Looking for Answers about Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black

Nikon AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens: A perfect everyday lens for any photographer, the AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G offers fast autofocusing combined with an integrated lens coating to deliver clear and crisp images. The wide-open aperture is ideal for low-light shooting and creating images with beautiful background blur.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions
 | 
81 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.84 out of 5
4.8
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black

Question

Does this lens autofocus? i have a D3200 and was told it doesnt buy a best buy associate?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
He was referring to the 1.8d version of this lens, which is about $100 less expensive. The 1.8G version has a built-in motor for Autofocus and will work beautifully with your camera. A must have lens for any Nikon shooter, specially for portraits and low light.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Btw most Best Buy associates are less knowledgable than Radio Shack associates......
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jbachuss
 from
Paducah, Ky
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes works perfect on D3200.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jbachuss
 from
Paducah, Ky
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G will autofocus with the D3200. All Nikon AF-S, and AF-I lenses will autofocus with the D3200.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this lens better for family portrait indoor and outdoor, compared with 35 mm lens ?

I am just thinking of buying another lens, but can't decide which lens, whether the 50 mm f 1.8 G or the 35 mm f 1.8 for my Nikon D3200 which I bought last year.
I will need it for family portraits indoor and outdoor.
Thanks
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sanchristy
 from
Jakarta, Indonesia
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This is kind of a though question since people have different opinions. But in my opinion, on a cropped sensor camera like yours, I would consider a 35mm more of an all-around lens to walk around shooting, while the 50mm more of a portrait lens. They both can serve multiple purposes, but if I had to choose, and portraits was my main concern, the 50mm wins. A must have lens.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Truth be told, those are both on the short side for portraits... Especially the 35mm. When you have a cropped frame (DX) camera, a TRUE 50mm lens has an effective field of view similar to a 75mm lens on a full-frame, or (FX) camera. If your lens is a "DX lens", then it is going to show you a field of view that matches it's focal length. (Example, an 18-55mm DX lens will show you 18-55mm views on your camera. a TRUE (Non DX) "full-frame" lens like the 200mm f/2 Nikon lens will show you an effective 300mm view on your D3200. (200mm lens x 1.5 DX camera crop factor, 200x1.5=300mm effective focal length) Your portrait lenses do flattering things for human faces and perspective around the 85mm & up range. My favorite lenses to do portraits with are: 70-200mm f/2.8 (at the 200mm end), 85mm f/1.4, and my 300mm f/2.8 lenses. (You need lots of room to use the 300mm lens, but they make women's faces look awesome!)

There's a whole bunch of theory behind why, like compression, and perspective manipulations, but I just accept the rule of thumb of 85-300mm are good portrait lengths because of personal trial and error. You can take a nice headshot of someone with a 50mm, no doubt, but I believe that you will be happier with an 85mm f/1.8 or better, an f/1.4 if you can afford it. A GREAT lens is the Nikon 105mm VR MACRO lens. It is a great portrait lens as well as an excellent MACRO/Close-up lens, and you would be hard pressed to find a sharper lens without spending a bit above the $1,000.00 USD range...
My recommendations are: 105mm VR MACRO/MICRO lens. (Does multiple things and is super-sharp!) | 85mm f/1.8 or f/1.4 if your budget allows, but now we're into the thousands of dollars.... | the 70-200mm F/2.8 VRII This is the lens that I use for portraits at events because of the flexibility it offers, and it takes great portraits, almost the equal of the 85mm in my eyes... But again, we're talking almost $2500 for that lens. The 70-300mm VR was a great, relatively inexpensive lens when I had it. It was too slow for me, (I need the speed of f/2.8 for weddings and events in low light when flash is not an option or desired.) but it was a very sharp and nice lens for "general use". Just be sure to use it between 200mm & 300mm for your portraits, and know that you will not have as easy a time separating your subject from the background as you would with the 105mm VR, 70-200mm f.2.8, and definitely not as well as either of the 85mm lenses would.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Knorris908
 from
New Jersey
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Best overall purchase go with the 50mm, but if you are on a budget and want to take easy on the pocket then 35mm which is a very good lens for what you want. I hope this helps.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MosesO
 from
San Diego, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I shoot with a similar Nikon D5200. The 50mm 1.8 was great for both portrait and landscapes on my last vacation. I would however like to purchase the 35mm 1.8 for some wider shots. I did find on my trip that a few times I did need to back up slightly further then I'd like to fit the shot. Overall I am extremely happy with the 50mm I'd just like to add both the 35mm 1.8 as well as the 85mm 1.8 to my equipment.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ESIMO
 from
Long Island, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this lens fit on a Nikon D300

2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it does, and beautifully.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Janik
 from
Rochester, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Willphoto
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does it works for the nikon 1 j1?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
romi4
 from
argentina
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No it won't. This is an F-mount lens. You need to look at 1-mount lenses.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Sorry but no it is not compatible with that camera. The Nikon 1 J1 is a compact system camera and mostly all the lenses and accessories will be a lot smaller.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kubuli
 from
Bloomfield, NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Sorry no it won't.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PaulBl
 from
Hampton Roads, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this the lens I need in order to take wide angle shots of my properties I have listed? I'm a Realtor.

