Looking for Answers about Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Learn more about Windows 8 Stay connected on the go with this Asus Q500A-BHI7T05 laptop, which features a built-in wireless LAN that provides easy Web access. The 15.6" high-definition widescreen multitouch display offers stunning visuals.Learn more about Intel® Wireless Display.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions
 | 
67 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.175 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(319 Reviews)319

Questions & Answers for Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black

Question

Battery and Chargers.

For about a month now my laptop is taking forever to charge. At least 5-7 hours for it to go to 100%. What kind of charger and battery is it, and where can I get a battery and charger. I checked the Asus website but I couldn't find anything. Best Buy did not have this laptop under its battery look up.
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Jake27
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Please contact ASUS eStore for parts availability.
1 week, 5 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Hard Drive replaceable?

I was just wondering if i could replace the 750Gb with a 1 Tb Hard Drive
and how difficult such a procedure would be
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Dakota
 from
Cumming, Ga
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it is possible to change out the hard drive on this model. However, to prevent accidental damage during the installation, I would always suggest having a certified technician (like the Geek Squad) perform the installation. For pricing on the installation, please contact Best Buy.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this keyboard have a numerical pad

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
killerbee
 from
Conway, AR
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
That is correct; this laptop does include a numerical pad.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes killerbee, this laptop does have a numerical pad.

It should be noted though that it took me some time to get used to the right-arrow key, since it was placed next to the 0 key.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
andrewms
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I download the manual?

I want to print the manual for this lap top. Where can I do this?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you have the computer a pdf and .exe file are saved on the C drive: C:\eSupport\Manual
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Spartan847
 from
Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I want to print the manual for this lap top. Where can I do this?

http://support.asus.com/download.aspx?SLanguage=en&p=3&s=450&m=Q500A&os=&hashedid=n%2fa
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How long is the battery life?

I've heard mixed things about the battery life on this laptop, some say it's either bad, ok, or good. I guess that depends on how many hours you consider is "good." I want a laptop with around 5 or 6 hours, average. I've been researching this laptop and it seems the only con is the battery life, as most people say. Is the battery life really that bad? How long is it on average?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jkay25
 from
United States
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I've gotten anywhere from 2 hours to 6½, it really depends on what you're doing with it.

the Q500A-BHI7T05 has an i7-3632QM CPU, this features "Enhanced Intel SpeedStep® Technology" which is an advanced means of enabling high performance while meeting the power-conservation needs of mobile systems.

While conventional Intel SpeedStep® Technology switches both voltage and frequency in tandem between high and low levels in response to processor load. "Enhanced" Intel SpeedStep® Technology allows for the separation between Voltage and Frequency Changes, and Clock Partitioning and Recovery.

Basically, the CPU's speed and power consumption is altered based on what the user is actually doing.

Windows 8 takes great advantage of this CPU's capabilities... stay within the confines of Windows 8 Modern GUI and your system will last those 6 or so hours, its when you go in the traditional Windows Desktop that you will begin to lose battery life faster.

I've been able to watch a 2½ movies within Modern, but only barely getting through a single movie via the Desktop.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
andrewms
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
yah, this laptop averaged around 4 hours, the battery life is reasonable for comp of these amazing specs
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ng38
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I have been averaging about 5 hours. I have only had it a week now and I made sure the power setting is low power when out and the screen is dimmer it will give you at least 5 hours.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
n2musik1981
 from
Bronx, NY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can i run Autodesk 3d software with no problems?

I use autodesk softwares like 3d MAX, Inventor, autocad 3d and mudbox .. I wanna make sure that the graphic card will work fine with the softwares plus I am worry about windows 8 as well if it support the autodesk softwares?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, they should work fine. I'm an architecture major and have used this computer for a few weeks now. I can't really tell the differences in having 'Intel Graphics 4000' vs a devoted Nvidea card, but seems to be ok. Windows 8 works same as Windows 7 in terms of operating software.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
What you can do is look at the benchmark of Intel HD4000 because this is the graphich chip installed to see if it's compatible under system requirements of the software that you want to install.

