Looking for Answers about Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black

Experience the nostalgic sound of vinyl with this fully automatic belt-driven turntable that supports 33-1/3 and 45 rpm record playback speeds and features a USB output for importing your favorite records' tracks to a PC.
Customer Questions & Answers:
70 Questions
 | 
196 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.208 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black

Question

Plate seems to wobble up and down slightly when spinning, even with no album

Is it normal for the plate to wobble on rotation? I just bought it for x-mas and I thought it might be the albums but when I spin it with no album and without the rubber cover, the aluminum plat still seems to go up and down on rotation.
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
We recommend to check the following links to solve the issue with the plate :
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/43000/kw/turntable/p/41901%2C46342%2C46343/c/65%2C66/related/1
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40248/p/41901%2C46342%2C46343/c/65%2C66/kw/turntable~ Jeannette
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the arm automatic or manual?

1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
a
 from
seattle
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Automatic
3 weeks, 3 days ago
by
Posted by: 
wvcrews
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Arm is Automatic For Start, & Stop, & of coarse can be used Manually too, & has an Up/ Down Button which is helpful...
4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Russkins
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Automatic
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Scottiegirl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Auto
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SaWookie
 from
San Antonio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi there! the arm of this Sony PSLX300USB is fully automatic. When playback is finished, the tone arm returns to the arm stand automatically, then the platter stops rotating. -Ely
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The arm is fully automatic operation.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with windows 8?

3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes any windows pc will work
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
videoman
 from
Mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does and it has software that is awesome!
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jazzepy
 from
Memphis TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I think it only works with windows 7.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Cardiiacmallalker18
 from
New Hartford, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Mine did tonight. When I bought it it came with Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio so I could record, so that is what I use. It works fine on 8.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This turntable does not support Windows 8.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hello, thank you for your message. In regards to your question, unfortunately this particular model number of turntable is not compatible with windows 8. The following Operating Systems are compatible and supported: Windows Vista Home Basic/ Windows Vista Home Premium/ Windows Vista Business/ Windows Vista Ultimate/ Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 or higher/ Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 or higher.

Note: 64 bit operating systems are not supported. Best regards, Oscar.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you record directly from turntable to computer?

Is it necessary to have the turntable connected to a stereo while you connect it to a computer to record? Or can you just use the turntable and computer?
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I did not have to connect it to a Stereo then the computer. It will connect simply enough directly to the computer via a USB cable. The software to pick up LP music, however, is difficult to use.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
briarich
 from
Denver CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You have to download software disc before recording.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you can connect it directly to your PC with a USB cable.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
FormerAudiophile
 from
Denver
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can record direct to computer, but I like to keep mine connected to the receiver so I can listen to it at the same time.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hello, thank you for your message. In regards to your question fortunate you can record directly to a computer through USB. I kindly share with you the operating instructions: https://docs.sony.com/release/PSLX300USB.pdf. Best regards, Oscar.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, you can record directly from turntable to computer.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What else do I have to buy to play music?

I don't have any audio equip at the moment. I want to play my LPs and found this turntable attractive. In order to play music, what else do I have to buy? Amprifire? Speaker?
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nikki
 from
KY
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
this turntable will play through your computer or any reciever
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
videoman
 from
Mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Nikki,
yes, you must have an amplifier, and speakers to be able to listen to it.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
davespc
 from
Birmingham
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You have to plug the attached phono cables to some type of amplifier that has RCA inputs. Could be an audio receiver, boom box, etc.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
MWilliams
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You will need at least a stereo receiver with a couple of speakers and wire for an optimal setup. You could also run it through some simple computer speakers, but for the best sound you will want it going through a receiver of some type.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Nothing, plug it in and its ready to go.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Momof3
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hi Nikki,

This unit supports Audio Out (red and white) ports. Any device that has Audio In(red and white) like receivers + speakers or soundbars will do. Thanks. -Joffrey
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this turntable with a Mac and a Bose wave radio?

4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
2niner7R
 from
Mid MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The software needed to record is compatible with the Windows OS Vista and XP and to be able to listen to a Vinyl record it will be necessary to have an amplified analog audio port available on your Bose unit like a PHONO jack or similar to be able to listen to your Vinyl records in high quality.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I connect the turntable to bose computer speakers?

How do I connect the turntable to bose computer speakers? The plugs aren't right. I don't understand...help.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Granny Smith
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would suggest an adapter. 3.5mm (femaile) to connect to the speakers and RCA/Composite Audio/Red & White (female) to connect to the wires coming from the turntable. If such a cable exists. If it doesn't some male to males and couplers should do. Bring it in to your local best buy and they can help. Make sure to bring either the actual equipment (speakers & turntable) or pictures of the ends of the cables to show an employee. Make sure when you hook it up this way to have the PHONO/LINE switch to line or you may blow out your speakers.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This unit will need to be connected through an audio in jack instead, if your Bose speakers don't have the same type of ports it will be necessary to purchase an adapter depending on the plug of your unit.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
 from
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Have you tried using an optical audio cable
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Legacy
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the turntable be plugged into computer speakers? If so, how?

I purchased Bose computer speakers with the turntable at Best Buy. I was told I could plug the turnable directly into the speakers. I am unable to get it to work.....can't figure out how to plug in. P.S. I am totally a novice at this stuff.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Granny Smith
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
RCA to 1/8. Like 3 bucks.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Richardson263
 from
You'll need an adapter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the turntable can be plugged into computer speakers.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the dust cover fit over the record while being played?

While in use, does the dust cover have to remain up? Or is the platform large enough for the dust cover to be closed while in play?
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I am able to close the dust cover while using it to play/record 33 1/3 LP's.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
musicman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
yes it does! you can even press the play button where it lifts up while the cover is down!
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
elizabeth
 from
amherst, ma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can play a record with the cover close. ..
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jacknjen3t
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why do my records play way faster than they should?

Both 33 and 45 records play way to fast, they were playing normally. Then after about four uses it started playing them fast.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would return player. Sounds like a mechanical issue.
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
My turntable did the same thing. You need to return it and invest in a professional or proven vintage turntable.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
stuartmurdoch
 from
Glasgow (ok, Florida)
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This model has a speed adjustment (the slide bar on the right of the turntable.) Sounds like someone has been playing with that. Slide the bar back to the normal setting and the records will play at the correct speed. This bar is on there for DJs to get creative with vinyl to convert to audio files.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Chip
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>