Looking for Answers about Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Immerse yourself in stunning high-definition images up to 1080p with this Samsung UN40ES6100 40" LED HDTV that features 3 HDMI inputs to allow you to connect a Blu-ray Disc player, DVD player and other device. An Ethernet port lets you link to your home network.Smart TVGet a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.NetflixPandora Facebook TwitterFlickr
Customer Questions & Answers:
59 Questions
 | 
87 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(445 Reviews)445

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV

Question

ConnectShare support avi and mkv?

I own a 6 series samsung with the usb capability to play mkv and avi files. Does this tv's connect share still have the same?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jessica100101011101
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Have you tried mp4 files? I havent had any luck with those files you mention either, but my m4p files show up and play nicely when I rename them to mp4.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lynvingen
 from
Oakland
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the UN40ES6100 will indeed have the ConnectShare Movie feature for Movie (MKV, AVI, MP4, MPEG, etc) playback.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Smart TVs

Can I stream movies from netflix and blockbuster when my cable provider verizon makes it difficult to do so .I have memberships with both streamers
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you have a smart television or smart-enabled Blu-ray player, then yes, you should be able to stream with both of them. Netflix is a mainstay in the industry, so any smart device will feature it. Since Blockbuster was bought by Dish Network, I have seen fewer devices featuring Blockbuster. I believe that any Samsung or Sony smart-enabled Blu-ray player will feature Blockbuster, but if not, then the Sony Internet Player with Google TV box should be able to take care of you. It features access to the Google Play Store (Android Market), so selection of apps will be vast.
 
Products from my answer
Sony - Internet Player with Google TV
4 out of 5(186)
 
 
 
Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.7 out of 5(2,801)
 
 
 
Samsung - Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
3.7 out of 5(314)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
UltimaSpartacus
 from
League City
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, providers like Netflix, Blockbuster, Hulu+ and Vudu will have apps that can be downloaded to the UN40ES6100 via the Samsung Apps feature in the Smart Hub.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this TV RVU compatable?

DirecTV website says all 2012 samsung TV's should have RVU to wirelessly stream from the HR34, but I don't see this as a feature...
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Mike
 from
Des Moines, IA
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
From the information that was just made available to me, it seems that the 2012 TVs will receive RVU capabilities using the HR34 in the very near future. Unfortunately, I do not have a time frame for implementation.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what are the temperature extremes allowed for a 46" LED Smart TV

If my TV is in a outside storage unit will it be damaged if the temperature goes down below freezing, or above 90 degrees?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Here are the Environmental Considerations for your TV. Setting the TV up in a location that does not meet considerations may result in improper operation of the unit.
Operating Temperature- 50°F to 104°F (10°C to 40°C)
Operating Humidity- 10% to 80%, non-condensing
Storage Temperature- -4°F to 113°F (-20°C to 45°C )
Storage Humidity- 5% to 95%, non-condensing

-MrSamsung
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Compatible USB keyboard, wireless keyboard and mouse available for this TV?

Can you provide me with the USB keyboard or wireless keyboard - the exact make & model number that will work with the Samsung 6100 TV - there seems to be a lot of confusion as to whether one will work or not. Also whether there is trackball or mouse compatibility?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
From the available information, although this model will offer compatibility with a traditional standard USB keyboard and mouse, it will not offer support for wireless peripherals. Unfortunately, I cannot recommend any one specific 3rd party keyboard or mouse.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can an IPad be used as a touch keypad for the ES6100 smart TV function?

I have heard that the supplied remote makes web-browsing a nightmare. Some promos for this model say it can work with a phone/IPhone/android. I don't have either, but I have a first generation IPad. Will that work to make internet browsing easier to do on this television?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Not recommended. It does not improve web browsing. Worse, it messed up my e-mail account on the iPad with Exchange which seemed to conflict with the same port on the iPad or my AirPort Express router that the Samsung remote app was likely using, so neither my e-mail nor the remote app worked. I had to remove the iPad device from the Samsung AllShare in order to get my e-mail to work right.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AnotherMancaveDweller
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. There is a Samsung app for remote control. It does emulate the remote, but it does NOT make web browsing any easier. When you want to navigate a web page from the iPad, you can swipe and the cursor moves--just like it would if you were pressing the arrow keys on the provided Samsung remote (up, down, right, left) in small increments. The cursor does not move diagonally, even if you swipe diagonally on the iPad. More significantly, the iPad touchscreen keyboard appears to be useless in the Samsung remote app. My advice, surf the web on your iPad. If you want others to see what you're doing on the TV, then get an Apple TV2 or new Apple TV, and then you can use AirPlay.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AnotherMancaveDweller
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Although I am not familiar with the Samsung Remote Control App's compatibility with the first generation iPad, the iTunes webpage states the following:

"Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad.Requires iOS 4.2 or later."