I don't see you having any issues. Here is a link below.
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-HD-Graphics-4000-Benchmarked.73567.0.html
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop support the 5GHz band of the wireless N router?

I assume because this laptop supports WIDI (intel wireless display) that it doesn't support the 5GHz band of the wireless N protocol as it seems any laptop I've looked at that has WIDI support doesn't work with the 5GHz band of a wireless N router. (though it should work fine with 2.4GHz wireless N band). Is that correct for this laptop too? What is the actual wireless chipset installed?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Well, I purchased this computer based on the ASUS response and now that I have it in hand find that the laptop's Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2230 adapter does not work with the 5GHz band of my wireless N router. It does however, connect to the 2.4GHz band but will not show any 5GHz band networks available to it. After reading the Intel spec on the 2230 card (http://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/wireless-products/centrino-wireless-n-2230.html) it is listed as a single band b/g/n adapter which means it supports 2.4GHz but not the a/n-5GHz band. WIDI really has nothing to do with it, the Intel 2230 wireless adapter simply doesn't support 5GHz. However, even on adapters that do have a/n-5GHz band support it is not usable when a WIDI connection is also in use (http://www.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/sb/CS-031809.htm).
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes this notebook supports N networks.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can't find this model on the Asus website

I have tried searching for the Best Buy listed part number of Q500A - BHI7T05 on the Asus site and am unable to find the laptop. I am assuming the Q500 # is an Asus part number since Best Buy appears to use SKU's, such as 6906088 for this laptop.

If anyone could assist me I would appreciate it.

Thanks
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
i had the same problem as you. here is the answer i found. it is an ASUS Q500 laptop computer
i did find it on this and a few other pages . I hope thid helps you.
..http://www.ultrabooknet.com/asus-q500-a-new-laptop-with-touch-screen-and-windows-8/2059/
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
shalyn
 from
CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Model: Q500A-BHI7T05 • SKU: 6906088
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Praiseman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
information about this laptop to include the user manual can be found at the url below:

http://www.asus.com/supportonly/Q500A/#support_Download
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TuKanSam
 from
RAFB
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I buy a spare AC Adapter and spare high capacity battery.

How do I buy a spare AC Adapter and spare high capacity battery. I would like part numbers and URLs please.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
terrycl
 from
Bellevue WA
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hey terrycl,
Searching around, I found the AC adopter's SKU: 0A001-00041500

However I couldn't find an 8 or 12-cell battery, only the 6-cell that comes with the laptop, in case you would want to carry a second battery, its SKU is 0B110-00190300

Sorry that I couldn't get anything more than that. Good Luck and I hope you enjoy the laptop!
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
andrewms
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I bought 2 new additional chargers (1 from ebay seller and 1 from amazon) . One was $17 including shipping and the other $23. Extended batteries can also be found online much cheaper than through Asus.
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wadeb100
 from
Maryland
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Windows 7 Drivers

I don't like the Windows 8 interface and want to install Windows 7 on a new SSD. Is there driver support for Windows 7 or will currently installed drivers or generic drivers work? In other words, is this laptop compatible with Windows 7? Thanks.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wadeb100
 from
Maryland
on Asus - 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Same here about using the desktop side. I can get the interface to work pretty much like Win7, but there are other drawbacks that I can't live with in terms of software and hardware compatibility. So going back to Win7 is not a choice at this point. I really like the Asus Q500A with the i7 processor, but need to know if Win7 will work or I'll have to return it.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wadeb100
 from
Maryland
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I can't answer your question about Windows 7, but I would encourage you to give Windows 8 a chance. I absolutely hated it at first, and was sooo irritated that I didn't have a start menu anymore. I use mine primarily for business, so I have found that I live mostly on the desktop and ignore the apps. After a few days, I got my desktop set up pretty much the way I've always had it and can function as normal, making use of some of the new Windows 8 features without it really affecting my workflow. I did do a little online research to help me understand the new OS and found a lot of great tips and tricks from others that are struggling to adjust as well.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
wvwell
 from
Pella, IA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>