Looking for Answers about Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

This Samsung 55" LED HDTV features a 1080p display. To build a complete 3D home theater system, we recommend you purchase 3D glasses designed for this TV, a 3D Blu-ray player, high-speed HDMI cable and an A/V receiver that is compatible with 3D products. Smart TVGet a world of instant entertainment on this smart TV. Connect to the Internet and stream movies, listen to music and access a wide variety of other content on your HDTV. Learn more about smart products.NetflixPandora Facebook TwitterFlickr
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions
 | 
50 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.645 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(296 Reviews)296

Questions & Answers for Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV

Question

Will the es8000 have an audio return channel(arc)?

4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
soontobeowner
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The ARC is on HDMI IN 2 (Page 20 of the Quick Guide available on Samsung's website)
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Raider186
 from
Portland, OR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
From the available information, the UN55ES8000 should offer ARC through the HDMI 2 port.

-MrSamsung
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

What is samsung doing about the privacy scare on this TV

4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is a manual feature that allows you to close the camera. Can be found just behind.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Ebony76
 from
Houston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's called covering the camera, I'm pretty sure they haven't invented x-ray vision yet...

I wouldn't be surprised if they start selling a small cover for it or build in a manually operated shutter that can be used to block the camera when not in use.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
dre255
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the Voltage of this TV? Auto-volt, 110v or 220v?

Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Jc
 from
California
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
110V
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
AFOne
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
All UN, PN and LN units (North American Units) will only have support for NTSC/ATSC/QAM broadcasting systems and NA power systems. Since the NA TVs will not accept a PAL signal or Non-NA voltages, you will not only need a converter for the broadcast, but also for the power if you would like to use the TV in a PAL country. Unfortunately, I will not be able to recommend a specific converter since Samsung cannot offer support for products we do not manufacture.

-MrSamsung
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

FEATURE Differences between UN55ES8000FXZA, 7500 & 7100

It shows that the 8000 and 7100 both have DLNA but website shows that the UN55ES7500FXZA does NOT have the DLNA...

But what about all other Major NEW and AWESOME FEATURES.

What about Remote, do all of them have same remote as the 8000 which has built in Voice Control? Will Others still Support Voice Control (Like the 8000) even if u had to or could purchase the Same Remote as the 8000 would they support all features?

Do they all have the Motion Control and Voice Control and Face Recognition Features?

Are there any Differences between them in regards to the SMART TV Capabilities and SKYPE Capabilities.

I am not too worried about the Picture Quality / Refresh Rate / Clear Motion Rate All of THESE seem to be pretty CLEAR as to the Differences between one Model to the Next.
BUT, it is NOT so clear as to all the Cool little FEATURES that are NEW in the top of the line 8000 model for 2012 Which of these Awesome little Features and such will NOT be on the OTHER Models and which ones might Still be Supported on the OTHER Models by simply an Upgrade (ie: the 8000 comes with the built in Skype Camera but others can have it added on and do the same thing?) (and: Even though the 8000 comes with the Better Remote with Voice Control and such, with the Others "Even if they don't come packaged with THAT Remote" atleast Support All the Features if you were to purchase the Upgraded Remote for them?)

Thank You so much for all your help.
Scott
 
Products related to my question
Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
4.6 out of 5(296)
 
 
 
Samsung - 55" Class / LED / 1080p / 240Hz / Smart / 3D / HDTV
4.7 out of 5(274)
 
 
 
Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
4.7 out of 5(622)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SlimShadySkip
 from
Florence, Az
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Scott, just set up my 8000, sound controll and motion controll are only usefull if your using the installed speakers and chanel tuner, if you are like most high end users, connecting to a cable/ satalite/ dish eliminates the option of changing stations, and using an amp for sound eliminatest the usefullness of the tv controlling sound as it wont controll your amp. guess the built in camera for skype is usefull, but havnt set it up as of yet, but dont see any samsung aps am interested in as dont use netflix and doubt will surf via tv when a laptop is more convienent and faster. best of luck choosing, only settled on mine because of open box pricing.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Buster
 from
Jacksonville. FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I would be happy to assist you with this information! Actually, aside from picture quality differences (which I will not go into since this is not what you wanted to know) there are a few feature similarities and differences between the ES8000, ES7500 and ES7100:

1. WiFi- All three of these models will offer the same built-in WiFi

2. Skype- All three of these models will offer the same Skype connectivity

3. Keyboard- All three of these TVs will be compatible with Samsung's Smart Wireless Keyboard (sold separately) and also a generic USB keyboard

4. Web Cam- Only the ES7500 and higher will offer the built in Web Cam, while the ES7100 will require you to purchase the Samsung Web Cam separately

5. Smart Interaction- Although both the ES7500 and ES8000 offer Smart Interaction, the ES7100 will not and thus will not be compatible with the Smart Touch Remote

Aside from that, they all offer the same AllShare features, Smart TV features, and ConnectShare Movie features.

-MrSamsung
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Viewing distance..

Debating on the 46 or 55 in a apartment with about 12-14 ft from wall to couch. Will the 55 be ok and not hurt ur eyes ??
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jdenham
 from
Austin
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Its a convinience issue. if you are comfortable then thats all it matters . i cant think of any reason why it will hurt your eyes
thanks
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
thirdi
 from
richmon,va
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's really up to the individual as to which size "is the best".

For movie viewers: We recommend that you sit back as far as you're going to sit in your house from the store's display. Measure the distance, and then see if you can see the whole screen without constantly moving your eyes. The less you move your eyes, the less eye strain you'll experience over long periods of viewing. That's one option.

