Looking for Answers about Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Enjoy video games, movies and more with this Samsung LN40D630M3 HDTV that features Touch of Color technology and full 1080p resolution for exceptional detail and picture clarity.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions
 | 
99 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(145 Reviews)145

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV

Question

Can you decrease the refresh rate to 60 Hz if desired

...or is this TV "locked" to 120 Hz?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can absolutely shut off the 120hz rate. I did right away, switched off "movie mode" too. With those off, the picture is amazing.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nomoreaquos
 from
sugar land, tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the panel will always show the image at the higher Hz, in order to receive the full benefit, Auto Motion Plus and LED Motion Plus need to be activated. As long as these features are turned off, your 60Hz image should look like a normal 60hz broadcast.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Dynamic Contrast Ratio

What is the Dynamic Contrast Ratio of this television?
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
230o4evg
 from
United States
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+5points
5out of 5found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
250,000 to 1.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The dynamic contrast ratio of the LN40D630 is at 250,000:1.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does a remote come with the TV

I see that in other tv's that a remote is included with the tv, but under the description, it is not listed under this product. What would you control the TV by?
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Rio Rancho
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes it comes with a remote
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
From the available information, all new in box Samsung TV will come included with a remote control.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the 630 be used as a pc monitor?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but you have to go into Windows control panel and change the dpi settings to get the normal resolution and that will change the FONT size from 96 to 120.
This web page will help you find the control panel section in Vista or you can go to google for "change dpi settings" for the version of windows you currenly have:
http://www.lawfirmsoftware.com/support/change_dpi_settings_vista.htm
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
76 miles an hour
 from
Parkiville Md.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are three ways to connect your PC or Mac to your Samsung TV for monitor functionality: monitor cable, HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport. Please note, in the PC's operating system, you will need to set the display settings to either clone or extended view and set the PC’s resolution to match that of the maximum resolution of the TV in order to view your PC's desktop on the TV.

Although all of these connections are easy to hook up, the PC monitor cable is the most common. To connect it this way, just use a standard PC monitor cable to connect from the monitor out of your PC to the PC input on the TV. Some adjustments to the PC's resolution is required.

If your PC offer HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC).

HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the PC (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

Unless otherwise specified by your PC manufacturer, you will need to connect the PC's audio to the TV with a separate cable (3.5mm jack cable), since most PCs do not support audio over HDMI, VGA or DVI.

Additionally, the Samsung TVs do not offer wireless or networked monitor capabilities.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are any special cables needed

can it be taken from the box and be hooked up to cable?
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jan
 from
Pawtucket
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
if you are connecting to regular cable, the answer is no, but if you are going to use HDMI then you will need one of those cables, but don't spend a lot on them as ones costing less than $30 do just as well as those costing way more.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
portsider
 from
Memphis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
All current generation Samsung TVs are digital cable and Antenna ready. All of our TVs include a coax ATSC/QAM tuner that handles digital and analogue broadcast signals as well. No external boxes or equipment needed to view your basic cable. An antenna is required for over the air broadcasts. Premium service may require additional equipment and fees. Please contact your service provider for details.
If you plan to connect other 3rd party devices like a DVD or Blu-Ray Player, please refer to the manual of that device for information on cables that may be needed for connection to the Samsung TV.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Tv does not turn on

Hi,
I have a Samsung 40"/1080p/120HZ/LCD, it's only 2 years old, but this morning, it does not turn on. Can someone please help me?

Thank you.
Betrix T.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
By the way you shoule talk to samsung use the websight and do the online chat they willl help you we are currently having the same problem and it might be fixed for FREE. there is some issue witht he capasitor!
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NIUhusky
 from
Aurora IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I’m sorry you are having an issue with your device. Although with the information you have provided I do not have a solution for you; contacting Samsung Service (refer to your device's manual for more information or visit Samsung's website) would be your best next course of action.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

No wired internet connection in the house

I just got a new tv and the tv comes with internet, but we have wireless internet, and no land line for our house, and i was wondering if there is any type of device that can get my computer internet.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi. We faced the same dilemma. Same Samsung LCD-HDTV, which is an awesome tv, but we would love to use it to it's full potential. We thought about getting the Samsung internet adapter (we may still do that), but have made do with the internet connection through our PS3. We're even able to download movies on directv cinema. As I said, we may still get the adapter, but the PS3 is sufficing for now.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Summer
 from
Oregon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although this model (D630) does not have direct access to Samsung Apps (like Netflix, Pandora or YouTube) nor any other internet content, it can access App content through a 2010-11 Samsung BD player (the blu-ray player will handle the Internet content processing).

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have parental control?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
YES everything has a V-chip that allows for the parental controls! Tipically if you have cabel of anysort this can be done through the box it's self!
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NIUhusky
 from
Aurora Il
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the LN40D630 will offer channel blocking parental controls.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the 40 " capable and ready to attach to a wall mount?

I just need to know if this TV is wall mountable.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You will have to purchase a wall bracket to do this. Check with someone at the store that is familiar with your model to be sure you get the proper one. If you are going to install it yourself, be sure to locate the studs on your wall to attach the bracket to properly hold the weight of the set.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
portsider
 from
Memphis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This TV is wall mountable, but the wall mounting kit must be purchased separately.
 
Products from my answer
 
Sanus - Tilting Low-Profile Wall Mount for 27" - 84" Flat-Panel TVs
4.1 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
Sanus - Wall Mount for Most 32-60" Flat-Panel TVs - Black
4.5 out of 5(137)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I find the prices for the TV's on your website?

I am looking at a 40" Samsung Flat Screen TV, but you do not show a price.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class - LCD - 1080p - 120Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Place the unit in your shopping cart then go to your cart and click on checkout
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pack Man
 from
Green Bay, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, this question would be best asked of a dedicated Best Buy representative. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 next>>