Looking for Answers about Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter

Add Bluetooth compatibility to your laptop with this convenient and compact micro USB adapter.
Customer Questions & Answers:
113 Questions
 | 
153 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.006 out of 5
4
out of
5
(523 Reviews)523

Questions & Answers for Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter

Question

Will the drivers still work when I upgrade from Windows 7 to Windows 8?

2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
+6points
6out of 6found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
As of February 2, 2013, this micro USB adapter works out-of-the-box* in Windows 8. I was able to send a file to my LG Motion 4G after successfully pairing the laptop with the smartphone.

laptop to smartphone? Yes
smartphone to laptop? Haven't tried.

* I have not tried sending a file from the phone to the laptop. Presumably it would work if you had an app. Right?
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I've been in contact with iogear and according to them, there's no Windows 8 compatible device at this time:
Jim

I am sorry but at this time we do not have any bluetooth devises that are are Windows 8 compatible.
Thank You,

Larry
IOGEAR Service Support

They went as far as to tell me to possibly go to the Broadcom site and try and find a driver that's compatible, however I'm doing it at my own risk! So my next question is who has a KNOWN compatible dongle? Does anyone know?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JWA1353
 from
Michigan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It appears that this BT adapter uses hardware and drivers from Broadcom. If you go to "Support/Downloads" tab, the Drivers/Firmware/Software link they provide is to the Broadcom website, here:
http://www.broadcom.com/support/bluetooth/update.php

In that Broadcom page, named "Bluetooth Software Download", they state that the System Requirements include Windows 8. So perhaps the latest driver available from the Broadcom website is newer than that packaged driver that comes with the Rocketfish bluetooth USB adapter. Fingers crossed.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Luke
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
It works when you are installing Windows 8 it ask to uninstall app DO IT and finish the install and it well work.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This doesn't work with Windows 8.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
nbr953
 from
Bethlehem, PA
-1point
1out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 6
No it will not and I will be returning the one I bought after Geek Squat told me it shouldn't be a problem when I upgrade to Windows 8.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
T Beal
 from
Lewisville, Texas
+6points
6out of 6found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it compatible for windows 8.1

I have been looking around for one that is compatible with windows 8.1, but i cant find many. i was wondering if this one was.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JoshR
 from
Overland Park, KS
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
this definitely does not work under 8.1. The device won't even turn on!
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
fitness.tina
 from
Arkansas
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
As of 2/1/2014 there were no Windows 8.1 compatible drivers for the Rocketfish Bluetooth USB Adpater - at least that is my experience and what the Rocketfish help desk told me. They said to wait for Microsoft to release an upgrade to Windows 8.1
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ben45
 from
Estero FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
works great, forget the software it comes with and let windows install it
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
azguy99
 from
arizona
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 4
it is not compatible with version 8.1 attempted yesterday and spent 5 hours in the bios trying to manipulate windows and even trying other drivers in Rocketfish's stead. It did not work. called RF and they said that they hated windows 8.1 and that the driver will be out in a few months.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
barrywertz
 from
Zionsville, IN
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

need drivers for XP - I have a net book with no CD drive

4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Driver does not work.
3 years ago
by
Posted by: 
ontarff
 from
USA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I am using the Rocketfish USB Bluetooth adapter to drive both my mouse and my cell phone. It works fine, just let Windows find the driver.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NoNameUser
 from
Lake St Louis, MO
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
A Windows XP compatible driver can be download at http://www.rocketfishproducts.com/p..., click Manuals & Support
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JohnRF
0points
1out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

is there any unit compatible with a Macintosh computer?

