Looking for Answers about Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions
 | 
116 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
out of
5
(117 Reviews)117

Questions & Answers for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Question

Can you play or watch DVD's on this netbook?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, You can't play any Cds, Dvds, or any other disc devices.
I sugest MacBooks. They might be expencive but they work to the bone. Where the reccomedations are this is what a MacBook looks like. I don't reccomend the item, I reccomend the picture of the MacBook to you.
 
Products from my answer
Apple® MacBook® Air / Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor / 13.3" Display - Aluminum
4.8 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Hayford^
 from
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, unless you purchase an external DVD player to work via USB. As for whether or not it will be powerful enough to effectively operate the DVD player AND smoothly playback the movie, I don't know. A RAM upgrade would be a great idea if that is your intention.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This computer does not have a CD, DVD or Blu-ray drive built in. It is designed to install software and watch videos downloaded from the internet instead of from a CD or DVD. This keeps the size and weight small for optimal portability.

With the wide availability of broadband internet, USB Flash drives and SD cards, the need for optical drives has greatly been reduced. However, if you need this function, there are external optical drives that can be purchased and attached via USB. This can provide a way to use CDs or DVDs on this computer.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Question

does the gateway netbook intel atom model LT2802U play netflix ?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
curious george
 from
rochester ny
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
In my experience, right out of the box, the LT did not stream Netflix very well. The answer is to up RAM to 2 G or do what I did and use a flash memory card as a ramdisk. I use a Sandisk Ultra 8 gig and it smoothed out Netflix streaming wonderfully
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I cannot really say, but it plays the videos on youtube very well. Netflix might have a different type of configuration, however.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
freestone
 from
tallahassee, florida
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
While it may be able to play Netflix movies, the screen dimensions of this netbook are better suited for other uses.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does the battery last?

If I were to take this netbook somewhere I couldn't charge it, how long would the battery last in each situation?
a) I used it until the battery ran out
b) I left it in sleep mode until the battery ran out
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+2points
5out of 8found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The 6 cell battery in this model is rated at 8 hours. Of course that would depend on what applications you’re running. Applications that heavily use the processor will drain power faster than applications that don’t. Unfortunately, we have no numbers on what the stand-by time would be if the computer was fully charged and then put into sleep mode until the battery was dead.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+8points
9out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This netbook comes equipped with a 48 Watt 4400 mAh 6-cell Li-ion battery pack with 8-hour battery life. Your computer's battery life may vary depending on computer settings and applications or features launched. The listed battery life is for individual battery packs tested with MobileMark 2007 in productivity test mode, and browsing websites via wireless connection. All batteries' maximum capacity will diminish with time and use.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+9points
10out of 11found this answer helpful.
Question

How to access memory slot in a Gateway LT2802U Netbook

How does one access the memory slot to upgrade the RAM? There is no dedicated memory panel on the back of the unit.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
JPJ
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
based upon being a computer tech and basing on experience on a Acer One netbook to acess and upgrad the ram and/or HDD you need to pretty much gut the thing the RAM slot will be located on or around the bottom ot the motherboard (yes you have tot ake the motherboard out) the had drive should also come out with the moterboard as the HDD Cage is mounted to the motherboard itself
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
take it back to best buy geek squad they can install memory for you,that's what i did. only too about 20mins for them to do.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

would you recomend this for high school student starting college classes?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as they are not a computer science or graphic arts major, yes. This is a decent little netbook, just way under priced compared to it's competition.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
LTDGeek
 from
Anniston, AL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, I think so. Just keep in mind that you will need to download/purchase some sort of office suite for word processing, etc. Openoffice.org offers an office suite for free that is compatible with Microsoft Office. We are trying out Open Office and so far it seems to have everything that we need.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
sabrinasews
 from
Denver, CO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

screen

when i log onto an internet sight, aka yahoo, the screen is to large i have to scroll left to right to view evrything.....what do i do?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm so glad you asked this question! I'm going to teach you a little trick with your touchpad. When you are on a webpage, if you want to make it smaller, take one finger, put it on one side of the touchpad, and the other on the otherside and then pinch your fingers together and the page should shrink some. Do the opposite by putting your fingers in the center and pinching outward.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HockeyGuy
 from
Citrus Heights
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can check to make sure your screen resolution is set to the highest possible setting. View more information on this issue here: http://gateway-us.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6530/
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Word or publisher

Does this netbook have word or publisher I have a granddaughter going in to jh and i was going to get this for her would this be a good choice
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Fly_arrow
 from
branson, mo
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The one I purchased had Office "Starter" installed. It is Word and Excel. They claim that Starter has less features but I haven't encountered any missing features yet.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
VeteranTechUser
 from
Reading, PA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This unit comes with Office Starter which is a very basic Office. You have the option to upgrade to any level of Office by going straight to Microsofts website.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you expand the memory to 2gb ?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Netbook has 1 memory slot that supports up to 2Gb of memory.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This netbook does support 2GB of DDR3 RAM.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it work with Slingbox?

Slingbox is something that you connect with your cable box at home and wirelessly you can watch tv on your iPod, iPad, or laptop. But im just wondering if it works with this netbook.
Thank you.
 
Products related to my question
Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
3.9 out of 5(117)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
After reviewing the requirements for Slingbox this unit does not meet or exceed these requirements and would not work well with Slingbox.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You will want to check with Slingbox regarding compatibility with the Windows 7 Starter operating system as well as 1024 x 600 resolution screens.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

writing

is this lap top good for writer who does short storys.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
nikki
 from
arizona
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but only for traveling. It's too small, and the keyboard is too compactly set, to allow comfortable hour-after-hour, day-after-day use. But it can't be beat for occasional, on-the-road use (in the air, waiting at airports, in hotel rooms, etc.).
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NBReviewer
 from
Denver area
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This netbook is great for writing various documents.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>