Looking for Answers about Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black

Microsoft Type Cover 2 for Surface Tablets: Lightweight and ultrathin, this keyboard and screen cover combination turns your Surface into an all-purpose device that blends the functionality of a laptop with the portability of a tablet.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions
 | 
85 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.61 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(2069 Reviews)2069

Questions & Answers for Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black

Question

Does the keyboard fold while attached to the Surface?

1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
zboy
 from
dallas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it folds over the screen of the surface and it folds behind the surface to just give you the screen only.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
d1rt
 from
Lynnwood, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, the keyboard folds over the screen to provide protection and ease of carrying.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Patrick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
customer24
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The keyboard folds back out of the way if need be. It's a great product and nice if you don't like using the touchscreen
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
twntrbo15
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
It folds like a closed book. The keyboard is the same size as the Surface.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Purplecat
 from
Janesville WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
yes.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cherylan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Yes
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
csoulja28
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Yes it's designed to fold
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DeanMike
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Yes, they close just like a laptop
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DoctorT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
The keyboard itself does not bend. The keyboard can remain inside the case while it is folded up. The tablet and keyboard fit comfortably together inside this case. The case is very sturdy and protects both the keyboard and tablet at the same time
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MomofDoodle
 from
Wilton, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this keyboard it compatible with Dell XPS 10?

1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Angi
 from
New York
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, it's for the Surface hardware.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
d1rt
 from
Lynnwood, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this is only for Microsoft surface rt, surface pro, surface 2 and surface pro 2.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rawbacon
 from
Pendleton, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
no
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ronS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No it doesn't,it only works for surface tablets.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeSurface
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Nope, it will only work with a Surface tablet .
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lenny
 from
Colorado
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
no..only works on the small screen surface and surface 2
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrmeiii
 from
ft collins co
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
No, only with Microsoft Surface RT, Surface Pro, Surface 2 and Surface Pro 2.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GalenV
 from
Bay Village, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
I don't believe so, unless it has the same connector that the Surface 2 Pro has. The keyboard was made for the Surface 2 Pro. If the XPS 10 has Bluetooth, the Microsoft Wedge Mobile Keyboard would be a good addition (unless you need the cover capability).
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ITProMan
 from
DuBois, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the type 2 cover compatible with the original Surface pro?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Piccplr
 from
IL
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, this keyboard is compatible with the original Surface. That is what I am using it for, and it works quite well.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
JHinRiverside
 from
Riverside, Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I would think so it works with the windows surface I have. The one before the pro
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Jboyd88
 from
Lexington, ky
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, its compatible with all surface versions.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
conquest275
 from
Vero Beach, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes. I believe it is the same. It's got a great feel and is backlit. Even the mouse touch pad works well.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
 from
Lake Stevens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I have no problems with my purple Type Cover 2 with my Surface Pro.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ceej
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, but not the gen 1 RT
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrgray
 from
Midwest
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes, I use it with my original surface pro with no issues
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Georgehen
 from
Long beach
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
The Type 2 cover works very wellwith the original Surface Pro. Zero issues
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maverikB
 from
Harrisburg PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Yes it is, I actually just purchased this for my surface RT and it works great!!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ghost2323
 from
Enfield, Ct
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Believe so because when I purchased the unit I was told it was compatible with all surface tablets.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Louigie
 from
Clearwater, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Yes Piccplr. I have the original 32gb surface tablet, and I'm typing from the type 2 cover right now.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bobman29
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

compatibility with non microsoft

does it work with the lenovo miix 2 tablet, galaxy tab 3 or other tablets?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
only works with surface and surface 2 with the small screen,not the pro3 it has a larger screen
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrmeiii
 from
ft collins co
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Linhkieu
 from
Mira mesa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No,

