Looking for Answers about Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

This netbook features a built-in 0.3MP webcam so you can video chat with friends and family and weighs only 2.7 lbs. for easy portability. The Windows 7 Starter operating system provides a stable computing platform.Learn more about Intel® processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions
 | 
116 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.897 out of 5
3.9
out of
5
(117 Reviews)117

Questions & Answers for Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black

Question

Can you play or watch DVD's on this netbook?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, You can't play any Cds, Dvds, or any other disc devices.
I sugest MacBooks. They might be expencive but they work to the bone. Where the reccomedations are this is what a MacBook looks like. I don't reccomend the item, I reccomend the picture of the MacBook to you.
 
Products from my answer
Apple® MacBook® Air / Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor / 13.3" Display - Aluminum
4.8 out of 5(60)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Hayford^
 from
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, unless you purchase an external DVD player to work via USB. As for whether or not it will be powerful enough to effectively operate the DVD player AND smoothly playback the movie, I don't know. A RAM upgrade would be a great idea if that is your intention.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This computer does not have a CD, DVD or Blu-ray drive built in. It is designed to install software and watch videos downloaded from the internet instead of from a CD or DVD. This keeps the size and weight small for optimal portability.

With the wide availability of broadband internet, USB Flash drives and SD cards, the need for optical drives has greatly been reduced. However, if you need this function, there are external optical drives that can be purchased and attached via USB. This can provide a way to use CDs or DVDs on this computer.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+11points
11out of 11found this answer helpful.
Question

does the gateway netbook intel atom model LT2802U play netflix ?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
curious george
 from
rochester ny
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
In my experience, right out of the box, the LT did not stream Netflix very well. The answer is to up RAM to 2 G or do what I did and use a flash memory card as a ramdisk. I use a Sandisk Ultra 8 gig and it smoothed out Netflix streaming wonderfully
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I cannot really say, but it plays the videos on youtube very well. Netflix might have a different type of configuration, however.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
freestone
 from
tallahassee, florida
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
While it may be able to play Netflix movies, the screen dimensions of this netbook are better suited for other uses.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

would you recomend this for high school student starting college classes?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as they are not a computer science or graphic arts major, yes. This is a decent little netbook, just way under priced compared to it's competition.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LTDGeek
 from
Anniston, AL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, I think so. Just keep in mind that you will need to download/purchase some sort of office suite for word processing, etc. Openoffice.org offers an office suite for free that is compatible with Microsoft Office. We are trying out Open Office and so far it seems to have everything that we need.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sabrinasews
 from
Denver, CO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

screen

when i log onto an internet sight, aka yahoo, the screen is to large i have to scroll left to right to view evrything.....what do i do?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm so glad you asked this question! I'm going to teach you a little trick with your touchpad. When you are on a webpage, if you want to make it smaller, take one finger, put it on one side of the touchpad, and the other on the otherside and then pinch your fingers together and the page should shrink some. Do the opposite by putting your fingers in the center and pinching outward.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HockeyGuy
 from
Citrus Heights
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can check to make sure your screen resolution is set to the highest possible setting. View more information on this issue here: http://gateway-us.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6530/
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Word or publisher

Does this netbook have word or publisher I have a granddaughter going in to jh and i was going to get this for her would this be a good choice
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Fly_arrow
 from
branson, mo
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The one I purchased had Office "Starter" installed. It is Word and Excel. They claim that Starter has less features but I haven't encountered any missing features yet.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VeteranTechUser
 from
Reading, PA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This unit comes with Office Starter which is a very basic Office. You have the option to upgrade to any level of Office by going straight to Microsofts website.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I increase the video memory by buying more memory?

I'd like to know whether buying a 2 GB memory card would increase the video memory from 64 MB to more, and if so, how much can I get?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
machelo
 from
Bantam, CT
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Due to the programming of the graphics adapter , I noticed the manufacturer has locked this at 64mb regardless of if you expand the ram or not. It all depends on what you are using the Netbook for.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HockeyGuy
 from
Citrus Heights
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
NO, This is deicated video memory nomatter how much RAM you install the graphics will always by 64MB you cannot change or upgrade this
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

why won't it connect to my router?

I am have another laptop which acces my wireless router. This gateway notebook won't access my wireless, why?
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bears
 from
mukwonago
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Did you left click the wireless icon in the system tray and see if your can detect a strong signal? If signal is weak, you might try re-positioning the router.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The simplest thing you can try to do is preform a hard reset on the router and modem by unplugging the power cords from each and letting it sit unplugged for 30 seconds to a minute. If the laptop cannot still access the router, the router might not be able to be discovered. If you know the name of your router, you can search for it from your wireless networks window.

If none of these resolve the issue, there might be an incompatibility between the laptop and router and I would verify that your router is Windows 7 compatible.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SeanBBY
 from
Minneapolis, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this Netbook allow me to play Pogo online?

Pogo is a gaming website that has multiplayer games and I'd like to know if this item will work for that.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
San Diego
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I bought it to play games on facebook, and while it will play some, most of them take forever to load and the play lags.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
glr54
 from
Pennsylvania
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
While it should play most flash based games without issue, we can not guarantee smooth performance in more complex games.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use this with an aircard?

3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I assume so. I used my Droid phone as a wireless hotspot.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
greg01
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You would need to check with the manufacturer of the air card to confirm compatibility with the Windows 7 Starter operating system and USB ports found on this netbook.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

my software requires Pentium 4 processor and 2gb ram. Can I use this netbook?

3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway Netbook / Intel® Atom™ Processor / 10.1" Display / 1GB Memory - River Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nope, sorry. The processor is okay, but it has only 1gb of ram, and is not upgradable.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hobi
 from
san francisco, ca
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this does not have a Pentium 4 processor and has 1GB of RAM, not 2.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>