Looking for Answers about HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter

Store important documents, special photos, videos, music and more with this laptop that features a spacious 320GB hard drive and a double-layer DVD±RW/CD-RW drive that allows you to create custom DVDs and CDs. Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about VISION Technology from AMD.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions
 | 
89 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.422 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(102 Reviews)102

Questions & Answers for HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter

Question

For playing Dolphin emulator,are gamecube games ONLY (example Zelda: Wind Waker) playable using AMD A-Series dual-core A4-3300M accelerated processor?

if your answer is no.

Will it play in the new AMD A6 (Llano quad-core processor) ?
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ken
 from
Chicago, IL
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The emulator is optimized for Dual Core, so the A4 would outperform the A6 on some titles. Other times the A6 would win because of the better GPU. Laptops aren't the best at playing High level emulators, however.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lightofhonor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC will play any games that have system requirements equal to or less than the specifications of this PC. I recommend contacting the software manufacturer of any games you intend to use in order to determine the system requirements for their software.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does the battery last after a full charge?

In hours, please. Specifically this computer. Some people say 3 hours, and some say over 5! Not sure who to believe. If you are surfing the web, for example, how many hours until the battery goes dead after a full 100% charge?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
First off, it's not a good idea to run your battery until it's fully depleted of power. Think of a marathon runner. He runs a few miles daily for training but not a marathon every day. Run you battery to about 40-50% and then recharge it. Run a "marathon" about once a month and don't leave it constantly wihle connected to the AC adaptor.

As to your question, your battery life will vary depending on your activities. Mine lasts about 3-4 hours. If you stream alot of video, or play alot of games, it will last a little less. The battery life on this laptop (due to smaller size as well) lasts longer than the 6-cell I have on my Dell.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeCool22
 from
Houston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On average, 6-cell Lithium-Ion batteries will last approximately two to three hours on a single charge. Unfortunately, exact battery run time and life span information is not available. Various factors, such as the temperature of the battery, the applications running on the notebook, any attached devices, the brightness of the display, and the notebook power management settings all determine the run time and life span of your battery. Also, the performance and charge times of Lithium-ion batteries decrease over time. There are suggested ways to help increase the run time and life span of your battery:

- Reduce the brightness of the screen to the minimum readable level
- Remove peripherals (External hard drives, CD-ROMs, Zip drives, PC cards, and other peripheral devices) when not in use; these devices can draw power from your battery even when they are not in active use
- Reduce the speed of your processor
- Turn off the Wireless On-Off button when it is not in use (If your notebook has one)
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does AMD A series overheat?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
In one word NO...much cooler than the Dell I replaced it with
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jon
 from
tampa
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Ive had this laptop for 2 weeks now and have absolutely no heat issues at all, while browsing the web or typing a document the thing doesnt even get warm, playing a 3d game it will get warm but never gotten to the point of being uncomfortable on the lap. All in all this processor does run very cool.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
KrisK
 from
CT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what's the difference in amd vs int

I am n the market for a laptop. What's the difference in AMD vs INTEL? Also is the any additional feature to be aware of in either choice?
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I've used both intel and AMD products for many years. Ten years ago I would say that Intel had a clear advantage, but today AMD has closed the gap and offers the same speed and reliability but at a lower cost.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jon
 from
Tampa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The same as the difference between Coca Cola and Pepsi ... they are competitors. ;)
Here are some very simple things that are different between them:

INTEL processors: Intel was the first major brand for desktop CPUs, they survived a lot of competitors.
The CPUs they manufacture are always a bit more expensive than AMDs. Intel supports the classification by the pure speed of a CPU no more. The introduced new numbers for the CPUs which represent the speed, the advanced features, the cache etc. for a certain CPU (and the best for them: you cannot compare them to AMD any longer as easily as it was before ...)

AMD: AMD concentrated on the PC and consumer market and cut the costs for their CPUs in order to be more competitive. Nowadays the AMD CPUs are hotter than Intel CPUs, therefore you will need a better cooling and your system will be a bit louder.
For gaming systems it is more a question of taste and money than a real difference. Both platforms have their advantages.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the screen brightness suppose to change constantly?