The other option is the "bigger is better" theory, where your primary goal is to have a huge set, and impress your friends, and allow for everyone in a large room to watch the TV from different areas. This is a good theory, as some people want to do just that. Now, it won't "hurt your eyes" if the screen is actually too big, but you will likely enjoy the overall experience less if you're constantly moving your eyes while watching a show.

We appreciate your interest in Samsung products, and hope this helps give you some insight. The key to long viewing is having a screen that fits your preference.

--Mr.Samsung
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can it be used as a computer monitor?

"It" being the Samsung 55", model UN55ES8000FXZA.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rapperface
 from
Colorado Springs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are two ways to connect your PC or Mac to your Samsung TV for monitor functionality: HDMI to HDMI or HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport.
That said, the Samsung TVs do not offer wireless or networked monitor capabilities.
Please note, in the computer's operating system, you will need to set the display settings to either clone or extended view and set the computer’s resolution to match that of the maximum resolution of the TV in order to view your computer’s desktop on the TV.

If your computer offers HDMI out, I would highly suggest using this connection, since it is a basic plug-n-play connection (meaning almost no adjustment is needed on the TV or PC).

HDMI to VGA/DVI/Displayport is almost the same as straight HDMI, but in this case, you will want to connect the DVI end of the cable to the computer (if available) and the HDMI into the TV. This is also considered a plug-n-play connection.

Unless otherwise specified by your computer manufacturer, you will need to connect the computer's audio to the TV with a separate cable (3.5mm jack cable from the PC’s audio output to the TV’s DVI/HDMI Audio input), since most computers do not support audio over HDMI, VGA or DVI.

Thank you for the opportunity to assist you,

-MrSamsung
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the es8000 dual voltage, i want to send it to south africa

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the unit is free voltage
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NJGolfer
 from
NJ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
All UN, PN and LN units (North American Units) will only have support for NTSC/ATSC/QAM broadcasting systems and NA power systems. Since the NA TVs will not accept a PAL signal or Non-NA voltages, you will not only need a converter for the broadcast, but also for the power if you would like to use the TV in a PAL country. Unfortunately, I will not be able to recommend a specific converter since Samsung cannot offer support for products we do not manufacture.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Which country is it made in?

Hi, I am asking about the country it's made in as I need to ship it to Canada. If it's made in Mexico for example I may not pay customes.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Tijuana Mexico
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gclev
 from
Washington, DC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Since Samsung is a global company with many different manufacturing plants around the world, many of our TVs are produced in different regions, depending on any number of factors. That said, since I do not have access to Best Buy's inventory system, I cannot accurately say where any one specific TV was manufactured. However, a Best Buy associate should be able to find this information for you.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Samsung Auto Motion plus and LED Motion Plus setting and differences.

I just bought a Samsung UN55ES7500 Smart TV. This is my first LED TV and I am very impressed with the picture quality of the TV and the smart TV functions. However, I have one issue with motion plus. If I have motion plus turned on with any of the available viewing settings the screen image of the show I am watching noticeably glitches/jitter. It is quick, but noticeable. If the motion plus is turned off there are no issues. However, it bothers me if I can't use the fully functionality of the TV. Is there something wrong with the TV? Should I return it to the store for an exchange? Do I lose any picture quality or functionality by having motion plus turned off all the time? Also, what does LED motion plus (on/off) setting do and what is the difference between it and the Auto Motion Plus?

Thanks
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bothered
 from
calgary
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have mine set to clear and have no judder picture looks great
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
roc1
 from
maryland
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Settings are based on your personal preference, so unfortunately, I cannot provide any incite as to how to set up your TV. I can provide you with a list of what each setting does.

Auto Motion Plus Settings:
Off- Switches Auto Motion Plus off.
Clear- Provides high blur reduction, low judder reduction
Standard- Provides medium blur reductions, medium judder reduction
Smooth- Provides low blur reductions, high judder reduction.
Custom- Allows for customer user settings for blur and judder.
Demo- Displays the difference between Auto Motion Plus 120Hz on and off modes. The screen after applying “Auto Motion Plus” appears on the left.

Additionally, LED Motion Plus helps to negate the problem of motion blur on LED TVs caused by various things such as, but not limited to:
-Pixel response time
-Sample and Hold time
-Slow camera shutter speeds
-resolution resampling

You will not lose any picture quality by having these settings turned off, but most likely, the issue you are experiencing is due to the Auto Motion Plus system not having a strong enough signal to work with (AMP also activates the Frame Interpolation system, which inputs an additional frame between two present frames, causing the image to look smooth. A poor signal from any of the A/V sources connected to the TV may cause image quality issues).

LED Motion Plus is found under the following directions:
MENU → Picture → Advanced Settings → LED Motion Plus

Auto Motion Plus is found under the following directions:
MENU → Picture → Picture Options → Auto Motion Plus

If these options do not alleviate the issue, please contact Samsung Service.

-MrSamsung
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Samsung 8000 upgradable next year?

I was told by a best buy staffer, that there will be a chip available next year for approx $150 that can be inserted into only the 8000 series, making its picture quality equivalent to new OLED TVs. That is the main reason he suggested 8000 over the 7000. Is this info correct? Thanks, AH
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GlimmerGirl
on Samsung - 55" Class - LED - 1080p - 240Hz - Smart - 3D - HDTV
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
That is incorrect, i am a Home theater sales associate at bestbuy myself. i dont know where he is getting his information but that is wrong. The samsung es7500 and up (es8000&es9000) have the option of a Evolution Kit that is suppose to come out in march and the only thing its suppose to do is to make all all of the applications perform faster, thus just speeding up the TVs process, it has nothing to do with the picture. Those kits Average retail price will be around $300 to $500.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Its called the "evolution kit" by Samsung, don't know to much about it but you can look it up on their site.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Barca79
 from
MD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>