Looking for Answers about Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver

Enhance your home entertainment with this Sony STRDN1030 A/V receiver, which features 5 HDMI inputs and a USB port for versatile connectivity. Includes HDMI 3D pass-through technology for compatibility with 3D TVs, Blu-ray players and gaming consoles.Smart AudioGet a world of instant entertainment with this smart audio product. Connect to the Internet and stream music services. Learn more about smart products.Pandora
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions
 | 
14 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.118 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(51 Reviews)51

Questions & Answers for Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver

Question

Will 1030 stream video from internet

Can I stream NetFlix straight from the internet thru the 1030 or do i need another device to feed the video to the AV unit, such as Apple TV? TNX.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
So the available apps you can use now, usually they are temporary, more most likely will be added to work with through the receiver in the future as long as you keep it connected to the internet so it can update.. But yes you could just hook up a hdmi source (smart bluray player and stream through that. Or if your TV is smart and most likely it should have ARC through HDMI 1 port, the reciever has ARC as well, you could use your TV as the source now and audio will pass back through the receiver to play on your speakers.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
willbert
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony STRDN1030 Receiver is not compatible to access online video services or stream video contents from Home Network using DLNA. This Receiver is compatible to access Online Music services and access Music files from Computer wireless using DLNA. Other two functionalities of the Network connectivity is usage of Remote Media application and Party Streaming.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

HD Radio Tuner

I would like to know why Sony hasn't included an HD Radio tuner in their A/V Receivers. I even looked at their ES series and not one has an HD Tuner. Why is that? Their competitors have, why not Sony?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_Inspector_069
 from
Belleville, IL
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Sony does not provide HD Tuners in the A/V Receivers. It is provided only in Mobile Audio devices.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

7.2 = 2 powered subwoofers at the same time?

I am looking to buy this A/V receiver, along with all new speakers, and projector, screen, you get the idea. But I would like to know if I can hook up two separate stand alone powered subwoofers for the theater room, or is it Zone 1 gets 1 and zone 2 gets 1. Let me know please!

Looking at Dayton Audio D1500 1000 Watt 15" powered Subs.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Taylor
 from
NW Iowa
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Two Subwoofers cannot be used to output the sound from the Main Zone of the Sony STRDN1030 Receiver. In addition to the main listening room, you can also enjoy audio playback from a different source in another room (Zone 2) of your home using the receiver's Zone 2 Line Output. By using the Zone 2 line-level outputs on the Sony STR-DN1030, you can connect an external receiver or integrated amplifier, allowing you to listen to 5.1ch surround in the main room and 2ch stereo playback of a different audio source in another room of your home. The volume of the secondary zone is controlled by your Zone 2's integrated amplifier. Only Tuner and Analog input sources are processed through Zone 2. You cannot select different AM/FM radio stations for your main room and Zone 2.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this receiver wi-fi ready or wi-fi built in?

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gotta know
 from
Holland MI
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
The WiFi is built in. If you notice it is the only one with a little antenna sticking up on the back.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
WiFi is built in. It's one of the only that I've seen that has wifi built in without having to purchase a USB dongle to stream content from your computer. I've had the unit for a few weeks now, and I'm very satisfied with it.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ttman
 from
Long Island, NY
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Wifi is built in. It is the only receiver out there that has built in wifi that I know.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ram 94
 from
VA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The Sony STRDN1030 3D Pass-Through A/V Home Theater Receiver has Built-in WiFi.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

GUI

There has been a lot of reviews in Amazon that the GUI is very slow to respond and switching between Inputs are very slow as well. Does it still exists? Does Sony release any updates to fix those issues?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
prven
 from
WA
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
1st-Switching between inputs is not slow at all, the receiver is very responsive.

2nd-The GUI is a bit slow to load, and it is very basic looking. However, it is very easy to use and once you have everything set-up you hardly ever have to open it. I do not think that it is slow once you open it, just the initial switch to the GUI is slow.

Overall I love the receiver and am very happy with my purchase.
- I have it connected to a 60" Sharp LED TV, Sharp Blu-Ray player, and Polk Audio Speakers. Everything is new except the TV, I have had it for about 1.5 years.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Depending on the TV, the GUI menu for the Sony STRDN1030 Receiver may take some time to appear on the TV screen. However, there are no known issues listed on the Sony site regarding the slow response for the GUI and during switching Inputs. We cannot confirm the genuineness of the information listed in forums. News regarding any issue can be checked at the following link.

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=STRDN1030&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=alerts#/alertsTab

You can check periodically in the eSupport website for the updates available.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

will this unit reboot if I listen to music too loud for a prolonged period of time? Or, does it have a replaceable fuse?

I have had 2 sony av recievers in the last 3 years & managed to blow them up from listening to music too loud. Love Sony, but getting really tired of buying new av's. Everything I own is Sony. I now have a Yamaha that will do the same thing, but "WILL" reboot & that's when I know to turn it down. Sony shuts down, it's done! Please advise!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I mainly watch movies, but I watch them very loud and I have not had the unit reboot on me.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There should be no issues if the Sony STRDN1030 Receiver is used to listen to music with high Volume for a long time. However, if there is an issue, it would not reboot; it will turn OFF. In some cases, the Protect Message might be displayed.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How does the multi-room capability work?

Is the receiver built in multi source or is it just a/b switchable using the same source?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
New Home
 from
Fayetteville, NC
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You must have a second amp to use the zone 2 functionality. Otherwise, you can do a/b switchable from the same source.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrDCTaylor
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Sony STRDN1030 Receiver has the Zone 2 feature which can be used to listen to an Analog source in another room. In addition to the main listening room, you can also enjoy audio playback from a different source in another room (Zone 2) of your home using the receiver's Zone 2 Line Output. By using the Zone 2 line-level outputs on the Sony STR-DN1030, you can connect an external receiver or integrated amplifier, allowing you to listen to 5.1ch surround in the main room and 2ch stereo playback of a different audio source in another room of your home. The volume of the secondary zone is controlled by your Zone 2's integrated amplifier.

If you are referring to play the same source in another device also, then that device must have the Party Streaming feature. Audio contents currently being played back on this Sony Receiver can be also played back on all devices corresponding to the PARTY STREAMING function on your home network at the same time. While PARTY streaming, a device called a “PARTY host” starts a PARTY and streams music, and a device called a “PARTY guest” joins a PARTY and receives music from the “PARTY host”.

Refer to Page #s 90 and 74 respectively in the Manual provided below to view the steps regarding the Zone 2 and the Party Streaming features.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/STRDN1030.pdf
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

old SSI?

for clearance and open box items, what does old SSI mean?
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
adero87
 from
naperville, il
on Sony - 1015W 7.2-Ch. Wi-Fi Network A/V Home Theater Receiver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
1 of 1