Looking for Answers about Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black

Experience the nostalgic sound of vinyl with this fully automatic belt-driven turntable that supports 33-1/3 and 45 rpm record playback speeds and features a USB output for importing your favorite records' tracks to a PC.
Customer Questions & Answers:
91 Questions
 | 
268 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black

Question

Are speakers built into this turntable?

Are Speakers built into this turntable?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, you have to plug it into a sound system or receiver to hear it.
1 year, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Crismoonshine
 from
El Paso,Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cahgoonis
 from
Englewood, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No. Why would you want built in speakers? To get the best sound possible you should connect it to your stereo & run it through a pair of quality speakers.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cahgoonis
 from
Englewood, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
This unit does not have speakers or an amplifier. It does have a pre-amp built in but you will need to plug it into an amplifier of some sort or any device with RCA inputs.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nedford
 from
Greensboro
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
No, you have to connect them using rca cable (included) or play through your computer w/usb. I think one is also included but I have several around from other things so cant remember
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dluvtx
 from
texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No, the PS-LX300USB has a USB output and RCA audio outputs for external speakers.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the dust cover fit over the record while being played?

While in use, does the dust cover have to remain up? Or is the platform large enough for the dust cover to be closed while in play?
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, you can play records with the dustcover closed. I do it all the time.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Ford
 from
Cedar Rapids
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The dust cover can be left up or close all the way, whether you are playing the vinyl or not. It is large enough not to touch the vinyl and give it space at the same time.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
ValiantTerra
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I am able to close the dust cover while using it to play/record 33 1/3 LP's.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
musicman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
yes it does! you can even press the play button where it lifts up while the cover is down!
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
elizabeth
 from
amherst, ma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
You can play a record with the cover close. ..
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jacknjen3t
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you record directly from turntable to computer?

Is it necessary to have the turntable connected to a stereo while you connect it to a computer to record? Or can you just use the turntable and computer?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I did not have to connect it to a Stereo then the computer. It will connect simply enough directly to the computer via a USB cable. The software to pick up LP music, however, is difficult to use.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
briarich
 from
Denver CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You have to download software disc before recording.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you can connect it directly to your PC with a USB cable.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
FormerAudiophile
 from
Denver
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can record direct to computer, but I like to keep mine connected to the receiver so I can listen to it at the same time.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hello, thank you for your message. In regards to your question fortunate you can record directly to a computer through USB. I kindly share with you the operating instructions: https://docs.sony.com/release/PSLX300USB.pdf. Best regards, Oscar.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, you can record directly from turntable to computer.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with windows 8?

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes any windows pc will work
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
videoman
 from
Mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does and it has software that is awesome!
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jazzepy
 from
Memphis TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I think it only works with windows 7.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cardiiacmallalker18
 from
New Hartford, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Mine did tonight. When I bought it it came with Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio so I could record, so that is what I use. It works fine on 8.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This turntable does not support Windows 8.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hello, thank you for your message. In regards to your question, unfortunately this particular model number of turntable is not compatible with windows 8. The following Operating Systems are compatible and supported: Windows Vista Home Basic/ Windows Vista Home Premium/ Windows Vista Business/ Windows Vista Ultimate/ Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 or higher/ Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 or higher.

Note: 64 bit operating systems are not supported. Best regards, Oscar.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the arm automatic or manual?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
a
 from
seattle
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Automatic
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
wvcrews
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Arm is Automatic For Start, & Stop, & of coarse can be used Manually too, & has an Up/ Down Button which is helpful...
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Russkins
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Automatic
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Scottiegirl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Auto
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SaWookie
 from
San Antonio
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi there! the arm of this Sony PSLX300USB is fully automatic. When playback is finished, the tone arm returns to the arm stand automatically, then the platter stops rotating. -Ely
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+4points
4out of 4found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The arm is fully automatic operation.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Plate seems to wobble up and down slightly when spinning, even with no album

Is it normal for the plate to wobble on rotation? I just bought it for x-mas and I thought it might be the albums but when I spin it with no album and without the rubber cover, the aluminum plat still seems to go up and down on rotation.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
If the platter wobbles, check to make sure the platter itself is seated properly. Refer to the manual or go to www.sony.net and click on Support.
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Akira808
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
not certain what problem your having. I would reinstall the platter . Sounds like the aluminum platter may not be seated correctly. Pull off the belt from the brass spindle that revolves. Then reset the aluminum platter. then pull the belt back over the brass spindle.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
betwixt
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No that is not normal. Maybe the table is warped or your belt isn't on correctly.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gusa39
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The platter on my turntable doesn't wobble. I don't think the platter on any turntable should ever wobble.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Ford
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
My vinyl player wobbles a little bit while playing too, but I believe it's normal. As long as the audio is playing fine, there's nothing to worry about.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
ValiantTerra
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
We recommend to check the following links to solve the issue with the plate :
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/43000/kw/turntable/p/41901%2C46342%2C46343/c/65%2C66/related/1
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40248/p/41901%2C46342%2C46343/c/65%2C66/kw/turntable~ Jeannette
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What else do I have to buy to play music?

