Looking for Answers about Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Built-in Wi-Fi amplifiers and dual 2.4GHz and 5.0GHz frequencies enable this Asus RT-N66R wireless-N router to achieve wide coverage while delivering ultrafast data transfer rates up to 450 Mbps, ensuring reliable Web connectivity.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions
 | 
75 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.62 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch

Question

Are rt-n66r and rt-n66u antennas interchangable?

I use this router and am looking for bigger antennas. the only ones i've seen on ebay that support dual band(2.4,5ghz) say that they are for rt-n66u. Can i use these or do i have specifically look for ones that are for rt-n66r?
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
The antennas are the same for both of these routers
3 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Edge1
 from
Bethlehem, Pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the routers are the same "r" denotes retail.
3 weeks, 3 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Travis
 from
KY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, the antennas for the RT-N66R and RT-N66U are interchangeable.
3 weeks, 4 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

This is our current router. What is the best wi-fi booster (under $80.00) that's compatible for the basement?

I need a wi-fi booster for the basement. What one should I get with this router (under $80.00)
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends on the distance from your router to your basement and the construction of the building (rebar etc) but the signal strength of this router can be turned way up by changing a user setting, so you may not need to boost the signal with an additional device or repeater.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Imtahotep
 from
Honolulu
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The $80 limit is a challenge. Ideally you'd get a second Asus RT-AC68U and configure it as a range extended, but that is $130.

If you can find them, Asus has a $40 EA-N66R range extender. But I haven't seen one for awhile. This should not be confused with the USB-N66 wireless adapter that looks identical to the EA-N66R which, I believe can be used as a wireless extender, but requires to be plugged into a PC.

Another option is the Netgear WN3000RP range extender. By going with a different brand, you *can* lose some of the proprietary features, but the core standard (802.11n) is still there.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
RSMaxwell
 from
CDA, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can try a powerline adapter: http://www.cnet.com/topics/networking/best-networking-devices/power-line-adapters/
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have an all in one IMAC with no CD drive. Do I need a CD drive to set up this product?

3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jay
 from
Massapequa, NY
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
No CD drive is required to setup the router. Router updates are quickly downloaded via the internet. I know what you mean, but the term 'all-in-one' without an optical drive is an oxymoron. If you have a USB port in your 'all-in-one' there is at least the possibility of connecting an optical or thumb drive if needed for other purposes.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Imtahotep
 from
Honolulu
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No cd-drive needed, all setup can be done via the router setup URL address. It's very easy to setup a basic or advanced connection.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Blueridgemountaindew
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I also have an all Mac network, with a Canon wireless printer and an iPhone 4S thrown in. I used the web page configuration interface to set up the ASUS RT-N66R and had no problems. Once you've connected your Mac to the router with a network cable, just enter http://192.168.1.1 in any browser (I used Firefox), type in admin for username and password, and you're on the first config page for the router.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
BlacknWhite
 from
Yankee Hill, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No; just ensure that you have a web browser to access the router's user interface. Setup the hardware (modem, router) and ensure that the cables are properly connected. You may have to connect your computer hardwired to setup the router the first time and then enter 192.168.1.1 on the web browser address bar. Please follow the on-screen wizard setup as this will guide you in setting up your network properly.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Nope. Use Safari or Chrome then type the router's gateway. You should be able to configure your router via Safari or Chrome. This is usually 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How to get a hold of tech support?

When your router doesn't work, HOW do you get tech support to PICK up their phone??? I've left messages & no one ever calls back. I've been on hold now for 1 hr & 25 min. AND still counting. :(
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would recommend that you do your due diligence on the issue you are having. Me personally I always research myself because tech support you call sometimes is located overseas, they have no CLUE what you are talking about, etc. I can go all night long on this one. What I do recommend is that instead of waiting on hold with tech support, simply search via search engine (G) and simply read forums. Join a popular one and ask people there: nothing better is finding someone who had EXACTLY the same issue and shared their repair/fix process.
3 weeks, 1 day ago
by
Posted by: 
Aleksandar
 from
Gurnee
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Don't know how to make them answer the phone: be more specific about your need for technical support. Specifically what technical support questions do you have?
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Imtahotep
 from
Honolulu
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I put the router back in the box and take it to Best Buy for a free replacement under the extended warranty I purchased with the router.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
BlacknWhite
 from
Yankee Hill, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Please try 1-905-370-2787
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
It sucks that the only company that gives "Apple like" support for consumer routers is Medialink. You get excellent support if you buy an enterprise class networking gear from Aruba networks, cisco, etc though. Use a search engine which should probably resolve your issue or else exchange for another product.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
If you've encountered difficulties reaching Asus' tech support team by phone, then you may wish to consider contacting your Internet Service Provider (ISP) for assistance. Many ISPs offer free troubleshooting support and networking assistance to subscribers, as well as online help guides. You can also contact us at 1-800-GEEK-SQUAD (1-800-433-5778) to schedule an in-home service appointment.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How powerfull is Asus Dual Band N Model RT-N66R in MW, output Watts?

