Looking for Answers about Sony - USB Stereo Turntable?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Sony - USB Stereo Turntable

Experience the nostalgic sound of vinyl with this fully automatic belt-driven turntable that supports 33-1/3 and 45 rpm record playback speeds and features a USB output for importing your favorite records' tracks to a PC.
Customer Questions & Answers:
64 Questions
 | 
157 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.189 out of 5
4.2
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Sony - USB Stereo Turntable

Question

How do I connect the turntable to bose computer speakers?

How do I connect the turntable to bose computer speakers? The plugs aren't right. I don't understand...help.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Granny Smith
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Have you tried using an optical audio cable
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Legacy
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can the turntable be plugged into computer speakers? If so, how?

I purchased Bose computer speakers with the turntable at Best Buy. I was told I could plug the turnable directly into the speakers. I am unable to get it to work.....can't figure out how to plug in. P.S. I am totally a novice at this stuff.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Granny Smith
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
-1point
0out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the turntable can be plugged into computer speakers.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Does the dust cover fit over the record while being played?

While in use, does the dust cover have to remain up? Or is the platform large enough for the dust cover to be closed while in play?
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I am able to close the dust cover while using it to play/record 33 1/3 LP's.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
musicman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
yes it does! you can even press the play button where it lifts up while the cover is down!
1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
elizabeth
 from
amherst, ma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can play a record with the cover close. ..
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
jacknjen3t
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Why do my records play way faster than they should?

Both 33 and 45 records play way to fast, they were playing normally. Then after about four uses it started playing them fast.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
This model has a speed adjustment (the slide bar on the right of the turntable.) Sounds like someone has been playing with that. Slide the bar back to the normal setting and the records will play at the correct speed. This bar is on there for DJs to get creative with vinyl to convert to audio files.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Chip
 from
Charlotte, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can this turntable be hooked up to a Sony DVD ATS DAV-FR1 home theater system?

3 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Judy
 from
Florida
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes as long as your device has RCA inputs or even auxiliary with the right adapter.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Crismoonshine
 from
El Paso,Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
it connects to any system with a standard a/v input (red & white plugs).
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
dluvtx
 from
texas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
this unit has the old rya jacks they do make adapters to plug into newer systems as long as your unit has a imput jack and amp
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hemiguy1
 from
columbus ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do we need to purchase speakers to hear the sound.?

4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
You need to plug it in to some kind of sound system or receiver with the RCA inputs(red & white cables)
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Crismoonshine
 from
El Paso,Tx
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
you need some sort of amp or receiver and yes speakers are needed or use headphones, you need amp, this turn table has no amp
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hemiguy1
 from
columbus ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, you will need a receiver and speakers as with most non-portable turntables.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
spagntdcooper
 from
Mpls, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, you need to purchase speakers in order to hear sound with the Sony USB Stereo Turntable.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Sound

Cannot get sound from the stereo, is there anything special we need to do when installing? We have windows 7.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I noticed that too. I finally just ran a stereo cord from the rca cables (you need to use female to female rca adapters ,and an rca to stereo mini-plug cable to do this) to the input on my sound card. You can also record that way, but I like the recording quality of the USB connection better. Hope this helps. Best - Rob
1 month, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
RobJF
 from
Williamsport,PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Probably need to play it thru some type of software, try what came with the box.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
2niner7R
 from
Mid MO
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You may follow the troubleshooting steps using the link below.

http://goo.gl/udPChL
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Can you monitor thru RCA jacks to receiver while simultaneously recording thru USB connection to a computer?

6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
you proab need tape monitor button, older units have them, and even some equalizers do as well
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hemiguy1
 from
columbus ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, You can. You do have to disconnect the USB cord from the computer to be able to play it back from the computer. This worked for me.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jim64
 from
Minnesota
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you can only connect the PS-LX300USB to one device at a time.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Bit rate Recording quality

What's the best bit rate one can get out of a recording (kbps)?
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
luxsavio
 from
Brazil
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It's user selectable, driven by whatever software you use. You can choose any quality you like up to and including lossless .flac
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
GRJJH77
 from
Grand Rapids, MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You can increase the bit depth up to 16 bit.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is the conversion option compatible with mac as well as pc?

10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Sony - USB Stereo Turntable
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
works with both Mac and pc
3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
hemiguy1
 from
columbus ohio
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Absolutely! You Mac will see the turntable as a sound card or microphone. It will be listed as "USB Audio Codec".
Then you can use any audio program to record the stream.

A good free program to use is Audacity. By default Audacity records .wav files but these can easily be converted to MP3 by installing the free Lame encoder. Directions to install Lame accompany the download of Audacity.

You can also use GarageBand. Simply select the turntable (USB Audio codec) as an instrument. Be sure to select the system (or other device) as an output or you won't be able to hear what you are recording.

I have also used GarageBand on my iPad to record songs from vinyl.
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Nedford
 from
Greensboro
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Listed below are the system requirements for the computer that will be connected to the turntable.

* Compliant computer : IBM PC/AT or compatible computers.

* Operating Systems:
- Windows Vista Home Basic
-Windows Vista Home Premium
-Windows Vista Business
-Windows Vista Ultimate
-Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2 or Higher.
-Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 or Higher.

Operating systems other than those listed above are not supported (64 bit operating system are not supported).
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SonyListens
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>