Looking for Answers about Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions
 | 
116 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
out of
5
(117 Reviews)117

Questions & Answers for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Question

does the gateway netbook intel atom model LT2802U play netflix ?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
curious george
 from
rochester ny
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
In my experience, right out of the box, the LT did not stream Netflix very well. The answer is to up RAM to 2 G or do what I did and use a flash memory card as a ramdisk. I use a Sandisk Ultra 8 gig and it smoothed out Netflix streaming wonderfully
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I cannot really say, but it plays the videos on youtube very well. Netflix might have a different type of configuration, however.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
freestone
 from
tallahassee, florida
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
While it may be able to play Netflix movies, the screen dimensions of this netbook are better suited for other uses.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you play or watch DVD's on this netbook?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, You can't play any Cds, Dvds, or any other disc devices.
I sugest MacBooks. They might be expencive but they work to the bone. Where the reccomedations are this is what a MacBook looks like. I don't reccomend the item, I reccomend the picture of the MacBook to you.
 
Products from my answer
Apple® MacBook® Air / Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor / 13.3" Display - Aluminum
4.8 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Hayford^
 from
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, unless you purchase an external DVD player to work via USB. As for whether or not it will be powerful enough to effectively operate the DVD player AND smoothly playback the movie, I don't know. A RAM upgrade would be a great idea if that is your intention.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This computer does not have a CD, DVD or Blu-ray drive built in. It is designed to install software and watch videos downloaded from the internet instead of from a CD or DVD. This keeps the size and weight small for optimal portability.

With the wide availability of broadband internet, USB Flash drives and SD cards, the need for optical drives has greatly been reduced. However, if you need this function, there are external optical drives that can be purchased and attached via USB. This can provide a way to use CDs or DVDs on this computer.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Question

can you expand the memory to 2gb ?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Netbook has 1 memory slot that supports up to 2Gb of memory.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This netbook does support 2GB of DDR3 RAM.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

would you recomend this for high school student starting college classes?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as they are not a computer science or graphic arts major, yes. This is a decent little netbook, just way under priced compared to it's competition.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LTDGeek
 from
Anniston, AL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, I think so. Just keep in mind that you will need to download/purchase some sort of office suite for word processing, etc. Openoffice.org offers an office suite for free that is compatible with Microsoft Office. We are trying out Open Office and so far it seems to have everything that we need.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
sabrinasews
 from
Denver, CO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Word or publisher

Does this netbook have word or publisher I have a granddaughter going in to jh and i was going to get this for her would this be a good choice
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Fly_arrow
 from
branson, mo
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The one I purchased had Office "Starter" installed. It is Word and Excel. They claim that Starter has less features but I haven't encountered any missing features yet.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
VeteranTechUser
 from
Reading, PA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This unit comes with Office Starter which is a very basic Office. You have the option to upgrade to any level of Office by going straight to Microsofts website.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the WiFi work in Singapore?

I'm going on vacation to Singapore. Will the WiFi work there?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Your location doesn't change whether WiFi works or not. This netbook does connect to wireless routers.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
VeteranTechUser
 from
Reading, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, This netbook supports the following wireless networking standards: (802.11b/g/n)
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I install and run Microsoft Visual C++

Can I install and run Microsoft Visual C++ and Visual Basic on this Operating system? Is this a 32 bit or 64 bit processor?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It's a 32 bit processor, running Windows Starter 32 bit. You can install Visual basic and C++ since it's running windows. I would expect a slow experience.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
VeteranTechUser
 from
Reading, PA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, those applications would work with this netbook. The processor in this netbook is 64 bit, while the operating system installed is 32 bit.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use Microsoft Word on this netbook?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Microsoft Office 2010 Starter edition is preloaded with unlimited functional versions of Word and Excel. Certain advanced features have been stripped from this version and it includes an advertising Window. I have attached a screenshot of my current Netbook Screen (connected to an external monitor) So you an see what the product looks like when run.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HockeyGuy
 from
Citrus Heights
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. You can download Microsoft Word directly to, and use it on, this netbook.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use this with an aircard?

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I assume so. I used my Droid phone as a wireless hotspot.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
greg01
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You would need to check with the manufacturer of the air card to confirm compatibility with the Windows 7 Starter operating system and USB ports found on this netbook.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this netbook (Gateway Model LT2802U) have expandable RAM?

Does this netbook (Gateway Model LT2802U) have expansion slots for adding additional RAM?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The LT2802u has one DDR3 SODIMM slot upgradeble to 2GB.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+12points
13out of 14found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Hayford^
 from
Pennsylvania
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>