Looking for Answers about Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV

This Samsung 51" plasma HDTV features Wide Color Enhancer Plus technology and 720p resolution for clear, detailed images. Two 10W speakers with Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby Pulse decoders provide a lush soundscape.
Customer Questions & Answers:
33 Questions
 | 
60 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.557 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(386 Reviews)386

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV

Question

Does this TV have a PC input?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
druefuss
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are two ways to connect your PC or Mac to your Samsung TV for monitor functionality: HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport.
That said, the Samsung TVs do not offer wireless or networked monitor capabilities.
Please note, in the computer's operating system, you will need to set the display settings to either clone or extended view and set the computer’s resolution to match that of the maximum resolution of the TV in order to view your computer’s desktop on the TV.

If your computer offers HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC).

HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the computer (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

Unless otherwise specified by your computer manufacturer, you will need to connect the computer's audio to the TV with a separate cable (3.5mm jack cable from the PC’s audio output to the TV’s DVI/HDMI Audio input), since most computers do not support audio over HDMI, VGA or DVI.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what year

what year was this model :samsung pn51e450A1FX manufactured initially
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TOM
 from
TEXAS
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Not sure of exact date, but I'll bet 2012. Our model is pn51D450....and I confirmed with Samsung that its a 2011 manufacture. pn51E450 would likely be the following year.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JB
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The PN51E450 is a 2012 model year TV.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

best settings

Can someone tell me whats the best settings to put the tv on? I heard you shouldnt put contrast up high. I just don't know which settings are best? Thanks in advance
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is a setting called dynamic. Looks excellent to me
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Theundying27
 from
California
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the Samsung TVs offer a variety of calibration options (Brightness, Color, Tint, ETC. ), unfortunately Samsung cannot suggest any specific calibration numbers since every calibration has to be done based on the preferences of the customer performing the low level calibration.
Perhaps other users on this forum may be able to better help you out.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I need a rotating base

I need to move the tv to watch from a chair or from the bed--a 45 degree angle
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
mom
 from
palm beach fl
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Although the PN51E450 will not offer a swivel stand, the PN51E550 will.

-MrSamsung
 
Products from my answer
Samsung - 51" Class - Plasma - 1080p - 600Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
4.6 out of 5(401)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much does this TV weigh? I want to make sure it fits my TV stand.

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
gugliott
 from
Waltham, MA
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think it is about 49 lbs.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
CWPO
 from
Oklahoma City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The PN51E450 weighs:

TV without stand weight: 43.2 lbs
TV with stand weight: 45.9 lbs

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this TV have closed captioning?

I thought all newer TVs have this feature. However closed captioning is listed as a special feature for some Samsung models but not for this one.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This TV does indeed have Closed Captioning!
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Troy
 from
Best Buy Store 325
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the PN51E450 will offer Closed Captioning.

In order to access Captioning, you will want to head into the TV's menu, then into the setup or system sub-menu to access the CC options or to just activate it, press the CC button on the remote control. However, CC is only available via the coax cable since the CC signal has to be sent by your service provider. The CC information cannot be sent via HDMI or other secondary connections from 3rd party devices. That said, most service provider set top boxes and DVD/BD players will handle CC on board, which will then be displayed on the TV as part of the video signal. If your TV is displaying captions, but the caption system is turned off at the TV, then most likely the captions are coming from the 3rd party device that is connected to the TV. Captions are subject to your service provider’s availability. Additionally, the CC option cannot be set to come on automatically when MUTE is activated.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

dynamic contrast ratio

What is this product's dynamic contrast ratio? My friend told me higher dynamic contrast ratio better TV.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I can't find it anywhere either but it's a plasma and the contrast is awesome because there is no light source so the blacks are awesome
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the Contrast Ratio’s numerical value is not currently published for this model, the “Dynamic Contrast Ratio” of the PN51E450 is being stated as "Mega Contrast", meaning that the contrast ratio can be adjusted higher then similarly featured TVs in its category. Although the higher the contrast, the "better" it should be, I would suggest visiting your local Best buy store and viewing the TV for yourself to make a definitive determination.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What is dynamic contrast ratio of this TV?

What is dynamic contrast ratio of this TV? My friend told me the higher ratio the better TV, is that correct?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Although the Contrast Ratio’s numerical value is not currently published for this model, the “Dynamic Contrast Ratio” of the PN51E450 is being stated as "Mega Contrast", meaning that the contrast ratio can be adjusted higher then similarly featured TVs in its category. Although the higher the contrast, the "better" it should be, I would suggest visiting your local Best buy store and viewing the TV for yourself to make a definitive determination.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I hang this tv from the ceiling?

This tv will be in an out building and will need to hang from the ceiling. Can I do that?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
snic
 from
Olive Branch ms
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
I would not recommend hanging this TV, or any other TV, directly from the ceiling. The Mounting holes on the back of the TV are designed to work with a wall mounted bracket system and will not offer the support necessary to mount the TV from a ceiling.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Glare Model PN51E450A1FXZA

Does this TV have antireflective or antiglare on each of its screens?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SAMM
 from
MA
on Samsung - 51" Class (50-3/4" Diag.) - Plasma - 720p - 600Hz - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although not offering the same levels of anti-glare and anti-reflectivity found on the premium Samsung Plasma TVs, the main panel on the PN51E450 should still offer a certain level of anti-reflectivity.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>