Looking for Answers about Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Enjoy video games, movies and more with this Samsung LN40D630M3 HDTV that features Touch of Color technology and full 1080p resolution for exceptional detail and picture clarity.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions
 | 
99 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(145 Reviews)145

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Question

How do I find the prices for the TV's on your website?

I am looking at a 40" Samsung Flat Screen TV, but you do not show a price.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Place the unit in your shopping cart then go to your cart and click on checkout
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pack Man
 from
Green Bay, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, this question would be best asked of a dedicated Best Buy representative. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this model LN40D630M3 an energy star qualified TV ?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, in fact it has muliple settings to save money in a built in adjustable sensor , called the "eco sensor". It will automatically adust the brightness control based on the light in the room around the TV. So in a dark room at night it will automatically dim and save you money. This feature has several options and can be also turned off if you choose.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Eastcoast
 from
Baltimore
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, Samsung's LN40D630M3 is not an Energy Star qualified TV.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the 120Hz option enabled for Ps3 Gaming?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Unless anyhting has changed in the last couple of years nothing puts out at anything greater than 60Hz!
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NIUhusky
 from
Aurora, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the Auto Motion Plus feature that offers the frame interpolation system can be enabled on almost any input (including the HDMI input that the PS3 supports).

To adjust Auto Motion Plus, please follow the directions below. Settings are based on your personal preference, so unfortunately, I cannot provide any incite as to how to set up your TV. I can provide you with a list of what each setting does.

Auto Motion Plus is found under the following directions:
MENU → Picture → Picture Options → Auto Motion Plus

Auto Motion Plus Settings:
Off- Switches Auto Motion Plus off.
Clear- Provides high blur reduction, low judder reduction
Standard- Provides medium blur reductions, medium judder reduction
Smooth- Provides low blur reductions, high judder reduction.
Custom- Allows for customer user settings for blur and judder.
Demo- Displays the difference between Auto Motion Plus 120Hz on and off modes. The screen after applying “Auto Motion Plus” appears on the left.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

2 speaker convention hookup

I have a LN40D630 TV-can I hook up my conventional Reciever Am Fm with 2 speakers ? using RCA cables
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GEEGEE
 from
Pa
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is an audio output on the back of the TV. All you need is the cable to hook it up. Since you are talking about RCA cables I believe that you have the correct cable. I have my TV hooked up through my home theater receiver but through my set top (dish) box and sound wise that is the only way to go. For the TV in my bedroom I used an old set of computer speakers with a subwoofer. I just hooked them up through the headphone jack. That too has worked out very well.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On the LN40D630, you most certainly can connect an analogue receiver for audio listening. However, to do so, you will need to purchase a 3.5mm jack to RED/WHITE RCA cable to connect the TV's 3.5mm Audio output to your receivers RED/WHITE inputs.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this model support hdmi with anynet+hdmi-cec capabilitys?

I am refering to model # LN40D630M3. Other specs I need
1. Ethernet I/O?
2. Sound leveler feature included?
3. Is a remote included?
4. Is a sleep timer provided?
5. Does it have simulated Surrond capabilitys?
6. Does it have any Comp Filter 3D Y/C digital included within it's design?
7. Does it support Picture in Picture
Would you consider this model a comprable replacement to my LN-T4069F I currently own?
If not, could you provide a recomendation for a current model to replace my "dead" LN-T4069F
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
 from
las vegas
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
1. input, yes
2.
3. yes
4. yes
5. yes
6.
7. yes, but only for two separate sources. ex: pip can be used to watch cable tv while watching something else on HDMI but cannot be used to watch two cable tv channels at once.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I will try to answer all of your questions as best I can.

1. It does offer an ethernet connection for AllShare
2. It does offer a Sound Leveler
3. Remotes are included with all new in box Samsung TVs
4. All Samsung TVs offer a Sleep Timer
5. It will offer SRS TruSurround: This function provides a virtual 5.1 channel surround sound experience through a pair of speakers using HRTF (Head Related Transfer Function) technology.
6. This information is currently not available
7. It does offer PiP

and finally, the LN40D630 will offer Anynet+.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the width of the TV, i.e. not the diagonal?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vinalfa
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
38-5/8"
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jpWV
+9points
9out of 9found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The dimensions of the LN40D630 are: with the stand- 38.6 x 10.0 x 26.1 and with out the stand- 38.6 x 3.2 x 23.6 (inches, WxDxH).

-MrSamsung
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

what did I actually buy?

Is the ln40d630m3fza TV 60 Hz or 120hz? the description states 120 Hz, but the back of the Tv reads 60hz? Did I purchase a 120hz or 60 Hz TV?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
it has a 120hz refresh rate, which you can turn off (called motion plus).
That's the thing about paying more for a 120hz refresh rate... you don't know the difference, do you? HD pictures are beautiful at 60hz... yes, even sports.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nomoreaquos
 from
sugar land, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This television's display refreshes at 120 Hz, which is what we're measuring when we determine that a television is 60, 120, or 240 Hz. The 60 Hz label on the back refers to the power supply, not the refresh rate.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DouglasBBY
 from
Minneapolis, MN
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you decrease the refresh rate to 60 Hz if desired

...or is this TV "locked" to 120 Hz?
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can absolutely shut off the 120hz rate. I did right away, switched off "movie mode" too. With those off, the picture is amazing.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nomoreaquos
 from
sugar land, tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the panel will always show the image at the higher Hz, in order to receive the full benefit, Auto Motion Plus and LED Motion Plus need to be activated. As long as these features are turned off, your 60Hz image should look like a normal 60hz broadcast.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does a remote come with the TV

I see that in other tv's that a remote is included with the tv, but under the description, it is not listed under this product. What would you control the TV by?
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Rio Rancho
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes it comes with a remote
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
From the available information, all new in box Samsung TV will come included with a remote control.

-MrSamsung
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the 630 be used as a pc monitor?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but you have to go into Windows control panel and change the dpi settings to get the normal resolution and that will change the FONT size from 96 to 120.
This web page will help you find the control panel section in Vista or you can go to google for "change dpi settings" for the version of windows you currenly have:
http://www.lawfirmsoftware.com/support/change_dpi_settings_vista.htm
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
76 miles an hour
 from
Parkiville Md.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are three ways to connect your PC or Mac to your Samsung TV for monitor functionality: monitor cable, HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport. Please note, in the PC's operating system, you will need to set the display settings to either clone or extended view and set the PC’s resolution to match that of the maximum resolution of the TV in order to view your PC's desktop on the TV.

Although all of these connections are easy to hook up, the PC monitor cable is the most common. To connect it this way, just use a standard PC monitor cable to connect from the monitor out of your PC to the PC input on the TV. Some adjustments to the PC's resolution is required.

If your PC offer HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC).

HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the PC (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

Unless otherwise specified by your PC manufacturer, you will need to connect the PC's audio to the TV with a separate cable (3.5mm jack cable), since most PCs do not support audio over HDMI, VGA or DVI.

Additionally, the Samsung TVs do not offer wireless or networked monitor capabilities.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 next>>