The Remote Control App should allow you to use your iPad as a Keyboard on the ES6100.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use AllShare to view my PC's MS Office files (including Excel/ppt/Word and Adobe pdf files)?

I purchased a Samsung Series 6, 6100 LED Smart TV. The 6100 is able to read digital media files stored on my PC using AllShare. But I understand this TV does not offer direct compatibility with Microsoft Office File formats using AllShare. How do I direct connect the PC to the TV so that it acts as a monitor to display the PC's content (including MS Excel/ppt/Word and Adobe pdf files?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RJK
 from
San Diego
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Well, if you have a PC with DVI video out, you can get a DVI to HDMI adapter to connect it to the TV's HDMI input. If your PC has a DVI video out, then just use a standard HDMI cable.

The biggest issue I've found with viewing PC or Mac output on a 1920x1080 TV monitor via HDMI connection is that the text is hard to read unless you are 2-3 feet from the TV screen. Otherwise, you'll need to choose a lower display resolution on your PC (e.g., 1280x800) or Mac (e.g., 720p), so that you can read text in general. Or, in a specific app such as MS Office, you'll need to magnify your view to be able to read the text from 8-10 feet away from a 46" TV display.

If you want to display through your LAN, the next generation of Mac operating systems should include AirPlay (Mountain Lion), so you could use a new Apple TV (3rd generation) to display output from your Mac via your local wireless network. So you won't need to connect the Mac directly to your TV. I would expect PC's with Windows operating systems to follow suit through network devices similar to Apple TV, if they have not already done so.

I have a Mac Mini connected to my 1080p Samsung TV via HDMI, running at 720p display resolution on the Mac so it is more legible at 8 ft. I use a bluetooth keyboard and touchpad. This usually works fine for group viewing of a document on the TV screen, depending on the fonts in the document.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AnotherMancaveDweller
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Connecting the TV as a monitor can be used if you have an HDMI output on your computer. The TV can accept a digital picture from a computer, so this is an option.

Some televisions have a PC input, which can also be used.

Microsoft Office documents are not supported with Allshare - although, some people make movies out of powerpoint presentations and encode it in a supported format and play it as a movie. Maybe that might be an option, too.

Thanks for your interest in Samsung products.

Mr.Samsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

sony sound bar

i have a sony sound bar will it work on this tv?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you can. The TV has both optical digital and analog audio out. You'll want to go with optical digital for HD sound.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
txguitarguy
 from
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Due to the nature of the cross compatible connectors (HDMI, Composite(RCA yellow/red/white), Component(red/green/blue), Optical), almost all devices will work with the Samsung TVs, regardless of manufacturer. There are no special converters required. Aforementioned Cables will be required for normal operation. Please refer to the device's manual for more information on connections and operations.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to maximize picture quality

I have a Samsung model UN40ES6100; I feel like the picture is not as defined as my previous TV which was a 720P Samsung HDTV. How do I maximize my picture quality? The preset picture modes are ok but not great. Could I have been given a inferior model? as many features seem to be grayed out on my TV
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I solved my problem by going into the Picture options and turned off everything......now the blur is gone and the picture is super sharp.......I found this out online.....
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
aquicksilver
 from
Dundee Oregon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although the Samsung TVs offer a variety of calibration options (Brightness, Color, Tint, ETC. ), unfortunately Samsung cannot suggest any specific calibration numbers since every calibration has to be done based on the preferences of the customer performing the low level calibration.
Samsung HDTVs are carefully calibrated and configured at the factory with several picture settings for your convenience. Most Samsung HDTV owners will be extremely happy with these factory settings and will have no need for additional calibration.
However, some purchasers may prefer to customize settings and have their Samsung HDTV undergo additional calibration in their home to suit their particular viewing environment. For additional information on calibration and setting up your TV's picture options, please contact a Best Buy associate.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

would it have a web browser?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 40" Class (40" Diag.) - LED - 1080p - 120Hz - Smart - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it has a web browser.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the UN40ES6100 will offer a web browser.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>