Looking for Answers about Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Learn more about Windows 8 Stay connected on the go with this Asus Q500A-BHI7T05 laptop, which features a built-in wireless LAN that provides easy Web access. The 15.6" high-definition widescreen multitouch display offers stunning visuals.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions
 | 
67 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.174 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(321 Reviews)321

Questions & Answers for Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Question

upgrade from HDD 5400 rpm to SSD?

How does it upgrade from HDD 5400 rpm to SSD?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Justin
 from
caliornia
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I noticed a huge speed increase in starting Visual Studio, in running VMware, and in using hyper-v to run additional OS's. You will need to re-install windows and asus drivers. So if you need to run disk intensive things, you will notice a difference. Directions for opening the case and upgrading are on the asus site https://www.asus.com/supportonly/Q500A/#support_Download
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Big question. Depends on how much information you intend to store on your computer. The SSD is great, but between this processor and the memory, there's not a huge difference...in addition to Asus's "Instant On" programming. If you intend to store much on the computer, leave it as is. If you intend to use a network drive or a cloud, you might consider it.

Personally, I would wait until SSDs have more memory and a better price tag. I bought a 128GB one and, while it's nice...I haven't really used it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
notperse
 from
Bucks County, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
'Not sure what you are asking but I noticed that many of the Windows 8 notebooks have both a small SSD and larger HDD. I assume this is so they can start up and load programs faster. My slow Lenovo had a 7200 HDD so a faster hard drive does not necessarily make a faster system. I did not ask the salesperson about the upgrade options on this notebook but I am sure they would be thrilled to answer them for you.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this have Bluetooth or not?

Online specs say no, but user reviews indicate the contrary.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NosmoRex
 from
Portland, OR
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Note sure why ASUS answered that this laptop doesn't have bluetooth because like the other response to this question said (yes it does), I also set it up to transfer a file between my Android phone and the laptop over bluetooth and it worked fine. My answer is Yes it does have bluetooth!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine certainly does. I've used it to transfer files from my old laptop as well as to my husband's computer.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wvwell
 from
Pella, IA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Unfortunately this notebook is not equipped with bluetooth.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Wireless Network 802.11n

Online it lists wireless network compatibility with 802.11n. My router at home is 802.11g. Will this computer work with my router or will I need to get a new router?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I've tested it with wireless G and N and it does work fine with both but only on the 2.4GHz band. The issue with N is that this laptop's Intel Centrino 2230 wireless adapter is only a single band card and does not support the A or N-5GHz band.

The N-5GHz band is mainly on the higher end routers so you won't miss anything using your 802.11g or the basic 802.11n routers.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Typically the compatibility is backward capable. The laptop will recognize the older wireless signals.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TechnologyFan
 from
Fox Cities WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I had the same question about n when I went with this laptop. The Geek Squad person said that n is backward compatible with g/b/a and that I should have no problems. My FIOS router has a draft version of n and I wasn't too sure if it would be compatible, but decided to give it a shot (you can always just return it if it doesn't work). It not only worked with my draft n version, it also connects to g when I specified my router admin tools to not use n. In the end I think you will have no problems.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wadeb100
 from
Maryland
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can't find this model on the Asus website

I have tried searching for the Best Buy listed part number of Q500A - BHI7T05 on the Asus site and am unable to find the laptop. I am assuming the Q500 # is an Asus part number since Best Buy appears to use SKU's, such as 6906088 for this laptop.

If anyone could assist me I would appreciate it.

Thanks
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
i had the same problem as you. here is the answer i found. it is an ASUS Q500 laptop computer
i did find it on this and a few other pages . I hope thid helps you.
..http://www.ultrabooknet.com/asus-q500-a-new-laptop-with-touch-screen-and-windows-8/2059/
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
shalyn
 from
CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Model: Q500A-BHI7T05 • SKU: 6906088
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Praiseman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
information about this laptop to include the user manual can be found at the url below:

http://www.asus.com/supportonly/Q500A/#support_Download
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TuKanSam
 from
RAFB
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the battery life?

I've heard mixed things about the battery life on this laptop, some say it's either bad, ok, or good. I guess that depends on how many hours you consider is "good." I want a laptop with around 5 or 6 hours, average. I've been researching this laptop and it seems the only con is the battery life, as most people say. Is the battery life really that bad? How long is it on average?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jkay25
 from
United States
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I've gotten anywhere from 2 hours to 6½, it really depends on what you're doing with it.

the Q500A-BHI7T05 has an i7-3632QM CPU, this features "Enhanced Intel SpeedStep® Technology" which is an advanced means of enabling high performance while meeting the power-conservation needs of mobile systems.

While conventional Intel SpeedStep® Technology switches both voltage and frequency in tandem between high and low levels in response to processor load. "Enhanced" Intel SpeedStep® Technology allows for the separation between Voltage and Frequency Changes, and Clock Partitioning and Recovery.

Basically, the CPU's speed and power consumption is altered based on what the user is actually doing.