I don't have any audio equip at the moment. I want to play my LPs and found this turntable attractive. In order to play music, what else do I have to buy? Amprifire? Speaker?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nikki
 from
KY
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
this turntable will play through your computer or any reciever
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
videoman
 from
Mi
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Nikki,
yes, you must have an amplifier, and speakers to be able to listen to it.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
davespc
 from
Birmingham
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You have to plug the attached phono cables to some type of amplifier that has RCA inputs. Could be an audio receiver, boom box, etc.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
MWilliams
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You will need at least a stereo receiver with a couple of speakers and wire for an optimal setup. You could also run it through some simple computer speakers, but for the best sound you will want it going through a receiver of some type.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Nothing, plug it in and its ready to go.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Momof3
-6points
1out of 8found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hi Nikki,

This unit supports Audio Out (red and white) ports. Any device that has Audio In(red and white) like receivers + speakers or soundbars will do. Thanks. -Joffrey
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Hook-up to older amplifier

I have a Denon AV Surround Receiver Amplifier-Tuner AVR-900. Can I connect this unit to this Amp/Receiver?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nick
 from
Floyds Knobs Indiana
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you can. It comes with RCA plugs which plugs into the Phono jacks on your receiver. The cable is short, though so you may need an extension.
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Akira808
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Does your receiver have phono, tape 2 or aux ports? If so, you certainly can.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Cahgoonis
 from
Englewood, CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes. This turntable can use RCA cables to hook up to any receiver. You can also hook it up to any boom box type of stereo. There is a switch in the back to chose which option you need.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
BBReViewer2222
 from
Tampa Bay, Fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
You would have to check if your receiver/amplifier has a phono input. For instructions you may refer to page 7 of the operating instruction manual using the link below.

http://www.docs.sony.com/release/PSLX300USB.pdf
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the conversion option compatible with mac as well as pc?

2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
As long as you have audio in and out, it does. The computer will detect the item and connect them to the audio program in your computer. There is a similar product which plays vinyl, cd and cassette. I think the brand is Koss or something similar
2 weeks, 5 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Donfello
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The software provided is for PC only. If you use a Mac, use Audacity, which is a free open-source recording software.
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Akira808
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
works with both Mac and pc
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hemiguy1
 from
columbus ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Absolutely! You Mac will see the turntable as a sound card or microphone. It will be listed as "USB Audio Codec".
Then you can use any audio program to record the stream.

A good free program to use is Audacity. By default Audacity records .wav files but these can easily be converted to MP3 by installing the free Lame encoder. Directions to install Lame accompany the download of Audacity.

You can also use GarageBand. Simply select the turntable (USB Audio codec) as an instrument. Be sure to select the system (or other device) as an output or you won't be able to hear what you are recording.

I have also used GarageBand on my iPad to record songs from vinyl.
2 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nedford
 from
Greensboro
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Listed below are the system requirements for the computer that will be connected to the turntable.

* Compliant computer : IBM PC/AT or compatible computers.

* Operating Systems:
- Windows Vista Home Basic
-Windows Vista Home Premium
-Windows Vista Business
-Windows Vista Ultimate
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 or Higher.
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 or Higher.

Operating systems other than those listed above are not supported (64 bit operating system are not supported).
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Sound

Cannot get sound from the stereo, is there anything special we need to do when installing? We have windows 7.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
No, but you'll need to adjust your computer audio settings and instead of setting the playback audio to "2" (according to the instructions), you'll need to set it to "100" in order to hear the vinyl player playing thru your computer speakers.
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
ValiantTerra
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Download enclosed software disc and connect USB cord to computer.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I noticed that too. I finally just ran a stereo cord from the rca cables (you need to use female to female rca adapters ,and an rca to stereo mini-plug cable to do this) to the input on my sound card. You can also record that way, but I like the recording quality of the USB connection better. Hope this helps. Best - Rob
1 year, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RobJF
 from
Williamsport,PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Probably need to play it thru some type of software, try what came with the box.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
2niner7R
 from
Mid MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
You may follow the troubleshooting steps using the link below.

http://goo.gl/udPChL
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>