Looking for Answers about Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail

Seagate Backup Plus, easy backup for your digital life on your computer and the cloud The Seagate® Backup Plus desktop drive simplifies backup for consumers who want to protect their entire digital life locally, in the cloud or from social networks. Via the Seagate Dashboard, use the Protect function to set up a one-click plan or customize your scheduled local backup. Keep multiple copies of your files in case disaster strikes. With the Save feature, user-generated content can be backed up from your favorite social networks. Many people now use their smartphones to capture priceless moments. While these devices are handy and readily available, storage is not their strong suit. Capture a memory, post it on a social networking site and let the Seagate Dashboard automatically back up any content posted. Even if the file gets accidentally deleted from the device, another copy can be waiting.
Customer Questions & Answers:
32 Questions
 | 
80 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(706 Reviews)706

Questions & Answers for Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail

Question

How many vidoes can be saved on this devise

I am wanting to purchase an external hard drive to save digit copies of movies. But before I purchase one I am curious on how many hours this unit will hold.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
It 3TB which is huge so generic answer is a whole lot... But of course depends on size of video files.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LegitPreacher
 from
NC,NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's not so much a question of how many hours the drive will hold; it's what format you use to keep video files. Some codecs use less space than others. However, I've put about 40 iTunes films on a drive and it takes up about 100GB (1/10th of a 1TB drive). Hope that helps.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hmt3
 from
San Antonio, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I have digital copies of movies that come with DVDs and at around 2GB each (some could be larger), it will hold at least 1,000. So figure between 500 to 1000 dependent upon each files size.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TheReaper46
 from
Philadelphia,PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I currently use this drive to srore the countless hours I have invested in recording videos and performances at concerts and events. Trust me that this device will do the trick. this will give you ultimate storage capacity for the best price. I also have over 100 3D movies stored
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rome775
 from
NEW YORK, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Seagate 1, 2 or 3 TB drive. You have room for everything and more. Especially film. Maybe 2 1TB if you want to double up your files just in case!!!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RichSunni
 from
La
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I keep and use my new External 3TB Seagate Hard Drive on its SIDE?

I just bought and HP 17.3 laptop at Best Buy and also an External 3TB Seagate drive to backup all files to it; I keep and use both on a small laptop stand on wheels.
My question is: Can I lay the Seagate on ITS SIDE and leave it this way? I worry it will fall! Thanks!!! D.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Daniela
 from
Virginia
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Of course it's designed to stand tall but, there are no moving parts inside (that I can detect anyways) so laying on side shouldn't be a real issue. Most important thing to look out for as w/ all electronics is you don't cover vents & cause to over heat... Will shorten life dramatically.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LegitPreacher
 from
NC,NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can. It should not tip over or fall unless it is hit in any way.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigMike0362
 from
Arlington, MA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I would not recommend it
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rome775
 from
NEW YORK, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
yes no problem, it has the vent holes on top...
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Search
 from
Portland, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, you can position the drive however is convenient for you. The only thing to be conscious of is the vent area of the drive. You will see some holes or a vent where heat is forced out by the fan, just make sure that isn't covered.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tolegittwoquit
 from
Orlando, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the backup software backup another external

Will I be able to use this drive and it's software to clone/backup another external drive that I have?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Greygoose
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
I did a standard Windows back up as well as allowed internal sftwr that comes w/ drive to do its version of a back up. Views files just as if internal HDD.as long as you can see the drives in OS it's fair game & should work w/ no issues.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LegitPreacher
 from
NC,NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Backing up is a good idea; I had just backed up to this drive from an older one, then accidentally dropped the old one while using it. CRASH. Good thing I had just backed up.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hmt3
 from
San Antonio, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I transferred the data from my Toshiba 750G USB2 Portable external hard-drive onto the Seagate straight to each other via my laptop with no problems. The documents were still readable from the Seagate. If you're asking if the Seagate would continuously back up your computer/lap-top and another external hard-drive simultaneously is out of my league!!!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Waaat
 from
StLouis, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Use Seagate Disk Wizard(free download) to save an image of your hard drive. You can always retrieve any files you need from the image file. Great for recovering from a hard drive crash or a hijack of your files from malware.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rspend
 from
Newport News, Va
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Mac-user friendly?

