Looking for Answers about Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black

Microsoft Surface Tablet: Do more on the go with the productivity of a laptop in the compact size of a tablet. Create documents with Microsoft Office RT, sync files between Windows devices and video chat with friends and family. The built-in kickstand props up your tablet at just the right angle for easy viewing.
Customer Questions & Answers:
158 Questions
 | 
345 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.33 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(2142 Reviews)2142

Questions & Answers for Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black

Question

how does this compare to a kindle fire

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It's better than the kindle fire all the way around. The only thing I could see being an argument is that the screen on the Surface is not designed for reading in the sunlight.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DiehardSurfaceLover
 from
Richmond, VA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It is much better. You can get a kindle app on the device that does not everything the kindle fire does. Plus you can use Microsoft office. It is though more expensive because of the better aspects of it. I use my surface for school, business, and fun. It really is like a computer in tablet form.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Redmknd141
 from
Santa Fe, NM
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

what does dual core mean when it refers to a tablet?

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
lmc-sd
 from
San Diego
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
As others mentioned, it means the same thing as it does with a PC-basically a 'core' usually means a CPU located on the same physical die with other CPUs and the like.

Surface 1 uses Tegra 3, which has 4 A9 CPU cores. Surface 2 uses Tegra 4 which has 4 A15 cores.

But bear in mind that the design of the CPU is more important than how many of them there are. Surface Pro 'only' uses a dual core, but each of those cores is more powerful than all the cores in most mobile devices.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Wolfleaf
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It means there are two processors in the body of one. This lingo/terminology should be the same across any form factor (phone/tablet/pc/etc)
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jaredinmo
 from
Joplin, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Well. the answer is in the question.

"Dual Core"

Dual = Double
It is basically 2 CPU's in one chipset giving you 2x the speed, allowing you to do more things at once.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VeryPleasedCustomer
 from
New Jersey
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use a tablet such as Microsoft Surface or Samsung Galaxy to remotely access another computer using an online program such as Go to my PC?

I use Go to my PC to remotely access a computer and utalize Quickbooks to do accounting off site.

If it is feasable, I use Excell & Word in addition to Quickbook, would one tablet be better than anotherr? Also how much memory would you reccommend (32 or 64 GGB? The data remains on the remote computer at all times.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LMc-SD
 from
San Diego
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If the data is on the remote end then 32/64 doesn't matter. There is an official Microsoft Remote Desktop application so if you get that setup it will work. There is a a TeamViewer app, but I didn't initially see a GoToMyPC app yet. Remote Desktop is the best in my opinion, but does require some setup.

Personally, I'm not a fan of Android, but love the RT. It has Microsoft Excel/Word already installed so you wouldn't even need to work remote for that. You can do this by have SkyDrive sync a folder to the cloud and then access the cloud on the RT.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jaredinmo
 from
Joplin, MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello there,

Surface 32GB/64GB tablets are not designed to download software. The Surface Pro and Surface Pro 2 are designed to download software just like your PC. It is a PC and tablet all in one. Storage Memory really depends on your needs. For more information, please visit: www.bestbuy.com

I hope this was helpful to you.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

micro surface pro tablet

With the micro surface pro tablet what will my son need for his Christmas. He is in Grad school, so notes are very important to him.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Surface does some great things but if he is in grad school you may want to look into a LiveScribe also. It worked well for me and comes with a 1 year Evernote subscription. If you still stick to just the surface there are some apps he can take advantage of. Make sure he has accessories for his Surface Pro.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VooDini
 from
Fairfax, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
He will definitely need a touch or type cover (keyboard cover), unless he wants to type on the screen. More than likely it will not be included with the tablet.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
three6tay
 from
San Antonio, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you download ebooks?

I read ebooks from both Amazon and Barnes and Noble.. are they both available on the Surface?
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pollyr
 from
New Hampshire
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, there are Kindle and Nook apps available. You can also access them through the full browser. The nook app even lets you log in with you windows ID and password, so you don't have memorize a separate one.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jork
 from
NY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The follows link will take you directly to Microsoft where they have a listing of all current apps: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-8/apps#Cat=t1
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VooDini
 from
Fairfax, VA
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the return policy on tablet

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
If you bought the surface online it should have come with a return label in the box. 30-45 day return on most items. Call 1-888-BESTBUY for more details
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VooDini
 from
Fairfax, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Upgrade the rt to the full blown windows 8

Can the windows RT be upgraded to the full blown windows 8
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
farmer brown
 from
NE
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Unfortunately no cause this uses a ARM processor
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stermer
 from
Mesa, AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Sorry, but Windows RT cannot be upgraded to any other version. It is meant as a scaled down version of Windows for tablets. I have used it for a year on my Surface RT and use it daily. If you need access to non-Store applications you can use Remote Desktop to access your full Windows PC. It works really well.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JustinV
 from
Ann Arbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can Quickbooks be used on Surface

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you are running on the RT no, but if you are running on the pro yes. The pro runs on full Windows 8 and you may install any 3rd party apps on it.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Raylui
 from
Boston, MA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello there,

Surface and Surface 2 tablets are not designed to download software. The Surface Pro and Surface Pro 2 are designed to download software like Quick books. They are a PC and tablet all in one.

I hope this was helpful to you.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this touchscreen?

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This is a 5 point touch screen
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stermer
 from
Mesa, AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the Microsoft Surface is an excellent touchscreen tablet. I have used one for just over a year and use it daily!
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JustinV
 from
Ann Arbor, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can you use the stylus pen to draw/write on power point presentations?

i need a tablet for my biology classes. I want to be able to pull up the power point slide and use the stylus pen to draw diagrams or write notes on the PP slide for review later. Can I do that with the Surface RT? If not which tablet can i do that on?
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface - 32GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
While the Surface RT is an excellent tablet, it can only use a passive stylus. It works but is not ideal for your situation. You would want one that supports an active stylus. The best tablet for that currently is the Dell Venue 8 Pro Tablet.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JustinV
 from
Ann Arbor, MI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16 next>>