Looking for Answers about Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Store your fresh and frozen foods with this Samsung RFG297HDRS refrigerator that features a Twin Cooling Plus system that keeps air circulating around your food to maintain freshness. The bottom-mount freezer provides easy access to frozen foods. Product specs and dimensions (PDF)
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions
 | 
65 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.481 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(239 Reviews)239

Questions & Answers for Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel

Question

saw model rfg298hdrs at lowes is this the same as the best buy # rfg297hdrs

5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The RFG297HDRS and RFG298HDRS are almost identical. The RFG297HDRS has a single icemaker in the refrigerator compartment that dispenses ice through the door; the RFG298HDRS has a second icemaker in the freezer, as well. Both models feature Samsung's signature Twin Cooling Plus system, LED lighting, Cool Select Pantry Drawers and the new taller ice and water dispenser.

Thank you for your interest,
Ms. Samsung
5 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Looking to buy RFG297HDRS, question on size and doorway access to kitchen.

In looking at the dimensions for subject unit in Samsung's spec sheets, I see that without the hinges,( ie doors and freezer drawer front and foot base off) the unit is 35 3/4" wide, 68 1/2" high, and 29 1/4" deep. The kitchen doorway is 30 1/4" inches wide with the door off and door stops removed. I'm also aware that a freezer drawer rails support the freezer drawer. When the freezer drawer front is removed do the sliding side rails retract entirely into the hard case (within 29 1/4" maintaining that dimension) or do they stay beyond the case and by how much if so? If they fully retract it looks like the refrigerator will have 1 inch of access clearance. If not, I guess will have to look at counter depth models.
4 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The freezer doors do retract all the way inside.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToneN
 from
Tulsa, OK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. You're correct that the doors and drawer front can be removed, but the front of the rails that support the freezer drawer do not retract entirely into the unit. To ensure the RFG297HDRS can fit through your narrow doorway, you may need to remove the rails themselves. This is not ideal since it will require more reassembly than if the drawer front alone were removed, but it is possible.

To remove the entire freezer drawer, including the rails:
1. Open the freezer drawer and remove the upper "Auto Pull-Out" freezer drawer and the main bin. It may be necessary to remove the Tilting Shelf and side brackets from the drawer front, as well.
2. Locate the white plastic release buttons located toward the rear of the metal freezer drawer railing on both the right and left side (see attached pictures).
3. Pull the freezer drawer out while pressing the release buttons (you may need a second person to help with this step). The entire drawer and railing should pull out together.
4. To reassemble, align and slide the drawer rail back onto the track, being sure to push it in the entire way so the buttons lock back in place.
5. The roller index bar (black metal rod) will need to be reinstalled. Please refer to the online troubleshooting guide on the product support page of Samsung's website for instructions. When the guide opens, go to "Troubleshooting > Freezer > Metal Black Rod Lying In The Bottom Of My Freezer" for detailed instructions on replacing the Index Roller Bar. Please note that it's very important that the Index Roller Bar be reinstalled correctly to ensure the drawer will close and seal properly. For further assistance, please feel free to call 800-SAMSUNG to speak with an agent who will be happy to assist you.

- Ms. Samsung
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Samsung RFG298HDRS -Does the control panel have to be reset manually after a power outage

We are very interested in purchasing the Samsung French Door RefrigeratorRFG298HDRS. We have read about an issue with the control panel needing to be manually reset after a power outage. This is a concern for us because we do have power surges from time to time and would not want to wake up or come home from vacation to find our food spoiled. Please let me know if this issue has been addressed with this model. Thank you.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Not sure about this. I would revise my original review of this product because I am now on my 3rd of these refrigerators in 4 months. The first one died (lost ALL my food--about $900 worth in freezer and fridge) just shy of its 3 month birthday.
The 2nd one lasted 4 days before the icemaker went out.
The 3rd fridge is hanging in there after 3 weeks. Whether it will last until its warranty expires is anyone's guess. I have little faith in it.
Though I love the design, I would prefer reliability in the long term. My other refrigerator (Whirlpool) never gave me a hiccup in 18 years, and my daughter has it in her place now.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Painter513
 from
Colorado
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The RFG298HDRS is designed to restart automatically after a power outage. However, power surges can sometimes damage the refrigerator's controls or result in the "cooling off" mode to be activated. If you live in an area that is prone to power outages and surges, I would suggest contacting your local power company or electrician for advice on protecting your appliances or other electronics from the effects of power surges.

Thank you for the question,
Ms. Samsung
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

shoild you be able to open either door on the refrigerator #RFG297HD for the light to come on.

