Looking for Answers about Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Compare all Samsung TVs › This HDTV supports images up to 1080p. To build a complete 3D home theater system, we recommend you purchase 3D glasses designed for this TV, a 3D Blu-ray player, high-speed HDMI cable and an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products. Smart TV Get a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products. CinemaNow Netflix Facebook YouTube
Customer Questions & Answers:
84 Questions
 | 
125 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.489 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(131 Reviews)131

Questions & Answers for Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Question

Is the Samsung UN46D6420 TV a backlit or edgelit LED TV?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
backlit
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
barbiq5
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
From the available information, all of the current generation Samsung TVs, including the D6420, will only be available in an Edge-Lit LED Array.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Turning on tv

When I turn on my tv first a small box comes up in the upper left hand corner that says sometiing abobt HDMI 1080p - then another box comes up that says' waiting for signal'. Finally the screen opens up. All this takes way too much time. Is this how it is supposed to be?
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pat
 from
Home
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yeah... its about which connection you are using... for example if you are trying to connect your ps3 your tv takes its time to adjust for maximum resolution settings. normally it takes about 1 to 4 seconds...
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
kalkgitcaydemle
 from
ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, this is normal. Depending on how you have connected all your devices to the TV, your TV may take a longer or shorter period of time to fully initialize. Unfortunately, there is no way to skip any of the initializing steps since they are needed for normal operation of the TVs.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the outside dimensions of this TV?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
W 41.75"
H 21.25

This was great for me as it is one of the smallest overall size 46" TVs. Had to fit it inside an existing cabinet.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nardman
 from
Ft. Worth, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The dimensions of the UN46D6420 are:
With the stand: 41.9" x 26.9" x 10.8"
Without the stand: 41.9" x 24.5" x 1.2"
Shipping size: 52.4" x 29.1" x 5.5"
(WxDxH)

-MrSamsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

HDMI Pass Through

I was planning to purchase this TV but wanted to add the Panasonic Soundbar (SC-HTB520) to it. This soundbar has only 2 inputs, an Optical input and an HDMI input.

Question - will one of the HDMI comnnections on this TV be able to directly pass the sound from the TV out to the soundbar or is the Optical out on the TV my only option?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The TV supports ARC (Audio Return Channel) through HDMI port #2 only, from what I've read, the sound bar your considering also supports this feature.
So you would connect the SC-HTB520's HDMI out (not input) to the HDMI #2 port on this TV.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vinny
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the UN46D6420 will offer the Audio Return Channel (ARC) HDMI feature when you connect the TV's HDMI2 port to another device that offers ARC using an HDMI 1.4 cable.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

if I have a 3d blue ray player with built in wi-fi do I still need the linkstick to get the internet on this tv

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pinkrose
 from
sweet valley, pa
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have a 3D Samsung Blu-Ray player and it does NOT share the internet connection with the TV. HOWEVER, the DVD player has all the internet access and content I need so I DON'T need a link stick!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drewkelly94
 from
Selinsgrove, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Either a LinkStick or a wired connection can be a solution.

Data will not transfer through the HDMI or component cables, so each unit must have a different connection to your wireless or wired router.

--HDTech
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

UN46D6420 3D

Does this model have Full 3D HD?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, It is "active" 3D, which means you need compatable battery operated shutter 3D glasses to make it work.
 
Products from my answer
Samsung - 3D Glasses
4.2 out of 5(98)
 
 
 
Samsung - Battery-Operated 3D Glasses for Samsung 3D Flat-Panel HDTVs
3.4 out of 5(69)
 
 
 
Samsung Rechargeable 3D Active Glasses - Black
3.9 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the UN46D6420 will offer Full HD 3D Playback.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to get audio working.

I'm unable to get the audio to work. my old samsung LCD tv was hooked up to my cable box with an hdmi cable and both audio and video worked fine. I now connected my new 3D TV and I cannot get audio to work. Any suggestions?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Puzzled
 from
Wisconsin
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Audio flows through HDMI,, make sure Tv is not on mute and cables are properly connected. Try hooking up a DVD player through composite connections and check volume.. call geeksquad or samsung....
 
