Looking for Answers about Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black

Microsoft Surface Pro Tablet: From the classroom to the boardroom, the Surface Pro tablet offers everything you need to work, study and stay productive on the go — without the bulk of a laptop. Prop up your tablet for easy viewing with the built-in kickstand, and draw or write on the screen with the Surface Pro pen.
Customer Questions & Answers:
100 Questions
 | 
209 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.547 out of 5
4.5
out of
5
(1352 Reviews)1352

Questions & Answers for Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black

Question

Is the surface pro made in america or else assembled in america?

2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Made in China (as written on the box)
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jerryg66
 from
Detroit, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Yaba2014
 from
Austin, TX
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you have the surface pro plugged in all the time when in use to save on the battery?

2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, try to use the battery until is almost out and then recharge, otherwise you will limit the battery life.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pinaculo
 from
Dearborn Heights, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NotBrainwashed
 from
Honolulu, HI
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

can a flash drive be used with surface pro?

1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
kgil
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes their is a USB
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Johne43055
 from
Newark, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello there,

Yes, a flash drive can be used with the Surface Pro tablet.

I hope this was helpful to you.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

can i tunes be loaded on a surface

3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
billy
 from
deridder
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, iTunes can be installed on the Surface Pro. The pro models run full versions of Windows that can run any software you would could install on a normal computer.

It can't be installed on the Surface RT, which is really a tablet and is limited to only applications available in the app marketplace included with it. (Just like an iPad)
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Bootes
 from
New York
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello there Billy.

Thank you for your question. Yes, Surface Pro can install third party downloads as long as they are compatible with Windows 8 Pro.

I hope you find this helpful.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
+1point
2out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes! The Surface Pro runs a full version of Windows 8, so just about anything you could install on a Windows 8 desktop, you can install on your Surface Pro, including iTunes. Please be aware that iTunes is not available for the Surface RT at this time.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
DouglasBBY
 from
Minneapolis, MN
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the keyboard have to be connected to type.

Sometimes I find it helpful with my ipad, to leave the ipad on my desk and type on my separate bluetooth keyboard on my lap. All the commercials I have seen for the surface show people typing on the keyboard cover while it is connected physically to the tablet. Can you still type on the keyboard cover via bluetooth while it is physically separated from the tablet portion?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I was told that there was/is an option that you can buy a blue tooth adaptor that hooks onto the keyboard that would allow you to use your keyboard as a "wireless keyboard"

Basically the tech guy who sold me my surface said only boy it if you don't want to be restricted to typing withe keyboard attached to the Surface.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hi there.

Thank you for your post. What was previously mentioned is correct, the Touch and Type Cover needs to be connected to Surface in order to function. If you prefer to use a Bluetooth keyboard or mouse, Surface does have Bluetooth technology as well!

I hope this is helpful to you.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
In order to use either the touch or type keyboard, it must be physically connected (attached) to the tablet.
 
Products from my answer
Microsoft - Type Cover for Surface - Black
4.5 out of 5(754)
 
 
 
Microsoft - Touch Cover for Surface - Black
4.3 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

LAN Port

Is there a LAN port option for the Surface Pro? I have checked in accessories, but can't see that option. I need that option.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Freddy
 from
LA
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hello Freddy.

Thanks for your post. To add to what has already been mentioned, Surface Pro includes the following ports: full-size USB 3.0, microSDXC card slot, headset jack, Mini DisplayPort and Cover port. There is an Ethernet adapter that connects via USB and allows you to connect to a network when Wi-Fi is not available.

I hope this is helpful to you. Please have a nice day.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The short answer is yes, there is a Ethernet adapter. I have seen it at some BB's but not all. I got mine from Microsoft.

Please remember that the adapter will attach to the ONLY USB port that you have.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TXPhotoDude
 from
Texas
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
If you'd like to use a wired connection to a network, an adapter like this one would be an easy solution for you: http://bit.ly/1a4KjvE
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToryBBY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Will Surface Pro run outside programs that I download like my laptop does?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hey there.

Thanks for reaching out. To add to what has already been posted, Surface Pro is a laptop in tablet form. It runs the full desktop version of Windows 8 Pro and thus supports software compatible with Windows 8. If you have a particular program in mind, I recommend checking with the software developer for details on compatibility and minimum hardware requirements.

I hope this is helpful to you.

Kindest Regards
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, it has windows so its a full pc that's capable of running programs and not jus apps.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
inkslayer78
 from
california
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I downloaded sync. software for Outlook and have been running it successfully for about 2 weeks.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ainuman
 from
VA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

confused. what mircosoft surface, HAS the full version of office and can download programs like photoshop and itunes! please let me know!

2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
+3points
3out of 3found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Purchase the Microsoft Surface Pro or the Surface Pro 2. You will need to purchase the Office suite separately as it does not come standard with the Surface Pro. As for installing other software applications like Photoshop and iTunes, the Pro version runs a full version of Windows 8 - just like a laptop or desktop, so you really can install any piece of software like you would with a regular computer device! It's a great tool - more like a laptop, but also a tablet too!
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jaker1
 from
Plainfield, IL
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Only the surface pro has the full windows 8.1 operating system that allows you to load programs to it.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bcwbowl
 from
Santa Rosa, CA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Hello there,

The Surface and Surface 2 include a full version of Office, but are not designed to download software. The Surface Pro and Surface Pro 2 include a 1-month trial of Office 365 and are designed to download and install software.

I hope this was helpful to you.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
+7points
7out of 7found this answer helpful.
Question

What is the biggest differnce between Pro and Pro 2. Any real advantage?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
+4points
4out of 4found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Depends on your wallet. Right now, there is a huge price difference between the 128GB SP1 and SP2. If you don't mind a little bit slower CPU, then the $400 savings is (to me) the biggest advantage of the SP1 over the SP2. If money is no object and you need 256 or 512GB of storage, the SP2 is faster, has a few tweaks over the SP1 and is the latest technology.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dmylrea
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Better colors, longer battery life, 2 position kickstand. That's about it.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mitchellvii
 from
Charlotte, NC
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Pro 2 gives you better battery life.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mtfbwy
 from
Cleveland, OH
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Using antivirus software on the surface pro

I bought a norton internet security that can be downloaded on 3 pc's. Can I use it on the surface pro? How do I install it, if I have the key card number? Or do I have to get an antivirus from the App Store?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Microsoft - Surface Pro - 128GB - Black
0points
1out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hello there,

You are able to install your own anti-virus software on the Surface Pro just like on your PC. Windows 8 does include Windows Defender at no charge. Should you want additional protection, go to your anti-virus website you purchased it from, sign in and follow the instructions on how to download, install and enter your key card number successfully register your software.

I hope this was helpful to you.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MicrosoftOutreachTeam
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Not necessary with version of Windows that comes with Surface pro. already has anti-virus
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Surfsedge
 from
Naples, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Treat it like a normal PC. I use McAfee without an issue. You should not have a problem. If you have a disk then and external usb drive can be used or if you don't have one of those then you can download the trial version from the Norton website and then activate it to a full version with the key you have.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Scridlow
 from
MN
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 next>>