Looking for Answers about HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter

Store important documents, special photos, videos, music and more with this laptop that features a spacious 320GB hard drive and a double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive that allows you to create custom DVDs and CDs. Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about VISION Technology from AMD.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions
 | 
89 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(102 Reviews)102

Questions & Answers for HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter

Question

Is the screen brightness suppose to change constantly?

This is the first laptop that I have ever used that the screen brightness keeps changing depending on whats onscreen i.e. when there's a bright area it brightens and if its dark it dims the screen. Is this normal for the HP - Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor: Model: g4-1117dx? So far this is the only thing I find wrong with this laptop! I dont know if its a battery saving feature or if its just defective. I read a review of somebody calling HP about it with no clear resolution. Can somebody please comment if you have the same problem or if you know whats going on.

Thanks
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
cham
 from
TX
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi.

Yes this is a feature that came with this model, the feature is called Varibright.

To disable this go to your AMD Vision Engine control center. Under Power Choose CPU Power > Disable the varibright option.

This should disable your variable brightness (annoying right?)
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Syssop
 from
El Paso, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Just open up AMD's Vision Control Center, click on "Powerplay" under the "Power" heading and disabled Vari-Bright
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Zach
 from
Jacksonville
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Could a firewire port be added after market?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You may be able to use a 3rd party adapter to accommodate your firewire needs. However, please note that HP does not test or support 3rd party products and cannot guarantee functionality or comparability.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately, there is no ExpressCard slot on this laptop that can be used to input a FireWire port, which would be the way to add FireWire to a laptop that doesn't have it.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SeanBBY
 from
Minneapolis, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this computer run Adobe Master Collection

I am a designer and need something that will run Adobe Master Collection with 4-5 products open at once.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Meredith
 from
Holiday, FL
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
For that type of software you would actually be better off with an AMD A-6 processor instead of the A-4. I would recommend the ASUS Model: K53TA-BBR6 | SKU: 2881042 $449.99 The Asus has the A-6 that will serve you much better. Asus is also much more reliable brand in laptops than HP.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC meets the recommended system requirements for Adobe Master Collection listed on the Adobe website. However, it does not list compatible AMD Radeon graphics cards on the specification website. I recommend contacting Adobe for more information on compatible AMD Radeon graphics cards.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this good for a (non-techie) teacher?

Need a laptop for my classes I teach. I am not computer friendly. I need to open it, turn it on, and everything works correctly. I will need the Office version that has Publisher and PowerPoint & understand that there are discounts for teachers available.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Teacher
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This laptop would be excellent for a teacher. It has better battery life than the Intel processors and runs 5-15 degrees cooler. It also has much better graphics. Best Buy discounts MS Office to $99 if bought with your computer, they also discount antivirus software to $19.99 when bought with computer. I recommend Kaspersky.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Windows machines are generally all pretty similar in the way they work. Maintaining one is not too different from another, that said this computer remains cool, and does work correctly so far for me. Office you will have to buy separately. I think you get a discount when you buy the office (in store) along with the computer. Check to see if that or your teacher discount is better before you buy.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Suppin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will it play latest version of itunes

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, this PC is compatible with the most recent version of iTunes.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This computer will run iTunes 10.4 (latest right now) for windows 64 bit just fine.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Suppin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the HP Pavillon Laptop: Model: g4-1117dx have:

I am about to buy one of your computerS and need to know about the Wireless- network card for the HP - Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory / 320GB Hard Drive - Pewter Model: g4-1117dx | SKU: 2715258
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Nathaniel
 from
Moreno Valley, CA
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This PC features built-in 802.11b/g/n WLAN. Unfortunately, due to contractual agreements, I do not have more information on the manufacturer or model of this integrated wireless adapter.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This computer has "Built-in wireless LAN (802.11b/g/n)". So yes it has wireless connectivity.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Suppin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does the battery last after a full charge?

In hours, please. Specifically this computer. Some people say 3 hours, and some say over 5! Not sure who to believe. If you are surfing the web, for example, how many hours until the battery goes dead after a full 100% charge?
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
First off, it's not a good idea to run your battery until it's fully depleted of power. Think of a marathon runner. He runs a few miles daily for training but not a marathon every day. Run you battery to about 40-50% and then recharge it. Run a "marathon" about once a month and don't leave it constantly wihle connected to the AC adaptor.

As to your question, your battery life will vary depending on your activities. Mine lasts about 3-4 hours. If you stream alot of video, or play alot of games, it will last a little less. The battery life on this laptop (due to smaller size as well) lasts longer than the 6-cell I have on my Dell.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeCool22
 from
Houston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On average, 6-cell Lithium-Ion batteries will last approximately two to three hours on a single charge. Unfortunately, exact battery run time and life span information is not available. Various factors, such as the temperature of the battery, the applications running on the notebook, any attached devices, the brightness of the display, and the notebook power management settings all determine the run time and life span of your battery. Also, the performance and charge times of Lithium-ion batteries decrease over time. There are suggested ways to help increase the run time and life span of your battery:

- Reduce the brightness of the screen to the minimum readable level
- Remove peripherals (External hard drives, CD-ROMs, Zip drives, PC cards, and other peripheral devices) when not in use; these devices can draw power from your battery even when they are not in active use
- Reduce the speed of your processor
- Turn off the Wireless On-Off button when it is not in use (If your notebook has one)
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does HP Pavilion Laptop g4-1117dx model has a rough surface touchpad and jerky?

if the answer is yes, is it irritating to use everyday?
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
ken
 from
chicago
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is part of the plastic piece your wrists rest on and no embedded down into the laptop and has a dimpled texture to it. It is not jerky and is very usable. I usually use a Logitech M305 wireless mouse with it though.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SilentSnake
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hi - The surface touchpad does have a texture to it but I find it preferable to the smooth surface I use everyday because it holds the pad of my finger better. The texture is not irritating but I have not used it for hours at a time. I have not experienced any jerking or jumping with the touchpad. It has worked very smoothly.
In Joy
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Bhagavan
 from
Monrovia, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this game play fallout 1 2 and 3 and other games that are popular on consoles

im about to buy but i need this info
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
So far I have played with no framerate lag: (I have upgraded it to 8GB of ram...was only $25 for a 4GB stick on Newegg. DDR3 1333)

Half Life 2 - Max settings
Battlefield Bad company 2 - Low Settings (some framerate lag in places but playable)
Star Wars Galaxies - Max settings
Medieval 2 Total War - Medium settings
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SilentSnake
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Because we have over a hundred different configurations, and there are hundreds of different games, it is difficult to give a broad answer to your question.

Nevertheless, I can say in general terms that this PC is not an ideal machine for the high-end gaming enthusiast. You can play many games, but with graphic intense games, you may have less than an optimal experience.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the screen have much glare?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It can get glare on the screen, but it has very helpful screen brightness buttons (f2,f3) that you can adjust to remove the glare.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC has a Widescreen high-definition LED with BrightView technology (1366 x 768) which is anti-glare although it does not have a traditional matte finish.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>