Looking for Answers about Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black

Asus N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router: Set up your network connection quickly and easily, and then rely on it for HD video streaming, multiplayer gaming, USB hard drive file sharing and more. Built-in Wi-Fi amplifiers allow the signal to reach virtually every area of your home, even in larger, multilevel buildings.
Customer Questions & Answers:
30 Questions
 | 
161 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.607 out of 5
4.6
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black

Question

Does ASUS customer service assist if there's a setup problem?

I'm a novice. If I get stuck in the middle of setting up the RT-N66U. will ASUS give me some telephone assistance?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, they will, but be prepared for a long wait time & speaking with someone in the Philippines. I needed assistance with my setup & I was on hold for 30 minutes before getting a person, & then it took another 30 minutes to get it working. I did call on a Sunday morning, so maybe they only had a few "techs" on at that time.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JenB
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
yes they do, but its easy to set up
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
crome722
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
they did try to assist me, but my problem was very specific.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dragonbornsf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes they can. we had a small issue with the set up and had to make a phone call also. we did not have to wait long for customer service and they were able to walk us through it.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mel64
 from
Auburn, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
look on the box you shouldnt need help its easy to set up
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maskedm007
 from
portland oregon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Tech support should be available over the phone. They can walk you through step by step on setup.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bsdragon69
 from
arnold, md
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 7
ASUS customer service will assist you with any issues that are router related, they will help you with any issues related to configuring your computer. That being said the setup of this router is pretty straight forward, I doubt you'll have any issues.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i use two routers, this and a Verizon router?

I want to use a ethernet cable to connect the two so i can have one closer to my end of the house.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes you can use 2 router. what you can not use is 2 modems
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pepe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes,I do
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Simp
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can connect 2 routers with the cross-over cable ( it is different from the ones we use to connect to network plug, looks however like the same one). There is no need although to connect 2 routers if you just want to extend your network. You can connect a switch to your Verizon router (or a hub - a switch is better) or if there is no wire - wireless network repeater or access point. Usually Asus routers are 4 in 1, one of the roles is access point. Hope this helps.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Vladimir
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Absolutely. However, when you get into Asus routers, you'll find the range is fantastic, you may not need to have both on. It will auto configure, you can even easily set it up as a range extender or an access point, in just a few clicks, that way you won't have to have two networks, it'll be the same Name and Network Key and if you are using a wireless/cordless device, you can transfer from one router to the other (whichever has the strongest signal) quite seamlessly in most cases.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jaredofmusic
 from
Michigan
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, you have to set them at two different channels such as 1 and 4 for example so they don't overlap
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bmrboy23
 from
Phila,Pa.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No, you can't connect two routers for better range, although you could get a range extender. A router is like a fridge, if you want two fridges in your house to increase your capacity great but you can't hook them together across the house to get access to the same food.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bonermckenzie
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes, each router uses two networks -
1) The network for incoming Internet
2) The network for devices to access the router with (i.e. WiFi)

When you cable two routers together, they will each have their unique pair of networks. The outgoing network on the first router will be the incoming network on the second router.

I use two routers myself, so have two different WiFi networks in my house.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Hondo
 from
Durham, NC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this router work with no modem?

We have fiber optic from cnext and our current setup is a wireless g router plugged straight into an ethernet coming out of the wall. upon setting up the router i was asked to reset the modem but i have nothing here to reset.. any ideas on this?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Young G
 from
Dallas
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, you need a modem with this router.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
installtech
 from
durham, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pcFred
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You have to have a switch or something (probably in a closet or the garage). Look for it, as that is where the wall outlets get their signal.

If you locate it, there should be a power switch. If not, you can try just plugging it into the wall but you may not get top performance....good luck
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
N66RGreatSpeed
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
you have a modem just plug it into what you have for internet and you have a firewall you can control
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
eddiej716
 from
Houston TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, you can use this router with or without the modem.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chris
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Find out where the source of the "ethernet jack coming out of the wall" is, that is, find the other end of that conection. Its likely plugged into a modem somewhere, maybe basement service panel. One things for sure, that wall connection comes from somwhere...
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
toobored
 from
danbury ct
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
There is no router built in and while I don't know your specific setup I would suspect you need a modem and likely have a router/modem combo unit presently.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
btdpi
 from
Charlotte, NC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

windows 7

does the package have a "compatible wjth windows 7" logo on it?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ed
 from
nj
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
The router is accessed by using Internet Explorer, Safari, or Chrome. Unless you're still using Windows 95 or 98, I don't think you're going to have a problem using it without the logo.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NothingWorks
 from
Savannah, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It's compatible with Windows 7 or any operating system with a standard Web Browser. The Administrator User Interface is web based and easy to use.