5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Marcelo
 from
Brazil
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
The administrative setting to alter the signal strength can be found in the Wireless page | Professional tab and indicates the maximum output to be 200 milli-watts which is more than sufficient in most residential areas unless you have other competitive RFI sources nearby. Like a high wattage radio (Police, ambulance, Firestation) or television transmitter.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Imtahotep
 from
Honolulu
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Maximum output on each frequency band is shown as 200 miliwatts. I have mine set to 180mw, and get great coverage.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeinPrattville
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Please visit: http://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RTN66R/#specifications
Please contact your ISP in your area for internet speed availability.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No one knows for the default firmware but you can put a custom firmware such as Tomato to adjust the TX power. FCC restricts the level to 1000 mW maximum.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can I use Network Magic wireless with the Asus RT-N66R?

7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rondanell53
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should be able to, as Cisco Network Magic is a software program that runs on your computer and not your router. However, network magic is known to not be compatible with some routers (even some cisco routers). The only way to find out for sure is to install it and try it out.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Broderick
 from
Provo, UT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Network Magic is specifically designed for another name brand router and it only supports particular router models. With RT-N66R, you don't really need this application as this router already has file sharing capabilities through the use of AiDisk.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can someone help me setup AiCloud for use outside my home network?

Hi,
I am pretty happy with my Rt-N66R router, but I've had a TON of issues getting my AiCloud setup for use outside my network. I have been unable to share links with friends and family, and have not been able to use the AiCloud app for Android successfully when on a different network. When I try to set up an asuscomm.com account through the router UI, I keep receiving an "IP Address not available" response, and that's as far as I have been able to go (step 2). Can anyone help? What am I missing, forgetting, etc?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tjbain
 from
Bellingham, WA
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Update your firmware. Asus has addressed such issues in their latest firmware. You should have this version - 3.0.0.4.374_720
Good luck.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SeltzrHP
 from
Nashua, NH
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Please take a look at the FAQ for AiCloud - http://event.asus.com/2012/nw/aicloud/faq.html
If that doesn't help, you can look at the manual.

You should be able to set up an automatic asuscomm.com DNS when you set up AiCloud on your mobile device. You can then check it in the UI.

If you continue to have problems please contact me at cl-jeremy@asus.com so that I can provide assistance.

Regards,
Jeremy
ASUS Customer Loyalty
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

windows 7

does the package have a "compatible wjth windows 7" logo on it?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ed
 from
nj
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
The router is accessed by using Internet Explorer, Safari, or Chrome. Unless you're still using Windows 95 or 98, I don't think you're going to have a problem using it without the logo.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
NothingWorks
 from
Savannah, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's compatible with Windows 7 or any operating system with a standard Web Browser. The Administrator User Interface is web based and easy to use.

Not sure about the Logo.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jjnorc
 from
So. NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The box indicates Win8 and Mac compatibility. Since the router is Win8 compatible, it’s very likely it’ll work with Win7. I have Win7 and Win8 on my home network and this router works flawlessly with both.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DLS64
 from
Puyallup, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The package does.
I can confirm this works just fine with Win7 and Win8.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BC00
 from
Boston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No. However, I am using Windows 7 on two different computers and have had no issues.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GarrettD
 from
Gresham, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
it is compatible, not only with windows 7 but with windows 8 also.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
mn81
 from
Southern NH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
It is compatible with all operating systems
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Freddythebreeze
 from
Des Moines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this Have AiCloud with online file sharing?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Zachgl
 from
Omaha
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes; this model is compatible with ASUS AiCloud.
Please visit: http://event.asus.com/2012/nw/aicloud/dl.html
for more information.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes a very good one - make sure to read all of the documentation that comes with the router
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Freddythebreeze
 from
Des Moines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, this does have built-in AiCloud, along with AiDisk and AiPrint. It has two USB 2.0 ports on the back of the unit. Please be advised, there are a few requirements that you may or may not be able to fulfill in order to use AiCloud outside of your network. I, personally, have not been able to access my drive from outside of my home using the AiCloud app (or any method, really).

I have Xfinity/Comcast Blast Plus (50Mbps) internet service.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tjbain
 from
Bellingham, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I purchase larger or better antennas to enhance performance of my new Asus N66R ?

1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pjpartri
 from
NY
on Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I think you can. I am pretty sure the antennas come off.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bertinator
 from
Austin, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Just checked Asus website...don't see any alternative antennas offered.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DLS64
 from
Puyallup, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The antennas are removable. I saw a few different options on ebay, including a Yagi-style.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GarrettD
 from
Gresham, OR
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You do not need extended antennas the ones included are extremly efficent - placement of the router is key. like any other device that broadcasts a radio signal it will be effected by 3 major factors 1* Elevation- (place in the highest centralized location you can) 2* Line of sight - (Make sure there is not a large metal object ie: furnace ,refridgerator, large metal cabinet, close to the location of the router that would bloct the signal). and 3* direct interferance-ie: objects above the router - like metal duct work in ceiling above router, placing it too close to a device that creates a magnetic fields ie: large electronic motors, other electronise that have large power supplies, placement of router to heat emmission form other electronics
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Freddythebreeze
 from
Des Moines
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
You can, but I wouldn't coax isn't good at blocking microwaves what cause interference. Instead purchase a range extender, there is one that matches this router, and it is dual band.

You can also change the transmit power in the stock firmware, but be careful doing that, as you can wear down your router faster that way.
 
Products from my answer
Asus - Dual-Band Wireless-N Range Extender
3.8 out of 5(184)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMidnight273
 from
Ozark,Al
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, you can swap out the antennas if you would like. Please make sure that if you use the 5ghz band, the antennas need to support it as well. If it doesn't specify, it may only support 2.4ghz and you will only get that signal from the router.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>