Looking for Answers about Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black

Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens: A perfect everyday lens for any photographer, the AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G offers fast autofocusing combined with an integrated lens coating to deliver clear and crisp images. The wide-open aperture is ideal for low-light shooting and creating images with beautiful background blur.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions
 | 
101 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black

Question

Does this lens fit on a Nikon D300

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the D300 has a built in autofocus motor so while you don't necessarily need a lens with an auto focus, it will work. You should be able to use any NIKKOR AF or AF-S lens.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does, and beautifully.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes it does.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Janik
 from
Rochester, NY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Willphoto
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this lens better for family portrait indoor and outdoor, compared with 35 mm lens ?

I am just thinking of buying another lens, but can't decide which lens, whether the 50 mm f 1.8 G or the 35 mm f 1.8 for my Nikon D3200 which I bought last year.
I will need it for family portraits indoor and outdoor.
Thanks
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sanchristy
 from
Jakarta, Indonesia
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This is kind of a though question since people have different opinions. But in my opinion, on a cropped sensor camera like yours, I would consider a 35mm more of an all-around lens to walk around shooting, while the 50mm more of a portrait lens. They both can serve multiple purposes, but if I had to choose, and portraits was my main concern, the 50mm wins. A must have lens.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Truth be told, those are both on the short side for portraits... Especially the 35mm. When you have a cropped frame (DX) camera, a TRUE 50mm lens has an effective field of view similar to a 75mm lens on a full-frame, or (FX) camera. If your lens is a "DX lens", then it is going to show you a field of view that matches it's focal length. (Example, an 18-55mm DX lens will show you 18-55mm views on your camera. a TRUE (Non DX) "full-frame" lens like the 200mm f/2 Nikon lens will show you an effective 300mm view on your D3200. (200mm lens x 1.5 DX camera crop factor, 200x1.5=300mm effective focal length) Your portrait lenses do flattering things for human faces and perspective around the 85mm & up range. My favorite lenses to do portraits with are: 70-200mm f/2.8 (at the 200mm end), 85mm f/1.4, and my 300mm f/2.8 lenses. (You need lots of room to use the 300mm lens, but they make women's faces look awesome!)

There's a whole bunch of theory behind why, like compression, and perspective manipulations, but I just accept the rule of thumb of 85-300mm are good portrait lengths because of personal trial and error. You can take a nice headshot of someone with a 50mm, no doubt, but I believe that you will be happier with an 85mm f/1.8 or better, an f/1.4 if you can afford it. A GREAT lens is the Nikon 105mm VR MACRO lens. It is a great portrait lens as well as an excellent MACRO/Close-up lens, and you would be hard pressed to find a sharper lens without spending a bit above the $1,000.00 USD range...
My recommendations are: 105mm VR MACRO/MICRO lens. (Does multiple things and is super-sharp!) | 85mm f/1.8 or f/1.4 if your budget allows, but now we're into the thousands of dollars.... | the 70-200mm F/2.8 VRII This is the lens that I use for portraits at events because of the flexibility it offers, and it takes great portraits, almost the equal of the 85mm in my eyes... But again, we're talking almost $2500 for that lens. The 70-300mm VR was a great, relatively inexpensive lens when I had it. It was too slow for me, (I need the speed of f/2.8 for weddings and events in low light when flash is not an option or desired.) but it was a very sharp and nice lens for "general use". Just be sure to use it between 200mm & 300mm for your portraits, and know that you will not have as easy a time separating your subject from the background as you would with the 105mm VR, 70-200mm f.2.8, and definitely not as well as either of the 85mm lenses would.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Knorris908
 from
New Jersey
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Best overall purchase go with the 50mm, but if you are on a budget and want to take easy on the pocket then 35mm which is a very good lens for what you want. I hope this helps.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MosesO
 from
San Diego, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I shoot with a similar Nikon D5200. The 50mm 1.8 was great for both portrait and landscapes on my last vacation. I would however like to purchase the 35mm 1.8 for some wider shots. I did find on my trip that a few times I did need to back up slightly further then I'd like to fit the shot. Overall I am extremely happy with the 50mm I'd just like to add both the 35mm 1.8 as well as the 85mm 1.8 to my equipment.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ESIMO
 from
Long Island, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the lens made in China?

