Looking for Answers about Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

This Sony BDPS3100 Blu-ray player features built-in Wi-Fi for simple access to streaming content and DVD upconversion for enjoying your favorite movies in crisp 1080p resolution. I/P noise reduction helps ensure a clear picture.
Customer Questions & Answers:
51 Questions
 | 
161 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.656 out of 5
4.7
out of
5
(2802 Reviews)2802

Questions & Answers for Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player

Question

Will the BDPS3100 work with my 40" SONY 720p TV

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Dad 6
 from
MN
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It will work with your 720p TV.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Fryedk65
 from
Bloomfield, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Of course. Just plus it in via HDMI cable (not included) and it will work just fine.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeDragon
 from
Sinking Spring, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
As long as you have an HDMI input I don't see why it wouldn't. That is the only connection it has though, otherwise the TV wouldn't limit the ability of it to function.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
thinblueline82
 from
Orlando,FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
yes
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hejudestillworking
 from
oceanside
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes, just plug it into the tvs hdmi slot
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
12357
 from
Philadelphia, pa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, you can connect the BDP-S3100 using an HDMI cable.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Voltage

Will this work on 220V Voltage?
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dinesh
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
7 answers
Answers
answer 1
No.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Fryedk65
 from
Bloomfield, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
allen3569
 from
new baltimore, mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I'm sure with a plug converter it would. 220 is just more powerful and that much power is not needed but it should work fine.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeDragon
 from
Sinking Spring, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No it does not work on 220 volts. It will go poof!
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jonk540
 from
canton ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
If purchased in the USA, like all products, it would require you to plug it in through a voltage converter first.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ALbSURE2
 from
USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Only if you have a voltage converter
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jacco
 from
Brandon, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 7
The power requirements of the BDP-S3100 would be 120V. You would need a power converter if you will use the Blu-ray outside the US.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

i didn't recieve any notice of my warranty

I ordered a sony bluray player with a 2yr warranty I received the player(bby01-630879057832) but no notice or warranty info
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
cars22855
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should contact Sony for the warranty and be prepared with your receipt, model # and serial #.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jacco
 from
Brandon, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Check your email, they may also pull it up with your phone number. But they will do nothing to fix it. Take it to Best Buy and LOUDLY tell them to send to Sony
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JTfrustratedcustomer
 from
Fort Myers Beach Florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Usually your receipt is sufficient, also best buy will look up your information in any store and give you a copy of the warranty, but its in their computers so you don't even need any proof for them to satisfy your warranty. How cool!
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
BHKJ
 from
Danbury, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a list of all current apps loaded on this device? I am specifically looking to see if MLB is included.

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, The BDP-S3100 has MLB built-in.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It does have MLB.tv. To see the full list of apps, follow this link http://store.sony.com/-cms-page.content.sony.entertainment.network and choose the device in the "View by Device" tab.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
MExpos27
 from
Arlington, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will it work with my mitsubichi 73 inch tv?

5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you TV has a HDMI connection this should work. You will need an HDMI cord to connect the BluRay player to the TV. You will want to get one that is long enough to reach from where you place the BluRay player to the TV plus some.
 
Products from my answer
Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
4.7 out of 5(2,797)
 
 
 
 
 
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Ducky9
 from
Minnesota
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Does your TV support HDMI output and if so it should work fine...Enjoy.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
BudgetTech
 from
Chicago, IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes if you have hdmi input it will work
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Mjrose0919
 from
Arroyo grande,CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I don't see why this wouldn't work but just to cover your bases I'd check with a Best buy sales rep
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
orionknight
 from
Modesto, Ca
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
As long as your tv has an HDMI port, the player is compatible.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Tomas81
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, it will work with a wide variety of HDTVs from different manufacturers. You can connect the Blu-ray with the use of an HDMI cable.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Where is the time?