Products from my answer
Monster - 1000HDX 8' HDMI Cable
4.5 out of 5(87)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I’m sorry you are having an issue with your device. Although with the information you have provided I do not have a solution for you; contacting Samsung Service (refer to your device's manual for more information or visit Samsung's website) would be your best next course of action.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i see 3d in all chanels

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
enrique
 from
miami
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes you can but since those channels are not originally 3D your 3D experience won't be as good as real 3D movies.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
klakgitcaydemle
 from
okc,ok
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, since the UN46D6420 offer the 2D to 3D conversion, you will be able to view all of your 2D channels in 3D when this feature is turned on. Otherwise, they will be displayed in 2D.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the surround sound work with Net Flix?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
no. for some reason they do not allow audio out for netflix or other apps. which I'm sure with enough complaints could be fixed with a simple update.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
To connect the TV to a receiver (for Samsung Apps audio output as well as audio output from any other media playing on the TV), please use either 3.5mm jack to RCA or optical cables to connect from the TV's audio outputs to the receiver's corresponding audio inputs. The TV’s audio outputs will be located along side all of the inputs and will be marked accordingly. Please refer to the D6420's manual for detailed instructions on how to connect to an audio receiver, starting on page 12.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

RVU Capability?

This Tv (along with the D6000 and D6400) is mentioned by Samsung in a Press release as having RVU capability. I'm planning on using Directv's new HD Receiver with this in order to eliminate charges for an addtional receiver. I have not seen anything in the product literature or advertising talking about RVU on the D6420. Is there any way to confirm that the software/protocol is here?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung 46" Class - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Thanks - The Press Release was from CES 2011 and was made by Samsun and Directv. It stated:
"LAS VEGAS, Jan. 6, 2011—Today at the International Consumer Electronics Show, DIRECTV and Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd. announced they have partnered to present the world’s first RVU-compatible production televisions, which will provide more than 19.1 million DIRECTV subscribers with the ability to watch live broadcast and stored content from their DVR on Samsung smart TVs, without the need for additional set-top boxes. As founding members of the RVU Alliance, Samsung and DIRECTV are committed to providing a more seamless entertainment experience for consumers across multiple rooms and a variety of screens, through the use of standardized Remote User Interface (RUI) technology.

The RVU protocol will be supported on Samsung’s LED D6000, LED D6400 and LED 6420 TV products that reflect the company’s commitment to delivering consumers high-quality, visually enhanced and connected entertainment experiences in their home. A RUI technology based on industry standards such as DLNA and UPnP, RVU allows a set-top box server to provide a multi-room, complete viewing experience that includes DVR services, without the need for additional set-top boxes in homes that have more than one connected TV.

“We are very happy to be working with an esteemed satellite provider like DIRECTV and provide the world first RVU service to consumers with Samsung TV,” said Boo-Keun Yoon, president of Samsung’s Visual Display Business. “Products developed on RVU standards, one of the major RUI standards, will help accelerate the development of features and applications that can provide our customers with a truly customizable, immersive entertainment experience that can be enjoyed from the comfort of the home.”

“The CES demonstration of the first RVU compliant television is exciting news for the industry and consumers who want a consistent, superior user experience throughout the home,” said Romulo Pontual, CTO of DIRECTV. “Making DIRECTV features and content available to Samsung’s televisions through the RVU server allows consumers to enjoy our innovative service without the need for additional set-top boxes. We are pleased to see our successful partnership with Samsung expand to include support for RVU in their 2011 model range.”

Capable of supporting multiple connected televisions, DIRECTV’s RVU server enables the UI and features to be displayed directly on those connected TVs. Under this partnership, Samsung will embed support for RVU in their smart TVs and provide its customers with the full DIRECTV experience, including DVR services, live pause abilities on all screens in the home, 200 hours worth of shared storage, picture-in-picture capabilities and the power to record up to five shows at once. Samsung’s RVU-compatible TVs will be available in March 2011.

More information on Samsung’s Smart TV strategy and Samsung’s new partnerships were announced during Mr. Boo-Keun Yoon’s keynote address, which can now be viewed at www.samsungces2011.com.

The Samsung RVU-compatible production TV will be on display at Booth #12006 in the Central Hall at the International Consumer Electronics Show, at the Las Vegas Convention Center (LVCC), January 6-9, 2011"
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This was a potential service that was offered, but without a review of the press release, it's difficult to determine what may have happened between the time it was released, and other details.

We do not advertise the model as having this feature at this time.

--HDTech
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>