Looking for Answers about Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite

Enjoy movies, games and more on this Asus K55A-BI5093B laptop's high-definition widescreen LED-backlit display. A built-in webcam enables you to video chat with friends and family.Windows 7 Home Premium installed Learn more.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions
 | 
13 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
out of
5
(10 Reviews)10

Questions & Answers for Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite

Question

What color is Matte Light Covelite?

Thank you
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RickH
 from
Kennova WV
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
It is like a light grey.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I am considering buying Asus K55a-B15093B for the first time.

How reliable are these Laptops and how would you rate your tech support compared to Fujitsu, Dell or HP?

Thanks for answering.

MA
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MA
 from
Dallas, Texas, USA
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you want a cheap gen 3 i5 laptop its hard to beat. If you are a gamer you may want one with a dedicated graphics card but this one with the 8gb max memory has been flawless. I upgraded to windows 8 in october and asus finally released their windows 8 driver updates so you can run the newest os without any worries.

you can read my review and other reviews on the laptops page
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cbetsinger
 from
Ewa Beach, Hi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
These computers are very reliable. Our tech support is pretty good. We have a support line 24/7.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

1600 MHz

for a different model (no longer available) -- K55E-BBR19.

can it take DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600MHz) memory? i know it comes with PC3-10600 (1333MHz), but i have a K55A and am wondering if i can buy an 8Gb kit and share it with my friend.

i'm asking here, because even though my friend has owned her BBR19 for less than a year, i can't find any support page for it on the ASUS website. (there is no K55E listed at all.)

which, for others considering ASUS, you might want to consider. i'd read comments that ASUS support was really awful before i both recommended and then bought an ASUS. but now i see why people say that. the website is not only poorly designed, but you simply CANNOT find info for products that are quite new.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
colbey
 from
wisconsin
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
thank you. i guess i'd read that somewhere. if i DID mix the speeds, from what i understand, it would still work, but only the lower speed would be achieved. so, basically, the 1600MHz stick would function as it's partner, at 1333MHz. ?

also, i did send ASUS an email asking where the support page for the K55E models had gone. (i'd JUST been out there a few days before, getting the updates for my friend. she's a tech-phobe, so i'm trying to help her with her new laptop.)

i got a reply very quickly. in which the person said she/he couldn't help me locate the page until i provided the S/N for the K55E. what the freakin' difference does THAT make?? i asked my friend to send it to me, but seriously, why does your company need that in order to help someone locate a support page that OUGHT to be on your site???
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
colbey
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can however do not mix the two speeds together. It's best to keep the speeds the same. For example 1600Mhz with 1600Mhz or 1333MHz with 1333MHz.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how long is the battery life

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
with the laptop set for:

Performance... i get about 2-3 hours

Battery Saver... i get about 6.5 hours with the screen turned way down
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cbetsinger
 from
Ewa Beach, Hi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
5 hours
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What's the name of the wireless chipset used? And do you know if it's compatible in a gnu/linux environment?

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
atheros

unsure of the second part of you question... i only use it for home use which is all windows.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cbetsinger
 from
Ewa Beach, Hi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Does not say so I am not sure. Could be an Intel or Azurewave. Should be compatible as I see on ubuntu forums.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How many slots for ram are there for this laptop?

I know the max capacity is 8gb, but does that mean 1 or 2 sticks.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
2 slots max 4GB sodimm ram per slot
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
2 sticks DDR 1600 MHz SDRAM
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the keyboard illuminate?

I'm looking for a laptop where the keyboard illuminates, since I use it mostly in dark areas. Kind of like the MacBooks.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Matte Light Covellite
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No- it doesn't.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
ImaSmartshopper72
 from
Homosassa, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately this model does not have backlit keyboard however our zenbook prime does have backlit keyboard.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1