Looking for Answers about Sony - Blu-ray Player?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - Blu-ray Player

This Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray player lets you watch your favorite Blu-ray movies in high-definition resolution and features Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio surround sound decoders for immersive audio. An Ethernet port allows access to Instant Content. Smart Blu-ray Player Get a world of instant entertainment with this smart Blu-ray player. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.CinemaNowNetflix Pandora YouTube
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions
 | 
93 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(255 Reviews)255

Questions & Answers for Sony - Blu-ray Player

Question

Will this blu ray player work on a 720p tv? If so will you be able to tell a difference in the picture quality from a regular dvd player?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bo
 from
demorest, GA
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes and yes.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony BDPS185 Player can be used with a 720p TV. This Blu-ray Player supports resolution up to 1080p/24. The Picture quality depends on the maximum resolution supported by the Television.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I just purchase ablueray with netflix

what would i need to buy for it to work and i do have internet
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I use netflix on mine, and all i needed was a network cable to connect to my router so that it had internet. The network cable needs to either connect to your router for home wi fi or your modem.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player has to be connected to a Router via an Ethernet cable (not supplied) for connecting to the Internet. After the connection, register the Player at the Essentials Website and then link your Netflix icon. Refer the following link to view all the steps to register the Player.

http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?cmd=displayKC&externalId=C1003754

If you have any issue while performing any of these steps, you can contact the technical support team and they will be able to assist you further. You can contact our Technical Support Team via chat, E-mail or Telephone at:

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/select-system.pl?DIRECTOR=CONTACT
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Which USB harddrives work best attached to this Sony BDP-S185 Blu-ray player?

I have tried Seagate FreeAgent Go USB harddrives and they work for a period of time and then I believe they go into a sleep-mode and they no longer work. I am sure that when I first setup the USB harddrive, I set the sleep-mode to "never", but I still have this problem. I am wondering what other brands have been tested to work with the Sony BDP-S185 model
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JDK
 from
Indiana
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Any External Hard Drive up to 2 TB size can be used with the Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player. Ensure that the USB cable is connected directly to the USB port on the Sony Blu-ray Disc Player and not via a USB Hub. The Hard Drive should not have any partition and if it is NTFS formatted, use an External power supply to the Hard Drive.

If there is any further issue, we suggest that you contact our Technical Support Team to troubleshoot, as more details would be required to diagnose the issue. You can contact our Technical Support Team via chat, E-mail or Telephone at:

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/select-system.pl?DIRECTOR=CONTACT
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Close Caption or subtitles for Neflix streaming video

How do you turn on close caption or subtitles when watching Neflix streaming video on this model? Close caption is only available when watching DVD?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ven
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, if the movies being streamed in Netflix contain Subtitles, they can be displayed in the Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player. Refer the following link to view more information regarding this.

http://www.kb.sony.com/selfservice/documentLink.do?externalId=C1025898
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this sony dvd blue ray work with the tv guardian?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player does not have the TV Guardian app in it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Apps

Can you add Apps to to the blu-ray player?
 
Products related to my question
Panasonic 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.5 out of 5(14)
 
 
 
Samsung 3D Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.2 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
Samsung - Refurbished DVD Player with 1080p Upconversion
2.3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You won't be able to add anything you choose to the player. You will get only the services they provide. It is not like a cell phone or tablet.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Graystone55
 from
Mesa AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The BDPS185 does not have app loading abilities. If you are looking for a Blu-ray player with Android , and the freedom of adding selected apps from the Android Marketplace, might we suggest the NSZ-GT1 Sony Internet TV Blu-ray Disc Player.
 
Products from my answer
Sony - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player with Google TV
3.5 out of 5(269)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work fine if I dont hook up to the net?

