Looking for Answers about Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Stay entertained on the go with this Asus Q500A-BHI5N01 laptop that features a 15.6" high-definition display for stunning images. The 750GB hard drive offers plenty of space for your media.Learn more about Intel Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions
 | 
79 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(128 Reviews)128

Questions & Answers for Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Question

Is it good for gaming?

Is this laptop good for games like Counter Strike?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Danosaur
 from
California
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately not. I've played CSS perfectly fine with high settings but not CSGlobal. I also tried SC2, Diablo3, and Guild Wars which all work fine on low settings. If you are not into the highest end graphics then it's a great purchase. All the other specs make it worth the buy.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Danosaur
 from
California
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You should not have a problem playing these games as it's equipped with intel HD 4000
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this laptop run minecraft well (minimum glitches if any)??

I'm so close to buying this, I just need to know if I can play my favorite game on it or not!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jen G
 from
Ann Arbor, MI
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hey this is myself answering my own question in case anyone else has this question. I ended up getting the asus with i7 and it won't even play minecraft. I have a hard time believing this i5 will play it. What happens when I try to play is that the game loads for 3 seconds and then freezes completely.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jen G
 from
Ann Arbor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I would say this could handle Minecraft with it's i5 processor, but I would highly recommend going for an i7 processor in an Asus laptop that's just a step up in price range! It will handle the game better and, in just a couple years, all laptops will have the i7, anyways, might as well get it now!
 
Products from my answer
Asus - K-Series 15.6" Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Mocha
3 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bfade
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes this laptop will play minecraft with it's integrated Intel HD4000 graphic chip.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I was wondering if I am able to custom order a laptop that contains a certain graphics card that I am not particular happy to have?

I am currently looking for a laptop that'll most likely be used to play games, and some school work. Usually revolving around Office Word, and what not. Well I have found a laptop that has caught my eye. The Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive. It has just about everything I want in a laptop, but the graphics card. UMA graphics is usually dealt with video, and web browsing, but when it revolves to games, it is known to not perform well. Now to the actual request, is it possible to go to my local Best Buy store, order it, ask for some specifications involving the graphics card, and it being possible?
 
Products related to my question
Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
4.2 out of 5(128)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
John
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
While I am not a best buy employee, I don't think they do that, but it never hurts to ask
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maj03
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Generally when you need a pretty decent graphics card it either needs to be custom ordered from the manufacturer (asus) or you need to find it with dedicated graphics already in it. Since intel processors dont have dedicated graphics all in one with them, either find a decent AMD processor (A8 or A10) or youll be shelling out over 1000 dollars for anything we have with a good card already in it. So the actual answer is no, we arent able to custom order laptops with certain specs in or out of them. Thanks, the hp i recommended has that AMD a10 in it which has pretty decent graphics in it plus its about as fast as an intel i5. then theres two pretty high end gaming laptops i put down there
 
Products from my answer
HP - ENVY 15.6" Refurbished Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
3.9 out of 5(222)
 
 
 
Samsung - Series 7 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Titan Silver
3.7 out of 5(42)
 
 
 
Asus - 17.3" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Black
4.5 out of 5(97)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a 64 bit OS?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Straight from system page:
"64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor"
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maj03
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes this is a 64 bit OS
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

No owner's manual included

The Asus q500a that I purchased from Best Buy yesterday did not contain an owner's manual as advertised. I'm hoping someone could direct me to a replacement, free download file, as I cannot seem to find one when searching.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
There is an eManual that is loaded on the machine.
To find this: go the the Start Page, right click to bring up a bar on the bottom of the screen, click "All apps". Now scroll over to right where you will eventually come to several Asus programs, one is called "eManual". I had to scroll over 2/3 of the way, but I have a lot of stuff installed.

Another option, maybe quicker, is to bring up the "charms bar" or put your cursor on the right side of the screen and select "Search" (the magnifier glass), type in eManual in the search area at the top, and on the left side of the screen it should be the only thing listed.

Good luck.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maj03
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you are looking for the manual for this exact model, here's the link:
http://www.manualowl.com/m/Asus/Q500A/Manual/317585.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
joytown
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop have instant on?

1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maj03
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, It wakes up in about 2-5 second.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a DVD or Blue Tooth? One reviewer says "yes it does" but it's not listed in Specs

Is there a DVD or Blue Tooth? One reviewer says "yes it does" but it's not listed in Specs
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Miss N
 from
California
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No Blue-ray, yes on the blue-tooth (outstanding range and easy to set up). The reps don't know about the blue-tooth either. If it had blue-ray it would have to cost a lot more and would need a much better graphics card.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CheapO
 from
28546
+2points
3out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Looks like this laptop is equipped with dvd and no this is not equipped with bluetooth.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
2out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Microsoft Office Starter 2010 also included ???

Can you please clarify what exactly the Microsoft Office Starter 2010 includes? (Word, Excel, Power Point, Outlook??) And also what does "(product key card required for activation; sold separately)" mean? The programs are included, but the activation key is sold separately??? I don't understand. Thank you.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mary
 from
Ellicott City, MD
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yeah, that's how he(Bill Gates) get you. You have to buy the product key for it to function. Instead use an older version if you have one, or purchase the student and teacher edition from a store where you can install the program on more than one device. Hope this helps.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CheapO
 from
28546
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Microsoft Office starter includes only the basic word and excel with limited capabilities.

Means that you have to go to the microsoft website purchase a product key for microsoft office and download to your computer. Once you are done downloading the software you will be prompt to enter the product key. Once the product key is entered then you will be able to use the whole version.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the UMA graphics card the same as intel HD 4000?

1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chris
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it is. Even though the Intel HD 4000 graphics don't have the best reputation,, they've outperformed my expectations and run some pretty demanding games smoothly for me.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cavman276
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes the UMA graphic in this notebook is the Intel HD 4000
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Put more momery without losing the warranty

is it possible to upgrade by myself the ram memory for 8 gb without lose the warranty?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
brpc
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The manual instructs users on how to do it, so I am sure it is fine. Mine had problems, so I sent it off to Asus with 8gigs of Ram. Nothing was said.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asus is kind of vague in defining that, but if you need to send the PC for RMA, them just add the original parts before shipping it out.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
OCiscool
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>