Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black

Access, store and transfer movies, photos and other files with this Toshiba Canvio Basics 320GB portable hard drive that features a USB 3.0 interface for fast, reliable performance and versatile use. The compact design enables easy portability.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions
 | 
15 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(30 Reviews)30

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black

Question

Can you format the drive to FAT32?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jurphy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can re-format it to FAT32.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I have to buy a usb 2.0 cable

I don't have usb 3.0 yet.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, you don't need a usb 2.0 cable. That cable comes with the external hard drive. You do need a 3.0 usb cable if your computer has the 3.0 USB port.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Davido
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The cable that comes with this drive will work for USB 2.0 also.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

PS3 Compatibilty?

I just wanted to know if this unit is compatible with Playstation 3. Thanks!
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nick
 from
Grand Rapids
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
For external USB storage devices on a PS3, they must be formatted to the older FAT 32 format in order for it to be recognized by the PS3.

This drive is formatted NTFS, so you would simply re-format it to FAT 32.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Will it work with Mac?

3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
It is formatted NTFS for Windows® XP, Windows Vista®, or Windows® 7.
If you choose, you can reformat it for Mac OS® X Tiger®, Leopard®, Snow Leopard™, and Mountain Lion.
You can use it on one operating system or the other, but not both. Of course, reformatting will erase all data on the drive.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Could I .....?

If I loaded it with pictures, music, movies, could I then plug it into my Roku box and play on my tv?
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DAD
 from
EARTH
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Not really familiar with Roku operation, so I checked out their website. Based on that, I'll give you my take, but I'm no expert on Roku.

According to their website, the only player with USB is the Roku 2 XS. It will play the formats listed below from a device connected to the USB port.

USB Media Formats
Video: MP4 (H.264) MKV (H.264)
Audio: AAC, MP3
Image: JPG, PNG
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Could this be faster than internal laptop hard drive?

I was just wondering, if i were to buy this external harddrive would it be faster than a laptop harddrive which is 5400rpm and has a transfer rate up to 3Gbps??
Like would it boot games faster and perform faster?
Would it load windows faster?
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
xx2ton4xx
 from
Goodyear
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The external hard drive can't be used as a boot drive for your computer.

If you have a USB 3.0 port on your computer, this drive can transfer data up to 5Gbps.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you boot games from it?

My question is can you store games on it, and by connecting the external harddrive through the 3.0 usb port would it be faster than a laptop hard drive? The specs of this internal laptop hard drive is 5400rpm with transfer speeds up to only 3.0Gbps.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ninja250
 from
Goodyear
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
An external drive will never give you the performance of a similar spec internal drive. Your best bet is to upgrade your laptops hard drive to something that is faster (at least 7200rpm) and has a larger cache (at least 16MB)
 
Products from my answer
Seagate - Momentus 500 GB 2.5" Hard Drive - Plug-in Module - Retail
4.5 out of 5(250)
 
 
 
 
 
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GeraldF
 from
Oklahoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with any computer?

I was just wondering if I can tranfer files onto and off the hard drive from any computer. I'm getting a new laptop and I don't want to lose my documents or pictures from my old laptop. My new laptop is a HP and my old one is a Toshiba and I want to be able to retrieve everything from the hard drive with my new laptop.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it will work with both your HP and Toshiba.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I disable the shock protection? Or can it be disabled?

I'm a dj, and using the drive in club environments with my cd players the sound vibration triggers the shock protection and the drive will turn off in the middle of playing…
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dj Russ C.
 from
Hollywood, FL
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The HDD protection cannot be disabled.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this hard drive be used to create a image recovery for a laptop

?
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Canvio Basics 320GB External USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
With the appropriate software, yes. The drive doesn't come with the software you would need for an image backup.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>