Looking for Answers about Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green

Introducing a brand-new way to stay connected. Samsung Galaxy Gear keeps you updated with glance notifications, so you can keep up with calls, texts and emails.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions
 | 
149 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.374 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(519 Reviews)519

Questions & Answers for Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green

Question

will you be able to us use the same features on other android phones

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
richb
 from
irvington
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
happyinmemphis
 from
memphis, Tennessee
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This device will work with any Android device running Android 4.3...it will not work on anything lower
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dragonfly8610
 from
Fargo ND
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Here is a list of supported devices.

http://www.samsung.com/us/galaxy-gear-compatible-devices/
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PSCT
 from
CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Nope. Samsung only.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TravelDude
 from
Littleton, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Not sure your question is clear as the Galaxy Gear is currently specifically for the Galaxy Note 3 and the Galaxy Tab 10.1 2014 model. There are rumors about an update to a few of Samsung's other smartphones that will make them compatible to the Gear.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
QuietQ
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No States in description only for the note 3 they didn't lost the new 10 Model but that also on release. Samsung States s4 working in Oct and note 2 later. Then to other Samsung Galaxy models, and from there maybe other phones at a later date.

Think you will need 4.3 Android to your phone prior for it to work.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Would it be safe to use the Galaxy Gear during exercise, when sweating alot....

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
golsa123
 from
Duluth
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I wouldn't recommend using it while working out. the charging prongs are exposed and sweat could damage the watch.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
laurido92
 from
Hermitage, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
if you put a piece of electrical tape over the Hole under the band behind the camera you will be fine. if not the camera will fog up.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SChampion
 from
Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I use it daily at the gym and haven't had any problems and I sweat profusely.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
meechy36
 from
boston, ma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The Galaxy Gear is designed to IP55 specifications with dust resistance and protection from short-term exposure to water jets. In other words, a couple of raindrops isn't going to hurt it. Just don't go swimming with it!
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TravelDude
 from
Littleton, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes you can use the GALAXY Gear under those extreme conditions. The GALAXY Gear is water resistant and can even handle long durations in a steam room. (My personal best is currently 28.32 minutes according to the Stop Watch on my Gear)
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
mGearHead
 from
Madison, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The Galaxy Gear has a built in pedometer so it is meant to be used while walking, jogging and running. I imagine it would be safe to use during moderate exercises, but if you sweat profusely with running dripping sweat down to your wrist, not sure you want to keep your Gear on for that. I walk and jog and though my arms become moist, never dripping sweat. I hope this is helpful.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
QuietQ
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use it with my galaxy 4

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes provided your carrier has 4.3 available for your device.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chaotixreview
 from
Atlanta, Ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Here is a list of supported devices.

http://www.samsung.com/us/galaxy-gear-compatible-devices/
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PSCT
 from
CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
If you are asking about the S4 phone, yes it will work with the 4.3 or later firmware update for your phone.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TravelDude
 from
Littleton, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes works with the s4. Just do a software update

My wife just bought hers
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nicholsfamily08
 from
Waterford
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
You will be able to in the very near future. They are supposed to release a software update withing the next couple of weeks that will allow it to work with the S4, S3 and Note 2. I was told by a Samsung rep that it will link with an S4 currently but you can not utilize all the features yet.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tallspawn
 from
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
At this time, the Galaxy Gear is only able to be used with the Note 3, but there will be an update coming to make it compatible with all Galaxy devices.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I use it with tablet samsung galaxy tab 2 10.1?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
No
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TJames19652
 from
Conroe,TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can only use it if your device has been updated to 4.3 Jellybean and supports G. Gear. I only got the watch last week and it was because the update for the S4 Active didn't come out until about a week earlier. And if I am not mistaken, its not out for all s4 actives. just att s4 actives.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stephen3101
 from
Nashville, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There was just an update for the Galaxy Gear that allows it to connect to alot more Samsung products and I beleive the Tab 2 was on that list.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Joedaman
 from
Sacramento, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Not yet. Samsung will no doubt come up with an update to the tab sooner or later than enables connectivity with the tab and other Samsung tablets.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TravelDude
 from
Littleton, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
NOT AT THE MOMENT
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
kopa8
 from
macon,ga
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
This device is currently only compatible with Samsung Galaxy Note 3.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
KatBBY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you use this watch without a phone?

1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
No
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
moola
 from
brewster,ma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No you need your phone to link your gear (watch). Same way you use your blue tooth.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jaroch8
 from
McHenry, il
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you need a phone made by Samsung that has NFC and is supported with the latest updates.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RWLINY
 from
Levittown, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No. Without a phone it is just an expensive watch.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Julie619
 from
El Cajon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
You could wear it as a watch, after pairing it to your phone. However, you will not have any functionality aside from the clock, if you don't have your phone.
The Gear is designed as a tool to run in conjunction with your Galaxy. Not a replacement for your phone.
I hope that helped.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
meege
 from
San Francisco
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
You can't
the galaxy gear needs your smartphone ' Internet to " pull out " all the notifications and updates of your apps .
otherwise it works as a regular watch
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
alfmetal
 from
Marina, Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the wrist band size?

