
Iowa
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I had this issue too. I found a forum online where someone posted the optimum settings for this tv and i changed all my settings to match and the judder or stutter you call it, is gone now. It just needs some settings changed. A lot of settings were changed really. Here is what I found...
http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19410_102-541161/samsung-un46d6420u-46-led-tv-calibration/
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nickelbn1
 from
Arkansas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I’m sorry you are having an issue with your device. Although with the information you have provided I do not have a solution for you; contacting Samsung Service (refer to your device's manual for more information or visit Samsung's website) would be your best next course of action.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the outside dimensions of this TV?

3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
W 41.75"
H 21.25

This was great for me as it is one of the smallest overall size 46" TVs. Had to fit it inside an existing cabinet.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nardman
 from
Ft. Worth, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The dimensions of the UN46D6420 are:
With the stand: 41.9" x 26.9" x 10.8"
Without the stand: 41.9" x 24.5" x 1.2"
Shipping size: 52.4" x 29.1" x 5.5"
(WxDxH)

-MrSamsung
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the display panel on a un46D6420U LCD?

3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
keith
 from
georgetown, tx
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
it is LED
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
klkgitcaydemle
 from
okc,ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's a 1080p and 120Hz 3D panel.

Thanks for your interest in Samsung products!

--HDTech
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

HDMI Pass Through

I was planning to purchase this TV but wanted to add the Panasonic Soundbar (SC-HTB520) to it. This soundbar has only 2 inputs, an Optical input and an HDMI input.

Question - will one of the HDMI comnnections on this TV be able to directly pass the sound from the TV out to the soundbar or is the Optical out on the TV my only option?
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The TV supports ARC (Audio Return Channel) through HDMI port #2 only, from what I've read, the sound bar your considering also supports this feature.
So you would connect the SC-HTB520's HDMI out (not input) to the HDMI #2 port on this TV.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vinny
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the UN46D6420 will offer the Audio Return Channel (ARC) HDMI feature when you connect the TV's HDMI2 port to another device that offers ARC using an HDMI 1.4 cable.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if I have a 3d blue ray player with built in wi-fi do I still need the linkstick to get the internet on this tv

3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pinkrose
 from
sweet valley, pa
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have a 3D Samsung Blu-Ray player and it does NOT share the internet connection with the TV. HOWEVER, the DVD player has all the internet access and content I need so I DON'T need a link stick!
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drewkelly94
 from
Selinsgrove, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Either a LinkStick or a wired connection can be a solution.

Data will not transfer through the HDMI or component cables, so each unit must have a different connection to your wireless or wired router.

--HDTech
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

UN46D6420 3D

Does this model have Full 3D HD?
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, It is "active" 3D, which means you need compatable battery operated shutter 3D glasses to make it work.
 
Products from my answer
Samsung - 3D Glasses
4.1 out of 5(99)
 
 
 
Samsung - Battery-Operated 3D Glasses for Samsung 3D Flat-Panel HDTVs
3.4 out of 5(69)
 
 
 
Samsung Rechargeable 3D Active Glasses - Black
3.9 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the UN46D6420 will offer Full HD 3D Playback.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>