Looking for Answers about HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Store your media on this HP Pavilion Slimline s5-1224 desktop's 1TB hard drive that offers spacious storage for music, movies and more. The Intel Pentium processor features two processing cores for fast Internet surfing, downloads and more.Windows 7 Home Premium preloaded Which Windows 7 edition is best for you? Compare.Learn more about Intel processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions
 | 
38 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(63 Reviews)63

Questions & Answers for HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Question

How good is this for gaming?

I play games on steam, and am wondering if this would be a reliable desktop for playing source games and such.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
-1point
1out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This has an INTEGRATED graphics card not designed for Gaming.

You do have the option of buying your own graphics cards but you must be aware that the Power Supply may not support a beefy card, aside from the space restrictions in the tower.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Cruxado
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC will play any games that have system requirements equal to or less than the specifications of this PC. I recommend contacting the software manufacturer of any games you intend to use in order to determine the system requirements for their software.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this computer HDMI capable?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nope!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
exilelrrp
 from
Bronx, NY
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this computer does not have HDMI connectivity.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the 5 USB ports additional to the mouse/keyboard/printer/monitor ports?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Deb
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
NO. USB ports specified in a computer are the exact number of ports in the computer.

So if you have 5 USB ports and yo connect a mouse and keyboard, now you will have 3 USB ports left
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Cruxado
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are two USB 3.0 in the front and four USB 2.0 in the rear of this PC.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a quad core processor?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
NO. It is a Intel G640 (dual-core) with HD Intel Graphics 2000 (if I'm not mistaken)
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, this pc does not have a quad core processor.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use my 12 yr.old software

What about all my programs.Are they compatable for windows 7?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would say no, depending on what is 12 years old...I couldn't use Microsoft office 10 with my windows XP.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'd like to answer the question but I have no idea what Software you're talking about because you didn't list anything. if you have a certain game that you used to play on say a Windows 98 computer...I'd assume it would NOT work....but I'm not sure because I don't know what Software and Operating System you have. You can Google the software and see what Operating Systems they're compatible with.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

WIFI

What cable is needed to hook up to wifi?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Ethernet cable
Connect your wireless router to your cable or DSL modem. Plug the Ethernet cable directly into the back of your router in the port labeled either WAN, WLAN, or Internet...
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
exilelrrp
 from
Bronx, NY
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC is not wireless standard, you would need a wireless adapter to receive WiFi.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How is the monitor attached?

It has been a very long time since I purchased a tower. We still used parallel ports! Is it USB?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Deb
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
This computer uses a DVI hookup for the monitor. However, it does come with a VGA to DVI converter.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nikki
 from
Ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Monitors connect through one of several methods, depending on the monitor and the computer.

Many still use a VGA analog monitor port (pictured).

Many use a digital monitor port, called DVI. (The HP s5-1224 has two of these - photo below)

Some use an HDMI connector, similar to a flat-screen TV.

USB? Only rarely, and usually then only in the case of small "add-on" monitors designed to extend the desktop for laptops.
So, as noted, this HP uses DVI - great if you have a flat-panel display, but it *won't* work if you're planning to reuse an old ginormous CRT monitor
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tgdavidson
 from
Virginia
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
USB is not a parallel port. USB is a Universal Serial Bus which has a fast transmitting speed than a parallel port. This PC does not have a parallel port.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What programs are preloaded on the desktop?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nikki
 from
Ohio
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The pre-installed software of this PC is:

-Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit); Service Pack 1
-HP Magic Canvas 5.1
-Cyberlink Power2Go
-Windows Media Center (for CD/DVD playback)
-HP Beats Audio
-HP Games
-HP MovieStore powered by Roxio
-Rara music
-Microsoft Office Starter 2010
-PDF Complete
-Norton Internet Security 2012 (60-day security update subscription)
-Norton Online Backup (30-day trial)
-HP Help & Support Center
-HP Support Assistant
-HP Update
-HP Vision Hardware Diagnostic Tools
-HP Recovery Manager
-Microsoft Internet Explorer 9
-Adobe Flash
-HP Linkup
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the better, a usb connected wireless device or a wireless card, for getting my HP Pavillion tower connected to the internet via wireless?

I've recently purchased a slimiline desktop and want to make it wireless. What products are most reliable?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would recommend a router rather than the extra expense of a card. I already had a router from when I had my laptop and it was no trouble to put a LAN cable to it and still communicate wireleesly with my printer and other peripharals. (sp?)
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Funnyman
 from
Texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Either one will work. It all depends if you are wiling to sacrifice a USB port. The other thing to keep in mind is that you'll need to do a bit more work installing a WiFi card rather than sticking in a USB WiFi

Also, some USB WiFis come with a USB extender which is helpful for reception
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Cruxado
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this computer run Diablo 3?

if anyone has this and runs diablo 3 perfectly please let me know and also is this computer capable of maintaining a high quality stream?
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion Slimline Desktop - 6GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Don't bet on it playing Diablo. This box has integrated graphics - fine for most day-to-day use, not so fine for high-intensity gaming. If you want a high-quality stream, look for something with a real graphics card, and/or a ton of RAM so you can dedicate more to the video. But even in those cases, this box isn't a good match - slimline cases restrict the airflow, so you're just asking for overheating problems.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tgdavidson
 from
Virginia
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC will play any games that have system requirements equal to or less than the specifications of this PC. I recommend contacting the software manufacturer of any games you intend to use in order to determine the system requirements for their software.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>