Looking for Answers about Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White

This high-efficiency washer features a 4.7 cu. ft. stainless-steel wash basket so you can clean large loads. The automatic temperature control and 11 wash cycles offer customized care for durable and delicate fabrics.Have questions about this product?Ask Mr. Samsung, fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions
 | 
63 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(86 Reviews)86

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White

Question

Is there a cleaning cycle for the washing machine? Does build up collect?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It tells you when it is time to clean the washer and has a setting for that. After so many loads it will indicate it is time to clean it. Haven't experienced any build up so far. Have had it a couple of months.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
hdlutzfan
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WA5451ANW features Samsung's signature PureCycle program which helps to remove any build-up or residue when used regularly. The washer alerts you when it's time to run PureCycle, which is recommended after every 40 wash cycles and does not require any detergents or additives.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

agitator

what kind of agitator is it? what does it look like? how does it create the friction?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jack
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No agitator.
It uses water jets to clean/rotate clothes.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Ty
 from
MO
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for your interest. Samsung's new WA5451ANW high efficiency top load washer has a stainless steel "pulsator " wash plate located on the bottom of the wash drum rather than a traditional "agitator". The pulsator uses water pressure to mix and spin clothes in a "blossoming" motion.

- Ms. Samsung
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

I might be interested in this Samsung Top Load Washer, but I see no reviews. Is it new to the market?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
YES, THIS IS A NEW UNIT TO THE MARKET, I CHOSE SAMSUNG BECAUSE OF THE CUSTOMER SVC AND THE FREE 3 MONTH EXTENDED WARRANTY THEY GIVE ON ALL OF THERE PRODUCTS EXCEPT CELL PHONES. IF THERE IS EVER A ISSUE, THEY REALLY RESOLVE THE ISSUE FAST, DON'T BUY WHIRLPOOL OR MAYTAG, THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT CUST. SERVICE AT ALL!!!!!
 
Products from my answer
Samsung - 7.4 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle Steam Electric Dryer - White
4.6 out of 5(25)
 
 
 
Samsung - 7.4 Cu. Ft. 13-Cycle Steam Gas Dryer - Stainless Platinum
4.8 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
ATLANTA, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the WA5451ANW is new to the market, but it joins a line-up of front load washers from Samsung that has earned the JD Power & Associates Award for Overall Customer Satisfaction for the past 2 years (2009-2010). The new high-efficiency toploader shares a number of features with its front load counterparts that have contributed to these awards, including Samsung's Vibration Reduction Technology, Direct Drive Motor and Diamond Drum.

Thanks for your interest!
Ms. Samsung
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

How is this machine's water use efficiency compared to a front load washer?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I just bough this machine a week ago. Uses almost no water, which is not a good thing.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
bb894838
 from
Metuchen, NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WA5451 uses approximately 16-19 gallons of water per cycle compared to Samsung HE front loaders which use about 13-15 gallons per cycle.

Thank you for your interest,
Ms. Samsung
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Water Level

Hi,

I purchased this washer, and I like it, but have yet to figure out the cycles. I know that the water level is set by the weight of the clothes, and the cycle, but it would be nice to have some documentation that states how the choice of the cycle effects the water level. I put a load of jeans in the washer and chose the Heavy Duty cycle. The water level was so unbelievably low that several pairs of jeans remained above the water level the whole time. And following the wash cycle, these pants had soap residue on them. I tried this again, with jeans on the normal cycle, and they seemed to fair better.

Is there any info that will show how the WATER LEVEL is effected by the choice of the cycle, & the choice of the Soil Level??

Thanks!
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Margie
 from
TExas
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Couldn't agree more. I read the manual (I love manuals) and was really disappointed with its content. It said things like 'heavy duty' for heavily soiled clothes. Or 'sanitize' to sanitize your clothes. Seriously, I get better manuals from mechanical pencils! I still don't know how most of the features work and what they do to my clothes and their website doesn't help much either. Their manual is the only thing that left me regretting the purchase.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Shlurpee
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You're correct that Samsung's HE top loaders, including the WA5451ANW, use weight sensors to help determine how much water to add to the wash, and that the cycles and options can also impact the amount of water that is used, which ranges from about 16-19 gallons per cycle. There is no chart available, however, that correlates the effect of the various factors to the specific amount of water.