I just want to play back dvd's and blurays and not use any internet features, so I dont intend to hook up to the internet. Am I correct in thinking that all will work fine for what I want it to do without an internet connection. I have no way to connect this with a wire the way my condo is set up, and I could care less anyway.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dabigyankeeman
 from
South Florida
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
While the internet/ethernet connection could add a lot of entertainment value to your player, it is in no means necessary. You'll just have a few menus that aren't functional. Most of the internet services provided are subscription $ services anyway. They are nice to have but certainly not a requirement. Just hookup your player to your TV and enjoy! (Hopefully you have an HD TV or your won't see the BluRay titles properly.)
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Graystone55
 from
Mesa AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It is not required to connect the Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player to the Internet for playing DVDs and Blu-ray Discs.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

No internet hookup, firmware updates?

If I dont have my Sony bluray player hooked up to the internet, how do I do firmware updates, and do I even have to bother with firmware updates if I do nothing but play discs? My last bluray player by another mfg is over 3 yrs old and i have never done a firmware update and it works fine to play dvds and blurays.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dabigyankeeman
 from
south florida
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you don't have an internet connection you will not be able to update your firmware. Some manufacturers would send you a CD disc that you could insert into the player to start an update but that's mostly all been replaced by an internet connection now. You would have to contact the manufacturer to see if they still offer a firmware update disc. Most don't.

Generally, the firmware updates involve increasing what can be done on the internet so you might not need them. But, sometimes firmware updates fix bugs in the units that were discovered after the players were sold. Also Bluray is revising all the time. If you don't update your firmware every once in a while you may find you can't play the latest discs.

Since you have no interest in the internet connection, I'd advise you not to worry about these upgrades unless you see a problem in this unit or new titles don't play on this player. If so, then contact the manufacturer and see what your options are then. Most of the internet content is subscription $ anyway so you probably aren't going to miss it if you don't use it now. But sometimes if you want something like Netflix or similar services it would be well worth having this integrated to your current player.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Graystone55
 from
Mesa AZ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Firmware update can be installed in the Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player by downloading the update file from the eSupport website and burning it on to a CD-R disc. Firmware updates can be periodically checked in the below provided Website.
http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=BDPS185&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=download#/downloadTab

Select the Operating System installed in your Computer on the above page to download the Firmware update file and to view the instructions for burning it to a CD-R disc and installing in the Sony BD Player.

This firmware upgrades the Blu-ray Disc player firmware to version M09.R.0042 and improves BD-ROM playability.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

hdmi cable for The Blu-ray Disc Player BDPS185

So I gather I do in fact need to connect the player to my router with an ethernet cable. I've found HDMI cables that say they are ethernet ready or something. Is there a cable that is both or do I need a 2 separate ethernet and hdmi cables?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
suziQ7
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
HDMI is a video cable standard. There is no such thing as a Ethernet ready HDMI cable. HDMI does not have any ethernet capability. It carries only audio and video signals. The HDMI cable will plug into your Bluray player and TV to send audio/video.

Ethernet is a network cable. It carries digital information between your router (and any other devices that are ethernet ready). It does not have any audio/video capability. It carries only data. The ethernet cable will go to your router to give the player a connection to the internet. If you don't know what a router is or don't know whether you have one, you will need to have someone else install it for you. You need a little computer network and TV knowledge to hook up both. You might even have to buy a router or internet subscription.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Graystone 55
 from
Mesa AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You need two separate Ethernet and HDMI cables. An Ethernet cable will be required to connect the Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player to a Router for accessing Internet. An HDMI cable will be required to connect the Sony Blu-ray Disc Player to a TV.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I connect to Bose Solo system?

I just bought a Bose Solo home theater system and cannot get sound when I play DVD/ Blu-ray. Do I need to change the audio settings on my Sony Blu-ray?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The Sony BDPS185 Blu-ray Disc Player can be connected to the Home Theater System using a Digital Co-axial or an Analog Audio cable.

Ensure to select the correct input in the Home Theater System. The issue might be due to additional audio settings in the Home Theater System. I suggest that you contact the Sony technical support team to troubleshoot the issue further, as more details regarding the connection and settings are required to diagnose the issue.

You can contact the Sony technical support team via chat, email or Telephone.

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/select-system.pl?DIRECTOR=CONTACT#
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>