Looking for Answers about Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline

Learn more about the New Windows Stay connected with this Asus Q200E-BSI3T08 laptop, which features a built-in wireless LAN for speedy Web access. The 11.6" high-definition capacitive multitouch display offers crisp visuals and simplified control.
Customer Questions & Answers:
39 Questions
 | 
82 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.308 out of 5
4.3
out of
5
(792 Reviews)792

Questions & Answers for Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline

Question

Does the hardware on this laptop meet the requirements for Windows 8.1 update?

I heard that some laptops don't meet the hardware specifications for Windows 8.1 update. Does this laptop meet the requirements for Windows 8.1?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, I installed Win 8.1 on asus Q200 without any trouble.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CondorNY
 from
New York
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the laptop does meet WINDOWS 8.1 requirements.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Downgradable OS?

I haven't heard the best things about Windows 8. Can I change the OS to WIndows 7? If so, what features will be affected by this change?
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
NY
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Windows 8 is basically Windows 7 with a funky Tile based Start Menu. There isn't anything that you can't do on Windows 8 that you can do with Windows 7. Mainly if you familiarize yourself with the quirks of Windows 8 and how to get past them, you will understand how to search your programs on the device and PIN them to the Task Bar or Start Menu in a fashion that suits you. I would not frown upon Windows 8 just because it's awkward at first. The interface looks to be created as a method of integrating the touchscreen technology to the PC world.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ThoroughReview
+1point
3out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I heard the same thing as well. However I say try it out yourself. I have worked with a lot of Windows OS systems and HONESTLY. I think Windows 8 is VERY easy to understand. XP and Vista was hard to move around and it was hard to find certain software and programs. To Me Windows 8 is as easy as using the apps on your phone.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
10caratdiamond
 from
Atlanta
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Upgrade ram and HD

The RAM memories are attached to the motherboard ? Can i upgrade somehow to 8 gb or more ?

If i replace the 500 gb HD for a ssd, can i get windows 8 for the new drive from you somehow ? (maybe going to best buy geek squad) ?

Thanks
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Martin
 from
Gaithersburg
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The ram is soldered to the motherboard and is not upgradeable. Consider another laptop in the Ultrabook line, but be prepared to spend more.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TheDudeX
 from
Bronx, NY
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The unit is only equipped with onboard RAM meaning there is no way of upgrading.

You can try taking it into best buy to have them swap your information from the old drive to your new drive.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the battery detachable?

Once the battery reaches the end of it's life can it be replaced with a new one or is it built into the machine.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
florida-george
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
+1point
2out of 3found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
NO, the Q200 does have a user-removable battery.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
-4points
0out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Battery is not detachable, but is rumored to have a very long lifespan. The device would be "antiquated" by the time the battery was useless, plus if you were to buy it with the black tie warranty they would replace it for you free if the battery died before your extended warranty did.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ThoroughReview
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you use a stylus on the touchscreen

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the computer should work fine using a capacitive stylus.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, any capacitive stylus would be compatible with this laptop. Here is a link to one that would work great with this computer.
http://bit.ly/133VSir
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MatthewSBBY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where can I Download a User Guide/Manual for this Notebook?

Hi, I JUST purchased the Asus SonicMaster Q200E-BS13T08 and I'm wondering if anyone knows where I can download a manual or User Guide for this model? The only "Guide" it comes with says "charge for 3 hours, open the lid and push the power button"....now THAT much I can figure out myself! Thanks for any help!
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Allie
 from
San Rafael, CA
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you would like to download the computer's user manual, please visit the ASUS support site and search for your laptop's model. You should be able to find the manual there.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Its on the computer itself, under Documents.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

cursor jumping randomly

i love my new asus vivobook, but as I type, the cursor will sometimes jump back (to the left) about 5 or more spaces.. It is very annoying when i am touch typing . HELP
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ken
 from
indiana
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Your thumbs are touching the touch pad as you type. We turned off the touchpad when typing and use a mouse/trackball.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
QuiltingSwimMom
 from
Denver, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Try installing both the ATKACPI driver (hotkey-related utilities) and the ASUS Smart Gesture touchpad driver along with any other drivers your computer needs. As you may already know, you can download these drivers by visiting the ASUS support page. If this does not fix the issue, please contact ASUS Support directly, and we can look into this issue further.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will I be able to upgrade to the new version of Windows 8 at no cost?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
College Teacher
 from
Iowa
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This came preloaded with Windows 8
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kalaine
 from
Macomb, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If you are referring to the Windows 8.1 update it should be free according to Microsoft.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

printer

Can you connect to a printer with this laptop?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dilarr
 from
vt
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, you can connect a printer.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

ms office

Why isn't it recommended to have ms office on this laptop?
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dilarr
on Asus - 11.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - 4GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive - Steel Gray Hairline
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have downloaded MS Office 365 on this laptop and have absolutely no problem.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gertiemay
 from
Kalamazoo, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
MS Office is not recommended but if this is your preference, you can purchase your own copy from Microsoft and install it.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Asus_Answers
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>