Not sure about the Logo.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jjnorc
 from
So. NJ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The box indicates Win8 and Mac compatibility. Since the router is Win8 compatible, it’s very likely it’ll work with Win7. I have Win7 and Win8 on my home network and this router works flawlessly with both.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DLS64
 from
Puyallup, WA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The package does.
I can confirm this works just fine with Win7 and Win8.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BC00
 from
Boston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No. However, I am using Windows 7 on two different computers and have had no issues.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GarrettD
 from
Gresham, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
it is compatible, not only with windows 7 but with windows 8 also.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mn81
 from
Southern NH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
It is compatible with all operating systems
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Freddythebreeze
 from
Des Moines
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will my HP wireless printer connect easily to this router?

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bev
 from
Maine
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes this router is very easy to use and great for around the house applications
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, I have an HP wireless printer and setup was a snap.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
richbraz
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It should.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Discriminatingbuyer
 from
Portland, Oregon
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes it should connect right up.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BIGCommish
 from
Auburn, AL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
If you can set up this wireless router then it's super easy to hook up your printer.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chefjay
 from
West Fargo, ND
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes it will connect easily. Just make sure you turn your wifi setting on the printer, search for wifi default name under your printer settings or whatever you may have named it, put in password then should be good to go.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bmrboy23
 from
Phila,Pa.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes, this product is compatible.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Should I be downloading firmware updates to my ASUS N66R router, bought it in Jan. 2015.

ASUS N66R firmware updates
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Debbie
 from
Norfolk, VA 23513
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes! They are constantly patching and adding features!
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
Posted by: 
PragmaticBuyer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
if the router is stable and you do not need and of the fixes that the new firmware has to offer, I would not.
It also depends if there is a security fix.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gary
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
always download the firmware updates, they usually stabilize your device improves performance as well
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rdubs
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
As a rule, firmware updates are unnecessary unless 1) the firmware fixes features, functionality, or performance, 2) a feature is added by the new firmware that you would like to use, or 3) the firmware fixes security flaws that should be corrected. That being said, you should be ok to update the firmware if you are careful to let the firmware finish without losing power to the router. It is good to update the firmware periodically to fix security issues and improve performance if there are any, but it is unnecessary to do it often, unless you have one of the three reasons mentioned above for updating it, or if there is another specific reason for updating the firmware.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JoshBP
 from
Denver, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes I would do the firmware updates
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
christoph
 from
st. louis, mo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes. I purchased mine in Early October and have had one update already.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kathy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Yes - upgrades to firmware after the product is built is common. Sometimes these are for improved performance or for correcting a problem that was discovered after production.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DaveT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will this allow me to stop losing our wireless connection on our network due to many neighbors on Uverse as well?

The AT&T guys have been out numerous times and have changed all our equip etc...they sheepishly said that their wireless routers are really not that strong....will this allow us to have a strong enough signal to not get knocked off/interference from all my neighbors?
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
NHBoy
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hi,
I have had this issue before with a netgear router before it seems to be that the 2.4 and 5Ghz frequencies use different channels and such. The interference may come from your neighbors using the same channel. So far I haven't had this issue with this router and it doesn't give me a channel option, but I believe it auto scans to make sure it works well. When you use a router like this you will need to have a modem from ATT or your own attached to it. Also only one way to really find out purchasing and trying it. If it fails you do have that 14 day return policy. Best buy is really good about returns you just go up to customer service and return it no questions asked most of the time. The only thing I've been asked if something was wrong with the product.
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Mits
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
BIG YES, you have the same problem I had.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jaypatel77
 from
Texas
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
What I have done in the past is to use a smartphone app such as WiFi Analyzer to see which wireless channels are the most crowded in your home, then set your router up to use the channel that's most open. The channels go from 1 to 11; many router default to the same channel, so oftentimes channels 1 and 11 are the most congested, so you might benefit from switching to a channel that's not as heavily used by your neighbors.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dwayne
 from
Atlanta, GA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
it will help. we used to lose connection all the time on our router and had to restart it at least once a day. now we don't. I do it once a week not cause its needed per say but just in case. I game all week with the same ping and everything.