I recently acquired this product but it does not work with my Mac. It was supposed to have some driver to allow use interchangeably between Mac and PC. Am I not doing something? In the information on my "finder" it shows that the format is windows NT File System. Do I need to format the hard drive specifically for my Mac? If so, can I take it wherever (given that I do not live in the USA)?
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Reykjavik, Iceland
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I would recommend that you reformat this HDD specifically for the MAC.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Is your OS up to date? Appstore Updates
3 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LETTERAFTERP
 from
OK, USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can use our Backup Plus 3TB External between your PC and Mac if you wish or you can format the drive for your Mac computer only (though Disk Utility or our software). To use an NTFS formatted drive on a Mac, you will need to install the software that came with the drive as a special driver is needed to make the drive fully read/write on a Mac. If the software is not installing when connected to your Mac, try browsing to the external drive and opening the Installer.DMG file. If this file is not found, try downloading our software for the drive here and follow the instructions: http://ow.ly/d7QOk

You may certainly take the drive wherever you wish. For warranty details on the drive in your country of residence, please contact the warranty department in your region (choose your region):
http://seagate.com/support/contact-support/:
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I partition the drive for both generic storage & auto backup?

Can I partition the Seagate Backup Plus 3TB External Hard Drive into at least 2 partitions where one or more large partitions can be used for generic storage and another smaller partition mirroring the size of my laptop's hard drive can be dedicated to auto backup? You said in a previous answer that if I reformat the drive it will erase all the data on the drive. Would that mean if part of the drive is dedicated to generic storage then the auto backup partition would lose the default software like Dashboard? I have a Windows Vista O.S. and I'd like to use Backup Plus for generic storage while maintaining Dashboard or the existing software for an Auto backup partition.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mr. Anonymous
 from
IL
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
-2points
0out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Well, it seems that Seagate answered the question a long time before I got here. Dashboard it the software included on Seagates external drives. So ignore my piddly answer.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DUHHH
 from
NEVADA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you have partitioned your external hard drive into 2 partitions, then lets say the drive letters are F: and G:. If you reformat a drive you have to choose either F or G to format. Your external drive is no longer a single drive virtually. Your computer does not see the physically single drive as a single drive anymore. Your computer sees it as two separate drives.

If you choose a drive letter, let's say drive F: and right click it when viewing it in the My Computer page. Right click and choose reformat, then it will erase every bit of data from drive F: but it will not effect the data stored on drive G:.

You are speaking of a program named Dashboard. That sounds like a third party software put out by HP or some other namebrand. That is not a Microsoft Windows software, but I could be wrong also, I am not an expert. But to answer your question. If your Dashboard program is creating a backup on drive letter F: (for example) and you format drive letter F then yes, of course, you will be erasing your backup files that were created by your Dashboard program. But this will not erase your Dashboard Program. The Dashboard Program is "assumably" running from your C: drive. Which is also where your operating system windows Vista is running from.

If you are creating an auto backup of windows on an external drive, then I have to compliment you. That is a wise decision!
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DUHHH
 from
NEVADA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There is no need to partition the drive separately for generic storage and for our backup software storage. Both our backup data and your generic storage can be stored on the same partition on our external drive.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I turned off windows 7 pc but the drive will not turn off. What needs to be done to safely turn it off?

I also tried using windows' procedure to eject drives but it was still running.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
When you open the software navigate to the settings feature & it'll have a drop down list to chose how long u're drive stays powered on when not active...
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LegitPreacher
 from
NC,NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you have an external drive connected to a:
1) Desktop - USB ports tend to remain powered even when choosing "Shut Down". So you will see LED on drive and may hear the "whir" of the drive. Choosing shut down or the power button on the front of the machine still leaves the power supply energized. So the 5V that USB uses is usually still available. If you want complete shut down some computers have a switch at the back which will actually turn off the supply. If that switch isn't available then you will need to disconnect the power coming into the supply (unplug or some external switch).
2) Laptop - USB ports tend to be powered down when the computer is "Shut Down". So the LED on the drive will be off and you won't hear the drive spinning. This is to remove possibility of draining the battery by USB device.

For a Windows system is it always safer to use the Shut Down command. This is because system files are always being written/accessed in the background. If you use the power button it is possible to corrupt files. Once you have completed Shut Down then it is OK to remove power from the supply.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cheri
 from
Chicago
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You did not specify if the hard drive is an external hard drive or not.

It sounds to me like if must be an external hard drive. If so then check the back of the drive for a power switch. If there is a power switch then turn it off AFTER the computer is fully powered down. When you power everything up you can either power up the external drive first and then the pc, or visa versa. It doesn't matter. I recently purchased a seagate external drive and it doesn't have a power button. When I power my pc down, the external drive turns off also.