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, our light comes on no matter which door we open.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
marcpa18
 from
Sugar Land
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the light inside the refrigerator should come on when either the left or right side door is opened. If it does not, please check the wiring under the hinge covers to make sure they're fully connected. If this doesn't resolve the issue, please call 888-BEST BUY or 800-SAMSUNG to speak with an agent who will be happy to assist you further.

- Ms. Samsung
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How hard is it to remove the doors?

I have two entrance doors that are <32 inches. I asked at the store if the doors could be removed to bring it into the house and they said no! If the doors have water lines and wires in them, does it void any warranty if I remove them to getit Ito the house? Or does a technician have to do it?
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kevin
 from
Florida
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The doors can be removed. The instructions are included. It requires a socket or wrench to removed the freezer portion. It took about 20 minutes to do. You do have to disconnect the water line. It is very simple. Hopes this helps.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToneN
 from
Tulsa, OK
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's fine to remove the doors of the RFG297HDRS to fit through your doorway. Detailed instructions can be found in the user manual, which can be downloaded in advance from Samsung's website. For information about having the delivery team do this for you, please call 888-BEST BUY. It's also fine to do it yourself, though it's advisable to have at least one helper so one person can support the door while the other focuses on the electrical and water connections.

Thanks for your interest!
Ms. Samsung
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a "platinum" version of this fridge (as opposed to stainless steel?)

5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
uniqueme
 from
ashburn, va
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. I just got one from Sears at Washington Square. Model RFG29HDPN. Even Samsung literature have updated the model numbers.
5 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Just got RFG29
 from
PDX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The RFG297HD is not available in Samsung's Stainless Platinum finish at this time. If this fingerprint-resistant, magnetic finish is important to you, you may want to consider the RF4287HAPN. This upgraded four-door model has most of the same features as the RFG297HD, including Samsung's Twin Cooling Plus system and LED lighting, but also features the independently controlled Flex Zone Drawer that puts your most frequently used items within easy reach for the whole family.

Thank you for your interest!
Ms. Samsung
5 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Installation space

Hi, I have a space of 36"x70" (W,H). From the given frig dimensions, it will fit into this space. Does this frig need surrounding spaces for heat dispersal?
5 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Ours is the same measurements, it fits fine, but you should also look at the depth. There should be 1-2 " open space on top, in back & on the sides for proper air flow.
5 years ago
by
Posted by: 
julz42
 from
illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the question. The RFG297HDRS measures 35-3/4" wide, 68-1/2" tall without the hinges (69-3/4" high with the hinges) and 29-1/4" deep without the doors. In addition, Samsung recommends leaving at least 2" above and behind as well as 3/8" on each side to allow sufficient room for air flow and to be able to move the refrigerator in and out of the space.

- Ms. Samsung
5 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Differences Between the RFG298HRDS and RFG298AA?

Can you tell me the features / functional differences - if any between the RFG298HRDS and RFG298AA?
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Can't find the RFG298AA on Samsung's website, but if you go there and compare the previous models RFG297HDRS and RFG297AA you will see the likely differences. Just check each model and click compare.

http://www.samsung.com/us/appliances/french-door
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Compared to the RFG298AA, the newer RFG298HDRS features an upgraded display and taller dispenser, an improved slim design water filter that fits snuggly between the crisper drawers, improved energy efficiency and more door storage for better organization. Like the RFG298AA, the upgraded model also has Samsung's signature Twin Cooling Plus system to help keep food fresh longer, as well as LED lighting.

Thank you for your interest,
Ms. Samsung
4 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you suggest a similar model samsung with magnet doors in stainless?

Hello, I recently purchased this fridge under the impression that the doors were "magnetic" as stated in best buy's filter option. When it arrived this weekend, I was disappointing to find out that the doors would not hold magnets. I would like to exchange this fridge with a comparable Samsung model in stainless with "magnetic doors". Which models would you suggest?

Thanks.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cortney
 from
Houston
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Been told you need to purchase what Samsung calls platinum finish. I have this type at another property. You need strong magnets to hold things, but the platinum finish will take magnets.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
saavyconsumer
 from
St. Louis, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the question. I'm sorry to hear the model you received was not as you expected. While some types of stainless steel are magnetic, the stainless steel alloys commonly used in refrigerators usually are not. Samsung's Stainless Platinum finish looks like stainless steel but is magnetic and fingerprint-resistant. I would suggest contacting your Best Buy representative regarding the availability of the Stainless Platinum finish in models that would best suit your needs.

- Ms. Samsung
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the ice maker on RFG298HDRS make crushed ice?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Clearance 28.5 Cu. Ft. French Door Refrigerator with Thru-the-Door Ice and Water - Stainless-Steel
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, features water, cubed and crushed ice.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
saavyconsumer
 from
St. Louis, MO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the RFG298HDRS can dispense both cubed and crushed ice.

Thanks for your interest!
Ms. Samsung
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>