the only downside is I thought it would be better with more devices. I was hoping it would be more friendly on being able to set up priority devices. so if I game and my wife watches Netflix I would rather me get more download speeds then her. Netflix buffers so would just take a little longer before you can watch. however the router sees them both as equal and therefore splits the download. similar with my kids if they are on. I would like to easily go in and prioritize devices so that my device itself has priority and get lets say half. and then the rest cant split the other half.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cad8099
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Well we had the same issue with comcasts wireless router/modem, it had both built in. We had multiple devices hooked up and we would get kicked off. Comcasts equipment, even with one of their high Internet plans, wasn't powerful enough, so we gave back their equipment, bought our own modem, and bought this router...never had a problem since!
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
daniemoe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I have installed several of these for customers and own one myself. These routers have the ability to adjust the signal strength for higher signal output. They work very well, I replaced 3 wireless access points with just one of these in a customers house. I put it on the third floor of their house and it had strong signal all the way down to the first floor where they had a home office, they were very pleased with the results.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
installtech
 from
durham, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
Is it running the latest firmware version? If not, please do upgrade it to the latest firmware version. You can try changing the channel bandwidth of the router to 40 MHz or 80 MHz and control channel to 1,6 or 11. Placement takes a huge roll as well be sure to place the router up high and no near the floor as signal tends to get distorted sometimes refracted back up causing interference.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How does this router preform with video games online

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
TyBoii
 from
Arizona
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
We have a PS3 hardwired into the Asus router and it works very well for gaming and streaming video.
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Airtrans
 from
Indiana
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No issues. My son plays various games online using a PS3 and it's wireless all the time.

The ASUS supports all the newest wireless standards which are all faster than the old wireless standard our PS3 uses (it's a very old PS3).

You shouldn't have any problems.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Werewolf13
 from
Fly over Country
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Perfectly
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Zoita
 from
Aventura
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The router performs well. But your distance from the router, the kind of wireless adapter in your computer, and the connection speed from your ISP matter too!

I always recommend wiring in for gaming and ensure that your connection is at least 20mbps download and 3-5 mbps upload.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Caleb
 from
Rochester, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I have multiple gaming systems and online play is great. No problems to report on this unit.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
tlzboricuapr
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
fast response with no lag via any feature/setting/wired or wireless. Same speed your pay for from your local provider is what you receive on the pass through with this ASUS.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ChrisChris
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does it use cloud tech

want a good router, bot i don't want cloud tech, like old school, my network, is personal, i trust my network, don't care to share to any cloud
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have read that the cloud features are unreliable. They can be disabled and are disabled by default. Like you, I have trust concerns. My network exports several services through a server, but the router has the cloud services disabled.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Marty6659
 from
Colorado Springs CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Since you control the router, you can turn on or off the various extra services. We simply use it as a basic router that's just more awesome than others. But functionally, no difference in the way we use it than an old Linksys WTR54G.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
houtex727
 from
Houston, TX
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Router has cloud capability...called AiCloud. You don't have to use it for the router to function.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DLS64
 from
Puyallup, WA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Any cloud services are configurable. I have it turned off and don't use it. You can be as secure here as any other router.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GarrettD
 from
Gresham, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
It is available, but not on by default, you have to have external storage hooked to it in order to use the cloud setup on it
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
MrMidnight273
 from
Ozark,Al
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
This is an excellent performing router with incredible range. It does does not have Cloud storage feature. Please see here for more about this product: http://usa.asus.com/Networks/Wireless_Routers/RTN66R/
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Are rt-n66r and rt-n66u antennas interchangable?

I use this router and am looking for bigger antennas. the only ones i've seen on ebay that support dual band(2.4,5ghz) say that they are for rt-n66u. Can i use these or do i have specifically look for ones that are for rt-n66r?
 
Products related to my question
 
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - N900 Dual-Band Wireless-N Gigabit Router with 4-Port Ethernet Switch - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, they are the same unit. The U is sold on the web and the R in retail stores.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Woodchuck
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. It's the same model just named specifically for Best Buy.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
member355444
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes you can use them as long as they support 2.4 & 5Ghz
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jeff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The antennas are the same for both of these routers
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Edge1
 from
Bethlehem, Pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, the routers are the same "r" denotes retail.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Travis
 from
KY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, the antennas for the RT-N66R and RT-N66U are interchangeable.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>