Looking for Answers about Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel

This microwave features 12 sensor cooking options to effectively cook, defrost and reheat a variety of foods. The turntable can be turned on or off for versatile cooking options.
Customer Questions & Answers:
86 Questions
 | 
142 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.075 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(453 Reviews)453

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel

Question

Can I install a ducted OTR microwave under 16" deep cabinet?

If I mount a ducted Whirlpool over the range microwave under a cabinet that is approximately 16" deep, the venting for recirculating type of install is blocked. However, I will be ducting it through the top and through the roof. Will it matter or should I "build out" the back wall a expose the recirculating venting?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Burt
 from
Texas
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hi Burt,

I can't speak for other manufacturers. If it's a Samsung Over the Range Microwave you're installing, however, I can tell you that the top front of the unit where the hidden vent is located should not be recessed under the cabinet. The SMH1816W is designed to be mounted under a cabinet that is no more than 13-14" deep.

- Ms. Samsung
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this product come in black?

samsung stovetop microwave with fan
Model SMH 1816S
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Lulu
 from
wisconsin
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Thanks for your interest in the SMH1816S. This model isn't currently available in black, but the ME18H704SFB is very similar and is available in black. This 1.8 cu. ft. model features 1000 watts of cooking power, a 400 CFM vent fan, a Simple Clean Filter, and scratch resistant ceramic enamel interior. Other highlights include Sensor Cooking, Halogen cook top light, and a chrome rack to heat multiple dishes simultaneously.

- Ms. Samsung
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have front vent

front vent
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No it does't it only has rear venting.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JGTorres
 from
Frisco Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the SMH1816S can be set up to recirculate filtered air through the hidden vent in the front of the Microwave, or it can vent externally through the top or back.

Thanks for your interest!
Ms. Samsung
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there anyway to make the clock light any brighter

On my old one I could see the time a lot better
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
nope
 
Products from my answer
 
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
neilski
 from
flint MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. There is no manual adjustment available for the LED display on the SMH1816S Microwave.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can Samsung put such a dim bulb in this microwave?

Just bought this microwave. The bulb underneath is so dim we will have to install separate lighting to be able to see to cook on the stove top. Would not buy this model again because of this.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I'm sorry to hear the cook top light is not as bright as you had expected. The SMH1816W was designed to house a 40-watt bulb. While there are other models available with halogen or LED lighting, this one is not designed to accept a brighter bulb.

We appreciate your feedback and will certainly pass it along to the appropriate team members.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Over the range samsung micro light is too dim

I have the Samsung microwave over the range smh1816s . The 40 watt bulb it came with is too dim. Can I buy a brighter 40 watt bulb? I rely on a bright light, and would need to return the micro if this us as bright as it gets!
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would not recommend a higher wattage bulb.
You can take bulb to local hardware store and look for an LED with a 60 Watt equivalent rating or even 100 Watt equivalent that is the same size and base type. It will produce brighter light. Caution...the dimmer function may not function as you expect.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bobdoesntcareifnameisused
 from
waco
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Samsung does not recommend using a bulb that has a higher wattage than what the SMH1816B cook top light is designed for.
- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my cabinet is only 16 inches deep will this still give me room for top mounting bolts

1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should have no trouble, 16" is deep enough.

Be sure to check the height above the stove to the bottom of the cabinets. It is a tall micro, the instructions have the minimum allowed clearance. Seems like it was on the order of 18"
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sagent1
 from
Chicagoland, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Samsung recommends mounting the SMH1816S under a standard 12" cabinet. If the cabinet is much deeper than this, it would block the hidden exhaust vent located at the top-front of the unit.

We appreciate your interest in Samsung microwaves.
- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I get the mounting templates for the ME179KFETSR microwave?

Hello, I need to install a Samsung ME179KFETSR microwave in my kitchen that I had sitting for a while and I lost both mounting templates, could you please let me know where can I get these from? thanks in advance.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Thank you for the question. Unfortunately, the mounting templates are only available in the box with the new microwave. I would suggest contacting your local Best Buy store for assistance.

- Ms. Samsung
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Lighted

Does this model, or any of the Samsung over-the-range microwaves, have a lighted key pad? My refrigerator key pad lights up and stays lit for several seconds when any of the buttons are pushed.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
C J
 from
Cincinnati
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
nope the next model up
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
neilski
 from
flint MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This Samsung SMH1816S microwave does NOT have a lighted keypad model.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
goldenbuyer
 from
Olney, MD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to buy a kit for it to vent internally?

I do not have an external vent and want to recirculate the air. Your online instructions state you must buy a separate kit, is that true?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Yuroslav17
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, what you will have to do is orient the internal fan to blow in the right direction to vent back into the kitchen. This involves removing a couple of screws, removing the fan blade assembly, turning it like 90 degrees and reinstalling it. The instructions are good for this.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sagent1
 from
Chicagoland, IL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you are recirculating the vent then you do not need a separate kit. The separate kit is only needed when you want to vent the air outside of the house.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Master1003
 from
Chesterfield, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>