Check to see if you are REALLY powering down your pc. If it is just sleeping or hybernating then this may be the reason your drive is not powering down.

To adjust you power settings go into control panel and choose power options. Then make your proper selections according to the ways that you "ASSUME" you are powering down.

Me I power down my pc by quickly pressing the power button, then my pc fully powers down. You may like that option. If using a laptop, you may want to just close the laptop for it to fully power down. You will have to read and make your own decisions when in the Power Options menu inside the Control Panel.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DUHHH
 from
NEVADA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

not much experince

my laptop is running the old xp windows. I have much pictures and many other files that are making it run very slow. What is the best way to move all this stuff to a secure exturnal place.I'm not a computer real savey person,but I get by .Any help would be appreciated.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Johnny
 from
Louisiana
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I had that issue before and purchased a 1TB Seagate back up plus and copied all my photos , music and documents over to it and used it to load all files on a new computer, glad I did because old hard drive crashed, without the back up I would have lost everything
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cc999
 from
Burlington, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Having lots of files on the computer doesn't necessarily make it slow. Probably you need to defragment your drive. This will line up the data on the disk better so that the system can access it more quickly. Over time as you add and remove files, the data gets misaligned or fragmented.

Follow this link: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314848

You might look on places like cnet for reviews of PC backup solutions to see what would be good to move your files.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Gabe
 from
CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I'm not sure what you mean by "secure" in your question. If you choose to go for an external hard drive like this Seagate 3TB, you can treat it like another hard drive on your computer.

If you want reliable copy operation, i recommend TeraCopy, which is supposedly faster than Windows built-in function, it shows a list of files that are being copied, checks CRC32 for errors (CRC32 is not "bullet-proof" if you read it on Wikipedia), and skips files (rather than just aborting the operation like Windows would do) if there's any problem.

If you meant by who can access your files and what not, use encryption software, such as TrueCrypt. It can create file-containers or create encrypted partitions.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you back up a windows pc AND an ipad to this same external drive

We have both a windows pc and an iPad. Can both be backed up to this external hard drive? Should we copy the iPad data first to the pc using iTunes and next put it in a "folder" on the external hard drive?

What happens if we ever need to pull of the external drive back to the iPad? Have to use iTunes again?
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
sandys
 from
MI
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have mine installed on a windows PC and was able to copy files from my macbook over the network to the drive.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
techBroke
 from
ky
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is not any way to connect the iPad to the Hard drive. However, you are correct in connecting the iPad to the computer, and through iTunes, you can click "back up" and it saves that file on the computer. So if you back up your entire PC to the hard drive, you should be fine. If anything ever happens to the iPad, then you could retrieve the information from the PC, but you will need a PC to "Restore from backup." There are other options to back up your iPad. You can use iCloud, which is free from Apple, and is, honestly, the best way. go to apple.com/icloud for more information. The Last thing i'll say is that when you backup your iPad to iTunes, the backup information is stored in a folder, almost hidden, from you. Depending on which version of windows you are using, here is a list of where you can find the file, and restore the information, if need be.
Windows XP
C:\Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup\
Windows Vista
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\MobileSync\Backup\
Windows 7
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Apple Computer\MobileSync\Backup\

HOPE THIS HELPS!
(P.S. Buy a Mac, You'll be much happier)
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mcbreezy1
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, you have to use iTunes for getting data from/to the iPad. iTunes automatically backs up any iOS device you connect to it. However, iTunes does not let you select a drive for the backup archive file. Fortunately you can find the backup file yourself and copy it over to the external drive: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4946?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

You can use the drive for both the PC and iPad.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Gabe
 from
CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

iPhone 5 pictures?

Can I download pictures from my iPhone 5 directly to the Seagate Hard Drive?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You will need a separate computer to transfer your pictures
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nuttcasepdx
 from
Gresham
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Pictures from your iPhone have to be downloaded through a computer, but can then be stored on this drive.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nemlu
 from
Vancouver, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you would need to connect the hard drive to a compatible device and move your pictures from that device after uploading them off of the iPhone 5.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NigelBBY
 from
Best Buy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i down load my pc games to this hard drive

2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Seagate - Backup Plus 3 TB 3.5" External Hard Drive - Retail
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It functions just like an internal HDD, as long as you can see it u can save it.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LegitPreacher
 from
NC,NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can load pc games to this portable hard drive.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BigMike0362
 from
Arlington, MA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
As long as your PC recognizes the hard drive and you've done the proper steps like setting up a separate folder for the games to be saved on for the hard drive, you'll be fine!
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DTJ02
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>