Looking for Answers about Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Samsung Brightside SCHU380HKV Cell Phone for Verizon: The Brightside is great for those who want the simplicity of a basic phone with the core features of a smartphone — offering a touch screen and camera in addition to its full physical keyboard. Verizon Edge option available. Learn more ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions
 | 
135 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.76 out of 5
3.8
out of
5
(325 Reviews)325

Questions & Answers for Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)

Question

hello does the samsung brightside need a data plan

Samsung Brightsisde SCH-U380
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
oh really? funny how everyone says it doesn't require a data plan.... and i only found this phone after selecting the filter of "Data Plan Optional".... AND YET WHEN I TRY TO BUY IT, IT SAYS "THIS PHONE REQUIRES A DATA PLAN" AND WON'T LET ME PROCEED UNTIL I SELECT ONE.

this is ridiculous.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No data plan required. Just compared prices today 5/5/12, Best Buy $29.99 and Verizon $119.99 for two-year plan. Go to Best Buy
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Rose
 from
Goleta
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
no this is why I picked it
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I doesn't need a data plan. This was one of the reasons we got this phone. I have been told you could add one if you wish. Not really sure. But no data plan required.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Steve721
 from
Riverside, RI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi! Thanks for your question.

No data plan is needed for the Samsung Brightside. It is not a smartphone. There is a totally optional data plan.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+10points
10out of 10found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No it does not.
The Best Buy web site says it does but it does not require a data plan.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bigbuttbob
 from
MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Was just looking at this in Verizon store today - they said this phone does NOT need a data plan. BTW, verizon is much more expensive than best buy ($99 vs. $29 for a 2 yr upgrade).
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AnotherAnonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What kind of charger comes with the phone?

Does the phone only come with a wall charger, or with a car charger as well? Also, does the charger cord have a USB plug or is the cord & plug one solid device?
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi! Thanks for your question.

What's Included
•Samsung Brightside Mobile Phone
•Lithium-ion battery
•Wall Charger
•Owner's manual

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It comes with the standard Verizon usb charging cable and plug in usb charger. There is not a car charger, but if you already have a 12v to USB charging adapter, you could use that with the provided cable.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
atpence
 from
Weaverville
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The phone comes with a wall charger and it is a seperate USB plug that seperates from the wall plug-in - not a solid device. It does not come with a car adapter but will plug in if you already have one.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jamie4174
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The phone comes with a wall charger. No car charger. The wall charger has a USB plug.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
chips92
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Helloo!

This phone only comes with a USB cord and wall charger plug adapter thingy (I don't know what it's actually called). This means you can plug it into the computer or into your home outlet.

You could probably buy a car charger through Best Buy for a lot cheaper than Verizon (same charger, sam quality!)

*you reminded me...I just got a new car the other day and the Samsung Brightside (good day/week). i need a car charger now!
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Coleyy
 from
Boston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The phone only comes with a wall charger, but the charger cord has a USB connector so you can disconnect the wall plug and plug the phone into your computer to charge it.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
macbel
 from
Las Cruces, NM
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative may be able to assist you better with this question. The Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this phone only available online?

Can you only purchase it via internet, or can you go to the store and purchase it?
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It was at my Best Buy..try there...
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It is carried by Best Buy stores.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I got mine instore
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can purchase it at the store as well.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Yes, this can be bought instore as well. Here is a link to find this in a store close to you.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olstemp...

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, this question would be best asked of a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative. The Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you change the background of this phone?

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
annie
 from
san fransisco
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Can I buy my own wallpaper to place as my screen saver.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tina
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No...but you can change your Lock Screen's picture...the phone's menu has only two color options (orange and green)...and that's about it....you can change the fonts and stuff but not much more than that.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Hey!
This is a good, rather sophisticated question.

You CAN change the lock screen (when ur phone is locked when ya toss it in ya pocket or whatever). However, you CANNOT change the wallpaper (becasue there is none).

The home screen is just the menu... either 'orange' or 'green' themed.

Weird, yes. But lets be honest here, do you really need a walpaper? No.

At first, I was taken aback by this fact. Then, hen I got the phone, I no longer cared. good phone, good price, good service, WORTH IT.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Coleyy
 from
Boston
+5points
6out of 7found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Only for the lock screen. The "home" screen will be the menu.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Go to settings -> display settings->Wallpaper.
Any of the images on your phone can be your background. Also you can change your theme to Green rather than the Orange, through the easy Set-Up Wizard.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative may be able to assist you better with this question. The Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this phone have video recording

4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. To access press and hold camera button.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does...it's pretty decent....
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Yes, you can record Video.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Hello!

