Looking for Answers about HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

HP ENVY m6-1225dx Laptop: Stylish and slim, this HP ENVY m6 is built for productivity and entertainment on the go with a generous amount of storage space, powerful processor and a variety of games and apps. The fingerprint reader, CoolSense technology and hard drive protection help keep your files safe. Learn more about the New Windows ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions
 | 
38 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(588 Reviews)588

Questions & Answers for HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver

Question

Does this laptop have Coolsense Technology

Does this HP ENVY have Coolsense Technology in it? I am asking for when I buy my next laptop. Also I am asking because the next one I get needs to stay cooler.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
EZLO21
 from
Cleveland, TN
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ProfessorJC
 from
Tucson, AZ
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, this notebook has HP Cool Sense technology built-in.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does computer come with microsoft word?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ProfessorJC
 from
Tucson, AZ
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
While this PC does come with the MIcrosoft Office suites installed you would need to purchase a product key to activate them.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what about battery life

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
saeed
 from
egypt
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I'm consistently getting 5-6 hours on a full charge.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ProfessorJC
 from
Tucson, AZ
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
On average, 6-cell Lithium-Ion batteries will last approximately two to three hours on a single charge. Unfortunately, exact battery run time and life span information is not available. Various factors, such as the temperature of the battery, the applications running on the notebook, any attached devices, the brightness of the display, and the notebook power management settings all determine the run time and life span of your battery. Also, the performance and charge times of Lithium-ion batteries decrease over time. There are suggested ways to help increase the run time and life span of your battery:

- Reduce the brightness of the screen to the minimum readable level
- Remove peripherals (External hard drives, CD-ROMs, Zip drives, PC cards, and other peripheral devices) when not in use; these devices can draw power from your battery even when they are not in active use
- Reduce the speed of your processor
- Turn off the Wireless On-Off button when it is not in use (If your notebook has one)
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I order this computer with the anti-glare screen?

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This model (which I have) isn't anti-glare, however I haven't had any issues with it. I was really worried because I have issues with glossy screens however this HP seems to be good.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chensman0720
 from
Pittsburgh, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP ships with a Brightview display which is glossy. This HP PC is a preconfigured model and is warranted as configured.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can we get it with a different operating system? And graphics?

Windows 7 instead of Windows 8? Also, I'd be using it for casual gaming as well as school , so it needs to have Hardware T&L, is that a feature?
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Trav
 from
Utah
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This laptop (which I just got last month) comes with Windows 8.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chensman0720
 from
Pittsburgh, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC is warranted as configured. This HP PC has Microsoft Windows 8 operating system. I recommend contacting Microsoft for any downgrade possibilities.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
 from
Boise, ID
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this product read files created by Windows XP?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
rjw
 from
Newaygo MI
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ProfessorJC
 from
Tucson, AZ
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Window XP does not make files. This product comes with Windows 2013. If you are referring to files created by Microsoft Office, YES! If you have Office 2013, it may come equipped with automatic file converters with option to save in your earlier format version or the new Office 2013 format.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hheehaawww
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

RAM Upgrade

Is the RAM upgradable in this computer to bring it beyond 8Gigs? (Can more RAM be added?)
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
D
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This HP PC comes standard with 8GB (2 x 4GB) that is upgradable to 16GB (2 x 8GB).
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, up to 16 GB DDR3 RAM.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the fingerprint security be set up to accept more than one person's print?

2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gobblegut
 from
Michigan
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can set up more than one user with the fingerprint reader.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, but only if a new account is created. It identifies user accounts by the fingerprint.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does it have a built-in lock slot?

trying to find a lock for it
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Karen
 from
NY
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
This HP PC does not have a lock slot.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The HP m6-1225dx laptop does have a built-in lock slot. It is located on the side of the laptop next to where you plug-in the AC adapter. If you were to look at the pictures on BestBuy.com, the lock is displayed in picture # 4. It is that little slot toward the back of the laptop.

I hope that helps!
 
Products from my answer
Kensington - Laptop Cable Lock
 
 
 
Targus - Defcon Combo Lock (CL)
4.2 out of 5(250)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
DerekBBY
 from
RIchfield, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I play Battlefield 3 in this laptop?

2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - ENVY 15.6" Laptop - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Natural Silver
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes the envy has about 1gb of dedicated graphics.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dayfire
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. If you're looking to play Battlefield 3 with a decent framerate, something like this laptop will be more suitable: http://bit.ly/12WBDbh
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>