I want to know whether the Nikon lense are manufactured? Is all the lenses are manufactured in China?
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
dhiru
 from
Dubai
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I have this lens and it is made in China as stated on the outside of the packaging.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm pretty sure this one is made in China, but not all Nikon lenses are made in China. Some of the more expensive lenses are made in Japan. However that doesn't mean this would be of any inferior quality. The build is not as rough as say a 24-70mm 2.8 Nikon, but is definitely better than any kit lens. Optically this lens is probably better than many of Nikon lenses costing 5 times as much and a must have for any Nikon shooter in my opinion.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Not all are made in China, but the current 50mm f1.8 is. It works great, I'd buy it again.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JohninDFW
 from
Dallas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Nikon operates factories all across the globe and each operates to the same high standard. While individual items are marked with their country of manufacture, we cannot make a blanket statement about the country of origin of a specific type/model.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G AF-S Lens work with a Nikon D80? Auto Focus?

4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it will. You have an autofocus motor in the camera model already so you only need the AF lenses. However, the AF-S is also compatible.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. I have a Nikon D80. All the function will work, even the auto focus. Actually, the auto focus is very fast with this lens. However, only difference is that on D80, this will be a 80mm lens instead of 50mm (normal) on FX. All Nikon DX cameras have x1.6 crop factor. (D3100, D5100, D7000, D90, D300s etc...)

Hope this helps!
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Flavaj78
 from
San Jose, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Absolutely; the D80 is a DX format camera that uses Nikon's F-mount for lens attachment. The 50mm f/1.8G is an FX format F-mount lens with a built in auto-focus motor. Since you'll be using an FX lens on a DX body, the focal length will actually appear more like 75mm than 50mm. There's also a 35mm DX format f/1.8G lens available at Best Buy... that one was created to offer an equivalent focal length of 50mm on DX format cameras.

Here's my suggestion: go to your local Best Buy store and take your camera with you. The blue shirts will be more than happy to let you try out the lenses in the display case on your camera so that you can choose the one that will work best for your purposes.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Yep
 from
Silicon Valley, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this 50 mm lens work on a Nikon d3000?

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it will, all NIKKOR AF-S will work with a DSLR D3000.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it works in the DX format and has the built in auto focus motor.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ESIMO
 from
Long Island, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jec6613
 from
Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the Nikon - Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G AF-S Lens work properly on a D90?

I have a D90 camera. The lenses are DX. Will this lens function properly on the camera? What is the difference between the DX and other lenses?
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Try this link !

http://www.nikonians.org/reviews/nikon-slr-camera-and-lens-compatibility
5 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Happy1
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. This lens will work on D90. I have the Nikon D80 with this lens. But since we have DX camera bodies, this lens will be come a 80mm lens instead of 50mm. This is a FX, full frame lens, so on a FX body, this will be a 50mm. (D700, D800, D3, D3s, D3x etc) But on a DX camera, the focal length will be multiplied by 1.6. (D3100, D5100, D7000, D300s etc...)
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Flavaj78
 from
San Jose, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D90.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this lense auto focus with a Nikon d60?

4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it will. You have an autofocus motor in the camera model already so you only need the AF lenses. However, the AF-S is also compatible.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Nikon's D60 product page states that your camera will support all features of Af-S lenses... that includes autofocus.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Yep
 from
Silicon Valley, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D60.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this lens work with the D5000? What is the best 50mm to get?

3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ams
 from
Georgia
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it does! I have the same lens and love it! The only thing to consider is if you want the G type (without aperture ring but you control it with the camera dial) or if you rather control the aperture on the lens then go with a D lens instead of this G but in my opinion, there's not much difference, you are either moving the dial on the camera or the ring on the lens.
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, I bought this lens for my D5000 and love it!
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lclamere
 from
Dallas, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5000.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this lens compatible with the Nikon D40 camera?

2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, this lens will work with any F-mount camera. It has a built-in motor, so it works with pretty much all Nikon cameras. Highly recommended.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes... will work fine, providing 75mm equivalent field of view on your camera, in that it is a "crop" (DX format) camera. That's a near ideal range for portraits, as is the f1.8 aperture. To go a bit wider and to get to the true 50mm view on your D40, pick up a 35mm f1.8 Nikon lens also. Inexpensive at $200, and nice image quality.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lightsniper
 from
Phoenix AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens is compatible with the D40. Since that lens has a built-in focus motor (the AF-S designations stands for Silent Wave Motor), you will have full autofocus capability with the lens and the D40. Please see your camera's manual for more information regarding lens compatibility and limitations.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this lens fit on my Nikon D750?

3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Frank
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
2 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Veryhappy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, the Nikon D750 is not a compatible model.
3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G lens is a compatible lens for the Nikon D750 DSLR camera. It's a great lens for low light situations and can provide seamless changes between manual and autofocus modes with the click of a switch.
3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>