My husband has been wanting one of these watches and I am looking at getting him one for our anniversary. He is a big guy (6'4" and 380lbs) so I am worried that it won't fit his wrist. Does anyone know the size of the band so that I can compare that with his other watches? Thanks!
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Las Vegas
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
The band is adjustable. You may also purchase bands of your choice like a regular wristwatch.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Snake
 from
Chicago, Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The band expands so I think it would fit him.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Twin
 from
New York
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The maximum inside diameter is 2-7/16".
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mikekr97
 from
Warren, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I believe it's about 7 1/2 inches, so it might not fit.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
UtahMike
 from
SLC, UT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I would say its like a normal band. it has 7 different adjustments on it. I personally think you should wait and get him the Gear 2 that is coming out on April 11th....it will feature normal watch straps that you can swap out like a normal watch.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jago94
 from
Reno, NV
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I am a big guy and it doesn't fit my wrist.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
crazyrussian
 from
Baltimore,MD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what metal/material is the Gear made of?

Like many people, I have metal sensitivities but I cannot find any information about what type of metal or materials the Gear is made with. I really don't want to spend $300 on something that I won't be able to use because of the way it affects my skin! Does anyone know what metal material it is made of?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Laurie
 from
Seattle, WA
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
The metal is only the surface on the watch the rest is like a hard rubber material im also skin sensitive but it hasnt affected me as of yet plus the watch is a must get !
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ladygirlmel
 from
brooklyn ny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I did not feel any metal when wearing the watch
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Soldier
 from
Chicago
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I can't wear most things like you. But so far I have had no problems.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
shortyjrt
 from
Victorville, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The metal is brushed steel and there's a very small piece that actually touches your skin.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GadgetMommy
 from
Fayette County GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The Gear's wrist band is made of a silicon. The face of the Gear has a brushed aluminum metal bezel (or Rose Gold). The underside is a black plastic.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PSCT
 from
CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How far away from the phone can you be for the Galaxy Gear to still be connected?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tracii
 from
Brownsville
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends, it's blue-tooth so if you're in your house it will probably cover you throughout, if you're at work it gets blocked by walls so the range is shorter, overall I'd say a good 50 ft.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chuckles23
 from
Rio, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Gear uses Bluetooth 4.0, LE. Assuming your Galaxy smartphone has Bluetooth 4.0, the connection will carry a max distance of 160ft utilizing Bluetooth 4.0. Bluetooth 4.0 is backwards compatible and carries a higher distance rating of close to 300ft.

Remember, environmental variables impact distance.

The Gear notifies you if you have moved out of distance with your smartphone.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PSCT
 from
CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
That varies on your location away from the phone. If I am outside I can walk about 20 - 25 feet from my phone before it drops. At my office the connection drops about 7 - 10 feet away and at my apartment I can be 10 - 15 feet away. Again range depends on which room I enter either at my office or apartment.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
mGearHead
 from
Madison, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
It's Bluetooth, so rule of thumb would be about 30 feet.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tony
 from
MA
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you exchange it for a darker color band? The white gets dirty and changes colors.

9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Depends on how long you've had it. If it's over 30, try and speak to a manager to confirm before coming in.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
happyinmemphis
 from
memphis, Tennessee
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The bands are not exchangeable.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mikekr97
 from
Warren, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
If its within the return policy you can.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TJames19652
 from
Conroe,TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dreday32
 from
oxnard
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how do I clear the phone log on my gear

How
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Gear Smart Watch for Select Samsung Galaxy Mobile Phones - Lime Green
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Swipe right to logs and once you get in the list tap the garbage can and touch the log entry that you want to delete. If you want to delete the list just tap the icon on the top right corner then confirm.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Snake
 from
Chicago, Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You have to clear recent calls and recent text messages on your phone then restart your watch. Hope this helps.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mikekr97
 from
Warren, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Clear the call log on your phone.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
UtahMike
 from
SLC, UT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Go into the phone application on your Samsung device
Tap on Logs
To delete a single log: Tap and hold on the individual call, select Delete from the popup box, and then tap on Delete to confirm
To clear multiple items: Press the Menu key to the left of the home button, select Delete, select one or all of the logs you wish to delete, and tap Delete in the upper right of the screen to perform the action
Those items will no longer show on your Galaxy Gear
Then
Go into the phone application on your Samsung device
Tap on Logs
Press the Menu key
Choose View and change the option from All calls to All Logs
Press the Menu key again and select Delete
Tap on Select all and then Delete to clear all the items in the list
Go into the Logs app on your Gear and the list should now be empty
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lusient
 from
Salinas, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>