This is the first laptop that I have ever used that the screen brightness keeps changing depending on whats onscreen i.e. when there's a bright area it brightens and if its dark it dims the screen. Is this normal for the HP - Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor: Model: g4-1117dx? So far this is the only thing I find wrong with this laptop! I dont know if its a battery saving feature or if its just defective. I read a review of somebody calling HP about it with no clear resolution. Can somebody please comment if you have the same problem or if you know whats going on.

Thanks
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cham
 from
TX
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi.

Yes this is a feature that came with this model, the feature is called Varibright.

To disable this go to your AMD Vision Engine control center. Under Power Choose CPU Power > Disable the varibright option.

This should disable your variable brightness (annoying right?)
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Syssop
 from
El Paso, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Just open up AMD's Vision Control Center, click on "Powerplay" under the "Power" heading and disabled Vari-Bright
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Zach
 from
Jacksonville
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does HP Pavilion Laptop g4-1117dx model has a rough surface touchpad and jerky?

if the answer is yes, is it irritating to use everyday?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
ken
 from
chicago
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is part of the plastic piece your wrists rest on and no embedded down into the laptop and has a dimpled texture to it. It is not jerky and is very usable. I usually use a Logitech M305 wireless mouse with it though.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SilentSnake
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hi - The surface touchpad does have a texture to it but I find it preferable to the smooth surface I use everyday because it holds the pad of my finger better. The texture is not irritating but I have not used it for hours at a time. I have not experienced any jerking or jumping with the touchpad. It has worked very smoothly.
In Joy
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bhagavan
 from
Monrovia, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the keyboard be configured to Spanish language?

Can the keyboard be configured into the Spanish language so that I can have the ñ even though the actual characters on the keyboard won´t coincide?
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sylsly
 from
Buenos Aires
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi - Windows 7 should easily allow you to change your keyboard to any keyboard with the corresponding characters. Here is a link to how to do this http://support.microsoft.com/kb/258824

In Joy
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bhagavan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
All HP desktop and notebook PCs purchased directly from Hewlett-Packard in the United States will come with an English operating system and American keyboard. At this time, HP in the United States does not have an option for any other language or country operating system or keyboard selection. I apologize for the inconvenience.

You may be able to find an authorized HP reseller or third-party vendor that has non-English operating system and keyboard options for HP notebook PCs.

If you purchase an HP PC with the Windows 7 Ultimate operating system, you can download a language pack that will change the operating system to another language of your choice. For more information, you can visit the following Microsoft website:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/972813
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the HP G4-1117DX come in other colors than the listed color, Pewter?

Hi I was wondering if this laptop comes in other colors than Pewter? If so, does Best Buy sell it in those colors? And would I be able to buy it online in these other colors or would I have to check at a local Best Buy for them? Thanks!
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, it does not come in any other colors.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC is offered in Pewter only at this time.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will it deliver great graphics for video games?

I love playing the Sims. I also love to download special content for my game to upload into the game. Will this computer deliver great graphics as I play? This is important because I plan to make Sims videos. I want my viewers to see the details of my custom content and in the game itself.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You will be able to play nearly any game that is out right now, but more demanding games (like Crysis 2) will have to played on lower resolutions. It should handle very well Sims 3 on medium to high quality. Look into laptops with an A8 processor if you want better graphics for a low dollar value.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JDUC
 from
Cincinnati
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC meets or exceeds all of the recommended system requirements for SIMS 3 listed on the manufacturer’s website, so it should have no issues running this software.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this computer run Adobe Master Collection

I am a designer and need something that will run Adobe Master Collection with 4-5 products open at once.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Meredith
 from
Holiday, FL
on HP Pavilion Laptop / AMD A-Series Processor / 14" Display / 4GB Memory - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
For that type of software you would actually be better off with an AMD A-6 processor instead of the A-4. I would recommend the ASUS Model: K53TA-BBR6 | SKU: 2881042 $449.99 The Asus has the A-6 that will serve you much better. Asus is also much more reliable brand in laptops than HP.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC meets the recommended system requirements for Adobe Master Collection listed on the Adobe website. However, it does not list compatible AMD Radeon graphics cards on the specification website. I recommend contacting Adobe for more information on compatible AMD Radeon graphics cards.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>