Looking for Answers about Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Enjoy video games, movies and more with this Samsung LN40D630M3 HDTV that features Touch of Color technology and full 1080p resolution for exceptional detail and picture clarity.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions
 | 
99 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(145 Reviews)145

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Question

Can the TV be used with a Wii?

The specs say there are no composite inputs. Does this mean it's impossible to connect a Nintendo Wii to this TV?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VideoGamer
 from
Dublin, OH
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm sorry for the confusion. The LN40D630 does in fact offer a component/composite combination input.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
there is actually one combined composite/component input that can be used for either. yes, a nintendo wii can be used with this tv.
 
Products from my answer
Monster - THX 700 4' HDMI A/V Cable
3 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the 40 " capable and ready to attach to a wall mount?

I just need to know if this TV is wall mountable.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You will have to purchase a wall bracket to do this. Check with someone at the store that is familiar with your model to be sure you get the proper one. If you are going to install it yourself, be sure to locate the studs on your wall to attach the bracket to properly hold the weight of the set.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
portsider
 from
Memphis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This TV is wall mountable, but the wall mounting kit must be purchased separately.
 
Products from my answer
 
Sanus - Tilting Low-Profile Wall Mount for 27" - 84" Flat-Panel TVs
4.1 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
Sanus - Wall Mount for Most 32-60" Flat-Panel TVs - Black
4.5 out of 5(137)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wireless connection with BD 6500 Samsung blu-ray?

Seems to have worked initially but now the only choice I get when going to network setup on the t.v. menu is wired connection! I have the hdmi cable connecting t.v. & blu-ray? Any idea why I'm not getting the wireless option on the network setup? My router & other devices(laptop) are working fine. Do I need an adapter along with blu-ray to stream netflix etc. Thanks, JDA
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
andy46
 from
ga
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you have the LN40D630, this model doesn't have wifi capability. If you want to stream netflex, you will have to get a device capable of doing so. Hope this helped!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the LN40D630 does not have direct access to Samsung Apps (like Netflix, Pandora or YouTube), it can display App content from a 2010-11 Samsung BD player (the blu-ray player will handle the Internet content processing, similar to how a monitor will display the PC’s video signal). Additionally, although this model offers AllShare DLNA for streaming saved content from a DLNA device (PC, Cell Phone, Etc.) through a wired or wireless connection with a Samsung Linkstick to a home network, the Linkstick itself cannot add Internet@TV or Smart TV functionality. The Linkstick can only facilitate a network connection to Samsung Devices that already offer either network connectivity or Internet@TV and Samsung Apps.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
 
Products from my answer
Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
4.1 out of 5(271)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this model LN40D630M3 an energy star qualified TV ?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, in fact it has muliple settings to save money in a built in adjustable sensor , called the "eco sensor". It will automatically adust the brightness control based on the light in the room around the TV. So in a dark room at night it will automatically dim and save you money. This feature has several options and can be also turned off if you choose.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Eastcoast
 from
Baltimore
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, Samsung's LN40D630M3 is not an Energy Star qualified TV.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between LED and LCD?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bullmoose
 from
Bethel, Alaska
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
LCD is liquid crystal display, LED is light emitting diode. So in terms of televisions the LED will have a longer picture life and a faster refresh rate. If you are not into heavy gaming the LCD will work fine and cost quite a bit less. When I went with my hi-def TV's I went with LCD based on the factor that I am not into gaming and the cost. I am pleased with my decision.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
LCD traditionally uses a CCFL (Cold Cathode Fluorescent Lamp) backlighting system that runs across the rear internal portion of the unit to illuminate the LCD panel from behind. This lamp technology enjoys a tremendous following of enthusiasts, and translates into years of enjoyment of an affirmed, reliable and trusted technology.

LED (in this application, it is also known as LCD-LED) is relatively new on the market, and uses specialized versions of the LED lights that have been used for years. It allows LCD panels to be lit either from behind (replacing the CCFLs with LEDs), or from the side using an efficient energy friendly infrastructure that emits light evenly behind the panel in order to illuminate the entire LCD panel equally, called EDGE-LED. EDGE-LED Technology has a few additional benefits in that the design of the LED panel can be slimmer than traditional LCD panels and reduces energy consumption.