The brightside does in fact have video recording, very good if that!
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Coleyy
 from
Boston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes...Lol but the camera is kinda bad
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative may be able to assist you better with this question. The Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the brightside do video?

It says that it has a 3.2 mp digital camera. Does it record video as well as still pictures? Thanks in advance for your help.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it does record as well as take still pictures
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Les
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It does have a 3.2 mp camera. Takes good pictures. It doesn't have a flash or zoom though. It does take videos up to 30 seconds long. Picture quality is much better with a digital camera or a smart phone with better camera features, but for what this is, it is okay. Spur of the moment, quick shot or video it's okay.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Steve721
 from
Riverside, RI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, it does have a camcorder.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Hi! Thanks for your question.

•3.2MP camera
Captures still photos and video.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
its 1.3 mp digital camera..
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
maced33
 from
brooklyn
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Phone Memory

I have heard that the memory of this phone is very limited. A major reason for my consideration of this phone is that it has a music player. So my question is, approximately how many songs with the phone hold?
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Billy
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
The phone only has approx. 100 megabytes...let's see 100 divided by 3.....so this means probably about 33 songs can fit in there...but you can also buy a mini SD memory card which can hold loads of music and put it in the phone.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hi! Thanks for your question.

The 50MB memory of the phone will go by quick. You can add Micro SD cards to make this a lot better. The 50MB it has is basically for the phones OS.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Not sure, but you can purchase external memory for this phone. A micro-SD card will do the trick and you can choose the amount of storage you want to pay for.
 
Products from my answer
 
PNY - L1885A-EF 8 GB MicroSD High Capacity (microSDHC) - 1 Card
 
 
 
 
 
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Not sure about how many songs it will hold, but you can add a memory card to it.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Thank you for the question. Although I do not have the information you requested, this question would be best asked of a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative. The Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

can you get old music to the phone?

if you have music on itunes can you put it on the phone or do you have to buy it from the verizon store
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
question girl101
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi! Thanks for your question.

It does have a MP3 player, but your music propriety is through Verizon.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can insert your memory card or plug in your phone and drag and drop into the folders you want them to be in.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Les
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No , you have to transfere the songs as long as you purchased them or download your own for free since there are many apps which do this now a days!
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rudster
 from
fall river,ma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can, but you may have to convert to mp3. iTunes, uses an mp4 format(smaller files) and many phones will only play video in mp4 and music in mp3. Nero is a real good software for converting and audio/video file into just about any format you could imagine. It will also allow you to "dissect" a song into a ring tone in any major format.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Although this phone will not be directly compatible with iTunes, you should still be able to manually upload MP3s onto the phone as well as purchase them through the carrier.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I prevent pocket-dialing with this phone?

My son pocket dials 10x/day with this phone. Is there anyway to prevent this?
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
He can do this by locking his phone before he puts it in his pocket. Simply press the black button on the upper right side of the phone. (Literally, on the SIDE of the phone.) The screen will turn black when it is locked. To unlock his phone, simply press the "end" (or "power) button, then drag the screen to unlock.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This phone is better than my older phone at preventing pocket dialing - probably due to the capacitive screen. However, you can set it to require a 4 digit pin number before it can be used. I have not used this feature, but have heard that you have to type in the pin to answer the phone. Not sure if that is true, but if so, that would drive me nuts!
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
atpence
 from
Weaverville
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Lock keyboard
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rudster
 from
fall river,ma
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Locking and Unlocking
The Samsung Brightside offers two lock functions: locking the display, or
locking the phone. Because this is a touch screen phone, the
display prevents unintentional key presses and can minimize
unnecessary battery drainage. Locking the phone can prevent
unauthorized access to the information on your phone, while
allowing access to the Keypad for call functions. Setting->Security
Press the Lock Key to unlock, and then relock the phone.

http://downloadcenter.samsung.com/c...

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
It happens to me 24/7. have him put a lock on his phone or turn it off when not in use.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a limit for the number of text messages able to be stored in the phone's inbox?

one of my only complaints in my current phone is the frequency with which I have to delete my text messages to make room in my inbox for new incoming messages. I would like a non-smartphone which does not set a limit on the amount of text messages the phone can hold.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Brightside Cell Phone - Black (Verizon Wireless)
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it has a limit...all phones do...but this phone is in average better than other phones...it can hold more before you have to delete...probably about every 500 texts messeges would you have to start deleting...
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I would think there is a limit on any phone.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Unfoturnetly at this time the option does not exist. Text messages are only saved to a hard drive of the phone. I apologize but the technology does not exist for what you want.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I just checked my "text message limit" settings and the highest it will let me go up to for message per conversation is 5000
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>