Looking for Answers about Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Access e-mail, favorite Web sites and online entertainment with this Gateway DX4870-UB21P desktop that features a wireless LAN for simple Internet connection. The 1TB hard drive offers spacious storage for your media collection.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions
 | 
42 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.419 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(31 Reviews)31

Questions & Answers for Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Question

Is it possible to add a second internal optical disk drive to the Gateway DX4870-UB21P desktop?

I was shopping this computer at Best Buy today when I noticed that, while it comes with a factory installed DVD-RW optical drive out of the box, there aren't any other available expansion bays. The only other bay is set-up for the "Easy Swap" hard drive tray.
If I have no use for the "Easy Swap" HD feature, can this bay be used instead to install a second optical disk drive. The Best Buy associate that was helping me was pretty sure that it could be but I really need a definitive answer before I can decide if this is the desktop I should buy.
All of the other features work well for my purposes but that second internal optical drive is a deciding factor.
Thanks, John
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Patty'sJohnny
 from
Valley Glen, CA
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes. You could add a second drive.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Card Reader details

This machine has a memory card reader installed on the front for accepting SD cards, etc. Is it compatible with Sony SxS-1 Cards? I use these with my Sony XDCAM.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
dia1411
 from
Houston
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
not that I am aware of.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ed
 from
Rochester
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This product supports MultiMediaCard, MultiMediaCard mobile, Reduced-Size MultiMediaCard, Secure Digital, miniSD, Memory Stick, Memory Stick PRO, Memory Stick Duo, Memory Stick PRO Duo and xD-Picture Card formats.

You will need to review the Sony SxS-1 card to determine if it works within the above types of connections.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Some General "Gateway DX4870-UB21P Desktop Computer" Questions.

- With Microsoft expected to release Windows 8 in October or November of this year, I've heard that Best Buy is offering an $14.99(?) operating system upgrade coupon with the purchase of some of it's new computers. Is Best Buy offering this discounted download operating system upgrade for the Gateway DX4870-UB21P?
- Who makes the motherboard for the Gateway DX4870-UB21P and what is it's model number?
- Including the factory installed DVD-RW, how many optical drives can be connected to the DX4870-UB21P('s) standard motherboard?
- Is the version of the Intel i5 used here unique to this motherboard or does it have applications
in other computers and motherboards?
- Does the Gateway DX4870-UB21P come with a "rescue" disk and/or a CD copy of Windows 7 (in case the OS ever needs to be reinstalled)? If not, can I request a set and how much would they cost?

Thanks, John
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Patty'sJohnny
 from
Valley Glen, CA
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have no idea about windows 8 and frankly I am not concerned with a desktop computer.
Regarding motherboards and optical drives, let it be known I normally do not open a tower.
Windows "7" lets you create a rescue disk. I believe other options are available
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ed
 from
Rochester, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If the unit in question meets the requirements for the upgrade Best Buy should have the offer on their website for that unit.

The motherboard is designed by Gateway using Intel's standards.

This unit can hold a max of 2 DVD drives internal. Although you could connect multiple USB DVD drives to it if needed.

Intel does not make processors that are unique to a motherboard.

This unit has the ability to restore from a hidden partition. You also have the ability to create restore disc to restore the unit back to it's factory settings. Either option works well.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

wattage

What is the wattage of the power supply that comes with the tower? If i buy it, i would want to upgrade the graphics card to AMD radeon 6850.. which requires 500 watts.

thanks
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
fad
 from
jacksonville
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
300 w
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dh1ch1
 from
michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
300w power supply
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this computer have a sound card?

Can I connect speakers to it?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dcf
 from
Colorado Springs
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, you can. I have my Bose sound wave radio with an iPod dock connected and the sound is great.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MereAngel
 from
GA,USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this product has High-definition with 5.1-channel surround sound support .
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Additional Cost for Optional "Easy-Swap Expansion Bay"?

Upon fully setting up the computer and in the process of adding an additional hard drive to the "Expansion Bay", I came across a fence.In your Q/A's I realized the "Easy-Swap Expansion Bay" is optional. This is a big factor for me in order to incorporate a total of 3 hard drives.

If I were to return my current purchase to BB and exchange it for one with the optional "Easy-Swap Expansion Bay", would there be an additional cost?

Thank you.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rorris
 from
WestLA
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I Personally bought it at a BB location assuming it would automatically be incorporated as shown on the floor display. I'm able to open the bay, but it is covered/blocked by a locked metal frame, nothing so swap in.

Thank you.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rorris
 from
WestLA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Did you receive this unit and no Swap bay?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

how to setup dual monitors

I see that the dx4870 supports dual monitors, however, only one is recognised. Both are on and display, but when i change screen resolution, only one shows in the gui.
Images for this Question
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
We would suggest contacting our support for further assistance with this: http://secure3.tx.acer.com/findsystem/FindSystem.aspx?title=Contact+Support&brand=Gateway
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

front led lights and led logo

i just bought this tower and now the logo and led light that glow in the front dont work now... why?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
alexx
 from
port richey
on Gateway - Desktop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
We would suggest contacting our technical support regarding this: http://secure3.tx.acer.com/findsystem/FindSystem.aspx?title=Contact+Support&brand=Gateway
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TeamGateway
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3