It's important to note that the amount of water used in HE top load washers is significantly less than traditional top loaders which can use as much as 45 gallons or more during a typical cycle. These new washers are not designed to submerge clothes in water, but rather to circulate the clothes through the water and the water back over the clothes. This is made possible by the stainless steel pulsator which creates a "blossoming" action as it tumbles the clothes, and Samsung's recirculating pump which takes the water from the bottom of the drum and circulates it back over the top of the clothes during each portion of the cycle. In some cases, it may be helpful to reduce the size of the load to ensure proper performance, which may be the case with heavy items like jeans.

To ensure your washer is using the right amount of water, check the inlet hose screens on the back of the washer for blockage, and make sure the hoses are not bent or kinked, the water valves are turned on all the way, and your home's water pressure is at the recommended 20-116 psi.

Thank you,
Ms. Samsung
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+3points
4out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Any way to manually adjust the water level?

I did read and manual, talk to the sales personal in the store and read the other posts here so I know the water level is automatically set by the washer w/ the weight of the load one of the water level factors. I do also understand it is designed to use less water.
Despite this, is there any way for me to manually increase the amount of water it uses? If not by the controls I was considering adding a "heavy object" to increase the weight of the clothes to get more water in the tub.
Thanks.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Bad idea why mess with a product that is designed to save you money. Do your clothes come out clean that would be my consern
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Washwomen
 from
Lenexa Kansas
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. I would not suggest adding a "heavy object" that is not otherwise intended to be placed in a washing machine. While the load weight can impact the amount of water that is added, other factors like selecting Heavy Duty (or Heavy soil level) or Extra Rinse can also increase the water use. The WA5451, like other high efficiency (HE) top load washers, is not designed to submerge clothes in water, but rather to circulate the clothes through the water and the water back over the clothes. This is made possible by the stainless steel pulsator which creates a "blossoming" action as it tumbles the clothes, and Samsung's recirculating pump which takes the water from the bottom of the drum and circulates it back over the top of the clothes during each portion of the cycle. Because of this, placing a heavy object in the machine would likely interfere with the washer's ability to function properly during both the wash and spin phases of the cycle.

In addition, please keep in mind that the maximum amount of water over the course of multiple wash/rinse portions of the cycle is 19 gallons, which is only 3 gallons more over the course of the cycle than the base amount of 16 gallons.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
4out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the wash cycle?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tessy
 from
Alton
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends on which cycle. On average about 48 min, however, some settings which actually heat the water to almost boiling to sterilize linens take up to 2 hours.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The wash cycles in the WA5451 range from approximately 34 minutes for a Quick Wash to 120 minutes for the Sanitize cycle. These estimates may vary somewhat depending on several factors such as supplied water pressure and temperature, options selected, load size and type of detergent used.

Thank you for your interest,
Ms. Samsung
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How many pair of medium sized jeans can be washed at one time?

2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dcoop
 from
Fayetteville Ga
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would say about 5 pairs.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
armywifehosK
 from
clarksville, tn
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WA5451 is large enough to fit a king size comforter and sheet set, or the equivalent of 33 standard 24" x 44" bath towels, which is the standard for comparison. I can't tell you how many pairs of medium sized jeans this would be equivalent to.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the water line hoses stainless-steel or rubber?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The water hoses are plastic
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The hoses that come with the WA5451ANW are rubber.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I also want an old-fashioned top loader washer that uses a full tub of water.

I have tried the initial front-loader model. I've tried the HE options. Nobody is persuading me these washers, top or front loading are getting my clothes as clean as the old standard full-tub washer. Does anyone still make these? Do manufacturers recognize that there are a lot of us out there that don't want HE washers? I asked....7 of 9 of my friends would choose a traditional washer over those available today.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gina
 from
Arlington, TX
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nothing these days is made as good as they used to do. Its all a matter of finding the best available now. They do still make them but the capasity is small.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sally1099
 from
eatonton ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Samsung makes only high efficiency (HE) top load and front load washers, which help to save water and energy while getting clothes clean. For information on conventional models, please call 888-BEST BUY or visit your local Best Buy store.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>