Looking for Answers about Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Shoot striking pictures and videos with this Nikon Coolpix AW110 digital camera's 16.0-megapixel CMOS sensor and easily share them via built-in Wi-Fi. The water-, shock- and freeze-resistant design offers protection underwater and in the elements. Memory card sold separately.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions
 | 
15 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.365 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black

Question

Memory

Going to Disney World, and I'm sure there will be a lot of picture taking. How much will the internal
memory hold or should I buy an external memory for daily use. I'm trying to avoid taking my SLR for
obvious reasons Just want to avoid hassels.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
papa
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
OK! Here is the answer you have been searching for! The very best thing to do is to purchase an SD card for each day of your trip.
I like the 32Gb Class 10 cards, because I could never, ever fill one up with my camera in just one day.
At the end of each day, take the card you were shooting out of the camera and leave it in the safe at the hotel. That way, you always have enough room for more photos, and if anything happens to one card, or your camera, you still have all the other photos from all the other days back in the safe, protected and ready to be taken home.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
toshibapoweruser
 from
Phoenix
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
answer 2
That Nikon will not hold many pictures internally. I would suggest looking into an SD card.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Danielbby
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I take on land photos as well? ...or just underwater?

1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
We used it mostly for land pictures and it worked great!
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LP509
 from
Spokane, WA
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you would absolutely be able to take photos out of water as well.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MatthewSBBY
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Safe for salty water?

I am very interested in buying this camera, but would it be safe to use the camera underwater in salty water such as sea water? I would like to go scuba diving and take pictures and videos, but I am afraid the salt in the water could damage the camera... Is it safe to use under the sea or is the underwater protection just for "clean" water such as swimming pools? Thanks
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
cedpo
 from
Brazil
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
The AW110 can be used in either fresh water or seawater and enables underwater shooting at a depth of 18m (59 ft) for up to 60 minutes. The camera manual contains detailed instructions on how to ensure proper waterproof performance and how to clean the camera after underwater use.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

I have missplaced the battery charger and power cord. How do I get/buy another one?

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would bet that Best Buy or even Radio Shack carries a replacement for it. The most expensive option is to replace it through Nikon directly. In the past, I have used Amazon to purchase replacement chargers and batteries for various cameras. Always purchase from the power sellers with high ratings if possible. Or at least purchase from the higher ratings sellers even if they are not power sellers.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
honydoer
 from
Disney Area
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The MH-65 is the correct charger for the COOLPIX AW110 EN-EL12 Battery..
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Flash Options

I just purchased the "Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Blue" and I am frustrated with the flash options. The manual says there are 4 flash options, however on the actual camera I am only seeing two flash options: an "auto flash" option and "no flash" option. Over half the time I NEED the flash, however being on the "auto flash option" the camera chooses to NOT flash, when it is needed. The result is me getting dark pictures that are worthless and frustrating. Am I just missing the "flash on" all the time setting somewhere? I would really like to get this figured out before all holiday festivities.... Thanks!
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Joanne
 from
St. Louis, MO
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
When pressing the top arrow multi-selector, the flash modes will appear on your LCD screen. Once the flash modes appear, when using the multi-selector arrows a certain flash mode can be chosen.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Only 2 Flash Modes Available

Please see images below, my camera does not have the 5 options listed. There is a lot of complaints on line about this...it must be fixed. Is there a FW upgrade available?
Images for this Question
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
When in auto mode, only two flash modes will appear however when shooting in a preset scene mode the other two flash mode options will appear.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the GPS function a pay to use feature or is like a sparate handheld unit that is built in?

Just want to make sure that the GPS feature works without having to pay a separate fee to use it.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Mikey
 from
WI
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It has a built in receiver I think. It will show the nearest location that you're taking a picture. Living in a rural area, it doesn't work real well.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Huntforit
 from
Wisconsin
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The GPS is built-in to the AW110 and no additional fees or accessories are required. The COOLPIX AW110 records the exact location of each shot you take and includes built-in mapping, an electronic compass, and Points of Interest (POI).

Please note that the GPS feature of the COOLPIX AW110 is for guideline purposes only and not meant to be used as a navigation device or measuring instrument.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the coldest temps the camera will operate in?

9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I have used it at 18 degrees F with no issues....as long as the lens has been acclimated to the temp before use, otherwise it will steam up and the pictures will look like a fog bank.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NormDube
 from
Batavia, OH
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The COOLPIX AW110 has been tested at temperatures from -10°C to +40°C (14°F to 104°F). The water temperature range for underwater use is from 0°C to 40°C (32°F to 104°F). More detailed information on the all-weather specifications for the COOLPIX AW110 can be found in the manual on pages xi to xvi.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How long does the battery last?

I am planning a 10-day trip to Israel later this year. I am going to take a lot of pictures, so the camera is going to be on for a long time. How long does a full battery charge last? Should I buy a back up battery to take with me in case I can't charge the camera?
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Nikon - Coolpix AW110 16.0-Megapixel Digital Camera - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Doing the same. Haven't really made full use of it yet, but bought an extra battery to be safe.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
StDeb
 from
VT
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The battery life on the camera's EN-EL12 is approximately 250 shots. We would always recommend a back up as the battery does take up 2-1/2 hours to recharge.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NikonStaff
 from
New York
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 of 1