Looking for Answers about Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black

Surf the Web, check e-mail and more with this Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2" that features the Android 2.3 Gingerbread operating system for speed and reliability. Front- and rear-facing cameras let you capture special moments on the go.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions
 | 
63 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(41 Reviews)41

Questions & Answers for Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black

Question

Does it have a built in GPS?

Does it have a GPS built in that works without wifi? I know the 3.6, 4.0, and 5.0 have it, does the 4.2?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, I can confirm that the Galaxy Player 4.2 will offer built-in GPS.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Replaceable battery

Will the spare battery from my Intercept work with the 4.2?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
SkipF
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No. The replaceable battery in the Galaxy Player 4.2 is model EB484659VA, which is different from the Intercept. The battery is definitely replaceable in the 4.2 (you can verify that by getting the manual from the Samsung website), but not in some other Galaxy Players.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm sorry for the confusion, but the battery on the Galaxy Player 4.2 is not user replaceable.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of sd micro card does it use?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
any generic mini SD. I picked the one on sale and it works fine. 32GB.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This device uses micro sd cards up to 32 gigs of storage. There is only one type of micro sd card, the ones made by PNY are usually reasonably priced.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Brooklyn
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can you download free music from the market place or you have to pay for it?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Music download services, such as iTunes and Google Play Music, are fee-based.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Class 4 micro sd card fast enough?

Is a class-4 32 Gig micro sd card going to be fast enough to run apps and games from?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Although I cannot say whether or not a Class 4 microSD card will be fast enough for this specific application, I can say there are no restrictions or limitations on the use of different Class SD cards with the Galaxy Player. From personal experience, I can say that anything over Class 4 should be sufficiently quick in regards to data reading.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

(Multiple Questions)Will I be able to download maps from the android market for use of my GPS offline (because there is no 3G)?

• Will I be able to download maps from the android market for use of my GPS offline (because there is no 3G)?
• Can you record on the FM radio?
• Do the earphones have a remote for volume or skipping tracks?
• Will there be an update to Ice Cream Sandwich or Jelly Bean?
• Is it a multi-touch screen?
• What is the difference between the old and new models of the 4.0 and 4.2 (other than the screen size,the speed)?
• Are there any cases available yet for this product?

Thank you
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Samsung Player
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Partial answer. Zagg just came out with their inbvisible shield for it and Riot now has a case.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Wow, I have my work cut out for me! I'll try my best to answer all of your questions to the best of my ability.

1. You should be able to download portions of the maps (Google Maps) to the device directly while on WiFi. However, in order to use the Galaxy Player as a GPS navigation device, these maps will first need to be downloaded.

2. Although the Galaxy Player does not come included with an FM recorder, there may be apps on the Google Play Store that will allow for this functionality.

3. The headphones will not offer in line controls

4. Unfortunately, I currently do not have any information about OS upgrades available to me.

5. It will offer a multi-touch screen

6. You actually named the differences between the 4.0 and the 4.2 (screen size and processor)

7. Although I'm sure there are 3rd party cases available for this device, I will not be able to point you to any in particular since they are not made by Samsung. A Best Buy associate will be more than able to assist you in finding the right case for your Galaxy Player.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the apple itunes gift cards compatible with the 4.2 Samsung Galaxy player?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
iTunes gift cards can be used to buy music, which can be loaded on your Galaxy Player. Apps and other content (e.g. video, books) are not compatible. You also won't be able to use iTunes to put the music on your player, but you can load it using drag & drop or other methods.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Because the Galaxy Player is an Android Tablet, it will not offer compatibility with any of Apple’s apps or software. That said, there may be apps on the Google Play Store that will offer syncing capabilities with Apple Software like iTunes.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a case available for the 4.2 yet? I am looking for something to protect the device, like an Otterbox case, not a screen protector.

2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rangel28
 from
Northern California
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is no specific case as of yet due to the varying models Samsung has put out in the last 8 months (3.6, 4.0, 4.2, 5.0) I used a Samsung Galaxy S II case and it fit well but the camera and audio jacks are blocked. Your best bet is to buy a case for a phone that is close to the same size of it. You could also just get a regular mp3 player case that doesn't discriminate against any mp3 player brand but just the size of the mp3 player.

Hope that helps a bit.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
omsk
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for your interest in this Samsung Galaxy Player. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy representative may be able to assist you better with this question. Unfortunately, I cannot provide any additional information on accessories carried by Best Buy, pricing, or availability. However, a Best Buy representative should have all of the information you require to make your Player purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

DOES THE SAMSUNG GALAXY PLAYER 4.2 LET YOU WATCH NETFLIX

does the samsung player let you stream netflix
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
I'M AWESOME!
 from
North Carolina
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. You can install and use any app from the market. Netflix works as soon as you log in.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Brooklyn, New York
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although all of the Galaxy Players should playback Netflix streaming video, I suggest contacting the app's developer directly for any information they may have on compatibility and availability for these models.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Colors

Does this come in white? Because I have seen in Europe they have some in white.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
From the available information, the US version of the Player 4.2 will only be available in black.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>