Looking for Answers about Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Stay entertained on the go with this Asus Q500A-BHI5N01 laptop that features a 15.6" high-definition display for stunning images. The 750GB hard drive offers plenty of space for your media.Learn more about Intel Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
58 Questions
 | 
79 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.172 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(128 Reviews)128

Questions & Answers for Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Question

Bluetooth / Intigrated Facial Recognition

Well the laptop arrived. So Far Very nice. But Cant Find the Facial Recognition that is stated in the Best Buy site.

While that same link states this laptop doesn't have native hardware Bluetooth functionality. within a short period of time I found the settings for the "INSTALLED" Intel Centrino Bluetooth Hardware.

You do yourself and your customers harm by not providing correct information. I look forward to your response to my prior question.
Images for this Question
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CJay
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Glad to hear that you are able to get bluetooth. So when you press FN and F2 you see the bluetooth symbol.

You can email me at cl-jeffrey@asus.com

ASUS strives to meet and exceeds our customer expectations within our warranty policy.

Regards,

Jeffrey
ASUS Customer Loyalty USA
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the maximum time for charging battery ?

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
With the first use of the battery overnight. After 8 hours.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

YES or NO? Integrated Facial Recognition

On the 4th page of these Q&A's you responded to the existence of IFR by stating you checked your best buy unit and did not see it as an available option(<----- paraphrased). The Best Buy features link for this model (located below), states this unit provides IFR. Did you not research the question completely and provide incorrect information or is the Best Buy documentation (yet again) in need of correction? If the latter I would've thought it would have been reviewed prior to answering the original question (re:IFR) After all the other corrections I would have expected an Asus rep to review all the specs for errors and have them correced at one time. Now you see... One of the reasons I just bought this unit(to arrive in one more day) was because it had IFR. If this unit doesn't have that function will I be able to return it to Best Buy without a restocking fee? If not, will Asus take the unit and replace it with one that has this function at no additional cost to me?

http://m.bestbuy.com/m/e/product/features.jsp?skuId=6769421&type=moreInfo&product=hardGoodPrd%3A1218806578389&id=1218806578389
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CJay
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
No there is no facial recognition. Keep that link or take a picture of the error because they may remove it and you have no proof. Show it to them when you return it and let them know that was the only reason why you boiught the unit. Ask to speak to the manager on duty if they don't want to waive the restocking fee.

I will inform our sales department of this mistake so we can have best buy remove the error.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

would i be able to play world of warcraft and diablo 3 with good quality

im just looking for a laptop that i could play wow and diablo3 with.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Looks like the Intel HD4000 will be able to play these games at low to medium settings without any issues.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I use the webcam ?

Just got mine yesterday. Not all that familiar with W8, or the W8 Desktop mode, and I have no Idea how to access or use the built in webcam. Any help greatly appreciated.
How do you turn it on. Any S/W to view/edit videos ?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jimmy66
 from
Wayzata, MN
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
All you have to do to turn on the webcam is press FN and V at the same time.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

which system does it have installed on it?

cause it says it have Windows 7 Home Premium installed at the top of the page but farther down it says it have Microsoft Windows 8 operating system preinstalled. so which one is it?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
it is locked to windows 8 through the motherboard. You cannot downgrade, and you cannot run any other OS on this machine.
Now you know why the price point is so good, right?
;)
You are tied to the MS Win 8 app store until it the laptop dies and you get another.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This notebook comes with windows 8. I have notify best buy to make the update change.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Put more momery without losing the warranty

is it possible to upgrade by myself the ram memory for 8 gb without lose the warranty?
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
brpc
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The manual instructs users on how to do it, so I am sure it is fine. Mine had problems, so I sent it off to Asus with 8gigs of Ram. Nothing was said.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Asus is kind of vague in defining that, but if you need to send the PC for RMA, them just add the original parts before shipping it out.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
OCiscool
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I get it with Windows 7?

1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Asus ties the OS to the motherboard, so you cannot downgrade to window 7, or change the OS in any way. This is via several escalating levels of Asus tech support.

If you are not sure that you want windows 8 for the life of your laptop, DO NOT BUY ASUS
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bray34800823
 from
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately windows 8 comes preinstalled already for this model. You can purchase a windows 7 and downgrade if you like.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Keybnoard not working

I bought the Asus Q500A-BHI5N01 in December. I just turned the computer on after being off for 10 days and the keyboard is not working.
Some keys work if I hold down the shift key. I tried Number lock but that does not help.
I cannot trouble shoot because I cannot get past the log in page.

Thank you
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cindy
 from
Miami
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Have you tried connecting a USB keyboard to see if you are still able to type. If you are still having issues then you will have to send the unit in for service.

What you can try to do is after you have logged in to go to the charm bar, click settings, change pc settings, general, and erase everything to have if reinstall the drivers.

If you are still having issues, then the issue may just be the keyboard itself.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Which version of Windows??

Why does it say "Windows 7 Home Premium installed" in the Overview, but "Windows 8 operating system preinstalled" down in the Product Features?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Laptop - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
This notebook only comes with windows 8 preinstalled. Thank you for the sharp eye. I will have best buy make the change.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>