I have a D5100 but need to take wider angled shots
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lee
 from
texas
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends, but I would think not. You would probably have to stand way back from the property to be ably to capture everything depending on how big it is. Even a 35mm may be to long. If your D5100 came with a kit lens, that would probably do a better job on shooting properties as you can go really wide or fairly long. If you need yo go even wider than that, you would have to look into an ultra wide lens. Perhaps something like a fish-eye lens.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lordfakie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On a cropped sensor like the 5100 this will shoot like a 75mm lens on an old school 35mm film camera. It could take decent pictures of real estate. The 35mm fixed lens is also a low price and would be wider. The 55mm and the 35mm f1.8 lens are the best bargains once you get past the kit lens.

With a fixed lens you need to get out of the car and walk more. With the kit lens like the 17-55mm zoom you wouldn't. The kit len won't stop down as low so you'll need better light but then you don't shoot properties in poor light in any case. They need to look nice! Nothing beats better light.

The 17-55mm would do interior shots better and you could shoot at a high ISO and still not need a flash in decent light. For a realtor the kit lens might just serve more situations. You just wouldn't want to shoot in poor light in any case since you want a pretty bright picture. Stepping up to a Prime zoom lens might be better but would cost a LOT more and maybe not pay off for web based images. The 5100 can jump through lots of hoops and then some. Shooting raw images you can do far more than you could ever need. Even in auto mode the 5100 is an amazing camera.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PaulBl
 from
Hampton Roads, VA
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, this will not give you a wide angle shot, this is moreso for portrait photography. If you want something to showcase property as a realtor, you should look at the Tokina 11-16mm or Nikon 12-24 (EXPENSIVE!), it's a beautiful lens and use it every time I help my friend's dad with his realtor business and also for when I take pictures of landscapes and want to squeeze the most into one picture. Please note though that this camera is MANUAL FOCUS ONLY...but all you need to do is just keep it at 'infinity' and it will bring everything into focus easily and quickly. Dont let the "manual only" mode turn you off from the lens. They currently do not sell the Tokina in stores but I bought it from Cameta Camera through the Best Buy Marketplace. Hope this helps!
 
Products from my answer
Tokina - 11-16mm f/2.8 AT-X116 Pro DX Digital Zoom Lens for Nikon DSLR Cameras
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Steve
 from
San Jose, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

1 or 5 years warranty?

Nikon AF-S 50mm FX, the warranty at beat buy specified for 1 year limited, however, it's 5 years for all other nikon-dealer. Is the free extend also applied on Best Buy lens or not?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
A US lens purchased from Best Buy will have the same warranty option as with any other authorized dealer... just make sure that it's the f1.8 that has the extended warranty, and not just the more expensive f1.4. Frankly, with a combination of Nikon's lens quality and the very low cost of this lens, you can't go wrong. Just don't buy a "grey market" import lens without a US warranty, as Nikon will not service such hardware.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lightsniper
 from
Phoenix AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jec6613
 from
Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this 50 mm lens work on a Nikon d3000?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it works in the DX format and has the built in auto focus motor.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ESIMO
 from
Long Island, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jec6613
 from
Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

why can't I have this shipped to me?

why can't I have this shipped to me? It is not available for pickup anywhere in the state.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I walked into my local store and got mine... check the in-stock section of each product...
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stady234
 from
Arlignton, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I was able to just walk into my local store and purchase this one. I'm in Northern California. What state are you in?
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this lens compatible with 5100

3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, without question. Fully compatible!
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PaulBl
 from
Hampton Roads, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
yes this lens can be used on the 5100.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
koolpop
 from
Dallas, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this lens work with the D5000? What is the best 50mm to get?

3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ams
 from
Georgia
on Nikon - AF-S NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G Standard Lens - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I bought this lens for my D5000 and love it!
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lclamere
 from
Dallas, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this lens is compatible with the D5000.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>