Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black

Access, store and transfer movies, photos and other files with this Toshiba Canvio Basics 320GB portable hard drive that features a USB 3.0 interface for fast, reliable performance and versatile use. The compact design enables easy portability.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions
 | 
15 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(30 Reviews)30

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black

Question

how do i transfer files from my computer to the toshiba basic 320gb

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
To move files you'll move them just as you're accustomed to with the internal drive on your computer. In Windows Explorer select the files you want to move, then either drag and drop them to the external drive, or cut-and-paste them.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this hard drive work on a Mac

1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
It is formatted NTFS for Windows® XP, Windows Vista®, or Windows® 7. If you choose, you can reformat it for Mac OS® X Tiger®, Leopard®, Snow Leopard™, and Mountain Lion. Of course, reformatting will erase all data and programs on the drive.

You can use it on one operating system or the other, but not both.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What do the two different colors the little light can be mean?

Mine will plug into my computer, but depending on which USB port I use, it is either white, or blue. Why does it change colors, and what do the colors mean?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The blue light means you're plugged into a USB 3.0 port, while a white light means USB 2.0.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this hard drive be used to create a image recovery for a laptop

?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
With the appropriate software, yes. The drive doesn't come with the software you would need for an image backup.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I disable the shock protection? Or can it be disabled?

I'm a dj, and using the drive in club environments with my cd players the sound vibration triggers the shock protection and the drive will turn off in the middle of playing…
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dj Russ C.
 from
Hollywood, FL
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The HDD protection cannot be disabled.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with any computer?

I was just wondering if I can tranfer files onto and off the hard drive from any computer. I'm getting a new laptop and I don't want to lose my documents or pictures from my old laptop. My new laptop is a HP and my old one is a Toshiba and I want to be able to retrieve everything from the hard drive with my new laptop.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it will work with both your HP and Toshiba.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I hook this up to usb port on a blu-ray player?

I am wondering if this can be used to play video files if I reformat it to FAT32 and connect it to the usb port of my blu ray player?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nick
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

Can you boot games from it?

My question is can you store games on it, and by connecting the external harddrive through the 3.0 usb port would it be faster than a laptop hard drive? The specs of this internal laptop hard drive is 5400rpm with transfer speeds up to only 3.0Gbps.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ninja250
 from
Goodyear
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
An external drive will never give you the performance of a similar spec internal drive. Your best bet is to upgrade your laptops hard drive to something that is faster (at least 7200rpm) and has a larger cache (at least 16MB)
 
Products from my answer
Seagate - Momentus 500 GB 2.5" Hard Drive - Plug-in Module - Retail
4.5 out of 5(249)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GeraldF
 from
Oklahoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could this be faster than internal laptop hard drive?

I was just wondering, if i were to buy this external harddrive would it be faster than a laptop harddrive which is 5400rpm and has a transfer rate up to 3Gbps??
Like would it boot games faster and perform faster?
Would it load windows faster?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
xx2ton4xx
 from
Goodyear
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The external hard drive can't be used as a boot drive for your computer.

If you have a USB 3.0 port on your computer, this drive can transfer data up to 5Gbps.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to buy a usb 2.0 cable

I don't have usb 3.0 yet.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, you don't need a usb 2.0 cable. That cable comes with the external hard drive. You do need a 3.0 usb cable if your computer has the 3.0 USB port.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Davido
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The cable that comes with this drive will work for USB 2.0 also.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>