Looking for Answers about Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Experience media and games in stunning clarity with this Dell Inspiron I17RSE-1282BK laptop that features NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M graphics and a 17.3" high-definition widescreen display. The 1TB hard drive offers plenty of storage space for your files.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions
 | 
23 Answers
Overall Rating:
5 out of 5
5
out of
5
(4 Reviews)4

Questions & Answers for Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive

Question

Can it play games?

Hello , I saw this laptop and i was wondering can it play games like legend of Grimrock , Fallout 3 , minecraft , terraria ,and guild of wars 2? and if it can what would be the highest setting?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Jacksonville , Flordia
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

This is a great question! Since each game has its own requirements, I would post this question on the community forums of developer's site. I bet the users there have the most knowledge about the software's specifics and which specifications (processor, memory, screen resolution, etc..) are best for optimum performance.

That said, this Inspiron 17R Special Edition comes with the powerful Intel 3nd Gen processor and 8GB of fast 1600MHz DDR3 memory. The integrated video processor is the Intel HD 4000 controller but the real star of the laptop is the GeForce GT 650M discrete video card. I would say that the games you mentioned will play great because of the strength of the Intel processor and the 650M video. Naturally, changing the resolution and graphic settings will play a factor in how smooth the games playback. But again, with this combination, you are in the range of power like our XPS and Alienware laptops, which are designed for high-end gaming!

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

mSATA and 2nd HDD (SDD)

I have bought a Dell Inspiron 17R SE 7720, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, with Ubuntu installed. This model has a 2nd HDD bay, and does not have any mSATA. I want to put inside a 32GB mSATA, and an 128 GB SSD, in the 2nd bay, preserving at the same time the original 1TB HDD. After that, I want to install Windows7 on the new 128 GB SSD and make this SSD the system partiton.
My question is what settings (and where ) shoud I do, in order to make the 32 GB mSATA work as a cache using Intel Rapid Store (or something like that). This 32GB mSATA should not work as another normal logical drive partition, but only as a rapid cache as said before.
Thank you for your support.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
mihai
 from
Bucharest
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the Inspiron 17R Special Edition. I am not the most skilled when it comes to complex setups like restoring the SSD to be used for Intel's Smart Response Technology. I do have resources like Dell's Support page and Dell's Community Forums. Below is a link to some PDF walkthroughs, provided by Dell, that should walk you through the process. If you have any questions or get stuck, I recommend checking out the Dell Community Forums for advice or guidance:

http://dell.to/PaJI0o
and
http://dell.to/UcABmB

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Which ports are SATA III?

Good day, I was wondering which SATA ports on the 7720 are SATA III (6 Gbit/s)?? Is it only the two 2.5" ones or are all three including the mSATA?
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Dario
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

Thank you for your interest in the Inspiron 17R Special Edition. This laptop has a motherboard that is designed from Intel's HM77 chipset. The hard drive ports on the laptop, as well as the mSATA bus, are specified to be SATA III. Since Dell does not ship these laptops with SATA III drives from the factory, I cannot speak about the true speeds you will see if you install an aftermarket SATA III drive. The Dell Community Forums are a great place to talk with other users who own the same Dell computers.

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I re-install Windows 7. I don't have CD to install it

I want to separate drive to 500gb/500gb, but I just recognize that I don't have windows7 format dise.
How can install the windows 7 in this case?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mihara
 from
Thailand
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

Dell does not ship systems with Recovery Discs, as a part of our Green Initiative. All of the software that is needed for the system is stored in a small partition of the hard drive. This allows for easy restoring of the Windows 7 operating system. You can create your own recovery discs if you wish, but they are not necessary for system restore. This link gives more information on the process:

http://dell.to/oqpYdw

You can request one (1) free copy of system specific Recovery Discs from Dell. Fill out the form here:

http://dell.to/nlzVSm

Hope this helps,
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have gigabit (10/100/1000) ethernet?

If not, I would find this to be an odd omission on Dell's part, as gigabit ethernet has been standard for years now.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ramesh
 from
Queens, NY
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

As it turns out, this Inspiron 17R Special Edition only comes with Fast Ethernet, powered by the Realtek PCIe FE Family 10/100 Mbps controller. You can find laptops with Gigabit Ethernet ports on our XPS, Alienware and Latitude line of laptops. This Fast Ethernet can still easily handle the cable modem/DSL speeds that most users use to connect and browse on the Internet.

