Looking for Answers about Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White

This high-efficiency washer features a 4.7 cu. ft. stainless-steel wash basket so you can clean large loads. The automatic temperature control and 11 wash cycles offer customized care for durable and delicate fabrics.Have questions about this product?Ask Mr. Samsung, fellow shoppers and Best Buy staff. Share your answers.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions
 | 
63 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.186 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(86 Reviews)86

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White

Question

I also want an old-fashioned top loader washer that uses a full tub of water.

I have tried the initial front-loader model. I've tried the HE options. Nobody is persuading me these washers, top or front loading are getting my clothes as clean as the old standard full-tub washer. Does anyone still make these? Do manufacturers recognize that there are a lot of us out there that don't want HE washers? I asked....7 of 9 of my friends would choose a traditional washer over those available today.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gina
 from
Arlington, TX
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nothing these days is made as good as they used to do. Its all a matter of finding the best available now. They do still make them but the capasity is small.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sally1099
 from
eatonton ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Samsung makes only high efficiency (HE) top load and front load washers, which help to save water and energy while getting clothes clean. For information on conventional models, please call 888-BEST BUY or visit your local Best Buy store.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this top loader wrinkles more than front loader?

I wash a lot of tshirts and delicaates, and i hate when the washer stops, the clothes are clinging to the drum and come out all tangled and wrinkled. does this top loader do that?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
washwoman
 from
tampa,fl
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It does do that but the dryer takes the wrinkles out. Try reducing the spin speed.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sally1099
 from
eatonton ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WA5451 has a maximum spin speed of 1100 RPM, which is comparable to other Samsung front load washers. However, like the front loaders, it also has the ability to set the Spin cycle on Low or No Spin. It is the high spin speed settings of high efficiency top and front load washers that enables them to extract so much more water than conventional models so they spend less time in the dryer, thereby helping to save energy. The force of these high spin speeds are what causes the clothes to "cling" to the drum. If you wish to avoid this, you can simply adjust the spin setting.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What water temperature is used for the Pure Cycle feature?

I noticed an "extra hot" water temperature and wondered if that's used in the Pure Cycle.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Shelby Twp., MI
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It uses hot water not the "extra hot" in the Pure Cycle.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mrwasher
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Pure Cycle feature in the WA5451 uses the internal heater to boost the water temperature to above 150°F to clean and sanitize the drum.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a cleaning cycle for the washing machine? Does build up collect?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It tells you when it is time to clean the washer and has a setting for that. After so many loads it will indicate it is time to clean it. Haven't experienced any build up so far. Have had it a couple of months.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hdlutzfan
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WA5451ANW features Samsung's signature PureCycle program which helps to remove any build-up or residue when used regularly. The washer alerts you when it's time to run PureCycle, which is recommended after every 40 wash cycles and does not require any detergents or additives.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

No water filled up in normal wash cycle?

Hi, I got my washer and tried normal cycle for the first time...but it seems like 1~2 minutes into the cycle, the water just keep pouring out and the drum keep spinning in slow speed, the center clothe didn't get wet at all the whole time and no water fill up either....can you tell me what is the washer trying to do? I had to cancel the cycle right away because I feel like the water is going wasted....how is the normal cycle operate and what does it actually do, I cannot find this answer anywhere on the internet
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pikacindy
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think the machine is trying to calculate how much water it needs, so dumps water in then spins it around to see if there's enough based on your load size. I would let it do it's job and when it starts the wash cycle, take a look through the glass top and see if there seems to be way too much water in the tub. Mine does the same thing but seems to be measuring the necessary amount of water, not wasting water.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Melissa43
 from
Carol Stream, IL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the question. The WA5451, like other high efficiency (HE) top load washers, is not designed to submerge clothes in a full tub of water like conventional top loaders do, but rather to circulate the clothes through the water and the water back over the clothes. The stainless steel pulsator creates a "blossoming" action as it tumbles the clothes throughout the wash cycle, and the recirculating pump takes the water from the bottom of the drum and circulates it back over the top of the clothes. This process enables the HE washers to use far less water in most cycles compared to their non-HE counterparts, though the cycle selected and the built-in weight sensors actually determine how much water is needed.

