Looking for Answers about Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel

This microwave features 12 sensor cooking options to effectively cook, defrost and reheat a variety of foods. The turntable can be turned on or off for versatile cooking options.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions
 | 
95 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.072 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(457 Reviews)457

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel

Question

Does this have front vent

front vent
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No it does't it only has rear venting.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JGTorres
 from
Frisco Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the SMH1816S can be set up to recirculate filtered air through the hidden vent in the front of the Microwave, or it can vent externally through the top or back.

Thanks for your interest!
Ms. Samsung
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there anyway to make the clock light any brighter

On my old one I could see the time a lot better
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
nope
 
Products from my answer
Sony - Under-Cabinet CD-R/RW Clock Radio - Silver
4.5 out of 5(464)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
neilski
 from
flint MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. There is no manual adjustment available for the LED display on the SMH1816S Microwave.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my cabinet is only 16 inches deep will this still give me room for top mounting bolts

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should have no trouble, 16" is deep enough.

Be sure to check the height above the stove to the bottom of the cabinets. It is a tall micro, the instructions have the minimum allowed clearance. Seems like it was on the order of 18"
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sagent1
 from
Chicagoland, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for the question. Samsung recommends mounting the SMH1816S under a standard 12" cabinet. If the cabinet is much deeper than this, it would block the hidden exhaust vent located at the top-front of the unit.

We appreciate your interest in Samsung microwaves.
- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Lighted

Does this model, or any of the Samsung over-the-range microwaves, have a lighted key pad? My refrigerator key pad lights up and stays lit for several seconds when any of the buttons are pushed.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
C J
 from
Cincinnati
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
nope the next model up
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
neilski
 from
flint MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This Samsung SMH1816S microwave does NOT have a lighted keypad model.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
goldenbuyer
 from
Olney, MD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do you have to buy a kit for it to vent internally?

I do not have an external vent and want to recirculate the air. Your online instructions state you must buy a separate kit, is that true?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Yuroslav17
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, what you will have to do is orient the internal fan to blow in the right direction to vent back into the kitchen. This involves removing a couple of screws, removing the fan blade assembly, turning it like 90 degrees and reinstalling it. The instructions are good for this.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sagent1
 from
Chicagoland, IL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you are recirculating the vent then you do not need a separate kit. The separate kit is only needed when you want to vent the air outside of the house.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Master1003
 from
Chesterfield, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the overall depth

we do not want the microwave to stick out over 1-2" under our 12"deep cabinets
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is 16 1/2" tall and 15 1/2" deep
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MAG52
 from
Leawood, KS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The SMH1816S is 15-1/8" deep without the handle. This and other Samsung microwaves are designed to be deeper than the cabinets above them for several reasons, such as to protect your cabinets from the heat and steam from the cook top, to leave room for the hidden vent at the top front of the microwave to exhaust back into the room, and to enable the door to swing open.

We appreciate your interest,
Ms. Samsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the packaging include all mounting hardware to mount to the wall. We do not have cabinets on either side.

Want to make sure I do not incur additional cost of mounting. Hoping all brackets and hardware is included in the packaging.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AAA
 from
Houston, TX
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
a587789
 from
Sugar Hill, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thanks for your interest. The SMH1816S must be attached to both the wall behind it as well as a cabinet or other stable surface above it, and includes all of the hardware needed for the installation. If you intend to set it up for recirculating venting (through the hidden vent at the top front of the unit), then no additional parts should be needed. If you prefer to have the vent exhaust outside through the rear or top of the unit, then additional vent ducts and other parts may be necessary. These instructions can be reviewed in advance through the Support section of Samsung's website, and the complete instructions also come with the new microwave.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can the oven be operated without the rack?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Madman
 from
Kokomo IN
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, we never use the rack, but if you were microwaving a lot of stuff at the same time, it would come in handy.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MAG52
 from
Leawood, KS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonmmm
 from
Fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, the SMH1816S can be operated with or without the included rack.

Thanks for your interest,
Ms. Samsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Mounting Template

I did not find the mounting template(s) in the box for my Samsung Model SMH18 microwave. Is there a place on line where I can print this off or can you tell me where to get this?
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
they screw the 2 inch plate on the bottom that is it. remove the 2 screws and the plate will come off
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
neilski
 from
flint MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm sorry to hear you're having difficulty locating the mounting templates for your SMH1816S. At this time, these documents are not available to download from the website and are available only as packaged with the microwave, along with the User Manual and installation parts and instructions.

- Ms. Samsung
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the Manual

I bought a Samsung but no manual came with it, were can I get one?
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 1.8 Cu. Ft. Over-the-Range Microwave - Stainless Steel
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should be able to get one online. Search for Samsung microwave.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BikeTrails
 from
Fort Wayne, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm sorry to hear you're missing the SMH1816S User Manual that should have come in the box with the new microwave, along with the filters and installation hardware. The manual can be downloaded as a pdf file from Samsung's website for easy reference, or you can call 888-BEST BUY or 800-SAMSUNG for information and availability of a replacement manual.

Thank you,
Ms. Samsung
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>