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Specifications?

Hello. So, according to Dell's website, they have no configuration of this laptop featuring an i7 processor with a 1TB sata HD and 1600x900 resolution. The setups they have are either i5 CPU with the mentioned Hard drive and resolution, or an i7 CPU with 1TB HD + 32GB SSD and 1920x1080 resolution. I would like to know which one is it, since I will be buying it soon online.
Thank you.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JMG
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

I first want to say that just because a laptop's specific configuration listed here is not also being sold on Dell's website does not mean that there is an error. All laptops/desktops have tons of possible configurations possible. That said, it is good to check out anything that seems odd, since sometimes there are errors in the listings here.

I believe that I mentioned this on other Q&A here before but here are some correct specs of this Inspiron 17R SE:

3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i7-3610QM processor
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 memory
17.3" FHD WLED Anti-Glare (1920x1080)
1.0TB 5400RPM SATA Hard Drive w/ 32GB SATA
Backlit Keyboard

A reviewer stated that his unit does not come with an SSD. The 32GB mSATA SSD card that does come with the system is used for Intel's Smart Response and Rapid Start technologies only and likely does not show up as a normal drive in the finder. This machine does have a 2nd 2.5" drive bay, where you can install your own SSD unit to boot off of or use it however you choose.

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this include the 32GB of mSATA?

I know this model on the Dell website has the 32GB, but since it is not listed a product feature here, I have my doubts, especially since at least I consider it to be a very important feature.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dan
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

This is a great question. Even though it is not listed on the description tab, I have looked at some data on my end and this laptop does indeed come with the 32GB SSD cache unit. This is the same as the Inspiron 17R Special Edition laptops being sold on Dell's website.

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What are the main differences between the 17RSE-1282BK & 17R 7720 ?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Edu
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

The 17RSE-1282BK is the Inspiron 17R Special Edition and carries the model number 7720. If you want to know the difference between it and the normal Inspiron 17R (5720), then here is a short list of the premium features you will find on the SE model:

Backlit Keyboard
Lid and Palmrest with Textured Finish (SWITCH lid capable)
Skull Candy Speakers
17.3" FHD (1920x1080) WLED
Support for dual-hard drives (+32GB SSD)
130Watt AC Adapter

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the screen glossy or anti-glare?

It says truelife.but does it have anti-glare
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
solidrmx
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Hello,

This screen is indeed a "glossy" screen and it does indeed feature the TrueLife technology. This new anti-reflective technology has sharper contrast (the difference between the deepest black and lightest white pixels), produces clearer and more colorful images, absorbs most external ambient light and has wider viewing angles than traditional notebook screens

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Inspiron 17SE 7720 - Is it possible to add after retail SSD and keep 1TB

Dell offers the 17SE without the 32GB SSD. If I buy a model without the 32GB SSD is it possible to add Bigger SSD afterwards, plus keep the 1TB hdd, and have it boot up as fast as the models that come from the factory?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DeLLEnthusiast
 from
Kentucky
on Dell - Inspiron 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would think so. the size of the SSD shouldn't matter as long as it is compatible with the laptop in the first place (i'm not sure what kind of software you would or wouldn't need).

This model has the 1TB HDD and does NOT have a SSD, but it does have a empty hard drive bay for you to install a SSD or a 2nd HDD.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Dell+-+17.3%26%2334%3B+Inspiron+Laptop+-+8GB+Memory+-+1TB+Hard+Drive/5700362.p?id=1218682372117&skuId=5700362
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RoyDangle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello,

I did some research on this particular model and this system (i17RSE-1282BK) does indeed come with the 32GB mSATA SSD. This is not listed in the description. This mSATA drive uses Intel's Rapid Start Technology and can only be used as a cache drive, not as a separate partition to store the OS on.

I recommend adding another 2.5" SSD to the system and use this drive as the primary drive and the 1TB drive as a secondary, storage drive. This will give you the maximum speed of not only the SSD as your primary drive but the mSATA SSD acting as your cache dump drive as well. The laptop should come with the bracket for the 2nd drive already installed (all you need are screws), but if it does not, you can order this part from Dell or other resellers (Dell Part #80DF5).

This is my best response to a tricky question but if you have any further questions or want to see what other people are saying about setups like this, check out the Dell Community Forums!

Hope this helps!
JonathanNforDell
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
YourDellTeam
 from
Round Rock, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>