This keyboard only works with the Surface line of products. It is not a bluetooth keyboard and plugs directly into the tablet.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dalairuu
 from
Portland, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I highly doubt it. This keyboard attaches with magnets and has a physical connector. These would have to match in my opinion in order to function properly. Also designed for the Surface line of products so possibly needs specific drivers.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Bones1117
 from
New Mexico
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No, Surface only.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
conquest275
 from
Vero Beach, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No. It's for the Microsoft Surface 2 only.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
 from
Lake Stevens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
No, it is a proprietary connection
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrgray
 from
Midwest
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
No, built exclusively for Microsoft.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lambertdl07
 from
Long Beach
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
No this only works with the Surface Pro or Surface RT/2.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
thcolby
 from
Avon, CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
We are using it with a Asus tablet.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tablet10
 from
Appleton, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
This one was actually for the galaxy tab 3- 8".
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
megsmom1762
 from
sterling, ny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Real keys?

I can't tell from the pictures, does this keyboard have real keys (the kind that actually move down when you press them)? I have the original surface with touch keypad and find it VERY difficult to use so I am looking for something with real keys.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sophie
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it does have real keys. You would really enjoy the difference in the feel of the Type Keyboard in contrast to the Touch Keyboard. I would recommend you pick up the Type 2 because of the backlit keys as well.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mshawz
 from
McCordsville, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, just make sure that you get the TYPE COVER 2... not touch cover or touch cover 2
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kilibit
 from
Memphis, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes this is the one with real keys and i love it. its compact but still feels good when clicking a key and its backlit.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Shaday
 from
TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
not sure if youve gotten an answer yet but yes it does have real keys, much better use than the original, plus it has backlight which is very handy!
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SRob99
 from
San Diego
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes it does have keys that have a click response similar to that of a actual keyboard
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
2theePOINT
 from
USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
You get a real "key feel" with the Type 2 cover unlike the Touch cover which is smooth. The lighted keyboard is a plus.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
curtisvacations
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
yes, you are able to strike the keys like a real keyboard.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
scottieaka
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Yes, this keyboard is the one that has keys like a real keyboard.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Marisaintheskyy
 from
fresno, ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
Yes and no... it has raised keys, which act like "REAL" keys on a full keyboard that you usually use with a desktop.
To your finger tips, it feels like "Real" keys.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Charlottegirl
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
Yes a real keyboard
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Trzeb
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
Yes - real keys - good size - easy to type
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cpj413
 from
Sylvan Lake, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the best case for the surface rt and keyboard?

2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kat
 from
Tennessee
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
The folding keyboard provides case protection for the screen and the hard back of the Surface are, in fact, the case. We found that an additional case is not needed.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Patrick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I am not sure about a cause, but for keyboards I wouldn't get any other type of keyboard. It is simplistic and similar to a regular keyboard plus it doubles as a smart case.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ryan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I have this one ( http://www.bestbuy.com/site/incipio-sleeve-for-microsoft-surface-pro-and-surface-rt-red/9531042.p?id=1219021951218&skuid=9531042&sellerId= ) It works just fine for me
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lenny
 from
Colorado
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Don't need it
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Linhkieu
 from
Mira mesa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Case? Just buy a small zipper carrying case for it. I don't keep a case on mine. I just drop it in my computer bag and go however; whenever I place it on a surface I ensure that I sit it on the keyboard side. The bottom of the keyboard is made specifically to be placed on surfaces and it protects your device as well.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mshawz
 from
McCordsville, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I like the Incipio - Sleeve. It's reasonably priced, well padded and easy to put the device in and take out of.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BobInHouston
 from
Houston, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
In my opinion, the Type Cover is the best option. The touch cover gets annoying to me but in general I prefer to feel the keys press in instead of depending on touch. I love the way it looks and the magnetic connection is SUPER strong! Type Cover is worth the extra money in comparison to the Touch Cover.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CarringtonM
 from
Franklin, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
I bought a Manvex Leather case/stand for the Surface Pro 2 that works great. I believe they have an RT version. I have the type keyboard, and it works good with that. I do mostly use my Surface as a laptop, and not so much as a tablet. You can Youtube a video review of the case to see how it works
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
osculate4
 from
Lynn Haven, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 9
I purchased a H P soft 'pouch like' case. Fits the Surface w/ keyboard very well. Although it does not have a handle or strap which would be handy.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Trzeb
 from
Amherst WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
I purchased the Nixon Microsoft Surface Sleeve directly from the Microsoft store online. It was not available at Best Buy in December 2013. It has plenty of room for the tablet and type cover 2. I can even fit the power adapter in the side zipper compartment. It seems very durable and the zippers work great!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
safemanusa
 from
Mukwonago, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 11
There are many out there but I bought the Body Glove which is a soft case that does fit with the keyboard. It has an additional storage pouch with a zip closure that stores the power cord and other accessories you might have like ear buds, memory cards, usb thumb drives or the hdmi adaptor cord.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wildwns
 from
South Dakota
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Have you in spanish keyboard?

