Looking for Answers about Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

The Slingbox SOLO makes it easy for you to watch and control your favorite TV source from anywhere in the world on a Windows PC, Mac, mobile phone or tablet. Enjoy your DVR, digital cable, satellite receiver or DVD player in standard-definition quality. With the Slingbox SOLO you can watch your favorite TV shows and sporting events from anywhere, anytime.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions
 | 
79 Answers
Overall Rating:
3.698 out of 5
3.7
out of
5
(129 Reviews)129

Questions & Answers for Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO

Question

I have dishnet satellite tv will it work

3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
big phil
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
See my review on the product to know how it works. It essentially hooks up to the box near your TV, so it probably does. They have a list of devices supported on their website. Here is a good source http://www.slingbox.com/go/slingbox-solo-faq.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TVWatcher3
 from
Orange County, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes It will work on Comcast, Dish Network, DirecTV. The companies that it supports should be on the front of the box
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Tim6499
 from
Saxonburg, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
yes. i've been looking into getting one of these for a while, did a little research on the internet and came across a few people using this with dish and had no problems.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
brent
 from
southern california
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the Solo need to be hard wired to the router, or will it accept a wireless internet connection?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hardwired, cable included.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I have only hard wired it. I don't think you can go wireless with the current unit. If you haven't tried it, you should buy the iPad app. It is great!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SlingboxLover
 from
Madison WI
-2points
0out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, it does not need to be hard wired to your router. You can use Wireless or Powerline networking solutions to connect to your router.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

viewing slingbox overseas

I am a huge NBA fan and I plan going to Europe(Greece) durning the playoffs. If I purchase a Slingbox, and set it up at my home in the US, will I have any problems viewing the playoff game due to Counrty restrictions, or restriction that NBA might put on televised games?
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should have no problem watching it. As long as the Internet connection is good you will be good to go
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No you shouldn't have any issues if you have a good Internet connection. I use mine all the time when I'm in Europe and Asia. Watched a lot of football on it. I did have some trouble watching some basketball games clearly. The picture was pretty distorted with all the action. Could have been because of my Internet connection. You can easily test it by going to a wifi location near your house and bringing it up on your computer. This should be the same as when you are over seas as long as the Internet connection is comparable. Good luck.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Nope!

That's the beauty of the Slingbox. It allows you to duplicate your home viewing experience from wherever you are. If you can watch it from home, you can watch it remotely. By the same token, if you're trying to watch something that requires a subscription, like NBA League Pass, you'd also need to be subscribed to that channel.

For more information, be sure to review our Mac and Windows system requirements pages below:

http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000134.html
http://support.slingbox.com/get/KB-2000302.html

Happy Slinging!
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

If you are watching programs from the dvr either live or recorded via the Slingbox on a PC; can you use windows media and record it to the hard drive?

Are you able to record the programs you are watching via Slingbox to PC?
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Stalker007
 from
Kentucky
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, yes you can. But if your doing it over a 3g connection it can be a little iffy.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Unfortunately that is something that you cannot do with it. You can only watch it on there website. It doesn't go through win media player
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
RoUnd rock, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, it's not possible to record shows to your hard drive, but you can record shows to your DVR, if one is attached to your Slingbox.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Will the TV display on a dual monitor computer set-up?

I have dual monitors connected to my computer. Can the Slingbox be set up so that the TV is displayed on one computer monitor, freeing the other monitor for me to work on other computer activities, using the second computer monitor?
 
Products related to my question
Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
3.7 out of 5(129)
 
 
 
 
 
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Seneca Bob
 from
SC
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Should be no problem I do it at work all the item. I have the web page open on one monitor and my work program on my other monitor.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You view your Slingbox in a browser window using our Web SlingPlayer. So yes, you can move the browser window over to one monitor and do other things on the other monitor. This is how I use it all the time, especially at work!
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, it does this beautifully whether on a Mac or PC.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
VoodooSpringfield
 from
Springfield, MO
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Television Power Requirement

Does the home television have to be powered "on" at the same time for the remote user to access the signal via a remote laptop p.c. ?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
A1RoadWarrior
 from
Cape Cod, MA.
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
No the tv doesn't have to be on but the cable box does have to be on
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No, just the cable box has to be on
2 years, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
gearsof1129
 from
MA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, your TV does not need to be powered on in order to stream.

The Slingbox is generally connected directly to the source device (DVR, DVD player, etc.), and only requires a broadband connection to stream remotely.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Who has primary control of TV? TV user or Slingbox user?

If I am watching one program on the TV, and someone wants to watch something else using their computer, what happens? Does the person watching via computer over-ride person watching on TV?
3 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The slingbox is transmitting whatever is playing on your cable box or DVR just like when you have your TV on. If some one happens to have the TV on and they change the channel, then the person viewing remotely would see that channel as well. And visa versa, if the person viewing remotely changes the channel back, the local person is viewing that channel.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TVWatcher3
 from
Orange County, CA
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Whom ever changes the channel last, sometime my wife changes the channel in the mornings when i am running late.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Moe
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
Question

Slingbox hookup

I am wondering if my laptop with a usb internet card and Slingbox will be able to send American tv from my direct tv to a mac laptop in Nanjing China??
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dean
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
From what I can tell, you should have no problem as long as your computer can get high speed internet (it is video and audio that has to be processed). As long as the country allows you to go to the sling box website. When you watch it over the internet, you actually go to the sling box website and it operates from there.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
drtor
 from
Westmoreland, TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The slingbox connects to your cable box and has to be wire connected to your internet. If you can do that, then anywhere you can get to the slingbox site, you can watch TV. Do you know if you can get to the slingbox site in Nanjing China? If you can, then you can likely watch there.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TVWatcher3
 from
Orange County, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it work for an iPod touch newest version?

2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Go to the Slingbox website, you can find out which devices are compatible
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, iPod Touch, iPhone and iPad. Here is a link to all the supported mobile devices. http://www.slingbox.com/go/spm
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with the samsung galaxy?

2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chuck057
 from
chicago
on Sling Media - The Slingbox SOLO
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you just have to buy the android app for it for about $30. Sam,e with the iPad or iPhone or android phone
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Slags
 from
Round rock, tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
There are a bunch of devices carrying the Samsung Galaxy name, both smartphones and tablets, so it's difficult to say definitively that your device will work.

However, as long as the device meets our system requirements for either the SlingPlayer for Android Phones or SlingPlayer for Android Tablets it should work just fine. You can find the system requirements here:

http://www.slingbox.com/go/android-devices
http://www.slingbox.com/go/android-tablets-devices
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Sling Support
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>