Looking for Answers about HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Learn more about Windows 8 Browse the Web on the go with this 15.6" HP ENVY m6-1125dx laptop that features a high-speed wireless LAN for a fast Internet connection. The built-in fingerprint reader helps secure your information.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions
 | 
85 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.116 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(259 Reviews)259

Questions & Answers for HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Question

DOES THIS WINDOWS 8 HAVE 'ON SCREEN KEYBOARD' OPTION?

1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RETIRED TEACHER
 from
AR
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, Windows 8 offers an on screen keyboard option in the settings, though with an attached keyboard I don't know why you'd need or want it. Also keep in mind that this is not a touch screen laptop so you would have to navigate the on screen keyboard with a mouse or trackpad not your fingers.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you will have the option to use an onscreen keyboard.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use a modem

what am ask is whether i can fix a modem on my computer
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you're asking whether or not you can attach your modem to this computer the answer is yes. You can attach a modem via Ethernet cable directly to your laptop. If you meant to ask about a router for wifi the answer is also yes. The HP Envy comes with an Ethernet for wired connections and a wifi receiver to connect wirelessly to networks.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, there is an ethernet port on this laptop.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
blu
 from
Seattle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

webcam clarity

webcam on this laptop says "true vision hd cam" - is this really a hd quality webcam? My laptop shows image very blurry, and i just bought it new on bf sale at best buy... any suggestions?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Have you checked to make sure your drivers are all up to date? I've used this webcam several times and it's a much clearer image than just about every webcam I've used before.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine's the same; that's just the way it is, although you're always free to complain.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

The HP Envy m6 and the HP Pavilion m6 look exactly the same. What is the difference between the two?

Did they just change the name of the Pavilion?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is not an Envy m6. Best Buy has made a mistake. See the following article: http://laptoping.com/hp-m6-1125dx.html

"Although the product pages at Best Buy say the HP m6-1125dx is from the higher-end Envy notebook lineup, it’s actually mistake since the m6 models are from the standard Pavilion series."
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rickdad1
 from
Avon, IN
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Same computer, just different names. Silly.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jen
 from
Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The buttons below the mouse pad

Just got my HP Envy M6 and the mouse pad 2 keys below the mouse pad are not flush with the mouse pad. They are low in the middle and higher on the outside sides of the 2 keys. Are they supposed to be like that or do I need to return the laptop..

Thanks!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NiksHP
 from
Florida
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My mouse pad keys aren't flush with the mouse pad either although I don't think they are supposed to be. They are just slightly higher than the mouse pad itself but they are level with each other.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
geodam07
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Its meant to be that way as a design.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pamma
 from
Jacksonville, FL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Problems with Windows 8 installation/Update at 12-13%

I am wondering if people are having problems with this laptop where Windows 8 hangs/freezes at 12-13%? I read the reviews on the 6GB Memory laptop (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/HP+-+ENVY+15.6%22+Laptop+-+6GB+Memory+-+750GB+Hard+Drive+-+Natural+Silver/6819205.p;tab=reviews?id=1218808163771&skuId=6819205) and a lot of people are having problems with it and a reviewer did mention to disable 2 of the updates. However, I am wondering if this laptop (the 8GB Memory; 750 GB hard drive) has the same problem with a lot of people?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm fully up to date and I've had multiple updates since purchasing and I've never had an issue with freezing or anything else while updating. This doesn't appear to be an issue with the 8GB model.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have this laptop - the HP Envy m6-1125dx - i5 gen 3, 8gb mem, 750gb disk. No problem with Windows 8. I'm impressed so far with easy startup/installation, the performance, keeps cool, great display, easy to use, etc...

I wrote up a review - same nickname - a little while ago. I note that the webcam is "grainy" and you will see that complaint from others which is no big deal for me. Other than that, it's a great laptop!!
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
6yearitch
 from
michigan
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Gets warm after a couple of hours usage

The area around the left side of the touch pad gets warm after 2-3 hrs of usage. Does anyone know why it happens. Laptops from other vendor (DELL, Lenovo etc.) do not get warm near the touchpad. Is this a known problem?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
anandi
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Even running heavy loads of applications and multitasking the area near my trackpad, or any other area for that matter, doesn't really get warm. I frequently have this sitting on my lap and I've never noticed it getting warmer than any other laptop I've ever had or used. It might be an internal issue in your particular laptop. I would back up your data as a precaution and take it in to geeksquad.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It is normally.What where you doing for 2-3 hours.If you do activity use dun worry it is okey.But if your laptop is idle state it is not normaly
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sodstar
 from
Mongolia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Webcam clarity and touchpad responsiveness

The webcam clarity is extremely poor.When i check the driver being used.It says its microsoft driver released in 2006.How can this be a HD cam with 720 HD video.Does hp not have any driver of its own.
Also the touchpad seems to be a tad unresponsive.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
vinny
 from
SanDiego
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Did you check under HP Recovery system? (Type Recovery in your search option.) It might have the driver there.

