Looking for Answers about Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black?

Customer Questions & Answers for
Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black

With easy setup and exceptional range, this wireless router will conveniently expand your home's or office's wireless network.
Customer Questions & Answers:
31 Questions
 | 
205 Answers
Overall Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.4
out of
5

Questions & Answers for Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black

Question

Is there any where I can find a no contract wifi here at BEst BUy?

I don't have a home phone and I really don't want to hook it up to my cable. I wanted to know it there a wifi where I can buy a service card and pay that way.
2 weeks, 3 days ago
by
Posted by: 
LadyMae
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
2 answers
Answers
answer 1
You can buy pay as u go mi fi . It's portable and cost effective to carry with you even in the car for trips. But u have to pay for the amount of data you use
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Tommylwoo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No unfortunately wifi is not like a cell phone that uses satellites and towers. You will need to purchase a internet package from either a phone or cable company ( cable being the better ). They will supply you with a modem that you can then plug a computer into for Internet via a Ethernet cord or you buy a router wich acts like a tower giving you wifi ( Internet ) in a small area like your home.
2 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Slicktrick
 from
MA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

is this compatible with comcast?

1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
jaiceli
 from
miami
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
It should work with any main carrier.
3 weeks, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Dracheseele
 from
Elk River, MN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
No
3 weeks, 3 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Jindal
 from
Rochester Hills MI
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Yes, Its compatible with Comcast.
1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Sridhar
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, We have this router and it works with out Comcast modem
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
photoguy423
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Yes. I have Comcast and Netgear router.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Mvaughan
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
I have comcast as my cable company and I have had no problems with the pairing since I have had this router.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Stonyman
 from
Ny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

no Coaxial cable inputs in the new tvs? How can I connect my TV cable?

why there's no Coaxial cable inputs in the new tvs as 3D LED Smart TV (KDL60W840B) Sony? How can I connect my TV cable, since I have no box? please help
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
peter
 from
laval
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
3 answers
Answers
answer 1
You will have to rent a box to get the most out of ur new tv. Rca hookup or hdmi
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Tommylwoo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You will need to change over to HDMI, should be able to upgrade it.
1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
stwkmoore
 from
Oklahoma
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Where is the coaxial coming from? If it originates from a box elsewhere there should be a component or HDMI output somewhere. Otherwise pick up one of these (http://www.bestbuy.com/site/monoprice-component-ypbpr-s-pdif-digital-coax-optical-toslink-audio-to-hdmi-converter-rev-2-0/1309329076.p?id=mp1309329076&skuId=1309329076) I haven't personally used it but seems like your only option if there's no other output from the wall/box.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
photoguy423
 from
Atlanta, GA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How much will my bill be each month

How do I get internet without a inter provider
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Salliesue
 from
Thomson ga
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
You need an internet provider to get internet. Rates are dependent on which speed/provider you use.
1 month, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
photoguy423
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
You'll need an internet provider to get internet and depending on where you live and which provider you use and how much speed you require, your bill will range from $30 to over $100 a month. If you can't afford the bill and still require internet, you'll need to get a library card and use the free internet at your local library. You can also find free wifi at many McDonalds, StarBucks or other retail locations. Good luck.
2 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ThisFord
 from
Virginia Beach, VA
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
It's not extra you must already have a router from your internet company.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You basically can't. You could use your cell phone as a hot spot but the data transfer rates would get expensive. You're only other option is to piggyback off a neighbor's signal with their permission.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
JoeH17
 from
Sherwood, AR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How to stop Netgear WNR2000v3 from disconnecting periodically from internet

I have tried resetting to default setting, updating drivers--it said the firmware was already updated, when I tried to adjust settings in the wireless section of the netgear genie, I wanted to try changing the channel, it gave me an error message "wps changes cannot be applied now, try later"--paraphrasing. I found advice online to set up with the pin # instead of push button, but it is not clear if there is a pin on the back of the router, nothing is marked as pin. Do you have any suggestions? Or if I need to buy a new one, which one do you recommend to use with Comcast?
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
This could be a hardware issue. Did you contact netgear support? This router has a lifetime hardware failure warranty. Open a ticket with them and you can get a new product. Bear in mind, you have to pay shipping cost though!
1 month ago
by
Posted by: 
Sridhar
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
It is probably from your ISP . I have wind stream and they are terrible.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
-1point
0out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 3
I wish it had more range and it can handle more than one computer.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Cybertron5000
 from
California
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You may need to contact your provider for assistance.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

2 STORY CABIN

I have a 2 story 500 sf cabin and was wondering if this is able to be downstairs in a cupboard and we can be upstairs will the computer?
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
dc
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
I use mine outside by the fire about 150 feet away and still have strong signal.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes, no problem. I have a 2200 sq ft house and have an excellent signal everywhere.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
katsfarm
 from
bonifay, fl
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
My unit works in a larger than 500 sf footprint two-story residence. Don't
see why yours shouldn't.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
doctor
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
yes
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
honeybunny
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
I keep mine in an upstairs bedroom with the door closed. I connect from main floor of my house. I have never had any problems with this product.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Kkckkc123
 from
St. Louis, mo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
It should work well. We have a 2300 sq ft house and it reaches to the furthest corner of the house and through several walls.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
daquanabe
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

How do I install without the CD?

