Looking for Answers about HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

HP Envy 4500 e-All-in-One Printer: With built-in Wi-Fi, this e-all-in-one printer provides a wireless connection to your network, so you can print, copy and scan with ease. HP ePrint and Apple® AirPrint let you print from your enabled mobile device.
Customer Questions & Answers:
106 Questions
 | 
363 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.515 out of 5
4.5
out of
5

Questions & Answers for HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black

Question

Size

Is the printer really as large as the specifications denote or is it the size of the box it comes in?
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is like a V6 engine in a Volvo it fills the box!
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
lomax223
 from
Hollister CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Dendog
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The dimensions listed are the printer dimensions not the box.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

windows vista?

will this work with a desktop running windows vista? and can you have more than one wireless device connected to it at the same time?
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
jasfiu
 from
il
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes this printer works with windows vista as well. Yes you can set up as many wireless devices you want as long as you have wi-fi. Enter the wi-fi information and every time you print something it sends it straight to the printer. NO APP needed.no cords, no disks.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
superwoman
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Vista is finicky but drivers shouldn't be a problem. Anything that can connect to the network can send to it, including online through Google Printing, the HP express printing, etc.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Surakmn
 from
Minnesota
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You can have more than one device connected wirelessly and is compatible with the Microsoft Windows Vista operating system with a free full feature software and driver download from the HP web site at:
http://support.hp.com/us-en/drivers/selfservice/HP-ENVY-4500-e-All-in-One-Printer-series/5304875/model/5304876#Z7_3054ICK0KGTE30AQO5O3KA30R1
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will it work with linux mint 17.1 xfce (Rebecca) on older Toshiba laptop?

4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
chris
 from
tampa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This HP PC is not compatible with the Linux operating system.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What type of power cord is it?

Power cord as in 3 or 2 inputs
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
It is a non-grounded two conductor cord with a US style plug. The internal power supply is a worldwide type and supports 50-60hz, 120-240V.
1 week, 6 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Jethro
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
2 inputs
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JerryL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
The power cord for this HP Printer has two inputs.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Do I haft to buy the high dollar ink or can I use the cheaper brand ?

4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
HP has blocked all refill companies from making ink and it will not work with non-HP ink. Do not purchase. I wish someone had told me this before I bought it.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JerryL
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You may use ink from other places, but you do run the risk of getting poor quality ink cartridges. I use Ink Farm ink. I have had mixed results having gotten some that were not very good and threw them into the trash.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
SpikeBPhoto
 from
Dyckesville, WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No ink is rather cheap
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jessica711
 from
Douglasville
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
you can but your number of copies printed will go down. We tried cheaper ones and found this to happen in almost all of them.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
boknuckles02
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

When bought new, does it come with full cartridge tanks?

4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
db
 from
fla
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It comes with full cartridges but they are relatively smaller than the ones you'll buy yourself.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
jaymerchant
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it does
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
william
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, the printer came with full cartridges and probably lasted as long as new cartridges.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Partist
 from
Dallas, Tx.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
It does. Ot come with full ink cartridges
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
904King
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
kathy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The printer came with full ink but not the full size cartridges. I bought a full size black cartridge but have not had to replace the beginner one that was in the printer. I have used about a quarter ream of paper so far.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Alice
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I keep the Envy 4500 printer from "going to sleep"

My 4500 goes off almost as soon as I print something and before I can get the next things ready to print. Is there a setting to control this?
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can't prevent it all together from going into Sleep Mode, but you can set it to go to Sleep up to 15 mins of non activity. Home>Preferences>Sleep>Select the time you prefer

If it is going to sleep in under 5 mins then you may have a bigger issue.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JerryL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
RE: HP Envy 4500: There is a "sleep" setting under "preferences" in the main menu. Goes from 5 minutes up.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
oldman928
 from
Orlando, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I don't have that problem with my printer. Mine stay active for awhile.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
nutpea
 from
utica n.y.
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
I print wirelessly from my iPad and it's never been an issue. I literally don't check if it's asleep or not. I just hit print and it searches, connects, prints... and s little while later, my daughter shows up bearing my documents (the printer is in her bedroom).
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
jaymerchant
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

I have an hp pavillion computer. Windows 8. Have hp Envy 4500 printer. If I connect printer and computer with USB A/B cable can I print to ipad.

Can I print to i pad with my HP envy 4500 if it is connected to my computer with a USB A/B cable? Can I print with cable and wirelessly. Can printer have dual functionality.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Munk A.
 from
NYC
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can print from the ipad if you get the HP app in the app store.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Joel
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, you can print wireless. Your iPad wireless is all you need. I don't have iStuff, I have Samsung, but yours should work. On your iPad, goto Networks, where you should be able to add the printer. My HP plugin driver only has options: Number of copies, color (black white or color), Page size (Legal, 4x6, 5x7, etc), and Orientation (portrait or landscape)
Good luck!
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
trangkd
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes even from Phones!!!
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
America
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, you need to download the hp app from the iTunes store
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
buyer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
yes
 
Products from my answer
 
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
chris
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
You should have no problems connecting this HP Printer via USB to one PC and connect wirelessly to your network to print from mobile devices.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it send faxes

Faxes
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
No
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Yosemite
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
no
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
sammivincent8
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
no
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
sparky
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
No, not at all.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
764552
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
This printer doesn't support fax. Only scan, copy and print. If you must have fax Brother and Epson have comparably priced models which do all four.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Surakmn
 from
Minnesota
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
This HP Printer does not have a fax .
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
HP Team
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this one let you adjust the font for the print out?

5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Barb
 from
Calif.
on HP - Envy 4500 Wireless e-All-in-One Printer - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
Maybe no, because I don't see anywhere in the Print dialog where I can adjust the font (both mobile and laptop)
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
trangkd
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
If I understand your question, the font size is controlled by the document settings on your computer. The printer prints what you send to it from your computer.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
reynoldsburgOSUfan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I would assume the font would be whatever your setting is on your computer, that is where you would select the font, not the printer.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Nancy
 from
Sacramento, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
soyouknow22
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
adjusting font is easier done by your computer or your smartphone.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
dembent
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
Haven't been able to do this.
I have tried and searched, but no such luck.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
jankster99
 from
Montgomery IL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>