LED also has a few additional benefits, such as offering an accurate and natural color, as well as increased performance with black levels. LED is also free from toxic materials, such as mercury, lead or volatile organic compounds.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

2 speaker convention hookup

I have a LN40D630 TV-can I hook up my conventional Reciever Am Fm with 2 speakers ? using RCA cables
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GEEGEE
 from
Pa
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is an audio output on the back of the TV. All you need is the cable to hook it up. Since you are talking about RCA cables I believe that you have the correct cable. I have my TV hooked up through my home theater receiver but through my set top (dish) box and sound wise that is the only way to go. For the TV in my bedroom I used an old set of computer speakers with a subwoofer. I just hooked them up through the headphone jack. That too has worked out very well.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On the LN40D630, you most certainly can connect an analogue receiver for audio listening. However, to do so, you will need to purchase a 3.5mm jack to RED/WHITE RCA cable to connect the TV's 3.5mm Audio output to your receivers RED/WHITE inputs.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the 630 be used as a pc monitor?

3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but you have to go into Windows control panel and change the dpi settings to get the normal resolution and that will change the FONT size from 96 to 120.
This web page will help you find the control panel section in Vista or you can go to google for "change dpi settings" for the version of windows you currenly have:
http://www.lawfirmsoftware.com/support/change_dpi_settings_vista.htm
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
76 miles an hour
 from
Parkiville Md.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are three ways to connect your PC or Mac to your Samsung TV for monitor functionality: monitor cable, HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport. Please note, in the PC's operating system, you will need to set the display settings to either clone or extended view and set the PC’s resolution to match that of the maximum resolution of the TV in order to view your PC's desktop on the TV.

Although all of these connections are easy to hook up, the PC monitor cable is the most common. To connect it this way, just use a standard PC monitor cable to connect from the monitor out of your PC to the PC input on the TV. Some adjustments to the PC's resolution is required.

If your PC offer HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC).

HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the PC (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

Unless otherwise specified by your PC manufacturer, you will need to connect the PC's audio to the TV with a separate cable (3.5mm jack cable), since most PCs do not support audio over HDMI, VGA or DVI.

Additionally, the Samsung TVs do not offer wireless or networked monitor capabilities.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Tv does not turn on

Hi,
I have a Samsung 40"/1080p/120HZ/LCD, it's only 2 years old, but this morning, it does not turn on. Can someone please help me?

Thank you.
Betrix T.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
By the way you shoule talk to samsung use the websight and do the online chat they willl help you we are currently having the same problem and it might be fixed for FREE. there is some issue witht he capasitor!
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NIUhusky
 from
Aurora IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I’m sorry you are having an issue with your device. Although with the information you have provided I do not have a solution for you; contacting Samsung Service (refer to your device's manual for more information or visit Samsung's website) would be your best next course of action.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have parental control?

3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
YES everything has a V-chip that allows for the parental controls! Tipically if you have cabel of anysort this can be done through the box it's self!
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NIUhusky
 from
Aurora Il
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the LN40D630 will offer channel blocking parental controls.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

No wired internet connection in the house

I just got a new tv and the tv comes with internet, but we have wireless internet, and no land line for our house, and i was wondering if there is any type of device that can get my computer internet.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi. We faced the same dilemma. Same Samsung LCD-HDTV, which is an awesome tv, but we would love to use it to it's full potential. We thought about getting the Samsung internet adapter (we may still do that), but have made do with the internet connection through our PS3. We're even able to download movies on directv cinema. As I said, we may still get the adapter, but the PS3 is sufficing for now.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Summer
 from
Oregon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although this model (D630) does not have direct access to Samsung Apps (like Netflix, Pandora or YouTube) nor any other internet content, it can access App content through a 2010-11 Samsung BD player (the blu-ray player will handle the Internet content processing).

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 next>>