Looking for Answers about Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black

Experience the nostalgic sound of vinyl with this fully automatic belt-driven turntable that supports 33-1/3 and 45 rpm record playback speeds and features a USB output for importing your favorite records' tracks to a PC.
Customer Questions & Answers:
72 Questions
 | 
213 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black

Question

Analog media to digital output, why would you do this?

You take a analog media device, aka LP, run it through a analog to digital converter, enter quantizing noise taking away the presence that an LP can deliver. Even the last manufacturer to make a true analog stereo receiver, Harmon Kardon doesn't make them anymore. It's sad that music was lost in the 1980's because there really was a difference and it was a big difference. If the sounds go thorough even a single DAC, you lose.

So why waste money on analog media, which was likely mixed from a digital source, when it is converted to a digital signal before it even leaves the device?
1 week, 1 day ago
by
Posted by: 
noway
 from
usa
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
0 answers
Answers
This question currently has no approved answers.
Question

Does software work on Yosemite on an iMac

Is it Apple compatible?
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SY
 from
FL
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Gusa39
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Hello SY! No, this units Sound Forge Audio Studio LE software will not be supported by an Apple computer only with a windows system as shown on page 9 of the operating instruction manual with the following link: http://146.215.230.18/release/PSLX300USB.pdf ~ Jeannette
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Plate seems to wobble up and down slightly when spinning, even with no album

Is it normal for the plate to wobble on rotation? I just bought it for x-mas and I thought it might be the albums but when I spin it with no album and without the rubber cover, the aluminum plat still seems to go up and down on rotation.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
No that is not normal. Maybe the table is warped or your belt isn't on correctly.
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Gusa39
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The platter on my turntable doesn't wobble. I don't think the platter on any turntable should ever wobble.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Ford
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
My vinyl player wobbles a little bit while playing too, but I believe it's normal. As long as the audio is playing fine, there's nothing to worry about.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ValiantTerra
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
We recommend to check the following links to solve the issue with the plate :
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/43000/kw/turntable/p/41901%2C46342%2C46343/c/65%2C66/related/1
https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/40248/p/41901%2C46342%2C46343/c/65%2C66/kw/turntable~ Jeannette
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the arm automatic or manual?

4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
a
 from
seattle
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Automatic
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
wvcrews
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Arm is Automatic For Start, & Stop, & of coarse can be used Manually too, & has an Up/ Down Button which is helpful...
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Russkins
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Automatic
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Scottiegirl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Auto
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SaWookie
 from
San Antonio
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hi there! the arm of this Sony PSLX300USB is fully automatic. When playback is finished, the tone arm returns to the arm stand automatically, then the platter stops rotating. -Ely
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The arm is fully automatic operation.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

does this work with windows 8?

6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
yes any windows pc will work
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
videoman
 from
Mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does and it has software that is awesome!
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Jazzepy
 from
Memphis TN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I think it only works with windows 7.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Cardiiacmallalker18
 from
New Hartford, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Mine did tonight. When I bought it it came with Sony Sound Forge Audio Studio so I could record, so that is what I use. It works fine on 8.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This turntable does not support Windows 8.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hello, thank you for your message. In regards to your question, unfortunately this particular model number of turntable is not compatible with windows 8. The following Operating Systems are compatible and supported: Windows Vista Home Basic/ Windows Vista Home Premium/ Windows Vista Business/ Windows Vista Ultimate/ Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 or higher/ Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 or higher.

Note: 64 bit operating systems are not supported. Best regards, Oscar.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you record directly from turntable to computer?

Is it necessary to have the turntable connected to a stereo while you connect it to a computer to record? Or can you just use the turntable and computer?
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I did not have to connect it to a Stereo then the computer. It will connect simply enough directly to the computer via a USB cable. The software to pick up LP music, however, is difficult to use.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
briarich
 from
Denver CO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You have to download software disc before recording.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Pick
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you can connect it directly to your PC with a USB cable.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
FormerAudiophile
 from
Denver
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You can record direct to computer, but I like to keep mine connected to the receiver so I can listen to it at the same time.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Hello, thank you for your message. In regards to your question fortunate you can record directly to a computer through USB. I kindly share with you the operating instructions: https://docs.sony.com/release/PSLX300USB.pdf. Best regards, Oscar.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Yes, you can record directly from turntable to computer.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

What else do I have to buy to play music?

