Looking for Answers about Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

The Slingbox SOLO makes it easy for you to watch and control your favorite TV source from anywhere in the world on a Windows PC, Mac, mobile phone or tablet. Enjoy your DVR, digital cable, satellite receiver or DVD player in standard-definition quality. With the Slingbox SOLO you can watch your favorite TV shows and sporting events from anywhere, anytime.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions
 | 
79 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.698 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(129 Reviews)129

Questions & Answers for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Question

viewing slingbox overseas

I am a huge NBA fan and I plan going to Europe(Greece) durning the playoffs. If I purchase a Slingbox, and set it up at my home in the US, will I have any problems viewing the playoff game due to Counrty restrictions, or restriction that NBA might put on televised games?
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should have no problem watching it. As long as the Internet connection is good you will be good to go
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No you shouldn't have any issues if you have a good Internet connection. I use mine all the time when I'm in Europe and Asia. Watched a lot of football on it. I did have some trouble watching some basketball games clearly. The picture was pretty distorted with all the action. Could have been because of my Internet connection. You can easily test it by going to a wifi location near your house and bringing it up on your computer. This should be the same as when you are over seas as long as the Internet connection is comparable. Good luck.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Nope!

That's the beauty of the Slingbox. It allows you to duplicate your home viewing experience from wherever you are. If you can watch it from home, you can watch it remotely. By the same token, if you're trying to watch something that requires a subscription, like NBA League Pass, you'd also need to be subscribed to that channel.

For more information, be sure to review our Mac and Windows system requirements pages below:

http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000134.html
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000302.html

Happy Slinging!
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If you are watching programs from the dvr either live or recorded via the Slingbox on a PC; can you use windows media and record it to the hard drive?

Are you able to record the programs you are watching via Slingbox to PC?
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Stalker007
 from
Kentucky
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, yes you can. But if your doing it over a 3g connection it can be a little iffy.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately that is something that you cannot do with it. You can only watch it on there website. It doesn't go through win media player
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
RoUnd rock, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, it's not possible to record shows to your hard drive, but you can record shows to your DVR, if one is attached to your Slingbox.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the TV display on a dual monitor computer set-up?

I have dual monitors connected to my computer. Can the Slingbox be set up so that the TV is displayed on one computer monitor, freeing the other monitor for me to work on other computer activities, using the second computer monitor?
 
Products related to my question
Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
3.7 out of 5(129)
 
 
 
 
 
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Seneca Bob
 from
SC
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Should be no problem I do it at work all the item. I have the web page open on one monitor and my work program on my other monitor.
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You view your Slingbox in a browser window using our Web SlingPlayer. So yes, you can move the browser window over to one monitor and do other things on the other monitor. This is how I use it all the time, especially at work!
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, it does this beautifully whether on a Mac or PC.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VoodooSpringfield
 from
Springfield, MO
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Television Power Requirement

Does the home television have to be powered "on" at the same time for the remote user to access the signal via a remote laptop p.c. ?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
A1RoadWarrior
 from
Cape Cod, MA.
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No the tv doesn't have to be on but the cable box does have to be on
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, just the cable box has to be on
4 years, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
gearsof1129
 from
MA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, your TV does not need to be powered on in order to stream.

The Slingbox is generally connected directly to the source device (DVR, DVD player, etc.), and only requires a broadband connection to stream remotely.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have dishnet satellite tv will it work

5 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
big phil
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
See my review on the product to know how it works. It essentially hooks up to the box near your TV, so it probably does. They have a list of devices supported on their website. Here is a good source http://www.slingbox.com/go/slingbox-solo-faq.
5 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TVWatcher3
 from
Orange County, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes It will work on Comcast, Dish Network, DirecTV. The companies that it supports should be on the front of the box
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tim6499
 from
Saxonburg, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
yes. i've been looking into getting one of these for a while, did a little research on the internet and came across a few people using this with dish and had no problems.
5 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
brent
 from
southern california
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Solo need to be hard wired to the router, or will it accept a wireless internet connection?

4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hardwired, cable included.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have only hard wired it. I don't think you can go wireless with the current unit. If you haven't tried it, you should buy the iPad app. It is great!
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SlingboxLover
 from
Madison WI
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, it does not need to be hard wired to your router. You can use Wireless or Powerline networking solutions to connect to your router.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you have multiple sources (cell phone, ipad, and laptop) watching tv off the slingbox receiver?

4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, but you must buy the app. I watch it on my Droid, great reception.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Multiple computers, phone or tablets can watch from a Slingbox, but it can only stream to one at a time. What that means is my whole family can have access to the Slingbox, but If I am watching TV through my Slingbox and one of my children try to access it they will get a message saying that the Slingbox is busy streaming to someone else.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
Question

Does slingbox have to be connected to the internet while it's in use? I have an aircard and my plans would be carrying the card with me.

4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes - the Slingbox Solo has to be connected to the Internet via Ethernet to work. As long as your Slingbox is connected at home / work / other to a Broadband Internet connection, you can access it remotely with an aircard-connected laptop or other computer.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
blangton
 from
Truckee, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, your Slingbox must be connected to the Internet and your computer must be connected to the Internet if that is where you are watching from. You can use a direct connection, WiFi, or an air card. Please keep in mind that the faster your Internet connection the better the quality of the picture.
4 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with the samsung galaxy?

4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chuck057
 from
chicago
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you just have to buy the android app for it for about $30. Sam,e with the iPad or iPhone or android phone
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are a bunch of devices carrying the Samsung Galaxy name, both smartphones and tablets, so it's difficult to say definitively that your device will work.

However, as long as the device meets our system requirements for either the SlingPlayer for Android Phones or SlingPlayer for Android Tablets it should work just fine. You can find the system requirements here:

http://www.slingbox.com/go/android-devices
http://www.slingbox.com/go/android-tablets-devices
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this work with AT&T Uverse?

4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chuck057
 from
chicago
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as the unversed box has component jacks you can use It. AT&T box won't stop it from working all the sling box is doing is grabbing the video and sound after it has left the box and before it gets to the tv and sending it through the Internet
4 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, it will work with AT&T U-Verse broadband.

Do you know the model name/number of the set-top box you'd be using?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>