I'm looking for the cover for the surface with Spanish keyboard, is it possible to find it with BestBuy?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
call the store and ask
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrmeiii
 from
ft collins co
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Don't think so
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Linhkieu
 from
Mira mesa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I don't believe that Microsoft has developed a cover with a Spanish keyboard. Keep checking at http://www.microsoft.com/surface/en-us.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
safemanusa
 from
Mukwonago, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Microsoft does not appear to currently offer a Spanish language keyboard layout for this particular accessory yet. I know that in some regions, Microsoft sells accessories tailored to that region. You may find a South American retailer that may have options for you.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bestbuycustomer8129
 from
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I do apologize but Best Buy does not sale them.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Backlit Effects?

Does the type cover backlit feature affect the surface's performance in any way?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
11 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't think so. My battery and the overall speed of my Surface seem to be just fine. It doesn't produce an noticeable drag or battery drain at all.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mshawz
 from
McCordsville, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have not noticed a performance hit. The backlighting only comes on when you are actively using the keyboard.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kilibit
 from
Memphis, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
None that I am aware of. I purchased this keyboard myself.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
safemanusa
 from
Mukwonago, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No. I have used the Surface with the Type Cover without any performance issues. You can turn the backlights on/off and adjust the intensity via 2 keys on the keyboard.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RSteve
 from
Midwest
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The backlight feature turns itself off when not being used. It doesn't appear to substantially affect battery life or function.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bestbuycustomer8129
 from
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I haven't had any performance issues with it.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
travis1041
 from
amarilo tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
No
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
beameup2
 from
West Jordan, UT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Performance is not noticeably affected, if at all. That system must be using LEDs, and LEDs consume little power. Additionally, the backlighting has three levels of dimming, so you can turn it down, or off, if you wish.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LAvantDernier
 from
Kansas
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 9
No.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NYDean
 from
Baldwin, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 10
No, it would perform just the same.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 11
No
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Radarde
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

When will Surface Keyboard N7W-00001 be available at my local Best Buy?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Type Cover 2 - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Black Surface Type Cover 2 is the N7W-00001. Are you asking about the purple cover which is N6W-00001?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ChristianUser1
 from
Hoffman Estates, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
In stores now.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mshawz
 from
McCordsville, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I was able to purchase mine in store. they had plenty in stock. even when microsoft, cdw, amazon did not have any.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Phaty
 from
Des Moines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Easiest way is to order it online and have it delivered to your local store. That is the way I purchased it.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
safemanusa
 from
Mukwonago, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
It depends - stock has been really low due to the heavy demand, but call the store and they'll check for you.

It should be *carried* by every best buy, but keeping it in stock is a trickier matter.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
IIll
 from
New Hampshire
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hello there,

According to the retailers website, once preordered, the Surface Type Cover 2 will ship out by October 22, 2013 and is currently only available for preorder online. Please check with the retailer on the in store date of the Surface Type Cover 2 by visiting : http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Electronics/Customer-Service/pcmcat87800050001.c?id=pcmcat87800050001

I hope this is helpful to you.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1