Where is the movie time shown at? I noticed it has no front display like my three other Sony DVD players and that tells me the time the movie is at. I assumed on this one it had to show it on screen so I tried pause, stop, forward and back chapters, etc. Is it just not available?
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
PinkWonderGirl
 from
Atlanta
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Display button underneath the volume button on remote brings the display up and puts it away
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Mjrose0919
 from
Arroyo grande,CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I believe if you hit the down arrow it will show you the time and where you are at in the movie
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
wdwpatriot
 from
indianapolis, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
If you hit "Display" on the remote, located just below the volume button it will show you elapsed time/total time in the bottom right corner.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
maorosz
 from
Marion, IA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
There is a button on the remote, I believe it is "Display" (I'm not looking at it right now so I'm not 100% sure) it is on the right edge, about 3 or 4 buttons from the top, before you get to the "round" cluster in the middle. You can push that during playback or paused and it will show you the time played so far and the total length of your file or disc.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
GadgetLover55344
 from
Minneapolis, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Press "DISPLAY" button on remote (just above "GREEN" button) and times will display on TV screen.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Casey99
 from
San Diego, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
You can see the time on the screen by pressing the display button on your remote.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
madmoose
 from
Morrisville, PA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the bdp-s3100 support DLNA to stream videos and music from folders on my computer?

Does the bdp-s3100 support DLNA to stream videos and music from folders on my computer?
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Fraydog
 from
Mansfield
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes it does. I just wished I knew how to set it up on my network
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Mjrose0919
 from
Arroyo grande,CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
YES it does! I have tv shows and cartoons on my blackberry 10 and it syncs with this player so that I can watch them all on my tv. Just make sure your DLNA device is on, set to share the desired content, connected to the wifi and that you pair the devices. Simple to do and takes only a minute to do it!
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jls2002
 from
Tampa, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, for instruction on how to set up DLNA you may refer to the link below.

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/33278/p/47329,47564,74092/c/65,66/kw/DLNA
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

60Hz vs. 120Hz... should I care ?

A review on the Sony site mentioned that this is only a 60Hz player, but TVs are now 120Hz. Is this true and why should I care (is it really a noticible difference)?

thanks.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
We have it hooked up to a 120 hz tv and the picture is awesome! I highly recommend it!
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
KatCol
 from
San Antonio tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Not a problem.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
DiHelen
 from
Des Moines, Iowa
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
From all I have read about 60Hz vs 120Hz, there is usually no noticeable difference with films/movies, because they are only produced at 60Hz. The higher refresh rate may help eliminate ghosting and tearing, stuttering and blurring with gaming and sports action, but that seems to be the only noticeable advantage. In fact, it seems if you push the refresh rate too high on some media, because it works by inserting extra frames that do not exist on the source, it can actually make the result seem unreal and make faces look creepy/distorted. To me, any advantage seen from a higher refresh rate would not be highly desirable in a blu-Ray player. Of course, this is just one person's opinion, and I am sure there are many others, but I hope this helps!
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jovial1
 from
WI
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I have a TV that is less than a year old and works perfectly beautifully no difference. Probably should not care
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HisNHers
 from
Citrus Hei
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this connect wirelessly or do I need an ethernet connection?

6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It connects wirelessly. No need for Ethernet connection.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
wdwpatriot
 from
indianapolis, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Connected wirelessly. Need to know a step in processing that the sales clerk helped us with on the phone to do this though.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
DiHelen
 from
Des Moines, Iowa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Nope, no ethernet needed! WIreless card buit in and you'll be asked to connect to a wi-fi network during initial set up.. Couldn't be easier!
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
dchad
 from
Dayton, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
connects wirelessly
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
cherryman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
It can connect wireless. And it did so very quickly.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AmandaH13
 from
Oviedo Fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, the BDPS3100 has a built-in Wi-Fi.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a hardware difference between the BDP-S3100 and the BDP-S3100B?

Or is it simply the programming on the hardware that makes them region locked?
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Niloc
 from
Edmonton, Alberta
on Sony - Smart Wi-Fi Built-In Blu-ray Player
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yep, just the software as far as I can tell.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
dchad
 from
Dayton, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As far as hardware goes, there's no difference between BDPS3100 and BDPS3100B. But region code will be locked to where it was purchased from.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>