Looking for Answers about Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black

Connect your MHL-enabled mobile phone or tablet to an HDTV, monitor or AVR with an HDMI input with this Rocketfish™ RF-G1171 adapter, which lets you stream up to 1080p video, plus audio in up to 7.1-channel surround sound.
Customer Questions & Answers:
127 Questions
 | 
248 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.67 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(823 Reviews)823

Questions & Answers for Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black

Question

I have a Samsung Galaxy Note 3

I followed the directions exactly and the adapter is still not working. My phone is charging and the movie is playing on the phone but the television screen is black. Yes, it's set on the right hdmi input and I tried turning everything off and back on to reset. This is frustrating because when I bought this adapter at bestbuy, most of the packages were taped due to being returned. Not a good sign. Now, on this site for almost every reviewer that says it works there's two more that say it doesn't. Maybe it's my televisions, Vizios and Philips. I'll contact the companies about compatibility issues and if no solution then I guess there will be one more taped up box at bestbuy.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
walkera1122
 from
Philadelphia Pa
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Make sure that you are using the Samsung adapter that is included in this kit.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it works... at least it will for a month and then it will all of a sudden stop working! I have att galaxy note3.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
There are a lot of factors that make you process not working. Anyway I would like you to double check about compatible device , fit to your phone or not . Second , this device may broke from factory. Then you just make sure you put HDMI input into TV and try to use remote control to switch input into DHMI mode.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
After making sure it is on the right hdmi channel (I have 3) and you still can't see movie playing on fone or tv, let best buy try it on their tv's. You may have gown a faulty one. Or better yet, see if that device is compatible with the galaxy note. Best Buy asked me to specify my fone type.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mimi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Samsung has its own MHL technology which is different from the adapter you bought. you need a universal MHL adapter or just use imedia share app on your phone and it will stream wirelessly to a smart TV
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
flitty
 from
long beach ny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this compatible with the samsung galaxy note 2?

3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Does not work with select Samsung 11-pin mobile devices, such as the Galaxy Note 2 models.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have bought this device from BestBuy and tried it on three devices: Samsung Galaxy Note 2, Samsung Galaxy Nexus and a Nexus 7 tablet. I don't know which devices are working with this adapter, but the ones I have don't. I'm pretty sure you can put the S3 on the list too.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I am not 100% sure however I believe that the Note 2 and GS3 have the same pin outs. and the only way I got it to work is by buying the 5 to 11 pin adapter. it takes the 11 pins that the s3 and note2 both most likely have and makes it 5 pin and then I got it to work on my s3 like a charm sound and all! Give it a try. on amazon .com it is only like $4 or so.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
XNeo12
 from
Flint
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

is this compatible with galaxy s3

I purchased this based on the Audio Video Sales guys at the new Best Buy in Bloomington Mn Sunday Dec 2 2012 telling me it would work. I asked specifically if it would work with the new pin arrangement and they assured me it would.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No this is not compatible with the Samsung Galaxy S3. Does not work with select Samsung 11-pin mobile devices, such as Galaxy S3 and S4 mobile phones and Galaxy Note 2 models.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Looks like the S3 pinout is designed differently than the standard.
So you have to get the MHL adapter from Samsung specifically for the S3.

Standard MHL adapters apparently won't work with the S3. I need to look
At Returning my rocketfish or just give it to a friend.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I have the galaxy S3 and I can't get it to work either. I think you have to use the special adapter provided by Samsung.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

I have a Samsung Galaxy 2 phone. Will it work with this phone?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Dennis
 from
Canada
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Does not work with select Samsung 11-pin mobile devices, such as Galaxy S3 and S4 mobile phones and Galaxy Note 2 models.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it will
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LeRoy5
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
yes this should be compatible
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
JustinRF
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why won't this MHL adapter work with my GS4? Do I need a specific Samsung adapter? Does my TV have to be MHL ready as well?

3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Does not work with select Samsung 11-pin mobile devices, such as Galaxy S3 and S4 mobile phones and Galaxy Note 2 models.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You need a 11 pin mhl for the gs4
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LeRoy5
 from
Illinois
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This will not work with the Galaxy S4 because of a different PIN arrangement starting with the S3. You can buy an adapter from Samsung to use with this unit.

The TV does not have to be MHL Compatible, as it only needs to have an HDMI input.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
vksolanki
 from
Hagerstown, MD
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is rocketfish HML HDTV adaptor compatible with LG4 phone

Is rocketfish MHL HDTV adaptor compatible with LG4 Phone
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Couldn't get this to work on my LG G4. Returned to store.
No setting in phone to maybe somehow turn on MHL out,
The G4 is supposed to be MHL out compatible.
I seen somewhere a Slimport adapter is required to do this....but I believe its the same thing .Non or Oui
It charged my phone though.
If anyone gets theirs to work please post a how to....
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BarneyB
 from
WNY Area
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I'm not sure but the employee at best buy says it works best with Samsung devices
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Michael
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I'm not seeing it listed as compatible, but to be certain of that, I would recommend asking LG.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I can not get this to work with my Galaxy S 3. Is this a faulty adapter?

I recently bought this cable hoping it would work for my phone. Sadly it did not. I see there are many positive reviews for this working with my phone model. Shouldn't mine also be compatible and work as flawlessly? Would this be a case of a bad adapter?
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dan
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is compatible with that phone and all other devices listed on the specifications. Just make sure that your TV has an HDMI port that specifically is an MHL port. Most smart TVs will have that type of port. You can easily find that information on the TV or on the TV manual.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jessica011
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I had to return and get a new one for my galaxy s4 because the samsung adaptor that comes with it was loose and bent so if your using the adaptor and it doesn't work you might have that problem after that it worked great i hope you figure it out sorry if that's not it also i noticed a change when i used a new charging cable to plug from mhl into the wall was using an older lg cable and my phone would lose battery and turn off when i used a ten dollar belkin cable i bought for my s4 it started charged and screen mirrored everything so just a suggestion i just grabbed a old charger i had and pins inside were messed up so just thought id add that in again hope u get it fixed
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stacey79
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I had the same problem with my wives S4. I didn't realize there was an additional 11-pin adapter in the package that is needed for some of the older Samsung phones. Once I added the extra adapter, her phone connected just fine.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dlfmcc
 from
Portland, OR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this work with Samsung Galaxy Note 3?

2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes but you must use the Samsung adapter that is included in this kit.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Believe so
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nickname34567890987654321
 from
midwest
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
According to http://meetmhl.com/MHLEnabledProducts.aspx, the Samsung Galaxy Note 3 should be compatible with the RF-G1171 MHL Adapter.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this work with IPad II?

Will this work with IPad II & HDMI cable?
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Simple answer is NO - Apple currently does not support MHL.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No only works on galaxy
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
kells
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This adapter utilizes a micro USB to connect to the device, which will not connect to any Apple device.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work with an htc inspire? bought the cable and can not get to connect on tv.

HTC Inspire android 2.3.3, Samsung 780p 32in, rocket fish mhl adapter. connected everything played video, rebooted phone, nothing seems to get the phone to connect to the tv.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tek
on Rocketfish™ - MHL Phone to HDTV Adapter - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It should work, however; It does not work with select Samsung 11-pin mobile devices
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RocketfishCustomerSupport
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You could try chaning the input on your television to the corresponding HDMI channel. If you've already done this, or this didn't work for you, you can contact the manufacturer for more information here: http://bit.ly/11NJmYt
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>