I've misplaced the Installation CD that goes with my upgrade to WNR2000 (N300).
Can I simply use the Installation CD that goes with my old WGR614 (G54), or
could I download the proper installation files from the net?

I have a related query. My Comcast service provides 105 Mbps. Speedtest with my G54 router indicates I'm getting 95 Mbps d/l, 12 Mbps u/l. What can I expect to gain with the upgrade N300 router.

Thank you for your response.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
tenunderpar
 from
Wilmington,MA
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Hardwire your router to the laptop or desktop and get install from netgear website
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Tommylwoo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
All you need to do is type in your router home address it does the rest.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
You are never going to actually get the 105mbps no matter which router you use. There will be a loss at some point in your connection. The best thing you can do is put the best hardware you can on your side to ensure it's not your side causing the problem.

As per installation. You should not need the cd for installation. There should be an ip address that is default for it printed somewhere and if you plug in wired you should be able to use that ip address in the address bar of your browser to get to the router. Once there, you should be able to set it up.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
wtfjim2
 from
Chattanooga tn
+1point
1out of 1found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You would need to go their support website to obtain the information or if you are IT savy you can simply go to the IP address of the device and set everything up within.

Your internet speed is based on best effort and even though you are upgrading your router don't expect to see a real difference in speed.
-Companies like comcast provide internet to multiple residents over the same pipe and that is why you will see fluctuations at times. This router is capable of doing over 200mb I believe so in theory you should be able to do what comcast provides you. Also your speed is only as fast as your devices NIC.

Your NIC is the network card in your device and some are only capable of doing 10/100MB and nothing more.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

Is it possible to just buy the power cord for this?

5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
 from
Texas
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes, most routers use the same type of cords
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Tommylwoo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Yes on the bottom it will tell you input voltage just get a universal to match.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Not that I have seen but the power suppy uses a common connection. I was able to use the power supply/cord from my Linksys router on the Netgear router. You might go through your junk drawer full of old powere cords and cables and find one that works. Good luck.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
ConfusedByReview
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes. Take it to Radio shack and they will match the correct power supply.
5 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Carl
 from
Detroit
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

will this work in belgium?

we have hard wired internet but we need wifi in our apartment
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Anonymous
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
4 answers
Answers
answer 1
Yes you would take your Router (COMCAST,AT&T, ETC) and make a connection from it to this via ethernet cord.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
with the right power adapter this will work anywhere in the world.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
PeptoBismol
 from
Terre Haute, IN
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
My daughter's dorm room is hard wired and it worked fine
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
BobW
 from
Phila
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
Yes, It works.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
CommunityAnswer
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
Question

what is the signal range for a router?

I am looking for a router that will pick up a signal that is approximately 250ft away. Is that possible?
6 months ago
by
Posted by: 
ch
 from
riverside
on Netgear - Wireless-N Router - Black
0points
0out of 0found this question helpful.
6 answers
Answers
answer 1
If you had no walls , open air and no other signal interference you may be able to send a decent usable signal over 80 yards away, u will have to buy a signal booster
1 week, 2 days ago
by
Posted by: 
Tommylwoo
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 2
Maybe on a clear day.
2 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
SugarBear
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 3
Basically No. you would need to buy a repeater instead of a wifi router.
-if it did stretch your speed would be greatly reduced.

-Wifi routers are generally not strong since they are sold to consumers with houses near by.
-The speed and distance is also affected by the type of material the signal is penetrating through.
4 months ago
by
Posted by: 
Adam
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 4
You will have to buy at least two signal boosters roughly 80 apart from one another and from the router. I get 1 bar through a wall at 100 feet.
4 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
thepeebs
 from
riverton, ut
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 5
Most routers effective range is up to 50-100ft if you are planning to use Netflix for example. You will need a repeater to extend the range up to 250ft.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
Posted by: 
pdxlifer
 from
Clackamas, OR
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
answer 6
There are longer range routers out there that will reach 250ft, but it will be a fairly slow connection rate. Also, if there is anything inbetween each endpoint, that will greatly affect the range and signal rate. You can use wireless repeaters to extend your WIFI network out however, this might be an option for you
5 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Posted by: 
Jollywombat
 from
NY
0points
0out of 0found this answer helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>