Looking for Answers about Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Enjoy video games, movies and more with this Samsung LN40D630M3 HDTV that features Touch of Color technology and full 1080p resolution for exceptional detail and picture clarity.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions
 | 
99 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(145 Reviews)145

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Question

what did I actually buy?

Is the ln40d630m3fza TV 60 Hz or 120hz? the description states 120 Hz, but the back of the Tv reads 60hz? Did I purchase a 120hz or 60 Hz TV?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
it has a 120hz refresh rate, which you can turn off (called motion plus).
That's the thing about paying more for a 120hz refresh rate... you don't know the difference, do you? HD pictures are beautiful at 60hz... yes, even sports.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nomoreaquos
 from
sugar land, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This television's display refreshes at 120 Hz, which is what we're measuring when we determine that a television is 60, 120, or 240 Hz. The 60 Hz label on the back refers to the power supply, not the refresh rate.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DouglasBBY
 from
Minneapolis, MN
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Are any special cables needed

can it be taken from the box and be hooked up to cable?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jan
 from
Pawtucket
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
if you are connecting to regular cable, the answer is no, but if you are going to use HDMI then you will need one of those cables, but don't spend a lot on them as ones costing less than $30 do just as well as those costing way more.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
portsider
 from
Memphis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
All current generation Samsung TVs are digital cable and Antenna ready. All of our TVs include a coax ATSC/QAM tuner that handles digital and analogue broadcast signals as well. No external boxes or equipment needed to view your basic cable. An antenna is required for over the air broadcasts. Premium service may require additional equipment and fees. Please contact your service provider for details.
If you plan to connect other 3rd party devices like a DVD or Blu-Ray Player, please refer to the manual of that device for information on cables that may be needed for connection to the Samsung TV.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Wireless connection with BD 6500 Samsung blu-ray?

Seems to have worked initially but now the only choice I get when going to network setup on the t.v. menu is wired connection! I have the hdmi cable connecting t.v. & blu-ray? Any idea why I'm not getting the wireless option on the network setup? My router & other devices(laptop) are working fine. Do I need an adapter along with blu-ray to stream netflix etc. Thanks, JDA
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
andy46
 from
ga
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you have the LN40D630, this model doesn't have wifi capability. If you want to stream netflex, you will have to get a device capable of doing so. Hope this helped!
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the LN40D630 does not have direct access to Samsung Apps (like Netflix, Pandora or YouTube), it can display App content from a 2010-11 Samsung BD player (the blu-ray player will handle the Internet content processing, similar to how a monitor will display the PC’s video signal). Additionally, although this model offers AllShare DLNA for streaming saved content from a DLNA device (PC, Cell Phone, Etc.) through a wired or wireless connection with a Samsung Linkstick to a home network, the Linkstick itself cannot add Internet@TV or Smart TV functionality. The Linkstick can only facilitate a network connection to Samsung Devices that already offer either network connectivity or Internet@TV and Samsung Apps.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
 
Products from my answer
Samsung - LinkStick Wireless USB 2.0 Adapter
4.1 out of 5(271)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this model LN40D630M3 an energy star qualified TV ?

2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, in fact it has muliple settings to save money in a built in adjustable sensor , called the "eco sensor". It will automatically adust the brightness control based on the light in the room around the TV. So in a dark room at night it will automatically dim and save you money. This feature has several options and can be also turned off if you choose.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Eastcoast
 from
Baltimore
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, Samsung's LN40D630M3 is not an Energy Star qualified TV.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between LED and LCD?

2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bullmoose
 from
Bethel, Alaska
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
LCD is liquid crystal display, LED is light emitting diode. So in terms of televisions the LED will have a longer picture life and a faster refresh rate. If you are not into heavy gaming the LCD will work fine and cost quite a bit less. When I went with my hi-def TV's I went with LCD based on the factor that I am not into gaming and the cost. I am pleased with my decision.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
LCD traditionally uses a CCFL (Cold Cathode Fluorescent Lamp) backlighting system that runs across the rear internal portion of the unit to illuminate the LCD panel from behind. This lamp technology enjoys a tremendous following of enthusiasts, and translates into years of enjoyment of an affirmed, reliable and trusted technology.

LED (in this application, it is also known as LCD-LED) is relatively new on the market, and uses specialized versions of the LED lights that have been used for years. It allows LCD panels to be lit either from behind (replacing the CCFLs with LEDs), or from the side using an efficient energy friendly infrastructure that emits light evenly behind the panel in order to illuminate the entire LCD panel equally, called EDGE-LED. EDGE-LED Technology has a few additional benefits in that the design of the LED panel can be slimmer than traditional LCD panels and reduces energy consumption.

