Looking for Answers about Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White

Capture special moments in high resolution with this Nikon 1 J1 27528B digital camera that shoots photos in up to 3872 x 2592 pixels resolution for detailed images. Active D-Lighting restores lost details in high-contrast scenes for optimized pictures. This product has been refurbished. Learn more.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions
 | 
55 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.18 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(117 Reviews)117

Questions & Answers for Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White

Question

"steady shot"

I see where it has image stabilization for video but does it also have stabilization for pictures? Or "steady shot"? I tend to shake when I take pictures and they always come out blurry. Thanks!!!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
proudmomoftwins
 from
Corning, NY
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The lens has VR built into it. VR (Vibration Reduction) technology is an exciting feature which allows sharp photographs to be taken when the camera cannot be held perfectly still.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this Mirrorless?

is this Mirrorless?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, Nikon 1 J1 Compact System camera is mirrorless.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How many frames per second? Is this only burst mode?

I'm wondering how many frames per second with continuous shooting? From my understanding, burst mode is limited. I've also seen models that will choose and save only the best shot. I'd prefer to choose my own "best" shots.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Top Continuous Shooting Speed at full resolution is 5 frames per second or 10, 30 or 60 fps using when the Electronic (Hi) shutter is used.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If i choose the 'store pickup', how many time this can be waitting in store?

I'm thinking about buy this camera and i don't want to loose the offer. So i was thinking to buy now, but i only will be able to catch the camera at setember.
 
Products related to my question
Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
3.7 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Raoni
 from
Brazil
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
When you select store pick up you only have 8days to pick up your item.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sallybby
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If the product is refurbished it have the same waraty as a new one, with the store and with nikon??

1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Trumbull
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Warranty terms and benefits typically vary for refurbished items, and warranty support must often be sought through the party indicated in the warranty documentation. This particular camera features a 90-day limited warranty for both parts and labor.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

megapixels

I noticed that this camera only has 10.1 megapixels. We currently have a small Canon that was much cheaper (and takes great pics) that has 14 megapixels. I'm no expert, so can someone explain why a more expensive camera would have fewer megapixels?

Also, still waiting for a reply to my questions from several days ago, regarding Zoom.

Thank you.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Patti
 from
Wisconsin
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Camera companies make people think that fewer megapixels = lower quality, but this is not necessarily true. It breaks down like this:

Megapixels actually define the SIZE (dimensions) the photo comes out. So if you want to have photos printed at larger sizes (say 20x30"), more megapixels make that larger image appear more crisp. However, there is usually little visual difference between a 14 megapixel camera and a 10 megapixel camera if you're viewing photos on the computer or printing them out to put in a photo album.

What makes one camera better than another is the size of the image sensor (the part of the camera that turns what you see on the screen into a digital image). So you need to check what kind of image sensor your Canon has and compare it to the size of the sensor on this camera (CMOS 13.2mm x 8.8mm)

Hope this helped!
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CandyShoppe Photography
 from
IL
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This camera is an entry level micro that offers you features to a professional camera in a more simplistic approach so you can select what you want to do and do it. With professional cameras you need classes and numerous lenses and such. With this camera you can get some of those affects .... with less complicated approach. Its built for people like me who dont have the experience. Plus with the interchangeable lenses you can get different angles and some zoom like I said in a previous answer to you. I have three lenses to this camera and love them all. I will say that you can't zoom at great distances but I still get amazing pictures. The video is a plus to this camera also. It all depends on what you want to do with the camera. We wanted a smaller camera with some features such as the really expensive pro series.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
realconsumer
 from
18944
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
We cannot make comparisons with other competitors. With the new NIKON 1 J1 you will have manual control of settings and the use of interchangeable whether using the single focal length 10mm or the 30-110mm telephoto. 1 NIKKOR lenses feature Vibration Reduction (VR).
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use a AF Nikkor 28-85mm lens with this cámara?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, this camera uses a specific type of lens and traditional DSLR lenses cannot be used. The lenses for this camera will have "Nikon 1 Nikkor" written on them
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CandyShoppe Photography
 from
IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You will need the FT-1 Mount Adapter that will allow you to use certain legacy F-Mount NIKKOR lenses on the Nikon 1 V1 and J1. The Mount Adapter is attached to the Nikon 1 V1/J1 and the F-Mount NIKKOR lens then attached to the adapter. The FT-1 will add an angle of view of 2.7 times that of the F-Mount NIKKOR lens' focal length.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you add a speed light/flash to the camera.

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
No, it has a pop up flash only
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CandyShoppe Photography
 from
IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is this a good camera for a 15 year old girl who LOVES photography?

I'm 15 and I love taking pictures of pretty much anything. Nature,sports, hanging out with friends..... And everything in between
 
Products related to my question
Nikon - 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera - White
4.5 out of 5(4)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The Nikon 1 series are a somewhat interesting proposition: they're small, using a 1" sensor that's small by DSLR standards, and have a menu-driven interface (this is a downside if you're more serious, more buttons mean more direct control over your photography) but aren't much larger than most pocket cameras, and have full DSLR autofocus capabilities for tracking action.

If I were looking for something small (and I actually am at the moment) the Nikon J1/J2/V1 cameras are very compelling (they feature nearly identical image quality to each other) - their autofocus speed is outstanding, and they're the smallest camera that can keep up with a DSLR for focusing speed and operational speed.

Depending on your budget and the camera size you're willing to carry though, I'd also look at an entry level DSLR - D3100, D3200 or D5100. They're bigger, but has higher image quality, more control over depth of field and are a great cameras to learn and grow with. The D3100 and D3200 in particular feature a guide mode to help you learn more about photography as you go.

Keep in mind though, that they are larger, and if they're big enough that you're not going to take it with you, I'd definitely get the J1 instead. The best camera is the one you have with you, after all. :-)
 
Products from my answer
Nikon - D3100 DSLR Camera with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
4.8 out of 5(530)
 
 
 
 
Nikon - D5100 DSLR Camera Body with 18-55mm VR Lens - Black
4.8 out of 5(402)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jec6613
 from
Connecticut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Zoom

reposting my question from over 1 week ago that has not been answered. does 10-30mm mean it has 30x zoom. So, if I buy the 30mm-110mm lens, that gives me 110x zoom?
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Patti
 from
Wadzinski
on Nikon - Refurbished 1 J1 10.1-Megapixel Digital Camera with NIKKOR 10-30mm VR Lens - White
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No. It basically is the angle of view and the 10-30mm lens that comes with the camera is primarily a wide angle lens. It does not get a very high rating when researched but then again this is an entry level camera with lots of features for the non experienced user. If you are looking to zoom great distances this is not your camera. It is however a great family camera for great pictures and high def video. It does offer the ability to do some more experienced level close shots with its features.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
realconsumer
 from
18944
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The 1 NIKKOR VR 10-30mm f/3.5-5.6 is 3x and the 1 NIKKOR VR 30-110mm f/3.8-5.6 is 3.7x.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>