Looking for Answers about Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal

Samsung ATIV Book 8 NP880Z5E-X01UB Laptop: This laptop offers some serious computing power with a superfast processor, dedicated graphics and plenty of storage space for your videos, movies and games. Learn more about the New Windows ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions
 | 
53 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.206 out of 5
4.2
out of
5
(228 Reviews)228

Questions & Answers for Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal

Question

Samsung - ATIV Book 8 (System specs question)

I thought the main selling point of the ATIV Book 8 was going to be its upgraded video card 8870m vs the prior 8770m in the ATIV 6/7 (Chronos 7) versions. Is this a typo? If they will not be offering the better card in the US then I may consider another system. Thanks in advance.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Samsung+-+ATIV+Book+8+15.6%26%2334%3B+Touch-Screen+Laptop+-+8GB+Memory+-+1TB+Hard+Drive+-+Mineral+Ash+Black/8965053.p?skuId=8965053&id=1218957864443

Model: NP880Z5E-X01UB SKU: 8965053
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jasonriverside
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I just purchased this on Sunday. It is in fact the HD 8770 1 gig video card and I will be returning it today.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bauer72
 from
macom
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Samsung Chronos 7 came with a NVIDIA GT640M graphics card whereas the ATIV Book 8 comes with a AMD 8870M which is comparable to the NVIDIA GT650M graphics card.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Dock Availibility

Will there be a dock availible for this?
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can buy a general purpose USB docking station that works with most computers. I have "dual docking station" (from Anker) that works great with Samsung Book 8 (with Windows 8) ,and it enables me to use two large monitors plus my laptop screen all at once (with the cursor moving easily between them.) . The docking station also has all the other connections like USB, ethernet, etc. So when I come into the office I plug in the docking station's USB connector and the power cord to my computer, and I'm ready with all the monitors,printers, sound system, ethernet, etc. ready to go. Be sure you get a docking station that is compatible with Windows 8 since some of them are not yet compatible. Another advantage of a USB docking station is that you don't have to replace it when you change computers eventually.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ProfShooey
 from
Ithaca, NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
At this time, no, but there may be one in the future.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

when will they be available?

1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
They are available NOW. Just so you know, it is not Ash Black
Mine is silver and the keys are silver, and this one is call the ash black. So if you looking for a black book 8 you might want to check with Samsung first. I hope this help
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
2Foxxi88
 from
Modesto, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
We aren't able to provide upcoming product availability details, so you'll need to keep an eye on BestBuy.com for updates. New products and shipping options are added on a daily basis, so make sure to check back often.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
AaronGS
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Samsung ATIV Book 8 GPU

The Samsung Website mentions an AMD 8870 2GB ddr5 GPU for the ATIV book 8 whereas the specifications on the best buy page mentions an AMD 8770 1 GB graphic card. Can you verify which of these versions are available?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
5 answers
Answers
answer 1
Mine has an AMD Radeon HD 8770M GDDR5 1GB.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
tserface2
 from
Creswell, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Radeon 8770m 1GB. The other one is for the non touch screen version that is not sold in the united states.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
swoosh1234
 from
usa
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I see the 8770 advertised on the Samsung website, and that is the card in the model sold here. I've heard that for some reason the 8870 is available in the UK, but not the US.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
t8468983
 from
Northern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
The samsung website is wrong, it is only 1gb of video ram and its the 8770. I think the international version of the ativ book 8 has the 8870 with 2gb of ram but it costs around $1700-$2000.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Dre77
 from
West Chester, PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
The version we have features the AMD Radeon HD 8770M.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is the Samsung ATIV Book 8 color really Mineral Ash Black or is it Bare Metal (silver)?

While the name on the product page indicates that the ATIV Book 8 is "Mineral Ash Black," the pictures show it as a silver color. I checked the Samsung product website and it also says that the ATIV Book 8 is Bare Metal (silver). I think one of the reviews also said that it was actually silver, but for some reason the reviews aren't loading on my computer. So my question is: does the Samsung ATIV Book 8 really come in a "Mineral Ash Black" color or a "Bare Metal" color?
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Alex
 from
California
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
The case does indeed look more silver than black. No idea where BestBuy gets the color "Mineral Ash Black" from. The only thing black is the material around the sides of the display, about 1 inch all around. The box the laptop came in says "Color: Bare Metal".

The color issue has not been a major concern for me.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Cary, NC
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Mine is bare metal
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ramblinsallie
 from
Robertsdale,Al
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It's not "Mineral Ash Black", it's silver.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
t8468983
 from
Northern California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
metal color
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
weavenation
 from
hertford, nc
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I notice dthat in the first pics of this PC in my research, also. The real physycal model matches the rest of the lineup in color. It looks more like titanium grey to me, but mineral ash is an apt name.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
bwissel
 from
St. Louis
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
The name on the product is an error. It is currently only available on BestBuy.com in the bare metal color.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
Posted by: 
NigelBBY
 from
Best Buy
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Samsung - ATIV Book 8 with latin keyboard (ñ key)

Do you have a Samsung - ATIV Book 8 with latin keyboard (ñ key)?
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Alejo
 from
Sunny Isles - Flda
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
No
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The Windows OS allows you to create letters with a tilde, but you must switch your keyboard settings to the "United States - International" option in the keyboard settings menu.

Then you can press Shift + ~ and then the letter you'd like with a tilde.

Thanks for your interest in Samsung computers.

--Mr.Samsung
1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Upgrading memory

Can this unit be upgraded from 8gb to 16 gb ram?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
kev
 from
L.A.
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This unit actually comes with (1) 8Gb memory chip that is soldered to the mother board. You can increase the performance by adding a second 8Gb DDR3 1600Mhz SODIMM. Adding the extra 8Gb will make the memory run in Dual channel and increase the performance.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Matt
 from
Urbandale, IA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes it can. Even though it has a Relatively thin profile, it isn't a nightmare to add RAM like a Mac. I did it myself but if you are not a guru with tech you can always take it to best buy and they will be more than happy to do it for you.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Selek977
 from
Oklahoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
yes
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
gagirlmsstate
 from
florida
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
This model comes with 8GB (4GB x2), and can be upgraded to 16GB (8GB x2).

Thanks for your interest in Samsung laptops.

--Mr.Samsung
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it a global warranty?

if i buy this computer from best buy, will the warranty be all around the world by samsung?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The answer is YES. That was one of the reasons we bought this as the Samsung rep was in the store talking about this being one of the things that separates Samsung from the others...Anywhere in the world dial the samsung international number on the laptop and you're covered...
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Ozdemir
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, the manufacturer's warranty has a global reach for the period of time listed in the manual.

You may want to check to see if the extended warranty is also global.

Thanks for your interest in Samsung products.

--Mr.Samsung
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Ativ book 8 keyboard

Can i have this laptop with an arabic printed keyboard?

If not, can you order me one?
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
No, we only sell them with English keyboards.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Sidesync compatibility

Is the sidesync feature compatible with iphones or just samsung products?
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Samsung - ATIV Book 8 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 8GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive - Bare Metal
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
I was told it was just for Samsung products.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
halvie123
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Its only able to work with Samsung products.

Best Buy Mobile and Connectivity Specialist,

Kraig
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 next>>