Looking for Answers about HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Learn more about Windows 8 Browse the Web on the go with this 15.6" HP ENVY m6-1125dx laptop that features a high-speed wireless LAN for a fast Internet connection. The built-in fingerprint reader helps secure your information.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
47 Questions
 | 
85 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.116 out of 5
4.1
out of
5
(259 Reviews)259

Questions & Answers for HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Question

Windows 7 capability

Does this laptop have Windows 7 native drivers if I'd like to install 7 on it?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I don't think u can or if you bought the windows 7 product.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. Just do a clean install of Windows 7.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mystogan
 from
My Room
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Wifi adapter issues?

I've read in some reviews that this computer has wifi connectivity issues. Apparently the Railink wifi adapter drops connections. Has that been fixed or is it still an issue?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Ive had this laptop for about 2 months now and ive connected with wifi at different locations. My house, friends and family houses as well and never had any issues connecting.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Geodam07
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
could still be an issue. Here's More Info > http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/documentSubCategory?tmp_rule=14896&tmp_task=solveCategory&cc=us&dlc=en&lc=en&product=5312258

My sisters HP Pavilion had a Issue like that but after i got Belkin Share Wireless Router and set it up Correctly she didn't have any issues.That Self Healing Feature Resolves any Issues as well.
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Belkin+-+Share+Max+802.11b/g/n+Wireless+Router/1002402.p?id=1218207304203&skuId=1002402&st=Belkin%20Share%20&cp=1&lp=1

Hope This Helps :)
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mystogan
 from
My Room
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

how is the life of battery?

How many hours it works with the full charge?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
5 To 6 Hours Depending on what your doing. If you're Playing Games 3 Hours Max.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mystogan
 from
My Room
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There is no estimate on an HP Notebook battery life, since this is dependent on battery type, flash or hard drive usage, environmental conditions, CPU usage, etc. You can carry a replacement battery pack fully charged for long trips.

Here are some suggestions to conserve battery power:

-Put the Notebook in Hibernate Mode or Shutdown whenever you want to save your current session, and will not be using the computer for several hours or more.
-If you are using a PC Card that has an external connection, such as a modem or network card, remove it when you are not using it. Some PC cards use significant power even while they are inactive
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
-3points
1out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

webcam clarity

webcam on this laptop says "true vision hd cam" - is this really a hd quality webcam? My laptop shows image very blurry, and i just bought it new on bf sale at best buy... any suggestions?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Have you checked to make sure your drivers are all up to date? I've used this webcam several times and it's a much clearer image than just about every webcam I've used before.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine's the same; that's just the way it is, although you're always free to complain.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use Office 2003 with this computer?

2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should not have a problem with the Microsoft Office 2003, I would recommend looking at the minimum system requirements before installation. I cannot guarantee compatibility because HP does not test or support third party products.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I've Read that a Windows 8 user was able to use Office 2003 but had some problems > http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/W8ITProPreRel/thread/afa2d284-90a6-47f4-bbc7-3d81b66750eb/

Also:
Important notice for users of Office 2003: Support for this product ends April 8, 2014. To ensure that you will receive all important security updates for Office you need to upgrade to a later version such as Office 2007 or Office 2010. Info Here About Support http://support.microsoft.com/ph/2488

I Would Suggest atleast Downloading Office 2007. I'm Using Office 2007 Enterprise Blue Edition I may or may not of Downloaded it for Free awhile back from somewhere.

Hop This Helps :)
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mystogan
 from
My Room
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Microsoft Office Starter 2010?

Does this laptop come with a free version of Microsoft Office Starter 2010 Edition? Or would I have to buy the product key card that's like, $200? I really need a laptop that has Microsoft Word. Thanks!
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cindy
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
According to the Specifications on the Best Buy specifications this HP PC does have the Microsoft Office Starter 2010 also included (product key card required for activation; sold separately).
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
it says "Microsoft Office Starter 2010 also included (product key card required for activation; sold separately)" That Means its a Trial Version.
You could download Microsoft Office Starter 2010 fore Free on the Internet but that's up to you just make sure it's safe. Hope This Helps :)
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mystogan
 from
My Room
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

VGA socket?

Is their a VGA socket to hook up an external monitor?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This HP PC does have a VGA and an HDMI for external monitors.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RickP2
 from
Delaware
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i use a modem

what am ask is whether i can fix a modem on my computer
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you're asking whether or not you can attach your modem to this computer the answer is yes. You can attach a modem via Ethernet cable directly to your laptop. If you meant to ask about a router for wifi the answer is also yes. The HP Envy comes with an Ethernet for wired connections and a wifi receiver to connect wirelessly to networks.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, there is an ethernet port on this laptop.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
blu
 from
Seattle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

The buttons below the mouse pad

Just got my HP Envy M6 and the mouse pad 2 keys below the mouse pad are not flush with the mouse pad. They are low in the middle and higher on the outside sides of the 2 keys. Are they supposed to be like that or do I need to return the laptop..

Thanks!
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NiksHP
 from
Florida
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
My mouse pad keys aren't flush with the mouse pad either although I don't think they are supposed to be. They are just slightly higher than the mouse pad itself but they are level with each other.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
geodam07
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Its meant to be that way as a design.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pamma
 from
Jacksonville, FL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Problems with Windows 8 installation/Update at 12-13%

I am wondering if people are having problems with this laptop where Windows 8 hangs/freezes at 12-13%? I read the reviews on the 6GB Memory laptop (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/HP+-+ENVY+15.6%22+Laptop+-+6GB+Memory+-+750GB+Hard+Drive+-+Natural+Silver/6819205.p;tab=reviews?id=1218808163771&skuId=6819205) and a lot of people are having problems with it and a reviewer did mention to disable 2 of the updates. However, I am wondering if this laptop (the 8GB Memory; 750 GB hard drive) has the same problem with a lot of people?
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm fully up to date and I've had multiple updates since purchasing and I've never had an issue with freezing or anything else while updating. This doesn't appear to be an issue with the 8GB model.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have this laptop - the HP Envy m6-1125dx - i5 gen 3, 8gb mem, 750gb disk. No problem with Windows 8. I'm impressed so far with easy startup/installation, the performance, keeps cool, great display, easy to use, etc...

I wrote up a review - same nickname - a little while ago. I note that the webcam is "grainy" and you will see that complaint from others which is no big deal for me. Other than that, it's a great laptop!!
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
6yearitch
 from
michigan
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>