Looking for Answers about Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)

Samsung Galaxy S III SGH-i747 Cell Phone for AT&T: Find more ways to connect, create and share with the feature-packed Samsung Galaxy S III. With a vivid 4.8" Full HD display and super-fast processor, you can enjoy richly detailed photos, videos and entertainment on the go. Share files by tapping two phones together, stream content to your HDTV and control your phone with simple voice commands and easy-access TecTiles. AT&T Next option available in store. Learn more ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions
 | 
282 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)

Question

How long is the battery life for this phone ?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
there is no "right" answer...it completely depends on your settings, the apps you are using, if you have "live wallpaper", etc. It DOES have a battery saver option...I use it on 4G while on the go, and I am guessing I get about 6 hrs ??
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
aries3
 from
Florida
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I use my s3 relentlessly and it always lasts all day. Haven't had it die on me yet.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The battery life under "normal" usage is about 24hrs.
* Normal usage meaning neither heavy nor light * The advantage about owning this phone is that you can swap batteries easily since you can open the back and replace it in a snap.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rob1210
 from
Tri-Cities Washington
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I am getting about 9 hours with a lot of Pandora streaming and web browsing. I get up to 15 hours if I have the screen on for shorter periods. The large bright screen is what uses most of the power, so if you are watching Netflix movies or playing games all day, the battery life will be pretty short.

On the plus side, it has an easy to swap battery, so you can get additional batteries for it, or a giant extended battery that lasts 2 days.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tweakrr
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I can tell you that it lasts all day. I charge my phone every night but it has never died on me yet prior to charging it. I never could use a prior phone all day without charging it. Even when I was setting it up and using it continuously for most of the day, it was still going strong. I think the battery life is great for a smartphone.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I send about 150 texts a day, check Facebook often and check many other apps. I take my phone off the charger at 5 am and at 9 at night I still have about 27% to 35% left
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Bob
 from
St. Louis
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Hi! Thanks for your question.

11 hours of talk time on 3G. This can vary greatly on the use of your phone.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use itunes on the Samsung Galaxy S III?

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can use KIES AIR to sync your phone with your I-tunes thru your computer and wifi connection. But, no you can not get itunes directly on an android device OF ANY KIND. BTW, anything that you bought on itunes can be transferred to an android device EXCEPT APPS, movies and music as well as pictures can be synced with it.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
NO. Nor would you want to. There are other useful music players that are available in the Google Play store - go check it out. You'll hate the iTunes once you change over.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
S3Devotee
 from
San Diego, CA
-1point
2out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes with app called syncr and it works perfectly
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JTchgo
 from
Chicago, IL
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I dont think you can use itunes on the s3, maybe if you root your s3. but they also have an app where you can use your itunes playlist and songs
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DforDavid
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Yes, through an app called Doubletwist, you can use iTunes on Android devices.

doubletwist.com

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
no you cant
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Memory? is this unlocked 64GB or 32GB?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
this is 16GB, I could be wrong, but I don't THINK that this phone is sold at 32GB or 64GB in the USA at this time.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
aries3
 from
Florida
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
it's locked to at&t and has 16 gigs built in memory but supports micro sd.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It comes with 16GB of internal storage, 2GB of RAM, and a Micro SD slot so you can add up to 64GB of additional storage.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tweakrr
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
On AT&T you only have the option of a 16GB version. The phone has a microSD card slot that can take up to 64GB...so you could potentially have 80GB of storage space on the S3
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Chizzwhiz
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi! Thanks for your question.

We are currently carrying the 16GB model.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Is that a question????
It's a 16gb phone i heard if you pay full price (why would you???) AT&T will unlock it
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
16GB internal flash, expandable via MicroSD up to 64GB
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
ryko4887
 from
US of A
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use an micro sd card with the new samsung galaxy SIII?

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
countrygamer
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Yes, it can take up to a 64GB Micro SD.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes you can it will go under the back cover right next to sim card.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
YES! thank GOSH! I have yet to use one, but I will definitely be needing one. This was one selling factor between the S3 and the HTC one X. if you need memory, get this phone!
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
areis3
 from
Florida
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes. I have a 32GB micro SD card installed. It's great!
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
S3Devotee
 from
San Diego, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes I can even use a 64 gb micro as just have to reformat to fat32 to make sure all apps will be able to use it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JTchgo
 from
Chicago, IL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
yes
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
As a matter of fact, the SGS3 will offer support for a microSD card with up to 64GB of storage.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 8
yes
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the screen made out of gorilla glass?

