Looking for Answers about HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Stay productive with this HP Pavilion m7-1015dx laptop that features a high-speed wireless LAN for a simple connection to the Internet. The 1TB hard drive provides ample storage space for your movies, games, documents and more.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.
Customer Questions & Answers:
54 Questions
 | 
99 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.416 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(149 Reviews)149

Questions & Answers for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Question

any wireless hp mouse compatible to this model?

i wanna buy a wireless hp mouse for this model, so wanna know about compatibility to this model
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
any wireless mouse will work. just be sure to plug the usb receiver in, and then it will auto-update the driver for the mouse and your done.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Randabear
 from
Gaffney, SC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hi, you should use this HP Wireless mouse comes with 2 covers and it works amazing for this laptop This is the one i have for this mouse and i love it!
 
Products from my answer
HP - Wireless Optical Mouse
4.1 out of 5(104)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Shah506
 from
Houston, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This PC will accept an HP Wireless mouse.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop have two 4gig chips or one 8gig chip installed.

Thinking about expanding the amount of ram and would like to know if I would have to buy 16gig's or just one 8gig chip. Thank you.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sean
 from
Texas
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This PC comes with two 4GB sticks of memory installed. If you wanted to expand to 16GB you would need to purchase two 8GB sticks of memory.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
2 / 4gbs
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
knowledge67
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What wireless adapter is inside this system.

I will be wiping Windows off this system and will be placing a linux varient on it. I know that broadcom adapters usually have issues with linux and I am wondering if this system comes with this chipset.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sean
 from
texas
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can check the specification of your machine at the HP website. You can also look in the device manager to find out which wireless card you have.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
NYC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Ralink RT5390R 802.11b/g/n 1x1 wifi adapter
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Randabear
 from
Gaffney, SC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there any room in the laptop for an additional graphics card?

If there isn't, is the one that comes with the laptop integrated, or can I replace it?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, unfortunately with the inbuild HD graphics chips there is no room and no real way to bypass the chip itself. The only way to would be to change the whole motherboard, which would be a real pain. If you're looking for a better graphics card you might want to save a little bit more money, or even look into some refurbished models.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Randabear
 from
Gaffney, SC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
nope i dont think so !
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
knowledge67
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Compatability with Photoshop CS6 and RAW files.

I'm a photographer and I just want to know how smoothly this laptop would work with the newest version of Photoshop CS6 and the many RAW files that I have since I mostly only shoot RAW.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Liv
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I run Photoshop and edit RAW with it no problem. I use Paint Shop Pro X2 mainly, but Photoshop runs perfectly. I put in 16 Gig of RAM and a second hard drive, I'd recommend any photographer using this system to do the same. It's less wear and tear on the system drive if you're processing photos from a second drive, and if the primary dies you don't lose your photos. Plus, if you're only shooting RAW you're gonna fill that 1TB system drive fast, which means you'll be screwing around with the time necessary to upload to an external drive.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Katodog
 from
Carol Stream, Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have photoshop installed on mine(have had it about 3 weeks now) and have had zero problems with it. I've had many memory intensive applications running(including photoshop and a couple different games at the same time) and still experience no problems. The i7 processor really helps multitasking needs and the hard drive is very large. You really shouldn't have any problems saving all of your photos straight to the computer, though to be safe I would reccomend an external hard drive just in case you have any problems down the road with the computer itself, you still have your photos then.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Randabear
 from
Gaffney, SC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
it work just as same as most of the other high end laptop ! when you have 3rd generation i7 with 8 gb of ram you dont have to worry about anything for atleast 3-4 years from now because its capable enough to do lot of stuff !
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
knowledge
 from
killeen, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Has anybody that owns this machine had issues with the WiFi not working?

Just bought this machine and am having troubles getting the WiFi to work. When I first tried to setup the connection to my WiFi this machine could not even find my router but other machine that I had sitting right beside this one was showing full signal strength. Even with it sitting 5 feet from the router I could only manage 3 bars of signal which does not seem right to me. Lots of folks have given this machine 5 star reviews with not a mention of having WiFi issues so I was expecting a lot better performance. Has anybody else experienced this? Any ideas on how to resolve this problem?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Most wi-fi connectivity problems can be solved by simpy unplugging your modem and router, wait 60 seconds and plug them back in. If you think your machine is still not getting a strong signal do a bandwidth test. Just type "bandwidth test" in google and pick the location closest to youl
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
NYC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I would recommend looking at some of your router's options. Things like G-Nitro and Turboboost can make some wireless computers and gaming systems get less wifi. If these are on, try turning them off.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
WarChamp
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the difference between this model and the HP dv7-7030us model?

When comparing this model (m7-1015dx) with the dv7-7030us model of the same brand (HP) i can't seem to find a difference other than price, and one is bluetooth enabled while the other is not, is this really the only difference between the two? is there something i'm not seeing here?
 
Products related to my question
HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Midnight Black
3.3 out of 5(7)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Zkeeter
 from
Chicago, IL
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I wondered the same thing. Hp does include a longer warranty on the DV7 that best buy does not. It's better to buy this machine through BestBuy even if you wanted to add the HP warranty after it expires. Bestbuy warranty cost more but provides better insurance should something go wrong. The best answer I can give you is that the m7 is a dv7 made for Best Buy. Even on another website when I search the system to upgrade the parts, it showed as a dv7.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Storm
 from
Chi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The differences between the HP Pavilion m7-1015dx (B4T70UA) and the HP Pavilion dv7-7030us (B4T68UA) are, the HP Pavilion m7-1015dx does not have Bluetooth connectivity standard but does have a Full-size island-style backlit keyboard with numeric keypad, compared to the HP Pavilion dv7-7030us does have Bluetooth connectivity standard and has a Full-size island-style keyboard with
numeric keypad with out backlit.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will i be able to get windows 8 for this laptop for free

since windows 8 is coming out soon and most laptops sold in sept will have upgrades to windows 8 for free
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Think you will be able to upgrade to windows 8 for $14.99
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ricknewark
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
New HP PC models purchased between June 2, 2012 and January 31, 2013 are eligible for a discounted Windows 8 upgrade priced at $14.99. For more information on this upgrade program, you can visit the following HP website:

http://www8.hp.com/us/en/ad/windows-8-offer/upgrade.html?jumpid=ex_r10104_us/en/any/psg/geolocation-mu-aw_chev/win8upgrade
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it come in any new colors :)?

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I think Natural Silver is all they have.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
NYC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I think silver is it. No mention of any other colors.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
NYC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This PC is available in Natural Silver, no other colors are offered for this PC.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this PC run Simcity 5 and Sims 3?

2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
easily...
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Storm
 from
Chicago
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This PC will play any games that have system requirements equal to or less than the specifications of this PC. I recommend contacting the software manufacturer of any games you intend to use in order to determine the system requirements for their software.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>