LED also has a few additional benefits, such as offering an accurate and natural color, as well as increased performance with black levels. LED is also free from toxic materials, such as mercury, lead or volatile organic compounds.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

2 speaker convention hookup

I have a LN40D630 TV-can I hook up my conventional Reciever Am Fm with 2 speakers ? using RCA cables
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GEEGEE
 from
Pa
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is an audio output on the back of the TV. All you need is the cable to hook it up. Since you are talking about RCA cables I believe that you have the correct cable. I have my TV hooked up through my home theater receiver but through my set top (dish) box and sound wise that is the only way to go. For the TV in my bedroom I used an old set of computer speakers with a subwoofer. I just hooked them up through the headphone jack. That too has worked out very well.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On the LN40D630, you most certainly can connect an analogue receiver for audio listening. However, to do so, you will need to purchase a 3.5mm jack to RED/WHITE RCA cable to connect the TV's 3.5mm Audio output to your receivers RED/WHITE inputs.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the 630 be used as a pc monitor?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but you have to go into Windows control panel and change the dpi settings to get the normal resolution and that will change the FONT size from 96 to 120.
This web page will help you find the control panel section in Vista or you can go to google for "change dpi settings" for the version of windows you currenly have:
http://www.lawfirmsoftware.com/support/change_dpi_settings_vista.htm
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
76 miles an hour
 from
Parkiville Md.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are three ways to connect your PC or Mac to your Samsung TV for monitor functionality: monitor cable, HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport. Please note, in the PC's operating system, you will need to set the display settings to either clone or extended view and set the PC’s resolution to match that of the maximum resolution of the TV in order to view your PC's desktop on the TV.

Although all of these connections are easy to hook up, the PC monitor cable is the most common. To connect it this way, just use a standard PC monitor cable to connect from the monitor out of your PC to the PC input on the TV. Some adjustments to the PC's resolution is required.

If your PC offer HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC).

HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the PC (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

Unless otherwise specified by your PC manufacturer, you will need to connect the PC's audio to the TV with a separate cable (3.5mm jack cable), since most PCs do not support audio over HDMI, VGA or DVI.

Additionally, the Samsung TVs do not offer wireless or networked monitor capabilities.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this model support hdmi with anynet+hdmi-cec capabilitys?

I am refering to model # LN40D630M3. Other specs I need
1. Ethernet I/O?
2. Sound leveler feature included?
3. Is a remote included?
4. Is a sleep timer provided?
5. Does it have simulated Surrond capabilitys?
6. Does it have any Comp Filter 3D Y/C digital included within it's design?
7. Does it support Picture in Picture
Would you consider this model a comprable replacement to my LN-T4069F I currently own?
If not, could you provide a recomendation for a current model to replace my "dead" LN-T4069F
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
 from
las vegas
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
1. input, yes
2.
3. yes
4. yes
5. yes
6.
7. yes, but only for two separate sources. ex: pip can be used to watch cable tv while watching something else on HDMI but cannot be used to watch two cable tv channels at once.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I will try to answer all of your questions as best I can.

1. It does offer an ethernet connection for AllShare
2. It does offer a Sound Leveler
3. Remotes are included with all new in box Samsung TVs
4. All Samsung TVs offer a Sleep Timer
5. It will offer SRS TruSurround: This function provides a virtual 5.1 channel surround sound experience through a pair of speakers using HRTF (Head Related Transfer Function) technology.
6. This information is currently not available
7. It does offer PiP

and finally, the LN40D630 will offer Anynet+.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the difference between this model(LN40D630) and the model before this(LN40C630)?

What features does the LN40D630 have compared to the LN40C630?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
From the CNET review I read about the C630, there doesn't appear to be much difference at all... just this year's model. CNET loved the C630, but I couldn't find it in stock. So I bought this year's model, the D630 when it came out, assuming it would be just as good. It's great.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nomoreaquous
 from
sugar land, tx
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The main differences between the D630 and the C630 are:

1. The D630 is a 2011 model with updated internal hardware, while the C630 is a 2010 model and is no longer in production
2. The D630 offers a Dynamic contrast ratio of 250,000:1, while the C630 offers 120,000:1

-MrSamsung
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

No wired internet connection in the house

I just got a new tv and the tv comes with internet, but we have wireless internet, and no land line for our house, and i was wondering if there is any type of device that can get my computer internet.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi. We faced the same dilemma. Same Samsung LCD-HDTV, which is an awesome tv, but we would love to use it to it's full potential. We thought about getting the Samsung internet adapter (we may still do that), but have made do with the internet connection through our PS3. We're even able to download movies on directv cinema. As I said, we may still get the adapter, but the PS3 is sufficing for now.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Summer
 from
Oregon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although this model (D630) does not have direct access to Samsung Apps (like Netflix, Pandora or YouTube) nor any other internet content, it can access App content through a 2010-11 Samsung BD player (the blu-ray player will handle the Internet content processing).

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 next>>