I was told it has gorilla glass but i cant see that anywhere in the details!
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mandaliz
 from
Holyoke
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Corning confirms Gorilla Glass on the Samsung Galaxy S3.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ian815
 from
Fremont
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The SGS3 will indeed offer Gorilla Glass 2.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, it uses Gorilla Glass 2
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Greg0410
 from
NYC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes it does. Just google it you'll find all the answers my brother has the phone and yes it has it.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tico81
 from
dallas
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes the phone is made of gorilla glass 2. If you need to know what that is do a Google search for it.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mrteeth
 from
Sanity
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

will apple ipod apps work on it?

i had an iphone and i dropped it in the pool so now i am looking for a new phone and i am considering this one. i was wondering if my apps from my iphone will work on this phone?
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
mandmsforever
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
8 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi! Thanks for your question.

I do apologize, but the answer is no.
But, there is a great Google Play Market.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You will have to download the Android equivalents. You can get Double Twist and that will download your itunes library for you onto your S3. You can find most of the apps available on the Apple market on the Play Store (Android Market) though the names might be different.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slyck
 from
STL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Technically no because the Galaxy S III 4G is not an Apple product, but there might be Android counterparts for those apps available for download/purchase in the Android store...
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jon90650
 from
Norwalk, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
no, you won't be able to transfer your apps.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wobblesmith
 from
new york, ny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Apple and Android are two different operating systems so they may not have exact same apps available. For example, iBooks will not be availble on Android devices, you would use the free Kindle app. Many of my co-workers have moved from iPhone to S3 and they have confirmed that the transition was seamless. If the app they previously used was not availble on the Android market place (called the "play store" on the S3) there was always something either similar or better available. I have the S3 and the apps available for it are astonishing. I would sugest going into your local Best Buy Mobile (if possible) and ask for more information comparing the iPhone to the S3. I love my S3 and my co-workers love theirs as well. I would highly reccommend this phone to you.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Lauren C
 from
Mechacnisburg, PA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No, your iOS apps will not work on the Android phone. Just as Android apps will not work on an iPhone or iPod Touch.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Most Apps on IOS (iPhone) are also avail on android. But no you cannot copy the same apps from the iPhone
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 8
Sorry to hear about your phone. That's always a bummer!

The Apple and Android operating systems are two different OS types.

Many apps available on Apple are also available on Android, but determining which ones you want specifically would have to be done by doing a search online to see which must-have apps are available on the phone you're looking at.

Thanks for your interest in Samsung products.

--Mr.Samsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this phone require a data plan?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Oh Yes....be ready to pay at least an extra $35 a month (3GB data plan and taxes) for the next 2 years or buy it at full price for $700 with no commitment.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rob1210
 from
Tri-Cities Washington
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Bob
 from
St. Louis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes this phone requires a data plan. If you do any kind of music & video streaming, email checking, uploading of pictures, etc you will most certainly want a data plan. That being said, you can opt for a cheaper data plan and make sure you connect to WiFi wherever you are so that you don't go over your monthly allotment
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Chizzwhiz
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes all smartphones require a data plan.
But if you add a line $9.99 at&t, you can remove the data plan from your old smartphone and just pay for one a month. That's what I did to buy the new S3
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Yes, all smartphones like the GS3, require data plans.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Thank you for your interest in this Samsung Cell Phone. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative may be able to assist you better with this question. Unfortunately, I cannot provide any additional information on plans, carrier compatibility, pricing, or availability (although in many cases, some carriers will require a data plan to be used in conjunction with a smartphone). However, a Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what countries can this phone be used in?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi! Thanks for your question.

This phone is only sold at Best Buy locked to the carrier, and there is no possible way to ever unlock it.Most phones sold in U.S.A. today are locked to a carrier. The same is for the phones we sell. I have provided a link to the unlocked phones we sell, a very large selection. If it has a carriers name in the title, it is locked to that carrier. If it has unlocked in the title, it is unlocked. These phones can be used on any GSM SIM card carrier, anywhere around the world.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Unlocke...

