Looking for Answers about Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black

Surf the Web, check e-mail and more with this Samsung Galaxy Player 4.2" that features the Android 2.3 Gingerbread operating system for speed and reliability. Front- and rear-facing cameras let you capture special moments on the go.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions
 | 
63 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.634 out of 5
4.6
out of
5
(41 Reviews)41

Questions & Answers for Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black

Question

What is the difference between the 4.0 and the 4.2? Will the device work using the USB jack in a car like Sony or the iPod?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It's better if you ask Samsung this question (with regards to if it works via USB in a car, or, if you buy it from BestBuy, you should ask them), but it should work using an auxilary cable.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Muhammad Hernandez
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The difference is the screen size, the quality of the screen and the speed! The speed has increased. The UI is much better and lots of other stuff.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Izzy $waqq
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

does it have a microphone like the ipod touch 4g

does it have a microphone
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
no microphone - it's either disabled or not installed.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the Galaxy Player 4.2 will indeed offer an embedded microphone.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

QR code

can it scan a QR code?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
carolyn
 from
skokie, IL
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I use Android free App "Scan". Works great.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigD13
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As a matter of fact, the Galaxy Player will be able to read QR codes using a barcode reader of your choice (downloadable through the Google Play Store).

-MrSamsung
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can you download free music from the market place or you have to pay for it?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Music download services, such as iTunes and Google Play Music, are fee-based.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Class 4 micro sd card fast enough?

Is a class-4 32 Gig micro sd card going to be fast enough to run apps and games from?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Although I cannot say whether or not a Class 4 microSD card will be fast enough for this specific application, I can say there are no restrictions or limitations on the use of different Class SD cards with the Galaxy Player. From personal experience, I can say that anything over Class 4 should be sufficiently quick in regards to data reading.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

(Multiple Questions)Will I be able to download maps from the android market for use of my GPS offline (because there is no 3G)?

• Will I be able to download maps from the android market for use of my GPS offline (because there is no 3G)?
• Can you record on the FM radio?
• Do the earphones have a remote for volume or skipping tracks?
• Will there be an update to Ice Cream Sandwich or Jelly Bean?
• Is it a multi-touch screen?
• What is the difference between the old and new models of the 4.0 and 4.2 (other than the screen size,the speed)?
• Are there any cases available yet for this product?

Thank you
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Samsung Player
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Partial answer. Zagg just came out with their inbvisible shield for it and Riot now has a case.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Wow, I have my work cut out for me! I'll try my best to answer all of your questions to the best of my ability.

1. You should be able to download portions of the maps (Google Maps) to the device directly while on WiFi. However, in order to use the Galaxy Player as a GPS navigation device, these maps will first need to be downloaded.

2. Although the Galaxy Player does not come included with an FM recorder, there may be apps on the Google Play Store that will allow for this functionality.

3. The headphones will not offer in line controls

4. Unfortunately, I currently do not have any information about OS upgrades available to me.

5. It will offer a multi-touch screen

6. You actually named the differences between the 4.0 and the 4.2 (screen size and processor)

7. Although I'm sure there are 3rd party cases available for this device, I will not be able to point you to any in particular since they are not made by Samsung. A Best Buy associate will be more than able to assist you in finding the right case for your Galaxy Player.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the apple itunes gift cards compatible with the 4.2 Samsung Galaxy player?

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
iTunes gift cards can be used to buy music, which can be loaded on your Galaxy Player. Apps and other content (e.g. video, books) are not compatible. You also won't be able to use iTunes to put the music on your player, but you can load it using drag & drop or other methods.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Because the Galaxy Player is an Android Tablet, it will not offer compatibility with any of Apple’s apps or software. That said, there may be apps on the Google Play Store that will offer syncing capabilities with Apple Software like iTunes.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a case available for the 4.2 yet? I am looking for something to protect the device, like an Otterbox case, not a screen protector.

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
rangel28
 from
Northern California
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is no specific case as of yet due to the varying models Samsung has put out in the last 8 months (3.6, 4.0, 4.2, 5.0) I used a Samsung Galaxy S II case and it fit well but the camera and audio jacks are blocked. Your best bet is to buy a case for a phone that is close to the same size of it. You could also just get a regular mp3 player case that doesn't discriminate against any mp3 player brand but just the size of the mp3 player.

Hope that helps a bit.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
omsk
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Thank you for your interest in this Samsung Galaxy Player. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy representative may be able to assist you better with this question. Unfortunately, I cannot provide any additional information on accessories carried by Best Buy, pricing, or availability. However, a Best Buy representative should have all of the information you require to make your Player purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

DOES THE SAMSUNG GALAXY PLAYER 4.2 LET YOU WATCH NETFLIX

does the samsung player let you stream netflix
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
I'M AWESOME!
 from
North Carolina
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes. You can install and use any app from the market. Netflix works as soon as you log in.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Brooklyn, New York
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Although all of the Galaxy Players should playback Netflix streaming video, I suggest contacting the app's developer directly for any information they may have on compatibility and availability for these models.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Car Charger for Samsung Phone Work With the Galaxy Player 4.2?

I have a Samsung phone. I was wondering if the car charger for it will operate and charge the Galaxy Player 4.2?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy Player 4.2 with 8GB Memory - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
As long as the car charger uses a microUSB port, it should be comparable with the Galaxy Player.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>