If you canceled the cycle after only a couple of minutes, it's likely that this process was interrupted. I would suggest running another cycle, and allowing it to run its course. To help ensure your washer is using the right amount of water, check the inlet hose screens on the back of the washer for blockage, and make sure the hoses are not bent or kinked, the water valves are turned on all the way, and your home's water pressure is at the recommended 20-116 psi.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I need to buy this too?

I purchased this washer. Is every required part included or will I need to purchase the stainless steel washing machine fill hose? It shows as a required accessory online but I was not told I needed one from the sales rep.
Thanks
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
We purchased the stainless steel hose because we were told they don't include hoses anymore. It did come with the regular hose when we got it home but we kept that as a backup and used the stainless one.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hdlutzfan
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The WA5451ANW comes with the hot and cold water supply hoses, as well as the drain hose which is factory-installed.

Thanks for choosing Samsung!
- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I get my washer to clean my clothes the first time?

I am not an auto mechanic or a roofer or gardener. I work at a desk all day. My clothes are not filthy, but when I wash my darks, there is ALWAYS misc. residue left over. I have to rinse my clothes 5-7 times before they even look slightly clean. This is not highly efficient. I have tried very light loads, and keeping my sweats and stuff separate from my silks and cottons. I have tried lighter amounts of detergent, and several different brands of HE detergent. If my darks are showing so much stuff on them, how much more is left behind on the other clothes that I can't see? GROSS. I was excited to get this washer, but less than a year later I am regretting the purchase.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BroBryce2009
 from
Portland, OR
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have the same washer and do not have those issues. Is it possible you have a defective product? Have you had it serviced?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
cp4145
 from
Decatur, Ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm sorry to hear your clothes do not appear to be coming out clean. The remedy for the situation really depends on what type of "residue" you're referring to. If it's detergent residue, then you may be using too much detergent. A tip for determining whether you're using too much detergent is to run a Quick Wash or Rinse & Spin without adding detergent; if suds develop, you're using too much detergent. Try using less, and make sure the water pressure is sufficient and the inlet hose screens on the back of the washer are not clogged with debris. Selecting the Extra Rinse option may also help in terms of removing both detergent residue and lint. Many people find that placing items in the dryer, even at Very Low heat and for only a short time, can help to remove lint from clothes.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this washer HE? Samsung Support says it is non HE.I want a non-HE high capacity washer.

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Raptor
 from
West Virginia
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My guess is that it is HE hence Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Washer
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
cp4145
 from
Decatur, Ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for the question. The WA5451, like other Samsung models, is considered "HE", or High Efficiency, based on its relatively low energy use and water consumption. It's worth noting that, in addition to being Energy Star qualified for efficiency, this and other Samsung models continue to receive high ratings for performance, as evidenced by the JD Power & Associates Overall Customer Satisfaction Award for Washers, which Samsung has been awarded for the past four years (2009-2012).

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will my old washer be picked up and taken away when my new washer is delivered?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes, the guys hook up your machine, make sure it works, and take you old one.
But if your worried, keep your old one until your happy, then just drag it to the curb. The scrappers driving around in old beat up pickup trucks will grab it in less than a day.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
spb192
 from
St Pete, fl
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. I would suggest contacting your local Best Buy appliance associates or calling 888-BEST BUY for questions regarding delivery of your new washer and pick up of your old one.

- Ms. Samsung
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

agitator

what kind of agitator is it? what does it look like? how does it create the friction?
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jack
on Samsung - 4.7 Cu. Ft. 11-Cycle High-Efficiency Top-Loading Washer - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No agitator.
It uses water jets to clean/rotate clothes.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ty
 from
MO
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for your interest. Samsung's new WA5451ANW high efficiency top load washer has a stainless steel "pulsator " wash plate located on the bottom of the wash drum rather than a traditional "agitator". The pulsator uses water pressure to mix and spin clothes in a "blossoming" motion.

- Ms. Samsung
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MsSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+4points
5out of 6found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>