Looking for Answers about Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Toshiba Satellite P55t-A5202 Laptop: Backed by powerful performance and sophisticated design, this ultralight laptop will quickly become your center for business, entertainment, social networking and more. Work smarter and faster with voice commands, a touch screen and a multitouch trackpad. Learn more about the New Windows ›
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions
 | 
34 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
out of
5
(351 Reviews)351

Questions & Answers for Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver

Question

Does this laptop read bluray disks?

8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
Nope. You can get an external drive though, which I did and it works and look great! Could probably switch out the drives, but that may kill your battery life, Blu ray drives have that affect, it's why they aren't standard in laptops.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Glacknor
 from
San Diego
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No. It had a DVD drive, not a blu-ray drive.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
dezvitor
 from
Tampa, FL
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
No it does not read bluray disc.
8 months ago
by
Posted by: 
spex
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does this laptop have a compatible external battery I could use with it?

9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
justlooking
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
From what I am aware of-yes
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
sjp53
 from
Madison,WI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
not to my knowledge...this battery is internal and cannot (really, should not) be accessed by the end user. I suppose if you can find a battery to attach to the normal plug-in power brick's input port...but I've never heard of those...
9 months ago
by
Posted by: 
jschmo
 from
PA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How can I get more volume from speakers (on new Windows 8.1)?

The P55t-A5202 I bought at the end of November had Windows 8.1 pre-installed, and the speaker volume would not go up more than enough for a quiet room. But I had read great reviews about the sound quality (and volume). Toshiba phone support couldn't identify the problem. But...

FOUND SOLUTION: Today the Toshiba 'Service Station' app automatically informed me about a few updates, some related to Windows 8.1 compatibility, and after those were installed and rebooted -- voila -- the speakers now have much bigger volume range.

Sounds AWESOME now, as expected!
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The updates do help, definitely! There's also settings you get to from the Metro/Home screen. Look for DTS and Toshibas own sound settings. They work together, and have various options including a 5 band eq. I nearly doubled the volume level and quality by playing with these for a bit.
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Glacknor
 from
San Diego
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
(Answer already in question...)
Check updates with Toshiba 'Service Station' app and install "System Driver" update, maybe others -- related to Windows 8.1 compatibility -- and this seems to allow speakers to have a bigger volume range.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Jdec6
 from
New England
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is battery replaceable by customer

is the battery replaceable by customer or do you have to send it out?
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
JVW
 from
Highspire, PA
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, the battery is replaceable by consumer
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Kimeni
 from
Rustburg, VA
-3points
0out of 3found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The battery is not user replaceable.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+3points
3out of 3found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it portable and light enough for me to carry it throughout my day?

As a student it'll stay in my bag along with my text books, wondering if it'll really be that heavy.

maybe use a general text book as the units?
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
nomannm
 from
US
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
I carry mine with me, and its not too heavy.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RaquelLS
 from
Long Beach, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
its pretty light and really thin. maybe 1 text book in weight and 1/2 text book in thickness :)
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
mediafader
 from
califonia
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
This laptop weighs approximately 5.3 pounds. Whether or not that's too heavy is really a person choice. If you are concerned about weight, you may want to check out one of our Ultrabook class laptops, like the E45t series.
 
Products from my answer
Toshiba - Satellite 14" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 6GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Smart Silver
4.2 out of 5(141)
 
 
 
 
 
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

What happens after the 1 month office 365 trial?

Can I still use office or I have to purchase office 2013?
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You have to purchase office 2013
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
Jessica92
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
According to Microsoft:

As the expiration date approaches, you will receive notifications in the Office applications and via email, alerting you to the upcoming expiration. Once your Office 365 subscription expires, the Office software applications enter read-only reduced functionality mode, which means that you can view or print documents, but you will not be able to create new documents or edit existing documents.
To return to full Office functionality, you can purchase a new subscription or one PC another version of Office, from Office.com or any participating retailer. You could also return to using an older version of Office, or use the free Office Web Apps on SkyDrive for basic editing.

You can read more here:

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/products/microsoft-office-for-home-and-school-faq-FX102926087.aspx
1 year ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Does it have a backlit keyboard?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, it does have a back lit keyboard
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
KInM
 from
Atlanta, GA
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes. The Satellite P55t-A5202 does feature our Premium Frameless LED Backlit Raised Tile Keyboard with 10-Keypad (black).
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+2points
2out of 2found this answer helpful.
Question

can the graphics card be changed to nvidia geforce?

1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
jhoanne
 from
philippines
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
The Best Buy guy I talked to said no.
10 months ago
by
Posted by: 
newwave81
 from
Santa Barbara, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
The graphics card is not upgradable, but the Intel graphics are more than capable for most applications.

If you need maximum graphics performance for advanced gaming or high-end multimedia development, the Toshiba Qosmio laptops available on BestBuy.com may be better choices.
 
Products from my answer
Toshiba - Qosmio 17.3" Laptop - 16GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
4.7 out of 5(3)
 
 
 
Toshiba - Qosmio 17.3" Laptop - Intel Core i7 - 16GB Memory - 500GB Hard Drive + 500GB Hard Drive - Dark Gray
 
 
 
Toshiba - Qosmio 17.3" Laptop - 16GB Memory - 1TB Hard Drive + 256GB Solid State Drive
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is there a port that I can connect to a projector from the computer?

Can I connect the PC to a projector to give a power point presentation? Is there a cable or connector available?
 
Products related to my question
Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
4.4 out of 5(351)
 
 
 
 
 
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
It has a vga, hdmi, and usb connector which makes it compatible with many projectors.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
RaquelLS
 from
Long Beach, CA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
This has the RGB (VGA) output that is the most common connection for a projector, as well as an HDMI output. You'll just need to have the appropriate cable.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
ToshibaStaff
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
Question

Can we replace the manufacturer installed 750GB HDD with compatible SSD ? If Yes, How does that affect Windows/Software installation license?

1 year, 2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
pc
 from
irving TX
on Toshiba - Satellite 15.6" Touch-Screen Laptop - Intel Core i5 - 8GB Memory - 750GB Hard Drive - Prestige Silver
+1point
1out of 1found this question helpful.
1 answer
Answers
answer 1
If the toshiba warrant is affected by replacing de hdd for a sdd, it is hard to say. Some people say as long as the ssd is not the reason why you return it to Toshiba, it doesn't matter. But no one, but toshiba knows the anser for sure. The Windows OEM license key is somewhere in the bios of the laptop. When you do the reinstall windows should detect the key and uses it.

Technical there is no problem replacing the hdd by a ssd, however it can be hard to get to the hdd. Easier is to replace de dvd-drive for a SSD, however people do mention that changing the starting sequence (Boot disk) can be hard.
11 months ago
by
Posted by: 
epep
 from
Netherlands
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 next>>