Windows 8 takes great advantage of this CPU's capabilities... stay within the confines of Windows 8 Modern GUI and your system will last those 6 or so hours, its when you go in the traditional Windows Desktop that you will begin to lose battery life faster.

I've been able to watch a 2½ movies within Modern, but only barely getting through a single movie via the Desktop.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
andrewms
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
yah, this laptop averaged around 4 hours, the battery life is reasonable for comp of these amazing specs
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ng38
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I have been averaging about 5 hours. I have only had it a week now and I made sure the power setting is low power when out and the screen is dimmer it will give you at least 5 hours.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
n2musik1981
 from
Bronx, NY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Up to how many GB´s of RAM is the laptop expandable?

RAM memory limit
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Rodrigo
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
I recently upgraded this laptop to 16 GB of corsair vengeance memory.
Works just fine.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TimMc79
 from
RI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I just checked on crucial.com and it said it could be expanded to 16 GB.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
you can go to crucial.com and it will tell you i believe it is 16gb if you can find 8gb cards.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hash
 from
houston
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I believe that this laptop does not feature additional space for memory and therefore maxes out at 8 GB.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TonyBBY
 from
Richfield, MN
-4points
1out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

How well does it function?

I bought the Sony 14 inch touchscreen and I LOVE the touchscreen but am NOT liking the computer. It seems like it is ALWAYS hanging up on something. I try to open a program and it has hesitation. I try to rip a cd and it is almost impossible to give it a name because there is such a drag with Windows Media player. I am VERY disappointed with the Sony and am seriously considering returning it and purchasing the Asus. Do you notice ANY lull or drag in opening programs or working in them? I figure with these types of specs, the computer should be snappy! I should have to sit and wait for Firefox to open or such. The one thing I noticed is that the Asus does not have a dedicated graphics card. I am going to be working with lots of photos. Will it handle this?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Carrie
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have had issues where the Asus Q500A would hang shortly after re-booting. I can't tell you the number of times I've rebooted this thing, which was very frustrating. I thought the issue was from having installed software that was not Win8 compatible, but it turns out it was from a faulty Asus supplied driver that installs through the Asus Installation Wizard. I rolled back their mouse driver to a generic Win version and I haven't had any hangs or reboots since, which was a week ago. Very smooth and fast. It was probably a similar issue with the Sony. The cost of being on the bleeding edge of tech I guess.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wadeb100
 from
Maryland
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I too had purchased the Sony 14 inch touchscreen and noticed the same problems you are experiencing.
I returned it and bought this one. This one is so much more responsive.
I have noticed a little delay in opening some programs after the PC has just rebooted. After that non delay at all.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TimMc79
 from
RI
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I think you'll like the 15.6" screen even better. I did not think of Sony in my search for Windows 8 touchscreens but Sony tends to be a bit pricy. I had a Sony TV for 20 years, picture tube made in Texas. The picture was fantastic to the day I replaced it with a flat-screen LED made by Samsung (probably made in Mexico or China). The only Sony product I have now is a Playstation 2. I am seriously considering getting rid of the Playstation and getting an Xbox, Microsoft all in!

I am very sensitive to loading speed. Applications took a long time to start on my Lenovo and I work with Windows industrial PCs that have an Intel Atom processor. I open programs on these PCs by right-clicking on the icon and selecting Open so that I know the program is going to eventually start (as opposed to double-clicking on the icon and wondering if it took). I was expecting to be disappointed with the ASUS because it does not have an SSD and the HD is only 5400 RMP. So far, I am thrilled. There is a slight delay but it is no worse than on my IPad or IPhone.

I will have to get back to you on the video performance. The ASUS does have a dedicated graphics "card," it's just not a recognized named brand video graphics card. It is Intel.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Depends on what you are going to do with the photos. If you are going to edit the photos then you may need to get a laptop with discrete graphics. If you are going to open photos and move and rename them you should not have a problem.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Where to find facial recognition Software on Computer?

Best Buy has Facial Recognition Software as installed on computer. Where on the computer will I find it and install?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
r
 from
jerzey
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
YES, IT IS COMPATIBLE RIGHT NOW.

GO to ASUS product support site. Find the Model Q500A clcik on Global.

DOWNLOAD Windows 7 64 BIT and it works fine with WINDOWS 8.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Asus Facial Recognition software is not compatible with windows 8. You can either wait till updated and it is compatible, or you can downgrade to windows 7 and get recognition(not recommended).
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GuyWithTheFace
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The correct URL is http://dlsvr04.asus.com/pub/ASUS/nb/Apps/SmartLogon/SmartLogon_WIN7_32_WIN7_64_100007.zip and yes it works on Win8. I installed it and it works perfectly. Actually very useful and cool app.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wadeb100
 from
Maryland
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You have to go to the Asus Website. It takes a little navigating, but you'll find it for your computer. Just be sure to check your model no. (i.e. Q506A) first...
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
notperse
 from
Bucks County, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
What you must do is go to the charm bar and type facial recognition. You can also go to the desktop and look under programs under asus utilitiles.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3