3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
+2points
2out of 2found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Actually, this adapter works just fine with a Mac...I grabbed one to help my Dad connect a Creative D200 Bluetooth Speaker he bought without even looking at the package for OS compatibility. Once we got it to his place, I was dismayed to find it didn't list Mac as an OS. However, I popped it in anyway and it came right up and installed itself and paired with his speaker just fine.
This was on a 24 inch iMac with OSX.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Wolfy
 from
IL
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No- there isn't.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
anon
 from
rf
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This item should be compatible with any system that has any of the following Operating Systems: Microsoft® Windows 2000, Microsoft® Windows XP, Microsoft Windows Vista® or Windows 7.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JustinRF
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

I have not be able to pair a plantronics explorer 395 bluetooth headset

I am using Window 7 Home 64 bit with RF-MRBTAD. The headset shows as a device but will not connect.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kendall
 from
Des Moines, IA
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I would agree with Geoff, once I installed the drivers (I did it from their website, not the CD, because I needed the Windows 8 driver as well), I have had no issues and have had 3 different devices connected at one time including a Plantronics voyager headset. good luck.
1 year, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jbone1122
 from
China Grove, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
I think your problem is in your RocketFish Micro Bluetooth Adaptor. I returned mine. It see's devices but can't connect to any of them. After I returned mine I bought two Azio Micro Bluetooth Adaptors plus shipping for $21.43. Both work perfectly with all my bluetooth devices. Just like they should.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Make sure you install the drivers from the install CD that came with the device. Windows may install generic drivers, and it may even appear to be working, but that does not really mean it is fully functional. Only after I installed the manufacturer's drivers did mine pair with my bluetooth headset. You can also check the manufacturer's web site for more current drivers, if you still have trouble after installing the one from the CD.
2 years, 10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Geoff
 from
Mechanicsville, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

sync problems on jvc car stereo

Can i use this on my car stereo as a bluetooth for wireless streaming of music,because i cant get it to work,any information
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It depends on the model of your JVC. I purchased a JVC at Best Buy that did allow a Bluetooth dongle to be used in one of the two USB ports. I stream music and audio books regularly from my phone and laptop to my JVC radio.
7 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Are you trying to stream from a computer to your radio.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
TechManPro
 from
Home
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No, you cannot use this to add bluetooth connectivity to a stereo, even if that stereo has a USB port. This is due to the fact that the USB port on you stereo specifically looks for storage and/or Media devices, IE Flash Drives, iPods, etc. Since it's a BlueTooth device, your stereo doesn't have the necessary drivers to provide the support for all the options the BlueTooth USB device provides. Check your stereo's manufacturers information to discover whether or not there is an option for a BlueTooth expansion module.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
kmisterk
 from
Seattle
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Micro Usb Bluethooth

Is it designed to be used only for computer? Or can it be connected to an item such as a printer or plotter to be controlled from a computer?
2 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Work window8
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
puerto rico
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
PC or Mac OS only- there is no way to get the drivers into the devices you mentioned, nor to accept the licensure agreement.
2 years ago
by
Posted by: 
NobleElf
 from
Great Smokys NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
to set up your printer to be wireless you would need a different adapter. this is more for connecting certain bluetooth devices to you computer.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

need driver for Vista

need driver for Vista
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Windows loaded with no issue. I can even connect my Evo phone to the laptop with no issues what so ever.
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pepi63
 from
tampa, fl
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
A driver supporting Windows Vista can be downloaded from http://www.rocketfishproducts.com/p.... Click on Manuals & Support.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JohnBBY
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Drivers for windows 7

need the drivers for this
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
LatinaLover93
 from
buffalo,ny
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
As far as Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit goes, it has the drivers built in. I didn't have to use the disc nor download any software for it. I would assume the same goes with 32-bit as well. Any other flavor of Windows 7 (Starter, Home Premium, Pro, Ultimate) should have drivers built in.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Gregg
 from
Flagstaff, AZ
-9points
3out of 15found this answer helpful.
answer 2
A Windows 7 compatible driver is available for download at http://www.rocketfishproducts.com/p..., just click on Manuals & Support.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JohnBBY
-4points
2out of 8found this answer helpful.
Question

what version of bluetooth is the micro adapter?

Is this device a ver.1 or 2. or 2 plus esb or what ever it is called?
4 years, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Rocketfish - Micro Bluetooth USB Adapter
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Packaging States Bluetooth 2.1 EDR Adapter
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dockster
 from
chicago, il
+5points
5out of 5found this answer helpful.
answer 2
version 2 edr(enhanced data rate
4 years, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
johny826
 from
new york
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>