Looking for Answers about HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter

This HP Pavilion g7-1340dx laptop features a 17.3" high-definition display for detailed images and a webcam for video chatting with friends and family. A DVD RW/CD-RW drive lets you create customized CDs and DVDs.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.Learn more about Intel processors. Information provided by Intel.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions
 | 
11 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
out of
5
(15 Reviews)15

Questions & Answers for HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter

Question

Why has this laptop been removed then put again?

i saw this exact same laptop yesterday for $429.99 and now the page been removed and put as this one for $449.99. link to exact same as yesterdays: http://reviews.bestbuy.com/3545/5044404/hp-17-3-pavilion-laptop-4gb-memory-500gb-hard-drive-pewter-reviews/reviews.htm
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BCoppia1221
 from
McLean, VA
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
To expand on the AMD vs. i3 processor answer:
AMD=1.5Gh processing speed
i3=2.3Gh processing speed
This is considerable difference for $20 and well worth it in my opinion.

On a side note, I would recommend expanding to the available 8Gb of RAM. You will be set for a long time with proper care.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
B66
 from
Atlanta, GA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
$429.99 has an AMD A-6 series processor, $449.99 has an Intel Core i3 processor.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
mrtaz2u
 from
Puyallup,WA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I think I can help you out. We bought the one for $430 and ended up getting this one. It is actually the same computer but coded different, this computer came off the assembly line later. They ran out at the warehouse of the $430 one(we were told). Not sure why they are charging more for it but luckily we got it for $430. It is the exact same thing, this was just manuf. later. It was a great deal at $430...I'm typing on mine now.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BostonGuy706
 from
17055
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

how is the sound?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hsdlizard
 from
ma.
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This PC has the SRS Premium Sound with Altec Lansing speakers.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Very good, though sometimes I have to put headphones to listen to certain videos on Youtube
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
midmichgan
 from
Mason, Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the battery life?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
About 3 hours with normal use. Your mileage will vary.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stellanwick
 from
Lake Forest
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is no estimate on an HP Notebook battery life, since this is dependent on battery type, flash or hard drive usage, environmental conditions, CPU usage, etc. You can carry a replacement battery pack fully charged for long trips.

Here are some suggestions to conserve battery power:

-Put the Notebook in Hibernate Mode or Shutdown whenever you want to save your current session, and will not be using the computer for several hours or more.
-If you are using a PC Card that has an external connection, such as a modem or network card, remove it when you are not using it. Some PC cards use significant power even while they are inactive
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the keyboard have a ten key?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC does have a 10-key on the right of the keyboard.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it overheat?

I am just wondering if it gets too hot? To the point where it overheats and possible shutdowns? I've had this issue with an older gateway laptop and my old desktop would occasionally do it as well which makes me very paranoid about it

Thanks
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
No this particular model did not overheat for me, I keep mine running constantly and let it go into sleep mode. I only had this for a week, so maybe not enough time to overheat. The last laptop I had was an HP which did overheat. They, HP, are sometimes known for their weak chipsets on the system board. Original HP laptop is barely 2 years old. I expect computer hardware to last much longer than 2 years. Consider Samsung or Toshiba. Be care with Toshiba, it won't run every type of Monitor.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Josiemara
 from
Raleigh, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can its HDMI output diplay full screen onto a HDTV?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Wilson
 from
US
on HP - Pavilion 17.3" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Pewter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stellanwick
 from
Lake Forest
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1