Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black

View games, movies and more in stunning clarity with this Toshiba Satellite C855-S5206 laptop that features a 15.6" high-definition display with TruBrite technology. The 500GB hard drive offers plenty of space for your media collection.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions
 | 
28 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.864 out of 5
3.9
out of
5
(44 Reviews)44

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black

Question

Is toshiba a good laptop company?

I want to buy this laptop for my brother. He uses his laptop every single day for code writing, facebook games and more. I want to get a laptop which will last him a while, is this Toshiba laptop good?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
curious
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Well, I'll admit I'm biased, but yes, Toshiba is a very good laptop company. We've been in this business for 27 years, and have maintained a reputation for reliability.

For the uses you describe above, this model should be fine for your brother's needs.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The last 3 laptops my wife and I have owed have all been Toshiba. Never had an issue with any of them. We are looking to replace our current one which we've had for the last 5 years and are considering this one.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Toshiba is a good company, but if your brother is going to put a load on the machine, then you may need to look at the higher, rather then lower end of the scale. Toshiba, Lenovo, Samsung, Sony, etc. are all good companies, but each of them has produced products that were below their normal standards. You need to evaluate each configuration independently.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Orlando
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop support headphones?

Does it have the port to allow the use of headphones?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes it does... u can also use earbuds with 3.5 mm audio jack
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
VikB
 from
Gainesville,FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, and microphone. USB headsets are also available to use if you prefer. I use a tiny Bluetooth USB dongle to play wireless through a bluetooth receiver at home.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Munkey
 from
Fort Stewart
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes. You can plug your headphones or external speakers to this laptop.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the keys on these lap top raised besides being back lite?

Are the keys on these lap top raised besides being back lite?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The keys are raised similar to most laptops and are NOT backlit. The frets are still placed on the keyboard for proper hand placement for typing.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Munkey
 from
Fort Stewart
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The keys on the C855-S5206 are raised, but are not back-lit.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

WEBCAM operations and Software

On many new laptop I am beginning to see LEDs illuminate when the webcam is on. Does this model have an LED that turns on with the webcam and can that option be disabled through any of the settings?
 
Products related to my question
Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 640GB Hard Drive - Mercury Silver
4 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ThunderMG
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it has a LED next to cam but why would you like to turn it off... its really required so that to check if some malicious software is using the webcam. secretly .. I donno if it can be turned off
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
VikB
 from
Gainesville,FL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The webcam indicator LED cannot be disabled.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

does it have a HDMI out put so it can display on a big sceen TV

.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it does, bit I havent tried it yet
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
VIkB
 from
Gainesville,FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. The C855-S5206 does have an HDMI out.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are the chargers and their "plugs" interchangable with other Toshiba Laptops?

We have a Toshiba Satillite and we are looking purchasing another Satillite to use at my office. Will the same charger/cord/plug work with both?
Thanks,
Jim
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Jim
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, i have 2 toshibas they are about 2 years apart and i use the same charger for both
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
mannny
 from
chula vista
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Currently there are two different adapters, and in the past there have been others, so I can't answer without specifics.

If you go to the ToshibaDirect accessory finder (address below), you can key in the model number of your current Satellite, and the one you are considering buying to see which adapter each one uses. With luck, it'll be the same one.

If you'd like to re-post with model numbers, I'll check for you.

http://www.toshibadirect.com/td/b2c/findAcAdapters.jsp
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What does the word Satellite indicate in the description? This word does not appear in the newpaper print ad.

What does the word Satellite indicate in the description? This word does not appear in the newpaper print ad.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is simply the series of Toshiba brand. Usually the Model is described after it (C855-S5206)
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Munkey
 from
Fort Stewart
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Satellite is one line of Toshiba Laptops. Toshiba sells laptops in the Satellite, Qosmio, Tecra, and Portege lines.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How much is the Micro Soft word package if one buys the lap top?

How much is the Micro Soft word package if one buys the lap top?
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Place the laptop in your cart and during the checkout process you will have an option to add additional stuff like MS word and upgrades. They will tell you the price at that time. They usualy give a deal if you buy online when placing your laptop order. Hope this helps-
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
JayNH123
 from
Pelham, NH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The laptop comes with MS Office Starter installed. This gives you reduced functionality versions of Word and Excel that include advertising. There is no additional charge for this version.

For the full Office package, you can purchase the Product Key Card that will activate MS Office Home and Student 2010, or MS Office Professional 2010, or MS Office Home and Business 2010.

The Product Activation Keys start at $119.99 (see address below). Word 2010 alone is $139.99.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/searchpage.jsp?_dyncharset=ISO-8859-1&_dynSessConf=4955359332235714411&id=pcat17071&type=page&st=product+key+card&sc=Global&cp=1&nrp=15&sp=&qp=&list=n&iht=y&usc=All+Categories&ks=960
 
Products from my answer
Microsoft Word 2010 - Windows
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the battery life for this computer?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
When fully charge, it could last more tha 4-5 hours.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Battery Life Rating (measured by MobileMark™ Productivity 2007) with the Included 6 cell battery:
5 hours, 30 minutes
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the resolution of the built-in webcam?

In megapixels, please.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lebowitzit
 from
Chicago, IL
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Satin Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
0.3 megapixels
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>