I don't have any audio equip at the moment. I want to play my LPs and found this turntable attractive. In order to play music, what else do I have to buy? Amprifire? Speaker?
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nikki
 from
KY
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
this turntable will play through your computer or any reciever
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
videoman
 from
Mi
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Nikki,
yes, you must have an amplifier, and speakers to be able to listen to it.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
davespc
 from
Birmingham
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You have to plug the attached phono cables to some type of amplifier that has RCA inputs. Could be an audio receiver, boom box, etc.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
MWilliams
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You will need at least a stereo receiver with a couple of speakers and wire for an optimal setup. You could also run it through some simple computer speakers, but for the best sound you will want it going through a receiver of some type.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Nothing, plug it in and its ready to go.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Momof3
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Hi Nikki,

This unit supports Audio Out (red and white) ports. Any device that has Audio In(red and white) like receivers + speakers or soundbars will do. Thanks. -Joffrey
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

Can I use this turntable with a Mac and a Bose wave radio?

7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Because the Sony turntable doesn't require a pre-amp you should be able to use it with the Bose radio. I have used mine with Bose Companion II self-powered speakers, they didn't get very loud but they had enough volume that I could enjoy my old 33s. I don't know what kind of Aux input the Bose radio has these days so you may need to buy an adapter.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Ford
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
2niner7R
 from
Mid MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The software needed to record is compatible with the Windows OS Vista and XP and to be able to listen to a Vinyl record it will be necessary to have an amplified analog audio port available on your Bose unit like a PHONO jack or similar to be able to listen to your Vinyl records in high quality.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I connect the turntable to bose computer speakers?

How do I connect the turntable to bose computer speakers? The plugs aren't right. I don't understand...help.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Granny Smith
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
You should be able to buy an adapter cable to make the connection from your turntable to the Bose speakers. If you can, take a picture of the back of your speakers to Best Buy or Radio Shack, so they can see what kind of audio input(s) you have. They should be able to sell you the adapter cable you need.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Ford
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I would suggest an adapter. 3.5mm (femaile) to connect to the speakers and RCA/Composite Audio/Red & White (female) to connect to the wires coming from the turntable. If such a cable exists. If it doesn't some male to males and couplers should do. Bring it in to your local best buy and they can help. Make sure to bring either the actual equipment (speakers & turntable) or pictures of the ends of the cables to show an employee. Make sure when you hook it up this way to have the PHONO/LINE switch to line or you may blow out your speakers.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Diabrettic
 from
Georgia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This unit will need to be connected through an audio in jack instead, if your Bose speakers don't have the same type of ports it will be necessary to purchase an adapter depending on the plug of your unit.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
 from
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Have you tried using an optical audio cable
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Legacy
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the turntable be plugged into computer speakers? If so, how?

I purchased Bose computer speakers with the turntable at Best Buy. I was told I could plug the turnable directly into the speakers. I am unable to get it to work.....can't figure out how to plug in. P.S. I am totally a novice at this stuff.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Granny Smith
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable - Black
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
They have to be self-powered speakers (like the Bose Companion speakers) for what you described to work. Self-powered speakers have the audio amplifier built in. If you don't have self-powered speakers (like the Bose 201s or 301s) you need to plug the turntable into a stereo receiver and then connect your speakers to the receiver. The good news is your receiver doesn't need a Phono input, an Aux input will do. This is because the Sony turntable has a built-in preamp.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Ford
 from
Cedar Rapids
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
When it comes to Bose speakers, I don't know what they look like or how they work exactly and what ports they have, but I do know that if they can connect to computers, then you can connect the vinyl player to the computer, set up your audio settings according to the instructions, and play the player thru the computer and from there, play thru to your speakers. You can also use the RCA jacks and connect them to an audio receiver (or any device/electronic with RCA jacks) to playback the audio from the vinyl player. It depends on how you want to connect your vinyl player.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ValiantTerra
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
RCA to 1/8. Like 3 bucks.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Richardson263
 from
You'll need an adapter.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, the turntable can be plugged into computer speakers.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>