Also, for touchpad responsiveness, does it only happen when you click a letter? Or certain keys?
If so, go to >Control panel>Hardware>Mouse>Device setting>Setting> and look for "smart sense", click the little gear, and turn it off. It should fix it.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Xenark
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine says I'm using an HP driver from 2011, I would check the HP site and the HP update program preinstalled to see if you can download a new driver because there are better drivers available.

My touchpad is occasionally a little unresponsive as well. I would recommend checking out the settings and trying to see if you can tweek them to your liking a little more, but other than that it's not just you, the touchpad isn't the best on this laptop.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

other software?

ok so on the software features section it says "...and more" could anybody tell me what these other pre downloaded programs are?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This PC has the following pre-installed software:

Operating System:

Genuine Windows 8

Microsoft:

Microsoft Office 2010 Transition (Buy Microsoft Office to activate Office software on this PC.)
Windows Essentials 2012 (Photo Gallery, Movie Maker, Writer)
Windows Live (Mail, Calendar, People, SkyDrive)
Microsoft App Store
Getting started with Windows 8

Communication Chat:

HP MyRoom Premium: 4-way IM, text and video chat, plus file sharing in a private virtual room from PC or box.net.
Skype

Games:

Xbox Live
Solitaire
Mahjong
HP Games
HP Games powered by WildTangent; includes 10 free rental sessions of “Plants vs. Zombies”, 2010 Game of the Year, and 1 free game Farm Frenzy valued at $19.99 MSRP.

HP Help Support:

HP Online User Guide (available in HP Support Assistant)
HP Recovery Manager: Recover, restore, and create recovery media for, your PC.
HP Support Assistant: Update your PC, troubleshoot problems and get technical support.
HP Utility Center: Access HP utilities in one convenient location.
HP ePrint: Print remotely to any web-connected HP ePrint-enabled products registered to your ePrintCenter account--without file size or type limitations!
HP CoolSense: Automatic air conditioning for your laptop when used on the go.
HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection: Hard drive locking to help prevent file loss in case of a drop.

Shopping Services:

HP+ Best Offers: Promotions designed to deliver the best HP experience.

Books, Music, Photos, and Videos:

Amazon Kindle e-reader
Snapfish (Links on desktop and in Internet Explorer Favorites)
Netflix: Watch movies and TV online or via DVDs with subscription
iHeart Radio
HP Connected Music by Meridian: Your choice of music download options and more all in one place.
Basic video player
Zune video player
Basic music player
Zune music player
Beats Audio: Best-sounding audio available on a PC.
HP Connected Photo powered by Snapfish: Delivers photos snapped on your smartphone or tablet to your PC.
Adobe Shockwave Player
Cyberlink PowerDVD
Cyberlink YouCam DE: Chat live and capture video or photos. Be yourself or a favorite avatar!
Cyberlink Mediasuite
Cyberlink Power2Go
Cyberlink LabelPrint
Cyberlink Power Director
Cyberlink Photo Director

Productivity Tools:

Internet Explorer 10

HP Magic Canvas: Personalize your desktop with shortcuts to your favorite applications.

Security Protection:

Free 12-month Norton Internet Security subscription
HP SimplePass: Assign passwords to your fingerprints for PC and online account access simply by swiping.
HP Connected Backup
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
The_HP_Guru
 from
Boise, ID
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It comes with the basic software that is already attached with Windows 8. It has Cyberlink software for burning, Norton Internet Security (full year). Mostly everything else is "App" based from the Microsoft Store. Not too much junk on there that you cant remove.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pamma
 from
Jacksonville, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does the keyboard feel spongy?

does the keyboard feel bouncy or spongy when typing or is there something wrong with mine?
Not sure if it's suppose to feel firm or not when typing
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My keys feels fine. Both the regular keys and the number pad are firm when I type. No bounce or sinking feeling.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Geodam07
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine feels tight and responsive. It's not the tightest keyboard I've ever used, but by the sounds of your description I think there might be something wrong with yours. I would take it to geeksquad and have them take a look.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>