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Because this phone supports 2100 MHz, it will even work in Japan and Korea. I suspect that it will work in almost any European, North-Central-and-South American country. It should also work in most Asian countries (Japan, South Korea, Singapore, etc.). See the ATT web site for more information. For instance, the ATT web site says "To ensure the broadest coverage, a quad-band (850/900/1800/1900) device is recommended. To roam in Japan or South Korea, a 3G device that operates at 2100 MHz is required."
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Columbia, MD
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Any that have your phone carrier's network running through them; check their respective sites (Verizon, AT&T, Sprint, T-Mobile, etc..) for further details, seeing as how there isn't enough room on this to type out the specifics for everything.....
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jon90650
 from
Norwalk, CA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
AT&T phone can only be used in AT&T unless you are willing to pay heavy roaming charges. If you want to use it internationally, you will have to get the unlocked/unbranded version or unlock/rebrand the phone yourself. Unlocked phones can be used on any GSM compatible carrier.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
igetsin
 from
Owings Mills, MD
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Thank you for your interest in this Samsung Cell Phone. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative may be able to assist you better with this question. Unfortunately, since I do not have access to Best Buy’s inventory system, I cannot provide any additional information on carriers, carrier compatibility, pricing, or availability. However, a Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I keep my unlimited data from AT&T if I upgrade through Best Buy?

I currently have a plan through AT&T that has the grandfathered unlimited data plan. If I renew my contract to AT&T for another 2 years at Best Buy, can I keep my unlimited data when I purchase the Galaxy S3?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi! Thanks for your question.

When you buy a contract phone with an Operating System, Android OS, Apple OS, BlackBerry OS, Symbian OS, Web OS or Windows OS, you also have to get a data plan. When you upgrade at Best Buy you do have to choose a data plan that they now offer. We would not be able to keep your old data plan. The only way you can process an upgrade or new line is to choose a data plan. This is true no matter how you buy a phone from Best Buy, whether it be online, instore or over the phone. Your old data plan, will be cancelled, and you new one will be the only one you pay for.

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, I purchased from Best Buy and I was able to keep my unlimited data plan. If you order online, it gives you the option to keep the same data plan you currently have.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MediaHub
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes you can. As long as you don't change the data plan you have it forever. If you leave AT&T or change to a different data package you won't be able to get it back again.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slyck
 from
STL
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes you can, all phone carriers offer that for current unlimited-data holders.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jon90650
 from
Norwalk
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Thank you for your interest in this Samsung Cell Phone. Although I do not have the information you requested, a dedicated Best Buy Mobile representative may be able to assist you better with this question. Unfortunately, since I do not have access to Best Buy’s inventory system, I cannot provide any additional information on carriers, carrier compatibility, pricing, or availability. However, a Best Buy Mobile representative should have all of the information you require to make your cell phone purchase. Please click on the customer service link for more details.

-MrSamsung
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrSamsung
 from
SamsungHQ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Number of proccessor cores

Doesn't it supposed to be quad core? and not dual core?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - Galaxy S III 4G with 16GB Mobile Phone - Marble White (AT&T)
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
International versions are quad-core, US versions are dual core.....
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
unyonface
 from
Houston, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Currently, the Quad-core version is selling only in certain countries (NOT the US!). In the US, only the dual-core version is available by the wireless providers.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Columbia, MD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The S3 is Dual Core due to the Quad Core processor not being compatible with the 4G LTE hardware. The successor to this phone should be a Quad Core, the Note 2 will be a quad core according to the leaked tech specs.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slyck
 from
STL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The Intl version of the S3 is a quadcore. But the very fast Qualcomm dual core with quadcore graphics on the US version is actually faster. There is a review if this exact question on Engadget check it out.
Oh and I own the S3, is incredibly fast lol
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi! Thanks for your question.

Along with a 1.5GHz dual-core processor and 2GB RAM allows you to stay connected and productive on the go

If you have any further questions on this issue or would like to speak with a live agent, please call: 1-888-BESTBUY
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
jenBBYMobile
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
This phone (in the U.S.) has a dual core processor, which is less than the quad core released internationally, but includes more RAM (2GB instead of 1GB). If you look at benchmarks, you can see that the tradeoff is minimal and should be in real world applications as well. I prefer the extra memory myself, but some may prefer the extra processor for even better gaming performance.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
marsbarrow
 from
Duluth, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
The international version has a quad core processor with 1 GB of ram, while the US version has a dual core processor with 2 GB of ram.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>